• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Resort

  • Location: Resort
  • Closest City: San Diego
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:3
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Cleaning Fees 75.00 USD up to 6 days, 150.00 USD for 7 or more days
Pet deposit amount  150.00  USD  per stay
Pet fee amount  75.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Old Town San Diego
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Balboa Park
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
San Diego Zoo
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
Sea World
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:68
  • Car Parking Available
  • Car Parking Available

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:50
  • Total number of suites:50
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:28
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:22
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:50
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:3
  • Total number of floors:3

Set atop the hillside of Hotel Circle South, the three-story Candlewood Suites San Diego offers a spectacular view of Mission Valley.

Candlewood Suites San Diego is conveniently located to all major San Diego attractions and Interstate 8 freeway access. Nearby attractions include SeaWorld, the Riverwalk Golf Course, Fashion Valley Mall, the world famous San Diego Zoo, downtown's historic Gaslamp Quarter, Petco Park, Old Town, Tijuana - Mexico, Qualcomm Stadium, USD, SDSU, Balboa Park, Seaport
View More

Set atop the hillside of Hotel Circle South, the three-story Candlewood Suites San Diego offers a spectacular view of Mission Valley.

Candlewood Suites San Diego is conveniently located to all major San Diego attractions and Interstate 8 freeway access. Nearby attractions include SeaWorld, the Riverwalk Golf Course, Fashion Valley Mall, the world famous San Diego Zoo, downtown's historic Gaslamp Quarter, Petco Park, Old Town, Tijuana - Mexico, Qualcomm Stadium, USD, SDSU, Balboa Park, Seaport Village, Legoland, Pacific Beach, Sunset Cliffs, Coronado, and San Diego Wild Animal Park.

Nearby organizations include Spa War, Caltrans, Aetna, AIG, BoozAllenHamiton, CP Kelco, Firemans Fund, HSBC/Household, Hyundai, Jack in the Box, Kaiser Permanente, Nextel, Sempra Energy, Stewart Title, SunGard SCT, UCSD Medical Center, Scripps Mercy Hospital, and Symitar Systems.

View Less
Features
Largest suites in Hotel Circle area. Hotel near to any major attraction in town.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 401 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service. great hotel quite and comfortable, however eggs for breakfast seem powdered ,very disappointed. September 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and clean rooms Very satisfied with the room and staff. Room was clean. Breakfast was good. Would stay there again. September 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall I was very impressed by the staff and shuttle services. I felt that I was safe and taken care. I appreicated the willingness to assist me whenever I had a question. Also used the Business Center and was helped in a very positive manner. September 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stayed over nite went to Tijuana next day.. We really injoyed staying there was right next airport. My little sons really like watching BIG airplanes so that was a highlight for them. Patio out back was good. Except people coming out there smokeing there cigarettes. About got headaches they should outlaw all smoking within 100' feet of comercial buildings September 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect Place although we were staying just for one night, we really had a positive experience from the begining. check in and check out was a breeze, staff was really nice, friendly, and courteous.free parking, wifi, breakfast all big pluses. parking was a bit complicating cuz of the beams in the garage, but we manged (we had a midsize sedan). rooms were nice and clean, and so was the lobby and grounds. we really enjoyed our stay here September 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service The staff here was great and took care of every need. I will stay here again if I head back to San Diego. They definitely go above and beyond! September 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Servicio Recepcion Excelente cordialidad y buena atencion.. Excelente soporte de servicio de translado al Aeropuerto de San Diego.. Viajo constante y no me habia hospedado en este Hotel, pero lo estare usando mas seguido. Muchas gracias September 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, clean hotel and good location. The staff was great. The hotel was clean. Was in a good location for the Zoo, Seaworld and Old Town. The breakfast in the morning was good. September 4, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Okay Pros: Close to the airport, close to I-5, has a nice convenience store inside. Cons: Breakfast area was very crowded, parking is chaotic, bathroom door opened outward and didn't stay open, laundry room wasn't open 24 hours. September 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Staff The staff helped us find a cab to take us places while the suttle was busy. September 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room, fairly close to Old Town, but a little noise Some noise from I5, but not too bad...hotel had a shuttle to airport and Old Town September 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by If you are seeking a home away from home--you must try this facility! Anyone can find accommodations with spacious rooms, cleanliness, nice comfortable beds (all of which this facility has) but never before have I witnessed such a helpful and friendly staff from the desk, facilities team, to the cleaning crew. This place has it all! The complete package. The minute I entered to check in smiles, helpfulness, and friendly banter from the front desk. You'd walk down the hallway and the cleaning staff would direct you to your room with a friendly smile and genuine helpfulness. It was bar none the best two nights I've ever had away from home! The staff is what sets this facility above and beyond all the rest. I have family living in San Diego so I visit here periodically. This will be my home away from home from now on. Thank you staff and see you on the next visit. September 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Very comfortable Comfortable place in a great location.........breakfasts are very good.....room was very comfortable. September 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Place to STay Conveniently located near the airport and the Old City August 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Kind, helpful satff The hotel was a great experience. The cost was excellent compared to other hotels in the area. Everything was neat and clean, and the staff was most helpful and accommodating. I liked the fact that there was a convenience store within the hotel that had just about anything you would need while away. I wouldn't normally take the time to do a review for a hotel, but I definitely felt that this one needed to be recognized! Great place--I would recommend it to anyone! August 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place to stay I found the hotel to be very nice, but the parking situation is not optimal. The street parking is almost nonexistent and underground parking spaces are quite small. I would stay there again in the future when I visit San Diego. The hotel is very centrally located for my needs, with easy access to the freeway. August 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice property, problems, poor value and terrible parking. Overall the property and room was pretty nice. I booked a suite with whirlpool tub but the tub never worked for more than few minutes. I called twice but it was never fixed. I understand, I use to work in a hotel, it isn't an easy job. Even if the tub was working, I don't feel the hotel was good value considering. Yes it is near Old Town, but not walking distance. Parking was terrible, quite a few of spots underneath the hotel are labeled "Compact" and by compact they must mean Smart car. I was in a rental Hyundai Accent and my tires were touching the paint on both sides. Most people just gave up on trying to fit in a spot so they just took two compact spots. It is a little upsetting when you see four hotel vehicles taking up spots (some reserved for check in, others reserved for the shuttle). I understand one spot reserved for drop off and pickup, but the other vehicles could have easily parked on the street. The spots not labeled compact couldn't fit an small SUV. Hotels always forget to build enough parking for the rooms. Maybe they should restrict rooms to one vehicle per room. August 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Front desk attendants very helpful. If they did not know the answer to our questions, they found out for us. The shuttle drivers were also very efficient and helpful. August 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff I enjoyed my stay at the hotel very much. I would definitely stay there again August 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lots of fun On business a group of my colleagues stayed at another hotel and I was happy because I got a free, newspaper, breakfast, shuttle, safe parking, great customer service, early check-in and my clolleagues did not. I had an excellent time and a lot of it was because of the amenities and customer ervice of the staff. Great job San Diego!!! August 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fast and friendly Check-in was fast, the room was good, breakfast was well stocked with lots of choices, and the staff were friendly. August 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great for MCRD graduations We would recommend this hotel to any family visiting MCRD. When you are standing on the balcony you will get a beautiful view of the skyline, airport and MCRD (extra exciting if you haven't seen your Marine in three months)! Both shuttles were fast and friendly. When your Marine checks back in after Family Day, you can walk down the street to Old Town for some good eats and fun sites. Its a great location with a wonderful staff. They know their MCRD graduations! August 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice and clean, good location property. I have stayed here previously and love the location as it's easy to reach all of the San Diego things to do. always very clean and friendly staff. Breakfast staff was very nice and helpful. Dolores was a staff member we got chatting to in the breakfast area, she and her colleagues had everything stocked up very well. August 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome location for MCRD San Diego access We enjoyed our stay very much! Easy access to where we needed to be, beaches are a close drive away & old town was wonderful. Going back is a must! August 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room and good price. I stayed here recently during a trip taken for leisure. The hotel was nice and in good condition. The hotel is directly near the airport and an Amtrak train station but I was not disturbed by noise in the room. The room was in great condition with a comfortable bed and the bedding looked fairly new. The hotel staff was nice and helpful during my stay. The hotel also offered shuttle drop off and pick up to certain attractions in the area. The only complaint I had is that the air conditioner seemed to not stay on very long in the room but I am not sure if that was due to improper operation. August 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly and comfortable My family came here for vacation and we all loved this hotel. First the service was consistently friendly. The two adjoining rooms had updated decor. Holiday Inn Express has consistently comfortable beds and wonderful soft pillows. Pool was warm and my kids loved it. Jacuzzi was perfect for me and my wife. Because this hotel was adjacent to the freeway I was afraid it would be noisy but it was quiet! This hotel is walking distance to old town freeway close. A real gem if you like a business class hotel with breakfast. Not a resort atmosphere but a hotel that hits all the essentials and more. August 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by OK Experience Good experience. Very good shuttle service. Friendly staff. August 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I had a good time When I travel. I want a good bed, a clean bathroom, a clean floor, a good breakfast, a safe and clean parking space for my car. All of these I got at this site. I'm happy with that. Great job y'all. August 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Shuttle service to and from airport was excellent. Shuttle was also available to nearby attractions: zoo, Old Town, etc. so could get around without car. Noisy outside hotel as next to highway but sound did not filter into room with windows closed. Not very much parking if you did have a car. August 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by relaxing atmosphere nice clean swimming pool; great shuttle service;friendly staff August 20, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>
Candlewood Suites San Diego Hotel
Candlewood Suites San Diego Hotel
Select to close.
Candlewood Suites San Diego Hotel Scenery / Landscape Entrance Hotel Lobby Front Desk Our Spa Area Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
Check Availability
Loading