• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
(e.g. Jul-12-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Resort

  • Location: Resort
  • Closest City: San Diego
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:3
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Cleaning Fees 75.00 USD up to 6 days, 150.00 USD for 7 or more days
Pet deposit amount  150.00    per stay
Pet fee amount  75.00    per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Sea World
Distance From Hotel:5.0
Attraction:
San Diego Zoo
Distance From Hotel:5.0
Attraction:
Old Town San Diego
Distance From Hotel:1.0
Attraction:
Balboa Park
Distance From Hotel:5.0

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:68
  • Car Parking Available
  • Car Parking Available

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:50
  • Total number of suites:50
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:28
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:22
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:50
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:3
  • Total number of floors:3

Set atop the hillside of Hotel Circle South, the three-story Candlewood Suites San Diego offers a spectacular view of Mission Valley.

Candlewood Suites San Diego is conveniently located to all major San Diego attractions and Interstate 8 freeway access. Nearby attractions include SeaWorld, the Riverwalk Golf Course, Fashion Valley Mall, the world famous San Diego Zoo, downtown's historic Gaslamp Quarter, Petco Park, Old Town, Tijuana - Mexico, Qualcomm Stadium, USD, SDSU, Balboa Park, Seaport
View More

Set atop the hillside of Hotel Circle South, the three-story Candlewood Suites San Diego offers a spectacular view of Mission Valley.

Candlewood Suites San Diego is conveniently located to all major San Diego attractions and Interstate 8 freeway access. Nearby attractions include SeaWorld, the Riverwalk Golf Course, Fashion Valley Mall, the world famous San Diego Zoo, downtown's historic Gaslamp Quarter, Petco Park, Old Town, Tijuana - Mexico, Qualcomm Stadium, USD, SDSU, Balboa Park, Seaport Village, Legoland, Pacific Beach, Sunset Cliffs, Coronado, and San Diego Wild Animal Park.

Nearby organizations include Spa War, Caltrans, Aetna, AIG, BoozAllenHamiton, CP Kelco, Firemans Fund, HSBC/Household, Hyundai, Jack in the Box, Kaiser Permanente, Nextel, Sempra Energy, Stewart Title, SunGard SCT, UCSD Medical Center, Scripps Mercy Hospital, and Symitar Systems.

View Less
Features
Largest suites in Hotel Circle area. Hotel near to any major attraction in town.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 98 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Ehh!! Staff was nice but I had reserved two beds and when I got there they only had me down for one. They claimed the beds were queens but they were super small for 2 people and definitely weren't queen beds. There was no complimentary coffee, you had to pay for it which I thought was weird but the rooms were clean and it was in a good location. 28 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Experience Very accessible to interstate, helpful staff and good exercise room. Worked out problem with rewards points. 22 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Restaurants While the hotel doesn't mention any local restaurants other than the one on-site, there are several restaurants nearby (within a block, and most just across the parking lot), including an excellent Thai restaurant, a few different "fast-food" chains, a buffet chain, etc. Surprisingly, the on-site restaurant actually had some rather tasty offerings, and had specials for some evenings. Pricing was still the typical proud pricing found at Holiday Inn attached restaurants, but when one could take advantage of the specials, they can get a reasonably priced tasty meal. Aside from the restaurant information, the rest was pretty typical Holiday Inn fare as described on their website. Addressing traffic noise reviews - windows appear to be just single pane, so depending on the side of the building and floor you are on, traffic noise can be distracting, but I didn't think it was bad. 18 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Home Away from Home I travel to San Diego for business on a regular basis. The Holiday Inn - Mission Valley is where I stay. My wife often travels with me, so I am keenly aware of how comfortable she is during the day. We find this particular Holiday Inn to be exceptional in it's staff and accommodations. The staff always makes us feel special, from the front desk to the breakfast staff (Richard always starts my day with a laugh). Our room is always clean and the maids are considerate. We will continue to enjoy our "Home Away from Home" as long as work takes us to San Diego. 18 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and clean, friendly staff Enjoyed staying at the Holiday Inn. Friendly staff 13 November 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Avoid Do not stay at this hotel. Avoid at all costs. Hotel is on top of the 15, and you will not sleep a wink regardless of the room that the front desk places you. Waste of money if you can't sleep. The traffic on the 15 stays at a consistent high volume level regardless of whether the time is day or night. 24 October 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by worse holiday inn I stayed at I paid for a suit room, fridge didn't work sheets were dirty, no soap, shampoo, any amendities were in the room. Staff was friendly and tried to be helpful but not worth the money and will never stay at thatlocation again. 22 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet - personal - great experience I stayed at the Mission Valley Holiday Inn Express this past week. The staff was very helpful and always available. Even though it is in a bustling area, it was quiet and easy to relax. Will definitely come back! 06 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Slight Problem BUT, management FIXED the problem! Great location, moderately priced, GREAT Property, CLEAN, COMFORTABLE! NICE STAFF! I ran into a bit of a problem HOWEVER, I went to management and, THEY FIXED THE PROBLEM! This is what makes ALL the difference! GREAT Hotels offer GREAT solutions! There will ALWAYS be problems in life. Problems in life are UN-AVOIDABLE! INEVITABLE! The trick is; GREAT SOLUTIONS! That is what makes GREAT hotels stand apart from the average Hotels! YES! I DO Recommend this Hotel! I have stayed here before and, I WILL come back again! 04 October 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Adequate Hotel There is not enough parking on the premises and even then trying to navigate anything larger than a small vehicle around the parking lot is difficult. My room wasn't ready when I arrived and being a priority club member didn't seem to mean very much. A good hotel, but not somewhere I would visit again, unless I absolutely had to. The cost was much more than I would have anticipated for the level of hotel service. 28 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place - 2 minor suggestions The staff is super at this location. The front desk personell are always courteous and greet me by name. The common areas, and pool area and gym are well kept and stocked with towels. Rooms are clean and nice. Wed night Manager's Happy Hour are good. Two minor comments; 1. I would suggest putting an outdoor shower in the pool area for rinsing off before going in the pool or jacuzzi - especially after working out in the gym or just general cleaning. I like the warm pool water, and hot jacuzzi - both are great! 2. Next time they remodel, change the carpet decour to a brighter and less red circle pattern. 16 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Memorable Stay! Wonderfully close to Balboa Park and downtown. The rooms were nicely appointed and very clean. Although the building is close to the I 15, the rooms are well-insulated from sound. The quality of the food for both breakfast and dinner were stellar and I might add, quickly delivered. 05 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean room, well-run hotel Our room was very clean, everything was in working order. Staff respected our room request. Observed housekeeping staff working hard to keep hotel nice. Hotel is in a good location for getting anywhere in the SD area and was a great value. 03 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Stadium The staff was always courteous and helpful. I have stayed at this location on two separate occasions and have made it my primary pick for my travels to the San Diego area. I enjoyed Dining at both breakfast and dinner. I highly recommend you have the Steak Dinners. 02 September 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Suite was sweet! always friendly, never make you feel like you're a pain in the butt. upgraded to a suite, I requested one with a balcony which I received, no problem. We lost our home almost a year ago and have been hotel hopping. Seeing a smiling face when you check in makes it much easier, less depressing. Lina was extremely helpful. 29 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always a good stay Clean and friendly hotel...have never had a problem there. 28 August 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyed our Stay We certainly enjoyed our stay at you lodging. The folks were great! Michelle at the bar was wonderful. She was nice enough to open a corked wine bottle and provide 3 wine glasses. Thanks Much, Bob 27 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice Hotel Nice rooms Great staff very nice bar area - great bartender great locale 26 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My comments I generally am in San Diego once or twice a month for work and occasionally for pleasure. About a year ago I started staying at the Holiday Inn Express-Mission Valley. The staff has always been extremely personable, polite and professional. I have often had a suite which works out very well, but even the rooms are nice. So I will continue staying at this location. 22 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Experience Front desk staff including front desk manager were delightful. Certainly made us feel welcomed. Did not rate food and beverage as we did not use. You need a spot on survey to indicate same. Thanks. 21 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Work trip turned into relaxation... I had to visit San Diego for some work training, and due to the staff and atmosphere of the hotel, my visit felt like a mini vacation. It didn't hurt having the Chargers staying on site. The staff helped me out with an issue I had with my corporate credit card. I will definitely Return, the location was perfect if you're planning on visiting Qualcomm Stadium or want to be a short drive from the airport and restaurants (not that you need to leave, the food was good at the hotel). Only reason I'm not giving a 5 for the room, I'm used to rooms having refrigerators and microwaves, this room didn't have either (not sure about the other rooms). 13 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very relaxin atmosphere Comfortable room and beds. Great staff, nice location. 09 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Food was excellent. Only down side was with a room on the freeway side of the building, the nonstop traffic noise made it difficult to sleep. People on the other side didn't have that issue, so something to keep in mind when booking. Other than that, would have given a 5 rating. 09 August 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel. Bad restaurant The hotel and staff were very good, except for a gentleman (not so gentle), Richard I think, in charge of the restaurant. The breakfast service was definitely slow and we had to ask for our things several times, even though our breakfasts are more than simple (toasts and cereal). When we left we told this man about our dissatisfaction and he answered very rudely. ( Hope that in Argentina you receive a better service !!) My answer was that YES in Argentina we are treated very politely at every hotel. We had dinner on our first night, breakfast the next day and we NEVER returned to the restaurant. Always went out, even though we would have preferred to stay in. I travel with my mother (aged 91) and my grandson (aged 1). We would have preferred to use the hotel restaurant, but we don´t like rude people. I recommend ANAI from the restaurant, and the girls in front desk, specaily SALLY. They are up to the Holiday Inn standards 07 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Warm, friendly service I was on an extended business trip to San Diego, and stayed at this facility (during the work week) for approximately seven months. (I did not know at the start that it would be for more than a week or two.) I expect courtesy and competence at any hotel. At Holiday Inn Mission Valley it was more like being a family member or friend of every staff member. I was given VIP treatment from the first week I stayed there, until the day I left. I never asked them for special treatment. I didn't need to. They seemed to anticipate all my needs and provided me with efficient and comfortable service. This is not the newest hotel in San Diego, but it is well-maintained and excellently staffed. I don't know where they found their staff members, but any hotel would count itself fortunate to employ even one of them. That they have been gathered (and kept) at a single hotel also says good things about the management. I've just retired but, needless to say, when I'm next in San Diego I will be staying here. 31 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by manager THIS HOTEL WAS EXELLENT MY WIFE, GRANDKIDS AND I ENJOYED SAN DIEGO VERY MUCH BUT ESPECIALLY OUR STAYED AT THE HOLIDAY INN IN MISSION VALLEY WAS VERY GOOD. I WANT TO THANK ALL THE STAFF FOR THE EXCELLENT WORK THEY DO. SEE YOU GUYS THERE NEXT YEAR. 28 July 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average hotel While the hotel and rooms were quite clean, and the staff was very friendly and helpful, we were a bit disappointed with a few issues. There was no fridge or microwave in the room, you had to pay extra for these, and with the cost of the room each night, we feel it should have been included--at least the fridge. Also, we received vouchers for breakfast in the restaurant--for a family of 4 we got a $20 voucher for each morning, but breakfast in the restaurant was expensive and we ended up paying another $25-$30 out of pocket each day. It would have been cheaper to pay the cost of a fridge for each day and buy our own food. Lastly, we were on the side of the hotel where there was lots of traffic, so it was a bit noisy at night. And speaking of noise, the air conditioner from the room above us, was dripping all night onto the ledge outside our window. The next day we opened the window and put a towel on the ledge and that took care of it. Overall, you're average hotel, but I wish we had known ahead of time, what was not included. 24 July 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room was extremely Hot when checking in The location is pretty good but the fast food place next door at night had some less than desirable people hanging around. My biggest complaint when checking in was not having the room set at a comfortable temperature as many other places do. It was very muggy in the room and it took some time for the room temperature to come down to a desirable level. The facility was adequate and the staff recognized me as a Rewards Club Member and upgraded our room without my asking so that was nice. 22 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service I just want to let you guys know how GREAT Leah is. I encountered her several times in my two day stay at your hotel. Every time I saw her she was always smiling and would ask how we were doing. She was more than helpful in helping us navigate the area. Working in guest service is definitely a difficult job; but Leah is absolutely amazing. You guys have a wonderful employee. Thank you so much. 12 July 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Week This is one of the best Holiday Inn's my wife and I have stayed in. We enjoyed every minute in the hotel. Our suite was well designed and furnished. The staff was courteous and friendly. The food was great and reasonably priced. We will definitely stay here again. 10 July 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 next>>
Candlewood Suites San Diego Hotel
Candlewood Suites San Diego Hotel
Select to close.
Candlewood Suites San Diego Hotel Scenery / Landscape Entrance Hotel Lobby Front Desk Our Spa Area Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-12-2014)
Check Availability
Loading