• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Dec-17-2014)
(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Resort

  • Location: Resort
  • Closest City: San Diego
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-08:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:3
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Cleaning Fees 75.00 USD up to 6 days, 150.00 USD for 7 or more days
Pet deposit amount  150.00  USD  per stay
Pet fee amount  75.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Old Town San Diego
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Balboa Park
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
San Diego Zoo
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
Sea World
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:68
  • Car Parking Available
  • Car Parking Available

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:50
  • Total number of suites:50
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:28
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:22
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:50
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:3
  • Total number of floors:3

Set atop the hillside of Hotel Circle South, the three-story Candlewood Suites San Diego offers a spectacular view of Mission Valley.

Candlewood Suites San Diego is conveniently located to all major San Diego attractions and Interstate 8 freeway access. Nearby attractions include SeaWorld, the Riverwalk Golf Course, Fashion Valley Mall, the world famous San Diego Zoo, downtown's historic Gaslamp Quarter, Petco Park, Old Town, Tijuana - Mexico, Qualcomm Stadium, USD, SDSU, Balboa Park, Seaport
View More

Set atop the hillside of Hotel Circle South, the three-story Candlewood Suites San Diego offers a spectacular view of Mission Valley.

Candlewood Suites San Diego is conveniently located to all major San Diego attractions and Interstate 8 freeway access. Nearby attractions include SeaWorld, the Riverwalk Golf Course, Fashion Valley Mall, the world famous San Diego Zoo, downtown's historic Gaslamp Quarter, Petco Park, Old Town, Tijuana - Mexico, Qualcomm Stadium, USD, SDSU, Balboa Park, Seaport Village, Legoland, Pacific Beach, Sunset Cliffs, Coronado, and San Diego Wild Animal Park.

Nearby organizations include Spa War, Caltrans, Aetna, AIG, BoozAllenHamiton, CP Kelco, Firemans Fund, HSBC/Household, Hyundai, Jack in the Box, Kaiser Permanente, Nextel, Sempra Energy, Stewart Title, SunGard SCT, UCSD Medical Center, Scripps Mercy Hospital, and Symitar Systems.

View Less
Features
Largest suites in Hotel Circle area. Hotel near to any major attraction in town.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 180 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Thanksgiving stay The actual rooms were very nice, the hotel was well maintained. I LOVED the bed, it was very comfortable. The shower had a nice shower head and plenty of hot water. My complaints were: 1. The housekeeping staff opened the door to their " broom closet", which was located next to my room at 7:45 am and started talking LOUDLY, so that if we had wanted to sleep in we would not have been able to do so. 2. There was some sort of gathering for a bunch of high school soccer players, who ran up and down the hallways, rode the elevators a dozen at a time and made a bunch of noise. 3. Parking was difficult, the spaces were tiny and difficult to get into. 4. The room was either way too warm or too cold and the air was noisy. 5. I am used to staying at hotels where breakfast is included in the price of the room, so having to pay for breakfast was a shock. December 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very pleasant and comfortable parking not the best but they try. overall very good hotel December 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good stayed for bussiness Not a bad hotel for just a bussiness trip. However need to have a better TV channel gide, it also needs to update the room. Not having the ready breakfast is something I missed from other Holiday Inn's (Express). December 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location for football events Overall the hotel was great for location for dining and shopping close by. Great freeway access to other locations, great neigborhood. Front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful, The only problem I had was with the maid in our room.. Not enough trash cans in room. The maid presentation on the 2nd day not good as she did not replemish the items like cups and glasses used and took my soap and did not replace with new one. Everything in sink area and table were we put coffee pot was less then impressive. Other than that the beds was very comfortable. My only other comment is that staff was vague as to how rooms were set up with microwave and refrigerators . Some had them some did not. Also rooms were of different set-ups which I though was weird . But overall would stay again. December 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Service All met our needs very well. The rate was excellent and the service was friendly and efficient. The waitress and the desk staff were very helpful. November 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Accommodating friendly front desk Welcomed me as a valued guest. Very pleasant and helpful November 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Short stay Our overnight stay was to be close to Rady Children's hospital for an early AM appointment. The hotel was convenient and close, easy access off the freeway and comfortable room. The only maybe negative was the noise outside and very negative was having to walk through the smoke cloud outside the main entrance to get to our car parked outside every time we needed to drive somewhere. This hotel is contracted with Rady Children's hospital and it is hardly a healthy environment to walk your youngster, especially a SICK one, through and pass by the collection of smokers outside the lobby. We were parked in the Handicapped parking which is EXACTLY where the smokers were congregating! This would be the one reason why I would not return. November 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasantly a great room and even better staff I'll be quite honest, I was very pleasantly surprised by the hotel. The rooms were spacious and clean and didn't have those funcky hotel smells. It also had a full service restaurant. Kate was real cool too. She definitely went above and beyond in providing excellence In customer service. Will be back again if I'm in San Diego! A big shout out to the rest of the staff there too, Sally and Janette! November 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service The staff in the cafe is awesome. The food was great and always served fast. November 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel Very pleased with staff at the hotel, great attitude. Clean hotel, nice room. Good Wifi. Con, No extra outlet on nightstand for cell phone plug in. November 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by awesome! After going to Qualcomm stadium which is just minutes from the hotel we checked in. The hotel was amazing from the time we walked in. The receptionist Sally was absolutely amazing! She gave us three choices of what floor we wanted to be on. Since my wife and i had a rough time at the stadium we werent thinking of climbing any stairs or taking an elevator up and down so we decided to stay on the 1st floor. After checking in we didnt know the area so we decided to check out the restaurant and bar they had in the hotel which was amazing! The king size suite we got had everything we needed for a good nights rest. We would definitely stay here again! November 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place Access, food, services, freeway. Everything is great here, and staff are ready to serve and assist. November 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT Hotel! 2nd time I've stayed at this hotel and it was excellent. Staff is very welcoming, personable, friendly, and accommodating. The hotel is VERY clean and smells fresh. November 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Outstanding staff, great restaurant, nice area of San Diego. Close to everything one would need. Easy access to the highways. November 10, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by I'll take another hotel next time It's sad that a Holiday Inn Express is ten times better than this, a more expensive, big brother. 1) HIE rooms are bigger and better than what I got here. 2) HIE has mini-fridges. I've come to simply expect them in a hotel, and I am shocked, even annoyed, that this one doesn't have one. Back to cooling a diet coke in the ice bucket.... ugh. 3) When I checked in, i turned on the heater to take the chill off the room. I started working on emails, and thought that someone was doing some light construction outside. Sounded like someone using a small needle gun or chipping hammer on some concrete or curb. I thought nothing of it, until an hour later, I actually looked outside to see who was working, and where they were. That's when I realized, the noise came from the heater/AC unit. Every time it kicked on, it rattled for thirty seconds, then stopped, then rattled. Pretty annoying, to listen to that kick in all night long. ugh. 4) Breakfast, like I suspected it would be, was NOT worth the extra money paid for it. Once again, the "chefs' at HIE make better biscuits and gravy. I'll give the chef here props for GREAT eggs (two, over easy, perfectly done), but two eggs, even well cooked, aren't worth the $15 extra I spent. I'll stay elsewhere in San Diego from now on. November 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very noisy, but great staff members The only negative comment I need to make is the excessive noise outside my room. I have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions. There are no "quiet" rooms at this property. If thermal pane glass were installed in all the windows the noise level would be reduced significantly. Although the staff can't really do much about the noise level, every member was outstanding in their response to my needs. November 4, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by shutle I had got tickets for the Chargers game and it would hade been an exellent service if there had been a shutle service to Quallcom station (not necessarily fre of charge) October 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable to Stay The location is close to my office. And also close to Warmart, Fry's and other market. Hotel room is comfortable, Staff are very friendly. October 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A nice place in a great location This hotel is a low key favorite in the Murphy Canyon area of San Diego. It has free parking and plenty of it so don't get hung up squeezing into the tiny spaces near the entrance. Staff have always been helpful and accommodating with check in. Rooms are basic but comfortable. Pillows are top notch, high quality and will help provide a nice rest. Hotel is right next to a small business district with a couple of chain and local eateries that all serve good food. Hotel bar is nice and can be a fun place to watch games. Pool/Jacuzzi area is small but is well maintained. Fitness room is a few weights and treadmills but tv's are a nice touch. TV reception is spotty on some channels. Dont know if this is because of the cable company or hotel. Wireless internet is free but very spotty reception or it purposely resets itself. Not very business friendly as the dependability of the connection can be crucial at times. This could be upgraded. New computerized temperature controls in rooms seem to have a few bugs. My room in Oct. 2014 would remain freezing cold no matter how many times I tried to adjust the setting on the device. The manual knobs on the units no longer work so you are at the mercy of the computer device. I eventually figured out how to turn it off so I did that after the first night. October 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by THANKS Upon arrival we were greeted by Deandre and Chelsey who set the tone for our stay. Chelsey told us she was glad we had a safe trip to San Diego (and so was I). They welcomed and thanked us for being Priority Club members, got us checked in with smiles, friendliness, and efficiency. Whenever we saw them in passing during our stay they never failed to give us a smiling and friendly hello and ask if we everything was good or if we needed anything. On Wednesday night we participated in the Manager's Reception in the Lounge area and were further made to feel welcome with more friendliness from the hotel staff along with complimentary appetizers and drinks. Despite our stay including a home game by the Chargers, the hotel staff seemed to handle it all in stride without comprising the quality of our stay. We have been staying at this Holiday Inn since the 1990's and it has never failed to deliver quality. Whenever we visit San Diego this is and will be our choice. Kudos to all the staff for their friendliness and concern for the welfare of our stay. Extraordinary and Outstanding. I very much enjoyed my interactions with Chelsey and Kate, the Manager on duty. They were simply delightful. October 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stay at Holiday Inn 18-Oct-2014 I have been coming to this Holiday Inn for about 10 years now. I have found it to be the BEST in the San Diego area. The meals are awesome! The beds and pillows are to die for, so comfortable! High marks to the staff! Friendly and awesome! Keep up the great work! October 23, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor experience I stay over 50 nights a year on business. This was one of the only times I paid for a room for personal use. Did not get recognized for my platinum status or offered an upgrade in a hotel that was almost empty. My room was on the road and very loud. Won't use this location again for business or pleasure. October 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Loved the pillows Customer service was great and rooms were as expected from Holiday Inn. October 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by hotel location and food. “Very clean” This property has it all. Great food, service, amenities and room. Very clean. Free wi-fi. Staff goes out of the way to be helpful. Highly recommended for business or family. “Highly recommend” We have always had a great experience at the I Hotel. All requests (non down bedding October 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff Unable to fulfill my original room request, however I was quickly upgraded to a suite. Excellent! October 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Hotel Close to the Hwy, good service and clean amenities. October 20, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Ok Hotel for San Diego Hotel was older, lobby was beautiful, room less than impressive October 20, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by i would never stay here again the hallways were dirty. and you could smell people smoking pot in the rooms.the hotel cost to much. and was a big dispointment.never again would i stay here. October 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly and helpful staff The hotel was conveniently located and was next to a strip mall and larger well known shopping was located across the highway including a Von's and Kohl's. The staff was extremely friendly, took their time to answer any and all questions and were very knowledgeable of the area including where to return our rent a car. They showed us the driving directions on their phone! Anything I needed I was provided with. I would recommend this hotel to my close friends and family. October 15, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Did not meet my expectations! Here for business, unfortunately the hotel did not meet my expectations. Staff very friendly and courteous, especially the Shuttle driver! The AC needs to be updated as well as the entry devices. October 15, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
Candlewood Suites San Diego Hotel
Candlewood Suites San Diego Hotel
Select to close.
Candlewood Suites San Diego Hotel Scenery / Landscape Entrance Hotel Lobby Front Desk Our Spa Area Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Stay for Less
Close
Check In
(e.g. Dec-17-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
Check Availability
Loading