Please enter a valid city, zip or airport code to continue your search.
Please select Destination.
Please select Check-in and Check-out.
Please enter a Check In Date
Please enter a Check Out Date.
To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).
    MoreLess Options

    * Required Field

    Corporate ID If your company has a preferred corporate account with us, please provide the account number here.This will allow us to display your company's preferred rates.

    IATA Number The IATA number is a number that identifies bookings associated with travel agencies.

    Group Code If you have a group code, enter it here to show a listing of rooms available for your special occasion.
    MoreLess Options

    * Required Field

    ** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

    Need to make changes, like editing your check-in or check-out date, your room type, the number of guests in your room or cancel a reservation? You've come to the right place!
    Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view recent reservations.
    Please enter Confirmation Number
    Please enter Last Name
    Guest Reviews
    Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
    82%
    Recommend This Property

    Overall Experience

    4

    based on 62 reviews
    82%
    Recommend This Property

    Ratings Breakdown

    62reviews

    • 5 Stars
      34
    • 4 Stars
      14
    • 3 Stars
      4
    • 2 Stars
      3
    • 1 Stars
      7

    review

    By

    July 20, 2015

    platinumelite

    need to serve a breakfastin the mornings, different shower heads every room

    Posted byHotelStaff
    July 23, 2015
    Mr.Goldsmith, We are glad to have the opportunity to accommodate your stays while in the area. It is our priority to ensure that each of our guests encounter a great stay while with us. As part of the Candlewood brand, we offer the amenity of a kitchenette within each of our studios to decrease the need for our guests to dine out, but rather dine in and save money while doing so. We also carry a Cupboard providing snacks, drinks and both breakfast and dinner items at a reasonable charge. This being said, the Candlewood brand does not serve breakfast, but rather provides other resources to it. Regarding our shower heads, they do vary based on room types. In example, if a room is handicap accessible the shower head would differ. Thank you for your feedback, we value what you have to say. Thank you for your loyalty as an IHG Rewards member. -Erick Del Angel
    Read More
    Read Less

    When in Merrillville, stay at Candlewood!

    By

    July 18, 2015

    club

    Great for families staying a few days as well as the business traveller who needs space and time to work. The hotel is pet friendly, which is a huge plus. There is a designated walking area with complementary poop bags. The kitchenette allows you to bring in your own groceries and not rely on take out or delivery all the time.
    Breakfast is not offered as some of the neighboring properties do, but the market area off the lobby has items you can purchase for breakfast. Or, go shopping and bring in whatever you'd like.
    The fitness center is great!
    Daily local and national newspapers were available at the lobby elevator each morning and complementary coffee was always available.
    The lending locker had appliances and games available for loaning out, as well as DVDs behind the desk. Between the movies and microwave popcorn, the kids had a blast!
    This property also offers a package which includes tickets to Deep River Water Park - this alone can save you up to $100.
    We'll for sure be back!

    Posted byHotelStaff
    July 23, 2015
    Dear Guest, We are very glad for the opportunity to have accommodated your stay for the family. Our staff works very diligently to provide our guests with a great experience during each of their stays. We are extremely delighted that each of our amenities were resourceful to you all. Most importantly, we are very glad that your family and yourself experienced a superb stay. We are very much looking forward to your future visit. Thank you for your great feedback, and positive remarks! -Erick Del Angel
    Read More
    Read Less

    Grateful for the last room but customer service needs work

    By

    July 17, 2015

    club

    Clean, quiet room but it did not have enough pillows (only 3 in the room, we had a party of 4 plus we wanted 1-2 extra). I went downstairs to ask for more and she said she would bring them up. It took at least 30 minutes and she only brought one!

    Posted byHotelStaff
    July 22, 2015
    Dear Guest, Thank you for entrusting us with your stay. Our staff works very diligently to provide a great experience to each of our guests. Our housekeeping team does a thorough job in order to ensure that our rooms are both clean and fresh. We are glad to know you felt so too. We do apologize, however, for the inconvenience of the wait for your pillows. We are also currently in the process of increasing our pillow count in rooms with two beds. Thank you for your feedback, we very much value your opinion. We hope to accommodate any future visits, and provide an even greater experience that we know you deserve!
    Read More
    Read Less

    just what I needed for a few months away from home

    By

    July 17, 2015

    platinumelite

    I work out of town a good bit, and when I do, I like to use extended stay hotels where possible. I've stayed at several, and I must say that the staff here is excellent. Complimentary laundry machines and full sized room refrigerators and grills make Candlewood much better than the competition in general, but the staff at Merrilville is what sets this one apart.

    Posted byHotelStaff
    July 23, 2015
    Dear Gust, When it comes to extended stays away from the family, we strive to be the "home away from home" facility that brings the same comfort. Our dedicated staff works to accommodate each of our guest's needs, all while doing it with a positive attitude. Thank you for your acknowledgement regarding the great staff we have here. We are very pleased to know that our amenities were resourceful to you as well. It was great experience having you stay at our facility, and we sure hope to host your stay in the near future if you are ever in town. Kind regards! -Erick Del Angel
    Read More
    Read Less

    great service

    By

    June 25, 2015

    club

    booked late, showed up late, staff was very friendly and accomadating

    Posted byHotelStaff
    July 08, 2015
    Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Candlewood as your hotel of choice. At all hours, our staff works diligently to accommodate our guest's needs. We are glad to know that even at late hours our guests are still being given the priority they deserve. Thank you for your acknowledgement towards our staff's amiability and resourcefulness. We value your feedback! Thank your for you loyalty as an IHG Rewards member. We hope to see you soon if in the area! -Erick Del Angel
    Read More
    Read Less

    Excellent hotel staff

    By

    June 24, 2015

    club

    The staff at this hotel location was very friendly and helpful

    Posted byHotelStaff
    July 08, 2015
    Dear Guest, We are very pleased that you allowed us to host your most recent stay. Thank you for your acknowledgement in regards to our staff. We work very hard in providing a warm ambiance through our staff's attitude and service to our guests. We are glad you felt so also. Thank you for your loyalty as an IHG Rewards member. We both value and appreciate your feedback. -Erick Del Angel
    Read More
    Read Less

    20 years a member to Holdiay Inn/IHG

    By

    June 19, 2015

    platinumelite

    Not much more to say than WOW! Dirty room, uncoooperative management, no flexibility, no answers to questions. The Guest is the problem not their inefficientcy.
    20 plus years a member never every been treated like this.
    have fun staying there for the price not the accomodations or the hospitality.

    Posted byHotelStaff
    June 24, 2015
    Dear Guest, We are thrilled to have had the opportunity to host your most recent stay. We are truly disappointed in knowing that your stay was anything but great. We pride ourselves in the cleanliness of our facility, however, will communicate your feedback to our housekeeping team to improve the overall cleanliness of our guest rooms. We lament that you feel that both our management and staff is uncooperative; we work very diligently to be as accommodating to each of our guests's needs, but do apologize for not meeting your standards. We thank you for your loyalty as an IHG Rewards member, and very much value your feedback. We do hope you give us another opportunity at providing the great stay we know you deserve, and we know we can provide! Kind regards.
    Read More
    Read Less

    Home Away From Home

    By

    June 14, 2015

    platinumelite

    Everyone one in the family enjoyed the stay and loved the big walking area and vacant field. Staff was accommodating and friendly. Thanks to all.

    Posted byHotelStaff
    June 17, 2015
    Dear Guest, We want to thank you for allowing us to host your stay. Thank you for the pictures, we are thrilled to know each of the family members enjoyed themselves. Our staff strives to be as hospitable and accommodating to each of our guests, and we are proud to know you felt so too. Glad you enjoyed the walking area and the premises of the hotel. Thank you for your great feedback. We value your loyalty as an IHG Rewards member. We hope to see you all soon! -Erick Del Angel
    Read More
    Read Less

    Very Nice Facility

    By

    June 04, 2015

    This is a very nice suites hotel. My only complaint was that I booked a double room and the bed was too small and uncomfortable for me and my husband. Neither one of us got a good night's rest. And since we were very tired when we got there and still had a long drive the next day, we were very upset to be so tired after trying to sleep on the small hard bed.

    Posted byHotelStaff
    June 10, 2015
    Dear Guest, We would like to take the opporunity to thank you for allowing us to host your recent stay. We are pleased to know that you found the overall setup of our hotel to your satisfaction. We do, however, lament the fact that you found your sleep to be unsuperb. We try to accoommadet each of guest's needs as best as we can. In our facility, our bed sizes are either a one queen bed or two full-size beds. We apologize if you were mislead in presuming our double beds were larger. We hope to host your future stay if in the area, and provide the room type you feel will best suit your needs in order to experince an excellent stay. We hope you are having a great week. Kind regards!
    Read More
    Read Less

    Friendly Staff!!

    By

    May 26, 2015

    platinumelite

    Always a pleasure to stay at this hotel. Staff is very professional and helpful, and always with great attitudes.

    Clean and well stocked suites, with plenty of utensils, cookware, and dinner ware. Easy in and Easy out!!

    Posted byHotelStaff
    June 07, 2015
    Dear Guest, We are thrilled you allowed us to host your stay in our facility once again. As our motto states, "Consider us home;" we are delighted to know you consider us your home away from home. Thank you for your acknowledgement in regards to our staff's amiability and resourcefulness, they work very hard to accommodate your needs. We are glad you found your in-room amenities beneficial to you, as well as the cleanliness of the room. We value your feedback. Thank you for loyalty as an IHG Reward member. We hope to host your stays once more in the near future. -Erick Del Angel
    Read More
    Read Less

    Great Stay

    By

    May 20, 2015

    club

    We were in Merrillville for my daughter's softball tourney. Had booked a different hotel near by that we were not happy with at all. So we quickly searched for another hotel and found Candlewood within our price range. Checked in very late at night with a 1 year and 2 other children who were exhausted. Front desk associate was super helpful and quick, ensuring my kids could get to bed ASAP. We were really surprised by our room size and the fact that we had a mini kitchen with large refrig, stove, microwave and even a dishwasher. Made it so much easier for us to keep milk and food in the room for the kids to have early in the morning or before bedtime.

    The only issue we had but it didn't bother us too much was regulating the air conditioner. It would be really hot when we would get back from the ballfields and by the middle of the night, it would be almost too cold. But compared to the hotel we were suppose to stay in, this was nothing that we would complain about. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and will certainly look into Candlewood Suites for future out of town stays,

    Posted byHotelStaff
    May 27, 2015
    Dear Guest, We lament to know that you had a negative experience at your original hotel. We are, however, thrilled to know we were able to turn it into a positive experience when you chose to stay with us. Thank you for acknowledging our front desk staff; they work very hard to ensure they are capable to best accommodate our guests and their needs. With all the amenities within our suites, we are pleased to know they were resourceful to your family and yourself. We do apologize for the inconvenience the A/C unit may have caused you. We are in the process of having our maintenance modify some of the units. We very much value your feedback, it is very constructive in our attempt to improve our guest's stays. Thank you for your loyalty as an IHG rewards member. We sure hope to see you in the near future! -Erick Del Angel
    Read More
    Read Less

    Comfortable and convenient

    By

    May 20, 2015

    platinumelite

    The only draw back was children above us or someone that was a heavy walker.
    The hotel was clean, great location, everything we needed was there..

    Posted byHotelStaff
    May 21, 2015
    Dear Guest, Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to host your most recent stay. We are very excited to know you found our facility both comfortable and convenient. We strive to provide the very best in each aspect of your accommodation; from amenities, to hospitality, to cleanliness. We do apologize, however, regarding the noise level to your room. We try our best to make guests conscious towards the consideration of others, and we lament falling short of doing so during your stay. We hope to see you soon if in the area. Thank you for your resourceful feedback. We value your loyalty as an IHG Rewards member! -Erick Del Angel
    Read More
    Read Less

    Book With Us Advantage

    Close