• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-01-2014)
(e.g. Sep-02-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CHARLESTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 12.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:12
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with nonrefundable fee. 25 dollars per day for 1 to 12 night stay. For 13 or more nights up to 150 dollar cleaning fee. Each pet must weigh less than 80 pounds. Call hotel for details.
Pet fee amount  12.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Charleston Beaches - Isle of Palms and Folly Beach
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
North Charleston Wannamaker Park - Whirlin' Waters
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
H.L. Hunley Submarine
Distance From Hotel:6.0MI
Attraction:
Middleton Place
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary Parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:125
  • Total number of suites:125
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:83
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:42
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:107
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:12
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
Make yourself at home at Candlewood Suites North Charleston. Welcome to the Candlewood Suites in North Charleston, South Carolina. Our hotel's convenient location places you just minutes from historic downtown Charleston and the Charleston International Airport. Guests traveling for business or leisure will feel right at home in our comfortable suites. If you are visiting Charleston for leisure, historic Charleston is just a short drive from our hotel. In Charleston, you can visit a
View More
Make yourself at home at Candlewood Suites North Charleston. Welcome to the Candlewood Suites in North Charleston, South Carolina. Our hotel's convenient location places you just minutes from historic downtown Charleston and the Charleston International Airport. Guests traveling for business or leisure will feel right at home in our comfortable suites. If you are visiting Charleston for leisure, historic Charleston is just a short drive from our hotel. In Charleston, you can visit a plantation, take a tour of Fort Sumter or the USS Yorktown, or relax on one of South Carolina's beautiful beaches. For those who love to shop, Northwoods Mall is just steps from our hotel. Those who are in town for business will enjoy our Charleston hotel's ideal location near I-26 and just minutes from the Charleston Convention Center, Charleston Air Force Base, Naval Weapons Station, Boeing, Google and SPAWAR. Our hotel also provides convenient access to Trident Technical College, Charleston Southern University, the College of Charleston and MUSC. Whether you stay for one night or make yourself at home for an extended stay, we are ready to serve you. Our suites include fully equipped kitchens and the Candlewood Cupboard, our 24-hour convenience store, located in the lobby with a variety of items at great values. Our property also offers free laundry facilities to all guests. Check out our Charleston hotel's great deals and plan your stay with us today.
View Less
Features
Our comfortable Charleston hotel is your home away from home, with free laundry services for all guests, a lending library offering complimentary DVDs and suites featuring fully equipped kitchens.
Announcements
The hotel will be undergoing a property refresh by summer of 2014 through the winter of 2015. There will be minimal impact to our guests during this time.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 144 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by shuttle I found out you don't shuttle to downtown anymore. I understand the reasoning. Staff directed us to Charleston transit bus - it worked out fine. Staff was very good! May 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Dianna, Housekeeping Supervisor I have meet many people in my travels but Dianna, she has surpassed the rest, thank you Dianna for all you did to make my stay comfortable! May 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wedding This was our first time staying at the Crowne and we loved, loved it. The rooms are fabulous, and upscale. Want to try another Crowne Hotel again. May 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by USS NOA REUNION 2014 Charleston, S.C. OUTSTANDING !! WONDERFUL LOCATION FOR ANY REUNION. HOTEL WAS GREAT TO WORK WITH. STAFF PROVIDED EXCELLENT SERVICE AND THE ROOMS WERE PERFECT. YOU ARE CLOSE TO EVERYTHING...EASY ON AND OFF THE HIGHWAY !! WOULD GO BACK AGAIN !! May 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff and excellent service The hotel was nice, the staff is very professional and good excellent mannerism. The room was nice and comfortable. The only issue I had was the mattress, I was able to fill lumps and it was uncomfortable. Seemed worn out to me. For a hotel this nice it would pay for itself to invest in new mattresses. April 28, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not That Impressive I decided to treat my wife to a weekend in Charleston since it was close to our anniversary, and rather than go to the mountains, I thought it would be nice to go to Charleston instead. When we arrived it was pouring down rain and had to wait while the desk clerk finished checking in other guest. He was very attentive to these people but was rather curt with us. As a platinum elite member usually the staff is quite cordial and have all the paper work completed in advance, but not here. I inquired if there was a possibility of being upgraded, and at other IHG brands they usually automatically do so prior to arrival, but not here. His answer was ”no” not no sir, not sorry we haven't any availability, just plain no. He asked if we wanted a quiet room and we said yes. In this case quiet means they put you on a floor that has quiet zone posted on the wall but we faced the atrium where the noise echos from the lobby. Not my definition of quiet. My wife noticed that the floor in the bathroom was sticky, the towels were not exactly clean, and the seat on the desk chair was wet. Other than that the room was ok. My wife likes to sleep late but I'm an early riser. I got up the next morning to get a cup of coffee in the lobby but found out of you want coffee, you have to pay for it in the restaurant. I got in the car and drive to the Spinx station around the corner and picked up one for the misses. Housekeeping knocked on the door at about eleven and I requested they come back later. I put the do not disturb sign out but removed it when we left at about 1:30. We returned back to the hotel at around 8:30 and discovered they did not clean the room. I went to the front desk to complain and my guess it was then that they discovered I am a platinum elite member as they offered me either free drinks or a free breakfast and got housekeeping to clean the room, so apparently there is a ray of hope here for improved customer service. I usually don't write reviews, but I travel to the Charleston area once a month on business. I've stayed a just about every IHG hotel in the area over the course of decades of traveling, and I must say this location would likely be one the least likely one to return to as the value simply isn't that great and the rooms do not justify the premium they charge. I'm sure the manager will apologize in response. What he needs to do is go here and observe. April 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love this hotel! This is a very clean, nice, friendly hotel. Our stay for one night was excellent. Steak and Shake right next door. Walmart and Sam's club easy to walk to. And the shopping at Tanger Outlet made the trip worth it. Will be back soon! April 22, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Unpleasant Stay Upon arrival, the front dest clerk was very nice and provided us with a smile and good directions for things to do in the area. The rooms had good decor, however room was not very clean, the bathroom curtain did not close all the way, and the curtain in the room did not close all the way which allowed sun light to come in and did not allow us to sllep in late. My number one complaint was the bed was horrible. Evertime you moved in the bed, it made a squeaky sound which woke us up in the middle of the night and the bed was extremely worn out to a point where me and my wife woke up with a sore back and neck. I must say that this was the worst sleep I ever had at a hotel. Most disturbing is I brought up this complaint to the front desk manager upon check out and all she said was I will have house keeping check it out. She did not offer compensation or anything. I was disappointed and don't think I will be staying at a IHG property again if they can not correct this problem and provide compensation. Another thing that need working own is the slow service in the restaurant. The server was slow and we were not happy with the menu. The hotel need to consider non-pork items for the non-pork eaters. A lot of the other hotel chain are going to turkey and beef products on the menu. April 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great overall stay Everything about this hotel is top notch except I didn't feel appreciated for being an platinum elite member. Didn't even recognize me as one. I enjoy the IHG chains and have worked hard to earn that special level. Not one extra perk. Wondering what the advantage of having that level is. April 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyed my stay Room has a sleek European style- the room was quite large - loved the sink next to refrigerator _ loved the vanity & glass door shower-- Bed was squeaky - hotel shuttle driver was very helpful in assistance in connecting with express bus to historic downtown areas April 6, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Wait Wait Wait First upon check in we were told a wait of 45 min which turned out to be over 3 hours. The clock in our room did not work. An the one bartender was very slow in getting our drinks and taking our order for food, considering the bar was not that busy at all. April 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceeded Expectations This hotel exceeded my expectations! the room was very comfortable, clean, practical, and decorated nicely. Lobby was very nice and airy! Staff was very courteous, friendly and accommodating and the bed was very comfortable. On my next stay in the area, I definitely will book my room at this location, I really liked my stay at this hotel and I don't say that often about many properties I stay at while on business travel. KUDOS to this location. March 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent room and we enjoyed our stay We loved the room. Stayed in spa suite. Our stay was an excellent price. We enjoyed the room and food was great. We had few problems with reservation service but was easily corrected with front desk. Would loved for bed to be a pillow top for greater comfort but still slept comfortably. We were located on second floor and noise level from bar was the only negative. Will plan to stay again and request higher floor. March 19, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worse Hotel Experience Ever The front desk staff was nice and the room was clean and pretty however looks can be deceiving. The bed was extremely hard and every time you moved in made a squeaking noise. The curtain in the room would not shut all the way so the lights from outside shun in the room all night. Noise level is out of control. We could hear any and everyone's conversation that was outside in the hall. We were on the 5th floor with our room door shut and could hear people's conversations word for word down on the first floor. When room service knocked on the door around 9:30a.m. they were told not right now but still tired to come in the room. Check out was at 11:00a.m. and at 11:03a.m as we are finishing packing up and walking out the door there comes another friendly visit wanting to know when were checking out. For the price of this room we could have stayed at another location and that location would have probably been cheaper. And do not even get me started on the hot water. March 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One fabulous stay I loved the room. I was surprised at the interior design of the hotel. It was a wonderful surprise. I'm sorry it was just one night but I will be back. Thank you. March 13, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Clean rooms, unhappy with work space I thought the rooms were very clean and well maintained but the two queen bed room had a desk with no lamp. I tried to get move to a room with a better set up but was told all queen bed rooms were the same. I think this location is good for being able to walk for shopping and food. March 7, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Charleston getaway Charleston has many IHG properties to choose from. We have stayed in all of them in the past I choice the Crowne Plaza because of the perks most Hotels offer, to my dismay this one had few things I like. In the other Plaza's they have special floors for IHG members this one has none, the floor we were on was very noisy. No lounge on any of upper floors either. Also no news papers or water or anything when you check in. Also no up grades I had made my reservation well in advance and the lady even put on the reservation that I would like to have one no such luck. My wife likes to take baths most of the rooms in this property have showers. The rooms are different the bed is very close to the bathroom so much for a little privacy. Also the room was dusty. I will say the staff was very nice and. At this property I felt like a regular guest not an Platinum Elite member. February 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Correctible issues For the most part, we enjoyed our 5 night stay. However, a few items require attention. 1. The bathroom fan wasn't working upon arrival for two days. It was fixed on the 3rd day. Should not have been inoperative at all. 2. Roll down curtain was extremely difficult to operate. Your maintenance person attempted to fix it but that effort didn't improve it that much. 3. No daily/morning newspaper. Considering that this facility is a Crown Plaza (with its' nightly rate), surely management could afford to have a newspaper available. February 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed and wonderful bathroom the room was the nicest one we stayed at. we enjoyed our stay and the staff was polite and very nice. one thing above the air vents needs some attention it really need cleaned before you get into your busy season. February 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Great room, great management, particularly Corey, but restaurant left much to be desired; very slow and lethargic service and limited product availability. February 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Second time The only thing bad I have to say is this is the second time I have left a item in the room after check out. I call within two hours of leaving the hotel never get a call back have to call two to three times and the item is never found. I know it is not the hotels responsibility but if I just left and nobody else has been check into that room the item just did not walk off. February 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Best Location for most everything Wonderful decor and comfortable rooms with most important amenities. Helpful and friendly staff with buffet breakfast for $11. Convenient to airport and historic Charleston district, the hotel is across from Tangiers Outlet Mall and Charleston America LaFrance Fire Truck Museum. Many food chains are close enough to walk. Very nice conference facilities. February 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT & SUPERB CUSTOMER SERVICE As long as I have been traveling and the many accommodating lodging facilities I've been prevue to, this has to be at the top of the list. Whether it was my countless shuttle request to their primary support that was given to my mother was much appreciative beyond reproach. I highly recommend this CronePlaza location!!!! February 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Wow! And Thank You! Last year I spent 2 months at the Intercontinental Hotel - Akasaka, Tokyo, Japan, which was phenomenal. I also spent an additional month at a Crowne Plaza in Houston, TX. So, you can imagine I have become a little spoiled. But I was not prepared for the North Charleston Crowne Plaza and the upgrade suite I received. Wow! It was by far the best room I've been in in the past 5 or 6 years. Also, the service of the staff to insure my short stay was pleasant was outstanding. You've got to stay here if you're ever in the area. I know I will. January 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place! Absolutely Beautiful! We selected the Crowne Plaza to celebrate my birthday. We were not disappointed. The pictures on-line show exactly what you're going to get! It's a beautiful hotel and has excellent social areas to celebrate special occasions. The rooms and all the areas are extremely clean. The workout room has exactly what you need or want to stay in shape. The bar is a great place to celebrate. The location by the Tanger Outlets is super, just added to our excellent experience. January 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Everything was amazing minus the SUPER squeaky bed The ambiance in the Crowne plaza was impressive, and the service provided by staff was impeccable. I would've given excellent reviews across the board minus the bed... The bed was by far the squeakiest/loudest mattress I've ever seen. Every minor shift made a terrible noise. The atmosphere/decor/service were tip top.... Just hope you're a sound sleeper if you're lying beside a tosser/turner! December 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place! I have made this hotel my only option when visiting the Charleston area! The staff is like family and treats their guests with the utmost respect. The food is great and the atmosphere in the restaurant is cozy. My family lives 1-1/2 hours away and often visit to eat breakfast before a day of shopping or doctor's visits. I would love Sweetgrass would offer Sugar in the Raw! November 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Despite Convention During Weekend Recently booked the Crowne because of coworkers stays and for my stay to the first time it was quite enjoyable. Great customer service. Only part didn't like was during my weekend stay there was a convention so there was tremendous amount of noise as well as people. Despite that I will be staying again because its a very nice hotel and it is recommended. Oh wish I didn't have to pay for a hot breakfast but continental is fine. November 20, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place but terrible room service!! The place is a very nice place with an awesome bar in the lobby. The lobby area is a nice place to sit and relax, but don't talk to loud cause they will tell you to lower your voice (very weird). There's a restaurant in the lobby area but I can't tell you how that is because I didn't eat there. The room was nice, very comfortable bed (squeaks a bit). One issue I has was that I had to call for room service 2 times on the same day since they didn't come clean my room. So when we get someone to our room, all they did was give us towels and take thrash out. Neither day did they replace the coffee which we drank the first day there. Other than that, it was okay to stay here. November 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location 1st time in the area and reception staff made us feel very welcome although that cannot be said of the dining room staff who were not of the same standard. The room was as good as any we have stayed in although the sliding door to the bathroom in the bedroom was very stiff and could be a problem if ever there was a fire. Food quality not bad in restaurant. November 12, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Entrance Entrance Entrance Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Front Desk Front Desk
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-01-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-02-2014)
Check Availability
Loading