Please enter a valid city, zip or airport code to continue your search.
Please select Destination.
Please select Check-in and Check-out.
Please enter a Check In Date
Please enter a Check Out Date.
To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).
    MoreLess Options

    * Required Field

    Corporate ID If your company has a preferred corporate account with us, please provide the account number here.This will allow us to display your company's preferred rates.

    IATA Number The IATA number is a number that identifies bookings associated with travel agencies.

    Group Code If you have a group code, enter it here to show a listing of rooms available for your special occasion.
    MoreLess Options

    * Required Field

    ** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

    Need to make changes, like editing your check-in or check-out date, your room type, the number of guests in your room or cancel a reservation? You've come to the right place!
    Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view recent reservations.
    Please enter Confirmation Number
    Please enter Last Name
    Guest Reviews
    Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
    93%
    Recommend This Property

    Overall Experience

    4.5

    based on 110 reviews
    93%
    Recommend This Property

    Ratings Breakdown

    110reviews

    • 5 Stars
      77
    • 4 Stars
      19
    • 3 Stars
      6
    • 2 Stars
      6
    • 1 Stars
      2

    Ms.

    By

    July 26, 2015

    Excellent!! Great location. I believe this is one of the best hotels to stay when company is visiting from out of town.

    Read More
    Read Less

    Great hotel for an extended stay

    By

    July 20, 2015

    platinumelite

    The Candlewood suites met all our expectations and more. We do not have this brand in Australia and now we wished they were available.
    The beds and towels were great, but the main feature was the extra room and kitchen. We were able to do our breakfasts and we were able to buy some items from the Cupboard for our evening meal. They had a lot of information on things to do in San Diego so that was also very helpful

    Read More
    Read Less

    Great location, comfortable, clean room

    By

    July 16, 2015

    platinumelite

    Clean, comfortable room with great amenities (kitchen etc.). Pleasant staff. Great location.

    Read More
    Read Less

    Nice size suite and nicely furnished.

    By

    July 15, 2015

    club

    Candlewood Suites San Diego was a pleasure to stay at. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The suite was good sized and was furnished nicely. It also sets back from the freeway on a hill which was quieter than most places. It has a wooded area behind the hotel which also added to the peace and quiet.

    Read More
    Read Less

    Candlewood Suites Stay during Comic-Con

    By

    July 14, 2015

    I love this hotel. Stayed here 2 years in a row and rented 3 rooms during Comic-Com. Spacious Room, Full kitchen and Super Friendly and very attentive staff especially Tammy but all of them were very nice of course, makes it worthwhile to stay at this place. Will go back here over

    Posted byHotelStaff
    July 15, 2015
    Dear superheroes! We were so thrilled to welcome you back! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us about your recent stay at our Candlewood Suites. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, and I will certainly be sharing your kind words with our staff. I hope that Comic Con and all the other amazing things San Diego has to offer bring you back to our area often, and we hope to see you again soon! Happy Travels! C. Fulton Guest Services Manager
    Read More
    Read Less

    Cheerful Staff

    By

    June 30, 2015

    club

    Staff exceedingly friendly and promptly solved or tried to solve each and every request from room amenities and Internet password to finding a lamp for a dark corner in our room to as many towels and blankets as we requested. (They never did get phones to work, one bathroom fan to work, or security gate to work correctly all the time.) Staff took a sincere interest in us as guests and repeatedly stated it was their job to help us have a wonderful stay. Two staff even came to view the hummingbird nest outside our door in an attempt to preserve it from the gardeners' trimmers. Staff always smiled! Few hotel staff, in my experience, appear to enjoy their work as much as these ladies and the custodian do. Last fall, we surveyed several hotels in an attempt to house up to 7 family members together with some sort of cooking/refrigeration possibilities. We found this one and though more than we would spend for only a hotel room, the added bonus of not having to eat out several times per day made up for that. At the last minute, we reserved a second room to have more space to get ready for a wedding and for young adults to have some space away from older adults. Got the last one - plan way ahead! The floors in some areas of our rooms were so slanted that we had to consciously balance to avoid a fall; kitchen floor was the place to watch the chair and Mom's walker quickly slide away from table to window. A safety hazard as the chair might be gone by the time you tried to sit down and Mom had to retrieve her walker more than once. Our closet door was also nearly impossible to open because the carpet was too high and/or door not correctly leveled to slide over it. Windows could open for fresh air (YAY!!), but were hard to push. Very strange remodel...still a nice place to stay with nice people to help make it a pleasant stay. Thanks again everyone!

    Posted byHotelStaff
    July 01, 2015
    Dear PleasantlySurprisedGuest: I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at our Candlewood Suites San Diego. The fact that we have kitchens available is among the favorite amenities for our guests...we believe that our guests should have all the comforts of home available to them while they travel. While your overall experience was positive, please allow me to apologize for the minor inconveniences you experienced during your time with us. These issues will be brought to the attention of the appropriate departments. It is my sincere hope that we will see you again on future stays. Happy Travels! Calista Fulton Guest Services Manager
    Read More
    Read Less

    Excellent, Large rooms and quiet place to stay

    By

    June 29, 2015

    club

    Michelle was very nice and helpful Michelle answered all of our questions and gave us directions. The people at the front desk during other hours of the day or night were also very helpful. I'm not sure of the name of the lady that checked us in but I think her name started with a "D". Also, Tiffany was very helpful and kind at all times we worked with her.

    Posted byHotelStaff
    July 01, 2015
    Thank you so much for your kind words, TKGMAGPA! At Candlewood Suites San Diego, we strive to provide our guests with an excellent customer service experience every time. Michelle, Tiffany and all of our staff members really take this goal to heart, and I am pleased to hear that their efforts were recognized and appreciated. It is my sincere hope that you stay with us again in the future. Kind Regards, C. Fulton Guest Services Manager
    Read More
    Read Less

    Very comfortable,location was perfect and it was nice to BBQ,QUIET

    By

    June 22, 2015

    club

    Very comfortable and the location was perfect for what we wanted to see and do.Very quiet and having a BBQ was nice.The girls at front front am and pm shift were outstanding.I did not get their names.We were also traveling with two elder people both in their 90"s so it worked out great.

    Posted byHotelStaff
    July 01, 2015
    Dear Dar58: Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us about your recent stay at our Candlewood Suites San Diego! I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us; summers in San Diego are perfect for BBQ, and I am pleased that you were able to use this amenity. It is my sincere hope that we will see you again soon! Best Wishes! C. Fulton Guest Services Manager
    Read More
    Read Less

    Very large room for a great price

    By

    June 05, 2015

    club

    We got the largest suite at the hotel for 4 adults. The room was very large with great amenities for much less than two rooms at most hotels in the area. The room was very clean and well stocked with all of the linens and toiletries needed. Loved the onsite store where bottled water was only 75 cents. Would highly recommend this for families or groups of 4. The cons for this place include the wifi internet connection was slow and some wall outlets were on motion detectors so they turned off overnight when trying to charge cell phones.

    Posted byHotelStaff
    June 10, 2015
    Dear USD_parent: I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at our Candlewood Suites in San Diego! We strive to ensure that we provide comfort and convenience to our guests at all times. I will be sharing your comments with our staff and management so that they may know that their efforts are being noticed and appreciated. Best Wishes, C. Fulton Guest Services Manager
    Read More
    Read Less

    Huge Room to Relax

    By

    May 29, 2015

    Overall a great stay and a convenient location. I was in a huge room that was very well laid out for comfort and work. If I were to return to San Diego, I would definitely stay here again and request the same room if available.

    Read More
    Read Less

    Great Hotel For Duration

    By

    May 25, 2015

    I visit San Diego just about three to four times a year on business and have stayed in numerous hotels that claim to be 4 and 5 star. Several of these hotels I have left in the middle of my trip to find another hotel for a fraction of the cost and better quality.

    This was my first visit to Candlewood and have to say it has been one of the better hotels thus far. Friendly staff, good location, good size rooms with multiple TVs (which is a MUST have when traveling with my boys).

    In my opinion, Candlewood has but one shortcoming. In order for me to get fresh towels (I stayed four nights) I had to take all my dirty towels to the front desk and do exchange one for one; even though there is a maid, all towels went to the front desk. Of all the hotels I have stayed at (and I have had my share of hotels being that I travel 50% of my time) this has to be the first. Please don't get me wrong, there we little things that could of been improved upon but in comparison to other hotels this hotel is about the same.

    Overall, I will be back the next visit to San Diego.

    Read More
    Read Less

    Nice stay in San Diego

    By

    May 20, 2015

    This is a good place to stay when visiting San Diego to go to Sea World or San Diego State. It's centrally located, close to Old Town and safe.

    Posted byHotelStaff
    May 27, 2015
    Dear SDSUMom: Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! Our central location is definitely one of the things our loyal guests love the most! It is my sincere hope that we see you again on your future travels to our area! Best Wishes, C. Fulton Guest Services Manager
    Read More
    Read Less

    Book With Us Advantage

    Close