• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Apr-17-2014)
(e.g. Apr-18-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: RICHMOND
  • Distance From Hotel: 4.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with nonrefundable fee. Up to 50 dollars. Pet agreement must be signed at checkin. Call hotel for details. Record of complete and up to date vaccinations required. Pets are welcome in the back of the hotel with a bag station for cleanup.
Pet deposit amount  50.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Phillip Morris
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Shockoe Bottom
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI
Attraction:
University of Richmond
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI
Attraction:
Paramount's Kings Dominion
Distance From Hotel:20.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:80
  • Car Parking Available
  • complimentary....Free Parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:104
  • Total number of suites:104
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:62
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:6
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:VA1079

Richmond, VA Hotel's Guests Prefer Comfort and Ease

Situated on the south side of the River City, the Candlewood Suites® Richmond - South hotel provides a convenient location for all travelers. The hotel's location in Richmond, VA off of I-95 is ideal and provides a quick and convenient drive to all that Richmond has to offer.

Leisure travelers will want to take their time to visit the expanded Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, just nine miles from the hotel's address in Richmond,
View More

Richmond, VA Hotel's Guests Prefer Comfort and Ease

Situated on the south side of the River City, the Candlewood Suites® Richmond - South hotel provides a convenient location for all travelers. The hotel's location in Richmond, VA off of I-95 is ideal and provides a quick and convenient drive to all that Richmond has to offer.

Leisure travelers will want to take their time to visit the expanded Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, just nine miles from the hotel's address in Richmond, VA. Boasting more than 22,000 permanent pieces in their collection, this world-class museum can keep you busy for hours. After taking in the arts, enjoy a variety of shopping options at Fairfield Commons or Chesterfield Towne Center, all within 15 miles of the hotel's property.

Richmond, VA is home to several major companies, including Honeywell, Phillip Morris and Dupont, all of which are just a short drive for our guests. With convenient access to I-95, I-64 and I-895, you can spend more time in meetings with the quick commute from the hotel's Richmond, VA neighborhood.

Whether you visit for a night or an extended stay, you'll find all the comforts you desire as our guest. Free high-speed, wireless Internet access means you can easily stay connected, and since we're pet-friendly, you won't have to leave your companion at home. Take advantage of the Candlewood Cupboard and a Fitness Center. Stay with us at the Candlewood Suites® Richmond - South hotel.

View Less
Features
During your extended stay in Richmond, VA, the hotel's complete kitchens and free laundry facilities help ensure convenience where you need it most. Enjoy a home-cooked meal and avoid the laundromat!

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 174 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My Favorite Downtown Richmond When I have to stay downtown in Richmond the Crown Plaza is always my first choice. The rooms are great, the food is top notch, the manager's evening social time is fun. It's close to all the places I have to go to downtown and is easy to access from the interstate. September 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pretty Good Place Just one thing please get the bathroom faucet fixed in room 1507. The handle was broke on the hot wanter sink and the back of the tub was a little dirty. Bed was great and towels. Overall it was a nice room and place to stay. September 26, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Unless you have to stay in this hotel The hotel is not so convienent as the nearest resturants are 3-4 blocks away. Walkable, but not so safe at night. The carpet in my room was wet, soaking wet each time i took a shower. September 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great staff! Bed was very comfortable and the room very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel shutlle was great for getting around. Bartender was very funning and very helpful with suggestions. The Breakfast was great. I would stay her again when in the area. September 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room 1617 TV reception in this room is beyond horrible. I hope the image attached is clear enough to show the poor picture quality. September 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Accomodating staff, good service. Overall I enjoyed the stay but A/C did not work properly and had a ''blower type'' refrigerator in room. Maintenance switched out the fridge but couldnt correct A/C. The problem was A/C did not work on AUTO which means the fan ran all night and did not cool the room as usual. . I stayed in a room with 2 dbl beds this time and they were not up to usual excellence I expect from Crowne Plaza. Usually as a Platinum elite customer I get a King Size bed in priority suite. I understand the hotel was close to capacity, but I was disappointed in overall accomodations. Again, staff was cordial, food was good, room service right on time. I will consider staying at this hotel again but will make sure they are able to offer usual standards. IHG reception on Wednesday night was excellent , food was well prepared, ambiance great , staff very cordial and helpful. September 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Crowne When check out is established to be at 11am, don't knock on my door with maid service at 8:45am! You probably saw the newspaper still laying outside my door, so obviously, I am not up or ready to check out. September 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by HOME AWAY FROM HOME My only child, is a freshman at VCU. So when he knew this was his school, from January thru June we visit all the hotels near the school to see which one would be the one we recommend to our family whenever they visit him. My husband, his aunt,and myself LOVE this hotel. Candi #proudmomofVCUstudent September 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff Great front desk and bell staff, Jeanne is a great first impression. Appreciated the priority treatment. September 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Great Staff During our recent stay the staff could not have been more pleasant, welcoming and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend! September 11, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Poor service Nascar weekend,everyone returns to hotel a 11:30PM and you have one bartender and server on staff. POOR planning by mgmt. Needed more people. Room service on Sat. knocked on door at 10:30 am , told her wee would be out in 15 minutes. Back to room at 11:45 PM after race, NO room service, NO clean towels !!! will not be back to this hotel again. September 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall, VERY GOOD. But, make sure you get the room you reserved. What was good about our stay: Van/Shuttle Service drivers, pool (note the hot tub is very hot), restaurant ambiance, room, hotel is within walking distance of most of the downtown area. Hotel is very easy to access driving. Parking is good and price is good. What needs improvement: Van/Shuttle Service vehicle is in awful condition inside. Adjacent properties to the hotel are, or give the impression, of a vacant warehouse-like area eventhough that is not what the area is like. Restaurant food is acceptable - variety and offerings are great, but taste is average; breakfast grits are also great, but the omelets are only so-so. (NOTE: Omelets at Embassy Suites are excellent.) Housekeeping was slightly erratic in how many towels, toiletries, coffees, were left day-to-day. What was disappointing: Upon arrival, after the official check-in time, we were told that our room was not ready. Instead of asking us to wait a bit before checking in (until the room was indeed ready), we were switched to other unacceptably smaller rooms (with what would appear no reduction in price). We had to complain - which is NEVER a good thing - to get the full room we reserved. (Someone mentioned the hotel may be trying to save our room for a better client.) FYI - when arriving by car from I-95, there is 30 cent toll to get onto Canal Street, as well as going back from Canal to 95. Has nothing to do with the hotel. September 7, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Renovations needed This property is ok for a business trip where all you want is somewhere to rest in the evening. If you are entertaining clients, this property is old and may reflect poorly on your business. The property has not been renovated in ages. There is not much attention to detail, consistency in service or cleanliness and some room do not seem to have been cleaned well prior to check in. The carpets are old stained and each floor has it's own unique musty smell. Work out room is somewhat out dated too. The food choices are not particulary healthy; tending towards pre-prodessed or mass produced. No gluten free, organic, overall I'm not too impressed with this property. I haven't stayed in other Crowne Plazas to compare, but if this property is a good example, I will be staying away from Crown Plaza brand. Times are changes, modernize-please. September 4, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by This week was not good I was disappointed to find out that the concierge happy hour was cancelled upon my arrival. I think this should have been told to the priority club members in advance. Also the priority club dinner on Wednesday evening was sub par. September 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice experience I arrived late, after 9 p.m., at the Crowne Plaza Richmond and found the staff to be very helpful and informative. Since I arrived so late, the hotel restaurant was already closed. But, the staff assisted me in finding the hotel bistro, which was still open and had available dining choices. The room was a little dated, but still in good condition and as a rewards member my breakfast was free. The breakfast buffet was excellent! August 30, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not worth the price I stayed here while interviewing with employers downtown. The experience was all-around negative. My non-smoking room had a strange odor, perhaps an attempt to cover up smoke smell with a cheap air freshener. The AC was loud, slow to react and poorly placed in the room. The internet was spotty, both over wireless and through the wired connection. The pool was over-chlorinated, and the pool area was overheated and unpleasant. The Coke machine on my floor had been completely destroyed: the plastic front was gaping wide open with jagged edges. I've stayed in nicer roadside motels. For the price, any other hotel downtown would be a better option. August 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by richmond downtown - a great overnight stop we were on our way to the Outer Banks and this was a great stop. our rooms were great - staff was very friendly and assisted us with finding a great place to have dinner (we had a group of 12) - the pool and gym were great for all of us to wear off part of our dinner - parking is right next door and very cheap. August 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay The hotel was very comfortable, the staff was great, and Richmond was very enjoyable. I will be back. August 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place but frustrating service Reasonable hotel, although at the edge of the City the hotel has a shuttle for guests. The staff, whilst friendly, weren't helpful, an example: Our pillows in room were far too hard and thick, I asked if I could have a different style of pillow and was told that " they are the only pillows in that room". In a large hotel I would have thought other types would be available. No tourist map/ guide for city only a restaurant rough map outline, useless for getting around. Maybe fault of tourist office for not supplying . Excellent friendly service from lady in Club Floor lounge. Good breakfasts August 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Best place to stay in Richmond downtown They were sold out when we got there and we were too late for breakfast to early for lunch so the front desk help suggested a place nearby and offered their shuttle service which was friendly safe and helpful and even pointed out where I could locate my bank. Stayed their many times when playing at the National Theater,now they just need to find that and pick me up next time at the Theater lol. All in all good bang for the buck in a town trying to stay afloat in this economy. Kudos C Plaza and staff August 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Visit Front Desk Staff are Awesome....Michelle (Front Desk Supervisor) and Janice always make me feel like a King when I arrive for my stay.....They truly set the tone for a guaranteed enjoyable stay....even if you day is not going well. The rooms are very clean and the bed, tv and amenities are satisfactory. One of my truly favorite places to stay when I travel to Richmond!!! August 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One of the best Richmond has to offer! Couldn't have ask for a better stay. Comfortable stay when I was in Richmond. And yes I would tell a friend about this hotel. August 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Accommodation One night prior to going to Redskins Training Camp. Excellent accommodation for price. Breakfast buffet was average. August 17, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Don't Waste money on Club Level!! I have stayed at this Crowne before and had no problems so this time i reserved a Club Level King Room...well other than being on the top floor (with a lovely view of the abandoned parking lot across the street) there was nothing Club or King about it. I have been in bigger closets! The hotel was fully booked so they were unable to move me and their idea of compensation was a cheap mini bottle of Chardonay which was promptly thrown in the trash! Restaurant bartender was not professional and service was extremely slow (it took them 40 min to make a Ceasar Salad and there were only 4 people in there. Sorry but that was the last time i will stay at the Crowne. August 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, good food I truly enjoyed my stay. The food was very good, breakfast and dinner. The staff was excellent. My only suggestion is that the bathrooms need blowers. August 16, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by This was a Crowne Plaza? Our experience here started out badly with check in. There were two ladies at the desk and although there were only three people in line (including us), we waited approximately 20 minutes. When we finally had our turn we found out that one of our three reserved rooms was not ready (this was after 3 p.m.). As a result, they "upgraded" us to a junior suite for one of our rooms, but we were disappointed to find it dingy and dated with peeling wallpaper and crooked cabinet doors. Not at all what I have come to expect from Crowne Plaza...or an "upgraded suite." If this is what the suite was like, I can only imagine the regular rooms. Additionally, the motion sensor thermostat in our suite was malfunctioning and we could not position it to stay on. Therefore, every time we would get still and asleep, the air conditioning would turn itself off and the room would get hot. We would wake up and have to move around to get the air conditioning going again. I would have called the desk to move, but we did not discover this until we returned very late that night and had already undressed and unpacked. I would not recommend this hotel for anyone looking for the usual quality of a Crowne Plaza. The best thing about our whole experience was the restaurant. Breakfast was excellent. August 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service This is my first time posting a review. My family and I stayed at Crown Plaza while attending the Redskins training camp/fan appreciation day. When we first arrived, the lady that checked us in was so kind and efficient. I have never had an easier check-in. I was even offered a complimentary small bottle of wine. The rooms were clean and bed was super comfortable. Our room had an amazing view at night. We made good use of the pool. I was impressed with the amount of equipment in the fitness room. Front desk assisted us in getting a cab ride to the Redskins training camp. The cab driver was terrific. Plus, the hotel offers complimentary shuttle service to some areas of downtown. We used that service to go to 7-Eleven to stock up on snacks for the kids. I loved not having to move my car from the garage. We would definetly stay again. Thank you! August 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by crowne richmond will stay again Great location near highway and restaurants. We skipped out early so did not do restaurant biy the snack bar coffee and cereal wad good to grt us going August 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent facility, service and staff Hotel rooms were exceptionally clean, staff were courteous and helpful and all service was excellent. Would definitely stay here again!!! August 8, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Questionable restaurant and inconsistent service When booking, the receptionist was short and unaccommodating. My confirmation showed wrong information so I called to correct it and the lady was very helpful. The hotel was given prior notice to expect an influx of guests in the bar. There was only one bartender plus it took over 20 to receive a drink after ordering (this does not include the time spent waiting to order). During my stay I ate breakfast in the restaurant where I found mouse droppings on several plates at the buffet. The waiter was very apologetic and quickly removed them. My friend stayed an additional night and her and her son were unable to sleep due to a extreme party in the room next door. It took several calls to security before they even attempted to solve the issue. August 8, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Visit beautiful Downtown Richmond Visit Historic Pamplin Park Minutes to Shockoe Bottom Downtown Richmond Minutes to Downtown Richmond Just 40 Minutes to Busch Gardens Williamsburg Less than 20 minutes to RIC Richmond Int'l Airport 35 minutes to Kings Dominion Exterior View Front Desk 4 Miles to Medical College of Virginia VCU Hotel Lobby Candlewood Suites Richmond South Exterior View Stay with us while visiting the Virginia Sports Complex Minutes to Shockoe Slip Downtown Hotel Exterior Minutes to Historic Petersburg Battlefield 4 Miles to VCU & VCU Siegel Center Hotel Exterior A short drive to RIR Richmond Int'l Raceway 4 Miles to Virginia Capitol Complex Entrance Lobby View
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Spread Out and Relax