• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Nov-26-2014)
(e.g. Nov-27-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: SAN ANTONIO
  • Distance From Hotel: 10.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-06:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with nonrefundable fee of 15 dollars for the first night and 10 dollars for every additional night up to a total of 150 dollars. Each pet must weigh less than 80lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check in.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Malibu Castle
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Six Flags Fiesta Texas
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI
Attraction:
The Shops at LaCantera
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
The Rim
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Free parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:113
  • Total number of suites:112
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:112
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:85
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Great Service at this All-Suite Hotel in Northwest San Antonio.

Experience fine Southern hospitality when you stay at the Candlewood Suites® San Antonio Northwest Medical Center hotel. Whether you're here for a business trip or family vacation this hotel offers all the amenities you need for an comfortable extended stay in San Antonio, TX.

This all-suite hotel in Northwest San Antonio is near the Medical Center, USAA, KCI and the University of Texas Health Science Center. We
View More

Great Service at this All-Suite Hotel in Northwest San Antonio.

Experience fine Southern hospitality when you stay at the Candlewood Suites® San Antonio Northwest Medical Center hotel. Whether you're here for a business trip or family vacation this hotel offers all the amenities you need for an comfortable extended stay in San Antonio, TX.

This all-suite hotel in Northwest San Antonio is near the Medical Center, USAA, KCI and the University of Texas Health Science Center. We are also just minutes from Lackland Air Force Base. When it's time to work, set up your laptop at the spacious work desk and check your email using the free Wi-Fi.

While in San Antonio, TX, guests can enjoy easy access to some of the city's best attractions. Six Flags Fiesta Texas offers an exciting day of fun for your family! We are just minutes from SeaWorld® San Antonio, Malibu Castle and The Shops at LaCantera. Downtown San Antonio, home to the famous River Walk and the Alamo, is just a short drive from the hotel.

If you're looking for hotels in San Antonio with great amenities, we've got everything you need to feel right at home, including our 24-hour Candlewood Gym, free guest laundry services and an outdoor pool. Borrow your favorite videos and books at the Lending Library. You can also stop by the Candlewood Cupboard for various meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. Whatever brings you to town, our hotel staff is ready to serve you!

View Less
Features
Whether you're visiting for one night or an extended stay, this all suite hotel in San Antonio is the ideal choice for you. We're conveniently located on the northwest side of town and just off I-10.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 144 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Near VA Hospital Good Room, slept well. Stayed one night, the room is close to plenty of places to eat and drink. Busy area but the room was quiet. November 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good service, convenient location This Holiday Inn Express has a very good staff, even the maid service was excellent, and they were friendly as well. The location is easily accessable and a great value for the San Antonio area, with only a short drive to all the major attractions in the city. November 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable beds and great service. The rooms were very comfortable and the staff was professional and friendly. October 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff After a 15 hour drive it was great to be greeted by friendly and accommodating staff. The rooms were very clean and the breakfast was great. I travel to San Antonio often and I will definitely choose this location again. October 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Accommodating staff and clean rooms. The staff was very attentive and helpful when it came to general questions about the area, or extra toiletries needed; the breakfast was promptly made available at 6AM on the dot, and the food staff were also attentive to our needs. The beds and rooms were comfortable and clean, and housekeeping kindly tidied up the leftover packaging of food and trash while we were out from the night prior. The pool was nice and cool, and the spa next to it was refreshing and soothing! I'd definitely stay here again on my next visit. October 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and value Arrived a little earlier than our check in time and our room was ready. Friendly staff and a nice, clean room. October 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyed The Stay Looking to return back in Winter to see the River Walk , Very Friendly staff October 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Hotel I've stayed at this hotel several times now and it has continued to be satisfactory. Nice employees and decent breakfast. Slept well. October 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by NICE PLACE FOR A WELL DESERVED REST VERY SATISFIED, I WILL STAY AGAIN IN THE FUTURE. IWAS VERY CONVENIENT TO THE AIRPORT AS WELL October 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Hotel was in a great location,friendly helpful staff,clean room. October 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Price I was a little concerned at first about my hotel room. I got a call that you had overbooked and I needed to move to another room, I questioned the lady and told her I did not feel like I needed to be removed from the room because the hotel overbooked. She did allow me to keep my room I had booked. October 14, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disapointed Let me say that I have been a platinum member for 18 years, so I may be a little more discriminating then the average transient traveler or family with kids on holiday. I have come to expect certain things at Holiday Inns, which is why I stay 50 to 100 nights a year there. Upon arrival, the front desk folks were very nice, and the place was clean. The tv didn't work, but was fixed very quickly. Downhill from there. The water was luke warm, and the a/c was not very cold, even balmy. I think they were trying to cheap out on utilities by limiting them. The breakfast was poorly done. Barely enough coffee at any given time, had to keep asking to fill the carafes, which there were only two, while most places have five, and a decaf. They had no biscuits, no gravy, no bananas, no whole milk, 2%, or 1%, only skimmed. When asked about it the girl shrugged and said the stuff was on backorder, but it wasn't her fault. Bananas on backorder? The stuff they did have out was cold. Then upon check out long distance charges were on my bill that I didn't make and I had to complain to have them removed. If you travel for biz, avoid this place. October 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff, nice, quiet stay! Front desk staff as well as housekeeping and breakfast stall were all very friendly! Breakfast was great as it is anytime I stay at a HIE. I've had beds that were a little more comfortable but I'm not gonna complain because it wasn't horrible either, pillows were supper soft! Room was very clean as well as the bathroom, plenty of electrical outlets. Overall stay was awesome! October 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very comfortable bed. The place was very clean. Staff was very friendly. I will stay there again/ October 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by First time in San Antonio Close to airport and pretty close to downtown. Not a lot of amenities within walking distance. Staff was great and very helpful. October 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room, So So Breakfast The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was lacking, but not a reason that I would not stay again. Staff helped me with what I asked, but were not over and above like other Holiday Inn's I have stayed in. Again, not a big deal to me, just an observation. September 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Convenient location, close to job site. Hotel staff were courteous and kind. I enjoyed this stay and will book all future stays in San Antonio at this location. September 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service This is the second time we took our friends from another country who wanted to visit San Antonio stay at this hotel. We all loved it as it was nice, clean and its services were great. September 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel Nice staff, room's air conditioning worked excellent. September 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean Nice to be able to travel a great distance and have a comfortable clean hotel to look forward to. I felt safe upon my arrival there, that evening. The room was cool and neat. The next morning's breakfast was sufficient and tasty. Thank you for your courteous personnel. September 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Servicio Excelente. EXCELNTE,SOLO FALTO VARIEDAD EN EL DESAYUNO LA COMODIDAD DE SUS CAMAS ES MAGNIFICA, ASI COMO LA HABITACION CUENTA CON SERVICIOS DE PRIMER NIVEL, September 19, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Manager wont keep up with their promes during my stay, firts the made came with no notice into our room while we were sleeping. then the next day maintenance staff came out of the blue to do some pm on the AC. WHILE WE WERE SLEEPING! it have never happened to me before, for now and on, chain or lock is engaged on mu door.... September 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great location Good place for a short stay in San Antonio Area, close to all interesting places. Comfortable bed and clean room... September 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel but very poor staff! Nice property but I've not experienced this type of poor service from any other IHG or other similar level hotel chain. Staff doesn't greet you and when asking a question seem bothered that you interrupted their time in the back room or whatever task they were performing at the desk. Need training on how to smile and treat the customer, they don't realize that they are in the "service" industry, so...SERVE or find another line of work! Keeping this staff will keep customers from returning, train them, test them and hold them accountable to protect your company name. If they fail to respond to training, get rid of them...move them up or out! August 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room and staff The staff was very inviting and approachable. I loved the spacious and comfortable bed and room. I will definitely go back when in San Antonio! :-) August 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by clean and comfortable rooms very clean and comfortable rooms. I dont want to write anything else as part of a review August 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by What a smell There was a smell in the hallway of the stairs that would make you sick, they need vents or something in there. The breakfast fell way below what I normally get at a Holiday in express, There was a lack of parking around the building August 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by night clerk not very friendly upon check in clerk seemed unhappy. no emotions, no smile, just there August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay in San Antonio We chose to stay at this property because it had easy access to the highway and was centrally located to SeaWorld, downtown and the missions. Rooms were comfortable and quiet, the outdoor pool and exercise room were well maintained. August 9, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by NO Guarantees We called ahead to make sure we had adjoining rooms and we were guaranteed we did. This was a concern because of our children. I actually canceled a reservation at another hotel because when I called they said they couldn't guarantee it and they helped me find this hotel that was supposed to be able to GUARANTEE these rooms. We were contacted by the hotel on the day we were to arrive to confirm our reservation because we had two room reservations. I asked again to make sure they were adjoining rooms and I was told they were not but she would see what she could do. She told me she would talk to her manager and call me back. Keep in mind we were on our way from Kansas and were supposed to check in that day. I never received a call back. I called when we were about two hours away to ask again and she said her manager had just arrived and she would call me back. She also said she was going to check herself which rooms were adjoining to make sure we got what we needed. We arrived at the hotel and we're told that we still did not have adjoining rooms and neither the lady I had spoke too on the phone, or a manager were there. The front desk clerk was rude and acted as though it didn't matter to her. All we were told was that we would have to wait until the next day and speak to a manager. She also told us that we wouldn't find another hotel to stay at because the whole city was sold out. We spoke to the manager the next morning and she said there was only one adjoining room in the hotel but it would be available. We had plans to be at Sea World that day but had to wait until our new rooms were cleaned so we could move our things. I feel our rooms should have been guaranteed considering I called to confirm and reserved them with a credit card ahead of time. This would not have been a major concern if we didn't have small children to worry about. We drove a long ways and had no other choice but to stay. August 9, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby - Renovated 2012 Entrance Hotel Lobby - Renovated 2012 Lobby
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Stay for Less
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-26-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-27-2014)
Check Availability
Loading