• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-30-2014)
(e.g. Oct-01-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: KANSAS CITY
  • Distance From Hotel: 18.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:8
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with nonrefundable fee. 15usd for first day and 10usd per day after up to 150usd. Each pet must weigh less than 80lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check in. Call hotel for details. Record of complete and up to date vaccinations required.
Pet deposit amount  15.00  USD  per stay
Pet fee amount  10.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Union Station
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Oak Park Mall
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
Towne Center
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI
Attraction:
Truman Museum
Distance From Hotel:15.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary Parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2006
  • Total number of rooms:122
  • Total number of suites:122
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:122
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:122
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:8
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:KS0201

Be Charmed by Kansas City - Overland Park Hotel Accommodations.

Situated near the border of Missouri, the Candlewood Suites® Kansas City - Overland Park hotel exudes an air of easy living. Our hotel accommodates the needs of business and leisure guests with a number of amenities and a great location. Easily accessible from I-435, our hotel is positioned in the center of College Square and just a few streets over from the Overland Regional Medical Center. We are only 25 miles from
View More

Be Charmed by Kansas City - Overland Park Hotel Accommodations.

Situated near the border of Missouri, the Candlewood Suites® Kansas City - Overland Park hotel exudes an air of easy living. Our hotel accommodates the needs of business and leisure guests with a number of amenities and a great location. Easily accessible from I-435, our hotel is positioned in the center of College Square and just a few streets over from the Overland Regional Medical Center. We are only 25 miles from the Kansas City International Airport (MCI), making for a direct route to our hotel. Come stay in comfort.

We are located south of Kansas City, in close proximity to area businesses such as the Sprint Nextel Corporation, Applebee’s corporate office, Embarq, and the Corporate Woods and Southlake Business Parks—making for an easy commute. Our leisure guests enjoy visiting the Oak Park Mall or trying their luck at the Hollywood or Harrahs Casino. Stay connected and on task with free Wi-Fi access and a spacious workspace featured in all suites.

Our Kansas City hotel amenities makes every traveler feel at home. Take advantage of free guest laundry services, the 24-hour Candlewood Gym, Lending Library, Lending Locker and our onsite convenience store, the Candlewood Cupboard. Enjoy the charm of Kansas City while staying in a comfortable suite with a full kitchen and cover lit bedding. We invite you to extend your stay with us.

View Less
Features
Guests can relish the comfort during their stay in Overland Park. The hotel's amenities are designed to serve each guest. Whether staying for a night or several months, we want you to feel at home.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 166 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Guest Service I was concerned when I went to check in and according to your records I was already checked in. Your staff and myself was confused since I hadn't checked. Your staff had to get a supervision to check and make sure my room was not occupied and then process my check-in again. The person at the front desk said she just accidentally registered me as checking in. I have never experienced anything like this before in all my years of travel. My check was late at night around 10:30pm! August 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel Staff So Accommodating at During Youth Soccer Nationals My thanks to the entire Overland Park Staff at the Crowne Plaza. They were so willing to help the team families by answering our numerous questions and responding to our pleas for supplies. They provided technical /audio/video support and easily allowed our use of the public spaces and banquet rooms. Jerry, the manager, met our concerns with kind responses and immediate support. Many thanks, Team mom, Eileen August 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff Great experience, excellent and accommodating staff. Matt, Lisa, Pattina, Paula and the rest of the staff met our needs and worked with our group in an positive and professional way. Thank you! July 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very accomodating We had 6 families staying for the weekend. The staff was extremely accommodating to all of us. The lobby area is wide open for visiting and when the lobby and pool area closed at 10:00, they directed us to another room so we could all stay together to visit. The only thing that was rough was having the pool in such a small area where parents could not visit with others while watching the children in the pool area. The pool is very small. It would be nice to have refrigerators in the room. A little expensive, but overall we had a great experience. June 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Hospitality 1.We arrived about 12:40 pm and were informed our room would not be ready until 3:00 pm. 2. Breakfast was to be included, but it was sweet rolls, juice and coffee. we were informed we could not set in the dining area for breakfast, but later that was changed. 3. On Friday night we were shuttled to the VFW Hall for our evening meal and the driver did not know where it was located. I really expected a bit more hospitality and a " what can we do to make your stay more pleasant". June 21, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not what I led to believe When I made my reservation I was under the impression that I would have a roll in handicapped shower, microwave for my special diet and fridge for my meds. Got fridge for my meds. They have no roll in shower rooms and the only microwave available is the lobby. Meeting rooms were to small for the size crowd we had in attendance. Sound equipment only worked part time. Soap and shampoo on first day however no daily renewals. On the positive side the banquet on Saturday night was excellent. June 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service awesome Marcus is awesome did a great job. Always friendly and remembers my name. June 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Priority preference Stay was to facilitate early arriva for local COLOR RUN. Stay was night of JUE 1st. Today is the 10th. Still waiting for the $25.00 incidental fee reimbursement on my credit card. Pretty sure the room has been inventoried and re-sold several times by now. Great hotel staff. June 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Comfortable Stay Clean rooms. Best pillows I've ever slept on. Super comfy beds. Quiet--even with several girls softball teams staying there. June 7, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing for a Crowne Plaza We chose the Crowne Plaza for a visit with family mainly because I needed one more stay by the end of the month to get a bucket of extra points. I've stayed in Crowne Plaza properties in the past and they have always been a cut above average. The staff was friendly and professional upon arrival. No issues there; it's what is expected. The hotel layout is a bit odd with strange placement of the elevators and some tight turns through the hallways and fire doors to get to the room. A bit funky, but not worthy of a knock-down. The bar staff was superb. Attentive, knowledgeable, and always there as your drink was running dry. Definitely the high point of our stay. The major issue, and why I knocked the rating down to only 2 stars, was the room -- the bed specifically. It was a Sleep Number bed, but it was non-functional. We both had trouble sleeping and arose with backaches. The principal reason for staying in a hotel is to get a decent night's sleep, and that need was not met. I mentioned the bed to the desk clerk upon checkout. She seemed a bit dismissive of the matter, though she was a bit harried with a large group that was staying at the hotel. However about 10 minutes after leaving, she called me on my cell phone to apologize profusely for blowing me off initially. She apologized for the bed and said that she'd turn it over to the hotel manager to address the matter. I didn't hear from the hotel manager by phone that day (as I expected) but did get an e-mail several days later, again apologizing for the bed and offering either a complimentary stay or some extra Priority Club points. Since I was not sure that I would be needing a room in the Kansas City area within the next year, I opted for the points. I still have not seen any points posted to my account. June 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love it! Amazing hotel! Amazing staff. I was recognized as Priority Club member with goodies! I received my free breakfast coupons! The lounge was fabulous! The room clean and cold! The bed was the best thing ever! The night auditor was my favorite person in the entire hotel! He was so nice and chatty! I love the fact that he moved fast to get the kids off of my quiet floor before I could finish my sentence. The entire staff was fast to ensure that I was comfortable! Now that is service! I can keep going on and on about what an amazing experience I had at the property. I would stay there again. I love this hotel! Now this is a great hotel that guests love (at least me anyway)! May 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by FIRST CLASS GUEST SERVICE Every time I have overnight Business in Overland Park, Kansas I stay at the Crown Plaza. It's like my home away from home, the Staff is friendly, out going & very accommodating. May 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceptional facility....staff offers super service Very nice hotel; an exceptionally clean facility that is conveniently located and offers free parking. The employees at this hotel are the Best! May 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Anything we needed they provided. Very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet and the bar were both excellent. May 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very accomadating staff I stay in a lot of hotels in KS MO area and this hotel is by far the best value for the ammenities and postive approach by the staff. April 18, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Surprised by the outdated-ness Just a few hours after checking in, my wife noticed water leaking from the room above us into our bathroom. The maintenance staff was quick to respond which is a plus. The room was outdated with stains on the carpet, a CRT tv, and the walls and jambs in disrepair. We expected a higher level of hotel when choosing a Crown. The bed was great. I wished to have taken it with me. April 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Total Satisfaction Very professional and friendly Personal. I had a very satisfying stay in a comfortable, very clean room and would stay there again and again. April 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Interesting and Enjoyable Stay We booked the Crowne Plaza(based on location - close to Lakeview Retirement Village) for a family reunion/90th birthday party for my Dad. Something was always going wrong - 2 hour wait for dinner, ordered a fridge for the room - got a bed, etc. However, the staff was the friendliest and most accommodating of any place we've ever stayed! The dinner that was late was taken care of by the chef. The bed was swapped for the fridge in a matter of minutes. In the evenings we were provided a salon with a TV so we could watch the b'ball tournaments (Big XII & Pac 12). We were also given a special "family rate." The kids loved the pool and hot tub. We had a great time. Thank you to the staff! March 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience I really appreciate the attention I get at the Crown. As a Platinum member and a repeat customer I am not only expected but treated like Family when I get there. From the GM to the Maintenence staff every one is there to make my stay the best. I could stay somewhere else but i go out of my way to stay at this Crown Plaza. March 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My home away from home I stay at this hotel for a week, once a month for work. The staff is AWESOME!!!!!! March 23, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not quite up to Crowne Plaza standards I travel on a regular basis around the country and try to stay exclusively at IHG/Priority Club hotels. That being said, Intercontinental and Crowne Plaza are the highest on the list of brands in terms of amenities and overall niceties. However, I found this Crowne Plaza to be an anomaly... Our room, which was a suite, was shaped like they had taken an old storage room and turned it into a bedroom. The shape and feel of the room as a whole was very odd. But that's really no big deal... the irritants were that the Sleep Number bed did not work which meant you had to sleep on it at the highest setting=stiff as a rock! And the bathroom had little tiny ants that would show up from time to time on the sink counter. There was also a smell in the room that kind of smelled like mildew, or that something was/or had been soaked at some point. The hotel staff was second to none; especially the dining area! They were absolutely phenomenal and the food was great. From my experience though, I would not brand this hotel a Crowne Plaza... I would brand it a Holiday Inn at best. March 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Service My overall experience was great. The desk individuals Lisa and Glen always give me excellent service. March 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant stay Rooms and property were very clean, looks like they were updated fairly recently. Staff was very friendly and helpful at check in. For this stay I checked in late in the evening and left early in the morning so I didn't get to experience the restaurant or other amenities. March 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff and Fantastic night sleep Highly enjoyed my time at Crowne Plaza. Staff was extremely curteous and welcoming. My room was comfortable, clean, and warm. I will definitely be back the next time I visit the Kansas City area. March 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Above and Beyond I had a fantastic experience at the Crown Plaza in Kansas City, Overland Park. It was the second week in a row that I stayed at the hotel while on business in Lenexa. During my stay, all the hotel's staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful, greeting me with a smile every morning and upon my return, helping make me feel at home my entire visit. One pleasant experience stood out in particular, and I would like to recognize Lisa, a front desk Guest Service Representative, for her outstanding service that went above and beyond what I expected. It happened one morning when I was holding an important conference call in my room. Right before the conference call started (that I was initiating and chairing), cell phone service in the area experienced a major outage. I had people dialing in from multiple sites around the country and could not afford to postpone my meeting. I was unaware the outage had occurred and had begun wandering the hotel looking for a better cell, when Lisa noticed my predicament and offered to help. First, she directed me to the hotel phones but soon realized that option would not suffice. With no hesitation, Lisa took out her personal cell phone and offered to let me use it to set up my call. She had no problem letting me take it back to my room where my laptop and documents were located. I was able to hold my call without further problems and can easily say that Lisa "saved the day". When I spoke to Jerry, the General Manager, he was very pleased with Lisa's effort, indicating that customer service comes first at the Crown Plaza in Overland. I will gladly stay there again, and have a new appreciation of Crown Plaza Hotels. Well done Lisa, and well done to all the staff at the Crown Plaza at Overland Park. Warmest Regards and Appreciation, Tom - A very satisfied guest. March 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Customer Service Great We were here for a meeting and the snow storm hit. Staff stepped up and did the best they could to make sure we were all comfortable. February 27, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Was woke up at 5:22 Usually the front desk is very accomodating to my needs as I am a light sleeper and always request a room facing the pool area as it seems to be the most quiet. I was actually given a room on the 4th floor facing the restaurant area and was awaken at 5:22 a.m. by the kitchen staff clanking and clinking chafing racks to get the continental breakfast ready for the guest. Needless to say, I was unimpressed! I need a good nights sleep as I have a 3 hour road trip back home and after sitting in meetings all day, that already makes for a tired day, then to add a less amount of sleep to it was disappointing to say the least. I will return Feb 28th for another business meeting and hope I am accomodated in my "usual" room. February 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location, excellent service Very nice hotel....extremely clean rooms....excellent service!! February 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Older facility good location, recent upgrades but still an older property and the central court and swimming pool do not lend to a good air quality in the facility and I am sensitive such. February 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Kansas stay All positive things about this hotel, location was good, close to shops and major road (I35), bar had good meals for the nights we didn't feel like wondering down the road to one of the many other restaurants .. Will stay here again. January 5, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Exterior Feature Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Front Desk
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-30-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-01-2014)
Check Availability
Loading