• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Apr-19-2014)
(e.g. Apr-20-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: KANSAS CITY
  • Distance From Hotel: 18.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with nonrefundable fee. 15usd for first day and 10usd per day after up to 150usd. Each pet must weigh less than 80lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check in. Call hotel for details. Record of complete and up to date vaccinations required.
Pet deposit amount  15.00  USD  per stay
Pet fee amount  10.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Truman Museum
Distance From Hotel:15.0MI
Attraction:
Ameristar Casino
Distance From Hotel:22.0MI
Attraction:
Hollywood Casino
Distance From Hotel:15.0MI
Attraction:
Kansas Speedway
Distance From Hotel:15.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary Parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2006
  • Total number of rooms:122
  • Total number of suites:122
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:122
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:122
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:KS0201

Be Charmed by Overland Park and Hotel's Top Amenities

At the Candlewood Suites® Kansas City - Overland Park hotel, guests can tap into "the heart of America." Situated near the border of Missouri, the hotel exudes an air of easy living in Overland Park, Kansas. This hotel is poised to fit the needs of business and leisure guests with a number of amenities and a great location.

Nestled south of Kansas City, the hotel's proximity to area businesses, such as the Sprint Nextel
View More

Be Charmed by Overland Park and Hotel's Top Amenities

At the Candlewood Suites® Kansas City - Overland Park hotel, guests can tap into "the heart of America." Situated near the border of Missouri, the hotel exudes an air of easy living in Overland Park, Kansas. This hotel is poised to fit the needs of business and leisure guests with a number of amenities and a great location.

Nestled south of Kansas City, the hotel's proximity to area businesses, such as the Sprint Nextel Corporation, Applebees Corporate Office, Embarq and the Corporate Woods and Southlake Business Parks makes for a short commute. Guests can keep up with e-mail using the free high-speed Internet access. Consider the short- and long-term stay options we offer when planning your trip to Overland Park, Kansas.

The hotel is also a prime accommodation for those vacationing in Kansas City. The hotel's guests are a short drive from this bustling metropolis and all the attractions and restaurants it has to offer. Stay close by and explore some of the 300 shops or browse through the farmer's market in historic downtown Overland Park.

Kansas City, Kansas and the hotel's amenities make every traveler feel welcome. You'll have access to free guest laundry facilities, a Fitness Center and the 24-hour Candlewood Cupboard. Enjoy the charm of this all-American city while staying in a comfortable suite. Whether you're traveling for a week or month, we invite you to "Consider Us Home."

View Less
Features
Guests can relish the comfort during their stay in Overland Park. The hotel's amenities are designed to serve each guest. Whether staying for a night or several months, we want you to feel at home.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 101 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great, great, great stay I have been staying here a lot lately as I am getting to the area more and more! The staff always goes out of their way to make sure you are happy! Josh and Lisa in the bar are amazing! Pattina, Paula, James, and everyone at the front desk are fabulous! I honestly can't say enough good things about this place! The housekeepers are great as well! You can tell that every member of the staff really rakes pride in their work!! February 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay and Great Staff! I've stayed at the Crowne Plaza Kansas City - Overland Park before and every time, the staff and quality of service is awesome! The rooms are the cleanest I have seen anywhere and are very comfortable. The front desk staff and bar/restaurant staff are always very attentive and helpful and the food is very good. The hotel is also close to everything I need to do while in the Kansas City area. I will stay there again! February 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean Rooms This hotel is an older hotel however the cleaning ladies and management keep the rooms and public areas cleaned!!!! Hotel breakfast was good also. Only complaint would be the fitness center needs a little work. Maybe a bench so we could utilize the dumbbells better. February 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Frequent Stay I have stayed with Crowne Plaza approximately 3 times within the last year, each time being for business purposes. The check in and out is always quick (less than 5 minutes) staff are always friendly and the lobby is as nice as any 5 star hotel that is 2x's as expensive. In the past when I have experienced issues with noise or rowdy guests, management has addressed the issue immediately and later followed up to ensure the problem was taken care of. My most recent stay within the last week was exactly the same as previously experienced. I have come to the conclusion that my pleasant experiences with this hotel are not just a one time occurrence but rather their standard of quality for services they provide. I will stay here again upon my return to the region. February 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great servise friendly staff enjoyable and relaxing will stay here upon next visit and will tell others that will travel to KC February 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and extremely affordable I just loved the sleep number bed and the food. I would return. I recommend the place. January 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice stay Everything went without a hitch -- accommodations were clean, great bed, room was quiet and I got good rest. I will stay again. I have family in the area and having this hotel nearby will allow me to visit more often. January 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service The hotel is well maintained. The staff was very nice and made me feel welcome. January 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service bed not so comfortable I stay at the Crowne Plaza frequently and I love everything about the hotel except for the beds. The beds are a sleep number brand and I can never get them adjusted to a comfortable level for me personally. Other than that I love the restaurant and bar in the hotel and all of the other amenities. This place is a great value for what you are getting and I will continue to stay there when I am in the area. January 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable beds Overall experience was very good . Courtious hotel staff , nice comfortable beds and pillows , Good quality breakfast buffet . January 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room/ nice breakfast Stayed here for two days for business. Didn't spent much time in hotel nor use pool/fitness center, etc. so can't comment on those, but the breakfast we good w/ a number of hot as well as cold options. Staff at breakfast were very friendly and attentive. January 12, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by If you are sensitive to smoke stay away Front desk refused to handle people smoking in and near this non smoking hotel. Smoke filled my room and the hallway. Awful service. January 11, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Best part was location... After location, was quite poor. I was there about 45 days on business. Was told I would get breakfast for $7, but not told I would need a coupon each meal. Many meals were wrong. When they bought me the next meal, was served chicken instead of fish. Told there was no laundry at the hotel, spent to much time having to go out to wash clothes, only to find out there was laundry available at the end of my stay. Told there were no refrigerators available, only to find out at the end of my stay and spending over $500 in food at hotel and probably more outside of the hotel, that indeed refrigerators were available. Wanted to add another room at the extended rate we had, only to be told no. Asked to speak with the person in charge and I was told they could offer that, only to never be allowed to speak with that person. No idea if the person in charge ever got the message. Beds were horrible. Sleep number bed was uneven and defective. Beds that were in the room we changed into were not comfortable at all. Front desk, with the exception of the man overnight, was horrible. Acted as if they did you a favor for speaking with you. The best part was the location. Take location away and it was lower than a low end hotel. Clean, but lacking simple amenities. At the end of my stay the GM offered 100 off my month and a half stay and a gift card for food. Nobody in my party was happy with their stay, even though they did not have to pay a penny. January 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Crown Plaza Great family friendly hotel. Poll area and Hot tub are close to the rooms, clean. January 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by New Years Eve as usual we are locals and we come every New Years Eve. The kids love it and its very family oriented. My favorite staff would have to be Jerry.. because he knows how to run his business...then it would be Scott... he knows if there's a maintenance problem it will get taken care of asap.....then theres Darnell i think the security officer with the gold tooth.... I observe him walking around and making sure he's doing his job.....and of course I can't leave out Shelly... I just met her and apparently this was her first year there for NYE I'm sure it seemed a little overwhelming for her however she handled it very well....its always a pleasure to see the staff socializing with the guest rather than sitting in an office not knowing what's going on... II honestly think overall the years I've been there this year was really great and well-organized... see you next year...... not actually I'll see you in March for spring break..... January 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect! We were in town for a hockey tournament and this hotel bent over backwards to make our stay a complete success! From the dedicated wing in the hotel, to breakfast, to the common areas, every part of this hotel was fantastic! There were 3 hockey teams in the hotel (ages 9-11) and it was big enough to absorb the noise and craziness of people coming and going. The atrium is a great place to hang out and watch TV and have some drinks. The pool and hot tub was small but sufficent. The bar/restaurant served great grilled cheese and burgers for the kids. The adults didn't love the beds, but the kids did (they were sleep number). The staff was pleasant and accomodating. Highly recommend this hotel! January 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and hotel, very uncomfortable beds. Loved the hotel and location and staff!! The "pump up" beds are very uncomfortable. January 2, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Seen better days. I have stayed at a few Crown Plazas that are very nice. This location has seen better days. It is obvious that it has been renovated. The old adage "you get what you pay for" holds true here. I gave it an excellent value because they only charged 5000 reward points for a stay. If they charge more in the future, look elsewhere. My credit card was charged $25.00 even though I used points. I had to call and get them to reverse the charge. Not a place I'd stay again. December 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I love this hotel When I visit the Kansas City area, I always stay at this hotel!! It is a great place to stay, the staff is great, the place is always clean, and they have very comfortable beds!! December 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Superb Quality and Staff This is really a great hotel! The front desk people are simply amazing and really go out of their way to ensure that you are taken care of! I recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice stay and a staff that really cares about their guests!! December 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing time We wanted to have a quiet time and to sleep on the "sleep number" beds. Both were accomplished. Quiet and restful! December 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Nights Sleep Very comfortable beds, almost too comfortable, I didn't really want to get up! Nice facility with everything you need in one place. Very close proximity to many stores, restaurants, and Oak Park Mall. December 10, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Very uncomfortable beds I would think this would not likely happen again, but unfortunately for us the Sleep Number bed malfunctioned. It completely deflated and would not correct itself. It was the most painful night I ever had. I selected this hotel because I wanted my wife to experience quality accommodations. I don't think inflatable beds are the way to go for a hotel, and certainly not double beds...Queen beds should be expected. They said they would reimburse the points but I am not holding my breath waiting on it. Other than this, the staff are friendly and it is generally a good hotel. December 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value and Service Best thing about this hotel is the staff! Friendly and knowledgeable staff at check-in and check-out. Recognized as a IHG rewards member. Great service at breakfast by Ramon and the buffet was wonderful. This hotel has lots of common areas for relaxing and gathering with friends or family. We took advantage of the indoor pool and hot tub. The rooms are not large but they are very clean. We would definitely stay here again. December 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome We stayed here for a gathering with my family. What a great time had by all. The kids enjoyed the pool and the rest of us enjoyed the large area for our gathering. Rooms were extremely clean and staff was great. November 29, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Sub Par Chose this location merely due to it's low Points rate and its proximity to my destination, that being said it was clear why they offer such a low points rate for a stay here. Very old hotel with marginal attempts to keep it updated, upon arrival the entrance was filled with obnoxious drunks, not the hotels fault, though this crowd and events that sub par venues tend to draw, fortunately the front desk was courtesy enough to offer a room away from the lobby and drunkenness, which was appreciated. The lobby was nice and clean, though the exterior both upon arrival and departure was littered with countless cigarette butts and trash. The rooms are VERY dated and extremely small with very low ceilings, the room was littered with flies bouncing around in the lamp shades, and unfortunately the in room amenities are very limited; at least they offer fridges, but they're wheeled to you're room and at a rate of $10 a night. Bathrooms match the rest of the room and are the smallest I've seen. The beds are not only unbelievably uncomfortable, but also are very small, the double-bed rooms contain 2 small single beds, not the queen size you see at most other hotels. The breakfast buffet was cold and sub par of what is normally offered complimentary at even a HIE. Overall this obviously was once an ok hotel, but it's not up to todays standards, at least not what I expect from an IHG brand in a metro area. Plenty of other locations nearby, including better preforming IGH brands, staying here is really unnecessary. November 27, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Very odd Layout, clean rooms, tiny bathroom, annoying internet, great breakfast I stayed here for 2 nights in Nov. 2013. Pros: - Good location - close to interstate - Breakfast was very good - Onsite dining - it was also very good - clean rooms - good water pressure Cons: - Internet - in order to get connected, you had to watch a video/advertisement - it was a short video but it was still annoying - no major perks for Platinum members (was told Thank you and given a bottle of water) - extremely odd layout - to get to my room I had to go through 2 doors. (sort of felt like a Navy ship). :) - overall service / friendliness wasn't as great as other CP's All in all, I would stay here again because CP is my favorite brand and I am loyal to IHG. But I have stayed in much worse CP's and several that are much nicer. November 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A wonderful 2 day experience We were staying on reward points the staff treated us the same the room they gave us was clean and roomy the complimentary breakfast was tasty and ran very professionally we ate one night in hotel bistro the food was great overall wonderful experience would definitely stay again November 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service. Breakfast buffet was outstanding. Courteous service when checking in and out. Friendly staff both in restaurant and front desk. Manager exceptional. November 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Romantic weekend Went for anniversary and shopping . Stayed in 1 bed suite. Nice room with skylights and large 2 person tub. Room was clean. Bed was comfortable (adjustable). We enjoyed fast and decent room service for breakfast. Close to great shopping. Friendly and accommodating staff. November 15, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Exterior Feature Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Front Desk
Select to close.
Spread Out and Relax