• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Nov-01-2014)
(e.g. Nov-02-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Resort

  • Location: Resort
  • Closest City: San Diego
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:3
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Cleaning Fees 75.00 USD up to 6 days, 150.00 USD for 7 or more days
Pet deposit amount  150.00  USD  per stay
Pet fee amount  75.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Old Town San Diego
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Balboa Park
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
San Diego Zoo
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
Sea World
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:68
  • Car Parking Available
  • Car Parking Available

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:50
  • Total number of suites:50
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:28
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:22
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:50
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:3
  • Total number of floors:3

Set atop the hillside of Hotel Circle South, the three-story Candlewood Suites San Diego offers a spectacular view of Mission Valley.

Candlewood Suites San Diego is conveniently located to all major San Diego attractions and Interstate 8 freeway access. Nearby attractions include SeaWorld, the Riverwalk Golf Course, Fashion Valley Mall, the world famous San Diego Zoo, downtown's historic Gaslamp Quarter, Petco Park, Old Town, Tijuana - Mexico, Qualcomm Stadium, USD, SDSU, Balboa Park, Seaport
View More

Set atop the hillside of Hotel Circle South, the three-story Candlewood Suites San Diego offers a spectacular view of Mission Valley.

Candlewood Suites San Diego is conveniently located to all major San Diego attractions and Interstate 8 freeway access. Nearby attractions include SeaWorld, the Riverwalk Golf Course, Fashion Valley Mall, the world famous San Diego Zoo, downtown's historic Gaslamp Quarter, Petco Park, Old Town, Tijuana - Mexico, Qualcomm Stadium, USD, SDSU, Balboa Park, Seaport Village, Legoland, Pacific Beach, Sunset Cliffs, Coronado, and San Diego Wild Animal Park.

Nearby organizations include Spa War, Caltrans, Aetna, AIG, BoozAllenHamiton, CP Kelco, Firemans Fund, HSBC/Household, Hyundai, Jack in the Box, Kaiser Permanente, Nextel, Sempra Energy, Stewart Title, SunGard SCT, UCSD Medical Center, Scripps Mercy Hospital, and Symitar Systems.

View Less
Features
Largest suites in Hotel Circle area. Hotel near to any major attraction in town.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 400 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Close to EVERYTHING and complete without it This place was great all by itself as a gathering place or overnight rest. But it is next door to San Diego Harbor and several fine restaurants, the airport, marina, downtown, and museums. All angles are covered. It's a great place to stay. October 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by DirecTV reception For some reason, the DirecTV signals for channels in the mid 700's (ESPN HD, HBO HD, etc....) didn't come in. Kept getting a "no signal" message. October 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very good for early flight I just stayed there because I had an early flight combined with an expiring free-night certificate, so it worked well. The hotel is nice but I was in late and out at 5AM --- so other reviews are probably better. There is a bar with sandwiches open until 11. The food isn't cheap but the sandwich made an ok dinner. October 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great location and staff very friendly we enjoyed the great location in front of the marina and the staff was very friendly October 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and a All in One hotel near SAN Airport 1. When traveling you can check in a night before to be nearby the hotel. 2. All in One: Hotel, Restaurant October 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff Outstanding service from the time I arrived to my departure. It met all my needs especially the location and the shuttle service. October 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasantly Surprised It's been a long time since I stayed at a Holiday Inn and the Bayside was a pleasant surprise in that it was a fantastic value for price I paid. The rooms were large, clean and quiet. The pillows were extremely comfortable. I would definitely recommend to anyone traveling in the area. October 14, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Airport stay Just coming in for the night. Rode in the shuttle with flight crew from an Airline whose hotel was further down from ours and the shuttle driver wanted to drop them off first to each one of there rooms and then drop us to hotel. Really? Our hotel room was changed to further location, it was suppose to be for our convenience...right, from poolside to back alley. Front desk help was very put out to help us get to the airport on time the next morning b/c she could not locate shuttle driver. It was obvious we were just number. Bad service from airport to checkout. October 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice It was a very comfortable hotel and the staff was very friendly. I would recommend this hotel. October 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location This Hotel is on the best location in San Diego close to everything including the Airport, the staff was great and room suite the best, very spaciates, I would definily stay here again. October 13, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by We were best served by Irene Although our stay was a 3/5 I rate Irene at the Point Loma Cafe 5/5. We enjoyed our stay because of her lovely smile. Breakfast was the best about the hotel in quality and quantity, but not all the staff at the cafe. We would return again for a stay to be served a nice breakfast by Irean. October 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by customer service exceptional The customer service at this hotel far exceeded any service I have received at any hotel. Brandon was just the best. He was knowledgeable of the area and genuinely friendly. The room was large and the bed comfortable. I paid more for the new building and a view, however, I do not feel it was worth the price. The view was of a tiny sliver of the boats in the bay. I have never stayed in the older buildings so I can not compare the two. I was also not too thrilled with the location. October 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Worth it! I am glad to have stayed for business and would stay for pleasure in the future. I was impressed with the staff, the amenities and the proximity to multiple excellent restaurants, the airport and local activities. October 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to Stay I stayed at this hotel for 6 nights, both business and pleasure. Very happy with everything. View was good. Room was good. Customer Service was good. I contacted hotel prior to my arrival requesting a room in the new section and a higher floor level and it was fulfilled completely. Thank you for your service! October 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful experience This is the second time our group has held a Military Reunion at Holiday Inn Bayside. There is a good reason for returning. In addition to the wonderful structural and decorative updates to the property, again our group received the best hospitality , friendliness and service, as in the previous stay. The staff is to be highly commended, on how they treat their guests. Even though the Lindbergh Airport is nearby, there was no noise factor, due to the well soundproof rooms. It was a very enjoyable week and I will surely return, as soon as possible. October 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love the renovations, hate paying to park!! I have stayed prior to the renovations and was always pleased. The new hotel looks great. My biggest disappointment was the parking. I am already paying to stay at the hotel and now you have to pay to park. Prior to renovations there were no parking charges. I now would check other Holiday Inns first, I hate having to pay to park! Otherwise I like this hotel October 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by AWESOME HOTEL Everything was awesome! The staff, manager bent over backwards to make my daughter and my stay great. I love the rooms, the pool feels like your in Hawaii, little mini vaca for us!!!!!! Great job to everyone at the Holiday Inn Bayside, I cant wait to come back! October 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by the home experience Like I said in the survey "PROFESSIONALISM"!!! The next time that I am in San Diego I will come back. I can not say enough good things about my stay. I am back in Philadelphia and constantly thinking about my stay........ October 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Excellent service and great location. I arrived at the hotel before Noon. Being a platinum member, I tried my luck to check in early. The front deck was very helpful to keep checking with Housing Keeping and allowed me to check in as soon as a room became available. Overall, a great location with friendly staff. I will stay there again on my next business trip. October 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Working trip One of many times staying at this property. Convenient for my business purposes. October 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Reunion Stay Working with the Holiday Inn Manager, we were able reserve a block of rooms for a planned reunion to be held in San Diego. The Hospitality Room we were given access to was excellent, the banquet staff great to work with and everyone was very courtious. MUST try the Hotel Cafe as the food and service were excellent. October 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great view and comfortable room This hotel located near shelter island provides good service and a great environment for business and pleasoure. September 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place I have recommended this hotel to so many colleagues traveling to San Diego. It very convenient especially to Naval Facilities in San Diego as well as provides quick access to beaches in the evening. The recently upgraded fitness provides equipment to maintain a fitness routine when on travel and is better than the typical hotel. September 30, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room Room was not up to date and needed maintenance. The walls were in need of paint. The TV was not mounted level on its base. It was at an angle and could not be straightened. In addition, it was difficult to find the entrance to the parking lot. It would be beneficial to post a sign that could easily be seen from the road, especially at night. September 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay all around My experience was very good. The staff at hotel were very friendly and helpful when needed. My only issue was the gates and the entrances could more clearly marked for viewing from the street. September 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by NOT friendly to dietary restrictions I was there for a conference, and the Bayside provided all the conference food. I am non-celiac gluten sensitive, and none of the conference food was labeled with ingredients, so the only thing I was able to eat there, despite a rather large variety of food, was the white rice, fruit, coffee, and water. The restaurant menus were also not labeled with gluten-free options. This was really disappointing and surprising. Especially since the conference organizers asked if members had any dietary restrictions. My room was also in the old part of the hotel, so the rooms open out onto the street, and the ventilation wasn't very good. It was very humid in my room. The staff, however, was wonderful. Very helpful, friendly, and approachable. September 25, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Poor Customer Service Front desk staff needs to treat/talk to customers better September 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel, except for internet service The hotel was nice and very comfortable, I loved the bed. No breakfast included however. The pool was nice. though the communication with the different buildings was a little awkward. My only complain is the internet service, which was slow and it completely shut down at times. I called the reception to report this, but they suggested fake moves (such as rebooting my equipment, as if that would solve anything), so I gave up trying to have them help me with it. Good thing I didn't have to use the internet extensively, but this is one thing the hotel needs to improve on. Other than that, nice service and a good experience. September 24, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by No Response to Problems Encountered During Stay My room air conditioning did not work, and despite being told assistance would be sent, nobody came to check the problem. The keycard did not work on the pool gate. The bar was not open on Sunday until after 3:00 pm to allow guests to watch the only sports telecasts in the common areas. However, employees were seen in the bar watching sports on TV and ignoring guests standing at the locked door. If employees can be in there watching tV, the guests should be allowed also even if doing so without food and drink service. September 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place the staff is very friendly parking is secure rooms are very clean no loud AC noise in rooms like other locations September 24, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>
Candlewood Suites San Diego Hotel
Candlewood Suites San Diego Hotel
Select to close.
Candlewood Suites San Diego Hotel Scenery / Landscape Entrance Hotel Lobby Front Desk Our Spa Area Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn Up To 5,000 Points
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-01-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-02-2014)
Check Availability
Loading