• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-28-2014)
(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Resort

  • Location: Resort
  • Closest City: San Diego
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:3
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Cleaning Fees 75.00 USD up to 6 days, 150.00 USD for 7 or more days
Pet deposit amount  150.00    per stay
Pet fee amount  75.00    per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Sea World
Distance From Hotel:5.0
Attraction:
San Diego Zoo
Distance From Hotel:5.0
Attraction:
Old Town San Diego
Distance From Hotel:1.0
Attraction:
Balboa Park
Distance From Hotel:5.0

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:68
  • Car Parking Available
  • Car Parking Available

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:50
  • Total number of suites:50
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:28
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:22
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:50
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:3
  • Total number of floors:3

Set atop the hillside of Hotel Circle South, the three-story Candlewood Suites San Diego offers a spectacular view of Mission Valley.

Candlewood Suites San Diego is conveniently located to all major San Diego attractions and Interstate 8 freeway access. Nearby attractions include SeaWorld, the Riverwalk Golf Course, Fashion Valley Mall, the world famous San Diego Zoo, downtown's historic Gaslamp Quarter, Petco Park, Old Town, Tijuana - Mexico, Qualcomm Stadium, USD, SDSU, Balboa Park, Seaport
View More

Set atop the hillside of Hotel Circle South, the three-story Candlewood Suites San Diego offers a spectacular view of Mission Valley.

Candlewood Suites San Diego is conveniently located to all major San Diego attractions and Interstate 8 freeway access. Nearby attractions include SeaWorld, the Riverwalk Golf Course, Fashion Valley Mall, the world famous San Diego Zoo, downtown's historic Gaslamp Quarter, Petco Park, Old Town, Tijuana - Mexico, Qualcomm Stadium, USD, SDSU, Balboa Park, Seaport Village, Legoland, Pacific Beach, Sunset Cliffs, Coronado, and San Diego Wild Animal Park.

Nearby organizations include Spa War, Caltrans, Aetna, AIG, BoozAllenHamiton, CP Kelco, Firemans Fund, HSBC/Household, Hyundai, Jack in the Box, Kaiser Permanente, Nextel, Sempra Energy, Stewart Title, SunGard SCT, UCSD Medical Center, Scripps Mercy Hospital, and Symitar Systems.

View Less
Features
Largest suites in Hotel Circle area. Hotel near to any major attraction in town.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 292 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and Excellent Service This location is awesome. Close to the marina and lots to do around. The room with the pool view was great. Kids love the pool and courtyard that allowed them to play on the grounds like crocket, table tennis, etc. Staff was very friendly and helpful Beware, parking is $10. Point Loma Cafe is just right by the hotel. July 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Attention to guests needs Outstanding effort and service by a variety of staff members in meeting our special requests - well done! Every staff member encountered was very friendly and professional. July 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by stay with grandkids good location, fun outdoor activities, decent breakfast, decent rates hotel's older wing, closest to pool, is showing its age, but it was a great spot for kids, with a patio room right off the pool, as I had requested. July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and friendly I was here on business, the relaxed friendly atmosphere of Holiday Inn Bayside made business a pleasure. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The atmosphere in the bar area and around the pool was very relaxing. The location of this property was excellent with the Harbor just across the street allowing for some beatiful views and some real nice resteraunts within walking distance. I will definitely be staying here again for business and pleasure. July 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome service and amenities We used this hotel to decompress after 24-hour door-to-door travel to San Diego at the start of our vacation. It was exactly what we were looking for; the room was excellent, the downstairs cafe was delicious (and kids eat free), the staff were helpful and friendly, and the pool was just what the kids needed after a long series of flights. Definitely will do again next time. July 10, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not worth it Typically I like Holiday Inns however, this one did disappoint in value. It was pricey, there was an additional fee to park of $10 per day (there is a lot next door for $6 that is meant for visitors and fish tours) breakfast is also an additional fee of not worth it. Rooms are small, beds were very uncomfortable and unfortunately for us there was a very large family reunion booked on the floor above ours that partied and ran the isles until two in the morning. Also, it was a warm weekend in San Diego and the A/C would not cool. Nice pool area but not enough chairs for all who wanted to be there. July 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lola was awesome I would absolutely recommend this Hotel. great service, very comfortable and love the new modern bathrooms. Awesome shower... :) Lola at the front desk was great! July 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice July 4th The cafe staff were really the stars of our stay. I stayed with my parents and daughter and the cafe staff accommodated the needs of 3 generations with kindness and ease. The hotel room was adequate, nothing special. We loved being able to walk across the street to see the July 4th fireworks celebrations. July 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great hotel Located in the Point Loma area that allowed easy access to down town, airport and residential amenities with out dealing with traffic. July 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable! We came to your hotel from another hotel in San Diego. We had stayed at another hotel for an evening and we very unhappy with that place. We are able to check in early into the Holiday Inn. That was very helpful with my two young children. Our stay was very comfortable and would come back! July 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic hotel in a great location. This hotel is in a great location if you want to relax as it is a short distance from "downtown" San Diego. For my partner and I, it was ideal as we could explore the nearby marina on foot and enjoy the tranquility of this area, then with just a short drive into town we could be in the middle of the Gaslamp Quarter and all the other attractions of the city. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel immensely, felt very safe and the new section of the hotel is fabulous! July 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by BMF National Conference Sales and catering staff did a great job looking after our group. One suggestion is to have as phone or some other system available in the meeting room to more quickly access staff for changes in the program or meet current needs. July 2, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by One of the worst hotel experiences The Holiday Inn Bayside San Diego is terrible for business travel and business sessions. The food and service quality is poor. July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Family Rooms are very comfy and modern, pool area is great for family and single couples. Thou I wish the pool would be more deep. Breakfust at the cafe is excellent July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always great! Since adding the new tower, the Holiday Inn-Bayside has really stepped up their game. I am in San Diego for a meeting each month and my experience has been excellent! June 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Bayview hotel review I am a single mom and took three of my kids with me to stay here. I absolutely loved our suite. It was amazing and very comfortable. Great view. June 29, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Very confusing It was a confusing hotel to figure out where to check in. Based on the address on the side of the building we ended up at the wrong end, trying to find a place to park. Room was not ready so they gave us a temp parking permit so we could at least have our luggage near the right building. Tried to call for wake up call but the line was always busy so called front desk. Called to ask if there was a shuttle pick up closer to our building and told we had to come to lobby. Only to see flight crew waiting to get picked up near our building. Girl at front desk, says "oh sorry about that:. We had two heavy sea bags we were carrying and it was not convenient to carry them all that way. The living furniture in our sweet looked like something you would buy at a cheap store. Sat on couch and it was hard as a rock. I was not impressed with service, convenience or value for what we paid. June 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Gute Lage - neues Hotel Empfehlenswertes Hotel - im neuem Gebäude ist alles hell, sauber und modern. Im richtigen Zimmer hat man einen tollen Ausblick. Personal war freundlich Ich würde wieder dort absteigen, falls ich in der Gegend bin. Kundenumfrage im Nachgang war etwas aufdringlich - man muss nicht im Wochenabstand nachfragen, ob man an der Kundenbefragung teilnehmen will (einmal fragen reicht). June 27, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not what I expected... Over all the stay was nice... Only two areas of improvement are: the dinning, rude waiter and staff there were just there, no engery. Second was when we checked out, we walked by 3 front desk members and not one acknowledged us. No thank you for staying w us or come back. I would expect that from Motel 6, not a holiday inn... June 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet, Taxis readily available, great staff I got into the hotel after my reservation time due to my plane delay and the staff was very accommodating of my late arrival. I was very impressed with the condition of the hotel although the pictures on the website left a lot to be desired. The bar staff was amazing and had lots of insight for what to do what bars and beaches to hit up for my age "22". I had a great time and would recommend this hotel to anyone going out to the area. June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another great stay Awsome stay as always. Room was great and the staff even better. Location is a big plus as well. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed Thank you especially to Dianne Rodrigues, she went out of her way to make sure we had a beautiful room for a very busy weekend! We loved your new addition to the hotel, and the staff was efficient and friendly. We ended up staying an extra night! Had breakfast at the cafe, food was good and the servers very nice. See you next year! Thank you, Art and Pam Ferreira June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service Great experience at this hotel, I would recommend this location to anyone. June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by June Visit to Holiday In San Diego Bayside The beds were extremely comfortable and the pillows so comfy that my husband didn't snore for the entire week. The pool is quiet and relaxing. The food at the Cafe Loma was consistently high quality and the service prompt. The loby of this Holiday Inn is inviting an relaxing. We would stay in this hotel again. June 21, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Keep looking AC ran all night, I still woke up sweating Room was small, out dated, and dingy Staff was nice and professional Tub wouldn't drain Sink would drain Card reader in door had dead battery Couldn't use vanity and have room to get by to the bathroom Furnishings looked dingy June 19, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Problems from the start First impression at the counter I was asked several times to make sure my kids were under 12 for the free lunch tickets. My answer was the same the 4 other times you asked. Walked off the elevator in the back tower (where they put you if you have kids) to a strong chemical smell that gave us headaches. We had to shove a towel under the door. I'm guessing they didn't want to give up the space while they were under construction. Yep we dodged the construction guys often enough to be irritated. The smell was so bad we could not sleep. No resolution to complaints. The room door was so small it was like walking into a closet had to pull bags through it was smaller than a 6'3" guys shoulders are wide. The shower was clogged every day from the start asked for help got none. Point Loma Cafe: while the food was not too bad the service was horrible. If you take a group over 8 you will be charged 18% gratuity just for that. While I don't mind paying a higher tip for a group I expect the service to rise to that level. Our waitress left the menus on the table the entire time rarely came back brought the wrong things to the table and we had to wait 10 minutes plus for her to return to correct it. When I complained to the manager he talked to me like I was Ignorant "sir you’re not from California" this is normal. Yes I forgot it’s normal to treat a larger group bad because you already made your tip I do understand now. This cafe needs an over haul like the rooms except get rid of the manager and waitress withe the attitude. Taking your kids to a pool with an open patio bar is a wonderful experience they get to learn all kinds of new words from the drunken people. When I checked out of this place I mentioned all of this to the guy at the counter and received the same horrible reply I was expecting. I have stayed here twice the first time was fair different room man sized door on that one. He was as rude as the rest emphasizing his Sir's to me after I told them some of the issues. I had to walk away rather than argue with this guy. It was like he was accusing me of making it all up. I travel for business all year long stay in IHG brand hotels every stay and this is what I get for being a Gold Elite member. Condescending rude treatment at a horrible hotel. I will not put my family through it again. Next year on our annual San Diego vacation we might have to choose another brand of hotel all together. I'm completely disappointed by this experience. Not one time when I told them about the issued did they correct it or seem sincere. They reacted negatively every time I brought an issue up. I expected better from a company I have spent thousands of dollars with. If they post this as they should you will regret staying here with a family. One shining star in the hotel was the gift shop girl she was awesome. The rest could learn from her the customer service was great. We had sunburns and needed something to apply to our skin so we could sleep. We arrived at 9pm closing time and she took the extra time to service our needs. I only wish she was in charge of the whole place. Things would have been different. They should be ashamed of them selves for taking money after the service they did not provide. June 18, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not clean If you are staying at this hotel I recommend you request the new addition hotel because we didnt know we got the old building. It was horrible dirty as soon as we walked in the lobby...there was sneeze spit dried on the walls and closet doors disgusting...carpet, bedding all dirty...I requested to move but of course I was told nothing else available...never again you live you learn... June 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by bed This is a hassel , I think the information I have supplied is sufficient for your needs. We had a good time and your facility was more than adequate for our stay. June 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable romm confortable conviente easy access to food and we received a very nice upgrade to reduce the distance I had to walk June 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful grounds, comfortable stay. Had a nice comfortable stay in San Diego, CA. Enjoyed the neatly landscaped grounds and pool area. The wait service at the Point Loma Cafe is super! Very friendly staff! We were accomodated well by Hector, Irene June 12, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>
Candlewood Suites San Diego Hotel
Candlewood Suites San Diego Hotel
Select to close.
Candlewood Suites San Diego Hotel Scenery / Landscape Entrance Hotel Lobby Front Desk Our Spa Area Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-28-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
Check Availability
Loading