• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Resort

  • Location: Resort
  • Closest City: San Diego
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:3
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Cleaning Fees 75.00 USD up to 6 days, 150.00 USD for 7 or more days
Pet deposit amount  150.00  USD  per stay
Pet fee amount  75.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Old Town San Diego
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Balboa Park
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
San Diego Zoo
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
Sea World
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:68
  • Car Parking Available
  • Car Parking Available

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:50
  • Total number of suites:50
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:28
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:22
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:50
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:3
  • Total number of floors:3

Set atop the hillside of Hotel Circle South, the three-story Candlewood Suites San Diego offers a spectacular view of Mission Valley.

Candlewood Suites San Diego is conveniently located to all major San Diego attractions and Interstate 8 freeway access. Nearby attractions include SeaWorld, the Riverwalk Golf Course, Fashion Valley Mall, the world famous San Diego Zoo, downtown's historic Gaslamp Quarter, Petco Park, Old Town, Tijuana - Mexico, Qualcomm Stadium, USD, SDSU, Balboa Park, Seaport
View More

Set atop the hillside of Hotel Circle South, the three-story Candlewood Suites San Diego offers a spectacular view of Mission Valley.

Candlewood Suites San Diego is conveniently located to all major San Diego attractions and Interstate 8 freeway access. Nearby attractions include SeaWorld, the Riverwalk Golf Course, Fashion Valley Mall, the world famous San Diego Zoo, downtown's historic Gaslamp Quarter, Petco Park, Old Town, Tijuana - Mexico, Qualcomm Stadium, USD, SDSU, Balboa Park, Seaport Village, Legoland, Pacific Beach, Sunset Cliffs, Coronado, and San Diego Wild Animal Park.

Nearby organizations include Spa War, Caltrans, Aetna, AIG, BoozAllenHamiton, CP Kelco, Firemans Fund, HSBC/Household, Hyundai, Jack in the Box, Kaiser Permanente, Nextel, Sempra Energy, Stewart Title, SunGard SCT, UCSD Medical Center, Scripps Mercy Hospital, and Symitar Systems.

View Less
Features
Largest suites in Hotel Circle area. Hotel near to any major attraction in town.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 135 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by As usual, a great experience I've been staying here for over a year, on and off, and have always been impressed with the congeniality of the staff, the willingness to address any problem and fix it, and the comfort of the room. Breakfast is OK, better than most, coffee is good and always available -- in room or in the lobby. The chocolate chip cookies are delicious, by the way, hope they stay! 11 January 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Temporary Visitor Old hotel, deplorable carpets and lots of traffic noise. 06 January 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Will never stay there again. The room was literally a stone’s through away from a very busy, very noisy freeway. When I requested a different room I was told they were totally booked and none were available. I woke up with a head ach, which most likely came from the exhaust and pollution emanating from the freeway. The second day the staff locked me out of the room because they wanted me to sign some additional paperwork. Really?! –How about a phone call instead. Then, when a returned to my room it was locked from the inside due to a faulty latch. It took about 45 minutes to get the door open. While I was waiting I was offered a different room. In summery, the hotel is in disrepair, doesn’t smell nice, and has marginally attentive staff. I couldn’t wait for my two-day stay to be over with. 02 January 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Business Travelers beware! Pros: Front desk was polite. Breakfast room attendant was very polite. Cons: Room was very outdated. No extra plugs easily accessible next to bed. Room's layout I was in was very strange. Loud "clicking" noise coming from the wall for hours. Freeway is a stones throw away and created very loud noise that could easily be heard in the room. Hard to find off the freeway. Pretty much have to use Nav to find it. Pet peeves: Pool was empty. All floors of the hotel seems dated and in need of repair and touch ups everywhere. Overheard other hotel staff cursing while checking in. Towels were thin and not soft There is another Holiday Inn just a few miles down the 8. Might try that one next time, but I have to recommend this one be avoided until it gets some upgrades. (Namely noise resistant windows!) 01 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place to stay! The location is convenient and the breakfast is good (lots of choices if you don't eat eggs and sausage). The window didn't open in our room (#420); I mentioned it to the front desk and hope it will be fixed since the room got stuffy. 30 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice hotel, grate location, renovated room, amazing service I love this hotel. Rooms are spacious in this hotel. Decor is cheerful colors and the bed was comfortable. Staff is very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. Good recommendation about restaurants and shopping. 30 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding HIE We stayed here 7 days and everyday was outstanding from the breakfast's to the room servicing daily. Move here after looking at a motel very near this place. There is no comparision. 10 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by happy in san diego i have stayed at this property many times. each time has been a good experience. rooms are always clean, staff is always friendly and parking is convenient and free!! its close to the freeways and continues to be my hotel of choice when in the area. thank you 09 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Mr Excellent desk clerk's Clean Quiet and located close to all of San Diego amenities 20 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Had fun What a nice staff! Thank you for such great service. They were even nice to my kids! 19 November 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good food - Thin walls - Fitness Room (needs work) The rooms here were clean and generally comfortable. The walls seemed to be a little thin. I do not think my neighbor had the TV very loud but it seemed to come through the walls and conversations were not very private. The HVAC system worked thankfully as both a temperature monitor and a sound buffer. I was able to use the fitness room. Both Treadmills are in need of repair or replacing. The control buttons are mutilated beyond recognition. I got them to work but through a workaround. Breakfast was great and the cinnamon buns are my downfall. 18 November 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst experience ever! So I booked a room here because others from our group were staying here. I arrived late for check-in, and upon my arrival I was informed that the room I got had no working shower in the room. My response was I would find another place to stay. After looking around there were no other hotels aviable in the surrounding areas, and since in was almost 1 in the morning I was forced into taking the room. My other friends starting at the property said I could use there shower. In sorts problem solved. After getting into the room I immediately noticed the room smelled like paint, so I went to turn I the a/c but apparently that didn't work either. I tired opening the balcony door but the noise from the extremely close freeway was unbearable. The noise with the balcony door closed was still very loud but with the tv on was tolerable. In the morning after talking with others from my group I found out the room had originally been given to another member of our group. That person was in the room for a long time before discovering the shower didn't work. House keeping didn't come back on a re-clean the room. Since I knew the person it wasn't the worst case but still unsettling. Also the hair dyer in the room only worked for less the five minutes. After that it turned off and wouldn't turn back on. 13 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good experience Overall, my stay was great. The housekeeping staff tried coming into my room even though I had my do not disturb sign, but that was alright. Breakfast was great and the lady handling it was very helpful and super nice. 09 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Older facility but a great stay. Friendly reception on arrival and great to have laundry facility available to guests. Despite being an older building, the amenities were good. The breakfast room is a bit small (crowded) but still a good offering. Convenient to the highway without too much noise. 03 November 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by clean and quiet rooms HIE always has clean quiet rooms and good breakfast. Staff is generally accommodating as well. 31 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and service Thanks to the Holiday Inn Express La Mesa team for going above and beyond to make my stay comfortable. As a frequent traveler, little items such as welcome gift basket, bottled water and choice of snack amenities, is truly a delight. I know it is not required, but it sure is nice after a long day of travel. Many thanks ans I will surely return. 20 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn and the Chargers! Pleasurable stay! Great Room and a very comfortable bed!! Friendly staff! Highly recommend!!! 18 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed and ambiance and service had a great experience Had a great week at the Holiday Inn. Service was great My stay comfortable, food and snacks were yummy too. 15 October 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by location We made our reservation through 1-800 holiday and were on our way to a wedding on Coronado. Our room was very noisy due to freeway traffic. Sheila took the time and was VERY helpful in satisfying us with a MUCH quitter location. Each time I passed through the lobby she acknowledged me BY MY NAME. Sheila also referred us to the Mexican restaurant next door when we asked for a nice place to have dinner - Very good food! Thanks Sheila!!! 13 October 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good for a comfortable night Was at this property arriving on a late night flight from the east coast. Was able to get a good nights rest and back to work early AM. The internet is a bit spotty and slow. 09 October 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by An aging property Having stayed in about a dozen Holiday Inn Express' I would say this was the most run down property. The furnishings were modern but there were lots of signs of the building being very old, such as: Wide gaps around the door, creaking floors, rusty, dirty window frame, etc. Lots of freeway noise through the window. 07 October 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Customer Service Complaint Initial person who took reservation was rude and did not provide good customer service and when I asked to be connected so I could lodge a complaint, I was connected to the UK who then connected me to the actual hotel I would be staying at. The hotel I stayed at resolved my reservation issues timely and efficiently. Hotel bed lined made me itchy, don't know if not thoroughly rinsed or did not agree with my skin. 23 September 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst bed ever The bed had a problem with the platform that you could see once the bed spread was moved. It tilted down so bad that we had to decide you would sleep on the other side and who took the couch. When we told them in the morning, all they said was thanks for telling us. 05 September 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Going Downhill Fast I have been staying at this facility for nearly 15 years and I am sad at the way this place has become. My co-worker had a package delivered to the front desk and it took the lobby workers over a week to find it. The vending machines either do not work or are sold out. Place has become old and dirty. Breakfast rarely has bananas. Never see a manager to complain to. In over 30 years staying at holiday Inns I have never written a review. This place has forced me to do so, to relieve my frustration. Holiday Inn, please fix this place, not respond with a thank you for bringing these problems to our attention. Also No welcome water bottle for Priority club members as all HI places normally do. 29 August 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable beds This was my second stay at this property in as many weeks. The hotel lobby and the rooms were clean and neat. Even though it is on a busy highway you can not hear the noise unless you open the window. What I have found in the different rooms I was assigned is that the company hired to install the wallpaper did not do a very good job. The wallpaper is bubbled in places in each room and one room the mirror was broken and askew. This property is in a good location if you have business in the area. There are several good restaurants in the immediate area in walking distance. 27 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, comfortable and convenient I like this hotel. It is in a great location, the staff are always willing to go the extra mile and there are a number of convenient dining options right next door. I will definitely be back. 24 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceptional staff The 2 girls who work the desk are very pleasant and really helped me out getting around. 22 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Express La Mesa SD I really enjoyed my stay. The hotel was nice and clean and the staff were friendly. It was really close to the college and there are three restaurants next door to the hotel. I walked to the restaurants for dinner. 21 August 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel has declined We have stay in this hotel 5 times in the last 3 years. Using two rooms each time We were so disappointed with August when we arrive for 6 nights. It has declined in the upkeep and the non smoking room smelled like stale smoke. we did not try breakfast any of the mornings we were there. One of the rooms we reserved were kept awake by the guest upstairs continual ball bouncing. Did not stop even though clerk went to room. Continued to request them to stop, but it didn't. we won't be staying in this hotel any longer. 14 August 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Express La Mesa SDSU Really enjoyed my stay. Staff was friendly. Accomadations were nice and clean. 13 August 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Candlewood Suites San Diego Hotel
Candlewood Suites San Diego Hotel
Select to close.
Candlewood Suites San Diego Hotel Scenery / Landscape Entrance Hotel Lobby Front Desk Our Spa Area Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Check Availability
Loading