• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Resort

  • Location: Resort
  • Closest City: San Diego
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:3
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Cleaning Fees 75.00 USD up to 6 days, 150.00 USD for 7 or more days
Pet deposit amount  150.00  USD  per stay
Pet fee amount  75.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Old Town San Diego
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Balboa Park
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
San Diego Zoo
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
Sea World
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:68
  • Car Parking Available
  • Car Parking Available

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:50
  • Total number of suites:50
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:28
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:22
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:50
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:3
  • Total number of floors:3

Set atop the hillside of Hotel Circle South, the three-story Candlewood Suites San Diego offers a spectacular view of Mission Valley.

Candlewood Suites San Diego is conveniently located to all major San Diego attractions and Interstate 8 freeway access. Nearby attractions include SeaWorld, the Riverwalk Golf Course, Fashion Valley Mall, the world famous San Diego Zoo, downtown's historic Gaslamp Quarter, Petco Park, Old Town, Tijuana - Mexico, Qualcomm Stadium, USD, SDSU, Balboa Park, Seaport
View More

Set atop the hillside of Hotel Circle South, the three-story Candlewood Suites San Diego offers a spectacular view of Mission Valley.

Candlewood Suites San Diego is conveniently located to all major San Diego attractions and Interstate 8 freeway access. Nearby attractions include SeaWorld, the Riverwalk Golf Course, Fashion Valley Mall, the world famous San Diego Zoo, downtown's historic Gaslamp Quarter, Petco Park, Old Town, Tijuana - Mexico, Qualcomm Stadium, USD, SDSU, Balboa Park, Seaport Village, Legoland, Pacific Beach, Sunset Cliffs, Coronado, and San Diego Wild Animal Park.

Nearby organizations include Spa War, Caltrans, Aetna, AIG, BoozAllenHamiton, CP Kelco, Firemans Fund, HSBC/Household, Hyundai, Jack in the Box, Kaiser Permanente, Nextel, Sempra Energy, Stewart Title, SunGard SCT, UCSD Medical Center, Scripps Mercy Hospital, and Symitar Systems.

View Less
Features
Largest suites in Hotel Circle area. Hotel near to any major attraction in town.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 124 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel The staff was very accommodating and friendly for our large group in town for a funeral. They were very attentive to our needs for group meeting areas. Rooms were updated, clean and very comfortable. I will stay here again next time I'm in town. August 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by San Diego my stay was a 10 all across the board. Thank you for taking care of me during my stay! August 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent customer service The staff is always friendly and the rooms are clean August 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel for the price. The Holiday Inn - Mission Valley was a great deal, the staff were friendly and the restaurant food and service was outstanding thanks to the bartenders. The rooms/bathrooms are a little outdated and worn, but they were clean and comfortable (though the pillows are not too comfortable in my opinion - all very soft even though two were embroidered as 'firm'). Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone for business or leisure and will definitely consider staying here on my next trip to San Diego. August 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good experience overall Enjoyed the dining room and the room, overall service was good. Nice stay. August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Outstanding Hotel This property is outstanding. One of the best we have stayed at. Close to where I work, staff, food, rooms, etc are great! I have recommend this property to most of our friends. We love the property, and the staff seems like family to us! Thank you again for everything!!!! Mrs. Johnson, Room 306 August 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great hotel experience I really enjoyed my stay because everyone on the hotel staff made me feel right at home. August 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location Reservations were made in advance for my family to stay here and two beds were required. Upon check-in, they learned there were no rooms with 2 beds available. Manager Kate upgraded them to a King suite and a roll away was brought in. She was a pleasure to speak with and represents your company well. Because of her customer care, we will use your property again in the future. August 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by all I needed was right here Clean, close enough to downtown without having to pay for parking, free shuttle service, reasonable prices, friendly staff! August 4, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Parking is the worst I have ever experienced If you have a rental this review will not influence you. If you bring your car make sure you have insurance. There is not a space on the entire property that you would allow you to open your door more than half way. My car received damage on both doors including someones bumper hitting the back of my brand new car. I have addressed this with the staff and am awaiting a call back. Also if you are looking for a clean room you may consider staying elsewhere. I received an upgraded room with mildew sheets and hair scattered throughout the bathroom and sink. Overall I felt the front desk staff was very nice, and they unfortunately couldn't do much as their were little to no options at the time. I feel my review is a accurate one as I do travel throughout the United States weekly. I will certainly do a follow up review when I have a manager contact me or not. Happy travels August 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome hotel Clean, comfortable hotel that meets my combo play/work trip... Great, friendly staff, kudos to Sally & Arlene, they were super friendly and helped me out with my questions and requests... Miguel in engineering was also prompt in service! July 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by San Diego The front desk staff were very nice and accommodating. The restaurant food was good. Great location. The gym could use an update though. Other than that not much to complain about. July 24, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by terrible stay this was one of the worst hotels I have stayed in we travel 16 -20 times per year and this was a terrible experience. It has left a bad taste in my mouth for your hotel chain July 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable! The room was very nice very comfortable bed!!!!! I recommend the suite if you have kids and want privacy. Extra meal coupons saved us $. The restaurant /bar on site made it really easy to get what we need after a long day and be able to enjoy breakfast in bed in the morning....I sent my fiancé to get it of course:) July 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice and clean hotel Location was great and central to everything in San Diego. Hotel was nice. Staff very helpful, respectful and courteous. Room clean. Bed and pillows comfortable. Close to stores and restaurants/ fast food places. The in-house restaurant had good food. July 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic Stay at Fantastic Hotel Great location - very great service!! Michelle in the Bar is as good as any and the sales team hosting a manager's reception were incredible. July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service My overall stay was exceptional. The only issues I had were that the coffee pot in the room didn't work and the laundry dryers did not dry my clothes. It took 2 full dries to do the job. July 10, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Bad service Very not child friendly Inn. The reception told me we have kids and we're not qualified for the 4th floor and switched us to the 1st floor. The 1st floor room with heavy smoke smell. The reception lady not smile at all and look like I owe her a million dollars. Service shouldn't be this way. NOT RECOMMEND if you with kids. July 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great Service Great Service, Great Hotel and I will be back. The staff was very friendly and very accommodating. Hope to stay in a bigger room next time. July 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by San Diego - Mission Valley Review It was a comfortable stay if your just there to sleep. I've been to other Hotels with much more luxury and that are renovated. The closet space was very small and the closet seemed to have holes on the side of it. I did like that I had a mini frig and microwave; this was a great feature. I requested a King size bed and received a Queen... I did not try the bar or restaurant. The parking spaces are limited and reduced in size. June 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and Clean In general, it was a pleasing experience to spend a night in this hotel. The hotel and the room were very clean and looking great. Be ware of the outside noise from the nearest road if you are sensitive to it. It may wake you up at 6:30am. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Large room and comfortable bed My son and I shared a suite. I slept in the bed and he slept in the sofabed in the other room and we both slept very comfortably. We had our own TVs, so we could each watch different programs. All in all we enjoyed our stay and would stay here again. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay and relax Very nice, clean facility, with internet access, workout and pools are very good, excellent food and bar June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Very nice hotel and great staff. Bar/restaurant was always clean and the food was excellent. Would stay there again no questions asked. Only real complaint is parking, otherwise best hotel I have stayed at in years. Great job. June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Guest comfort integration If it's possible for a facility to integrate all levels of guest comfort to provide the best experience, this place had it during my stay. From the night clerk who greeted me, to the bartender who prepared my night cap, on through the breakfast team, and the shuttle driver, I was treated with the best customer service possible. A special shout out to Patti from the restaurant. An extra special shout out to the shuttle driver whose name escapes me. He made me feel that San Diego was glad I was visiting. Incidentally, when I asked the day clerk whether the shuttle could take me to another hotel where my conference was being held, she said there would be no problem. Conversely, when I asked the same question of the hotel where the conference was being held about getting a shuttle ride back to my hotel, I was told, "sorry, our shuttle doesn't go that way." June 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff and confortable accommodations I have stay at other Holiday Inn's in northern California and this facility has all the desirable qualities for my travel. I work in the area and I appreciate a clean and quiet room. The convenience of having a shop on the premises is an added benefit. Also having a mangers reception where you can meet the staff and interact with other travelers is a nice touch. I have already recommended this location to others in my office. June 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable stay This is our second time staying at this hotel for a week each visit. Overall we have been very pleased and will return again. A couple of minor complaints. The beds were very hard!! Took a couple of days to not have a back ache. In general the staff is excellent, always friendly and helpful. But we were never acknowledged as rewards members which was a bit irritating. The last night there we needed to print out our boarding passes for our morning flight. The printer connected to the computers for guest use was not set up. We went to the front desk for help and the clerk was not very happy that she had to print them out. The solution, fix the printer or be courteous when its not working. But again these were minor and we will return. One more thing the restaurant staff was great every time! June 13, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by powerage outage we booked are rooms 2 days in advance we had 2 hour drive to get to the hotel when we get there around 8pm on friday, we were told to charge all of are electronics devices cause the whole hotel is gonna be without power from 12;00am to 5;00am.family was tired so we had no choice,we let them know its 2 kids & 2 adults when i booked the rooms, it was real hot in the rooms sliding doors & windows had no screens couldnt leave nothing open.We were given 1 flashlight that didnt work oh & they said 1 flash per room knowing that there were 4 of us we had to use our phones for light if we had to go to restroom.filed a complaint on june 2 manager still hasnt called me back all i want is a sorry for the inconvience till this day no call back they said they had no controll of power outage course they dont but they got a notice from city and could of let us know when we booked our rooms, so next time you book a room there make sure you call them for last minute surprises we ended up buying season passes for sea world but guess what were not staying there helpful0not helpful0. Report inappropriate content June 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good for the roasd warrier and TDY Good setup in the room for working. Gov't per-diem program is very good. THE FOOD IS GREAT. Very convenient to the3 15 freeway. Great staff. June 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient and Comfortable We found the Holiday Inn in Mission Valley to be conveniently located and very comfortable. The staff was attentive. The restaurant menu had a good variety of choices for breakfast. One suggestion for improvement: Monitor the pool area more carefully. We returned from a full day sightseeing with the family to relax in the pool. The pool area was littered with food items on the pool apron from people who had ignored the sign that prohibited food and beverages in the pool area. It was Memorial Day weekend and would have been helpful to have effective monitoring of the pool area so that all guests could enjoy it. June 6, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>
Candlewood Suites San Diego Hotel
Candlewood Suites San Diego Hotel
Select to close.
Candlewood Suites San Diego Hotel Scenery / Landscape Entrance Hotel Lobby Front Desk Our Spa Area Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
Check Availability
Loading