• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Nov-27-2014)
(e.g. Nov-28-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Resort

  • Location: Resort
  • Closest City: San Diego
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-08:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:3
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Cleaning Fees 75.00 USD up to 6 days, 150.00 USD for 7 or more days
Pet deposit amount  150.00  USD  per stay
Pet fee amount  75.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Old Town San Diego
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Balboa Park
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
San Diego Zoo
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
Sea World
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:68
  • Car Parking Available
  • Car Parking Available

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:50
  • Total number of suites:50
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:28
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:22
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:50
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:3
  • Total number of floors:3

Set atop the hillside of Hotel Circle South, the three-story Candlewood Suites San Diego offers a spectacular view of Mission Valley.

Candlewood Suites San Diego is conveniently located to all major San Diego attractions and Interstate 8 freeway access. Nearby attractions include SeaWorld, the Riverwalk Golf Course, Fashion Valley Mall, the world famous San Diego Zoo, downtown's historic Gaslamp Quarter, Petco Park, Old Town, Tijuana - Mexico, Qualcomm Stadium, USD, SDSU, Balboa Park, Seaport
View More

Set atop the hillside of Hotel Circle South, the three-story Candlewood Suites San Diego offers a spectacular view of Mission Valley.

Candlewood Suites San Diego is conveniently located to all major San Diego attractions and Interstate 8 freeway access. Nearby attractions include SeaWorld, the Riverwalk Golf Course, Fashion Valley Mall, the world famous San Diego Zoo, downtown's historic Gaslamp Quarter, Petco Park, Old Town, Tijuana - Mexico, Qualcomm Stadium, USD, SDSU, Balboa Park, Seaport Village, Legoland, Pacific Beach, Sunset Cliffs, Coronado, and San Diego Wild Animal Park.

Nearby organizations include Spa War, Caltrans, Aetna, AIG, BoozAllenHamiton, CP Kelco, Firemans Fund, HSBC/Household, Hyundai, Jack in the Box, Kaiser Permanente, Nextel, Sempra Energy, Stewart Title, SunGard SCT, UCSD Medical Center, Scripps Mercy Hospital, and Symitar Systems.

View Less
Features
Largest suites in Hotel Circle area. Hotel near to any major attraction in town.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 475 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed Comfortable bed BUT WAS ONLY THERE FOR SLEEP, DIDNT HAVE TIME TO ENJOY ALL FACILITIES November 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Only one area of disappointment, the rest was awesome! Everything about the trip was excellent except for a problem encountered upon my arrival. Shuttle service to a specific location was requested at the time of booking (months earlier) and this is why I chose to stay at this location. However when I arrived and inquired about this to reserve time of shuttle, this was not the case. I was told, "no" and "who told you that?" . I did not write down the name of the attendee who promised the use of the shuttle, but I do know for sure that I booked DIRECTLY to the HOTEL LOCATION (not the 1800 booking service). Eventually when I explained my history of booking, the manager did agree, and apologize in verbalization but not in body language that I could use the shuttle. This was my only area of disappointment at the facility. If I was not able to use the shuttle, I would have transferred by stay somewhere else. As the shuttle service was the specific reason I chose to stay at this hotel. The other staff was exceptional. Room spotless. Breakfast fantastic. Drivers were curious (Fernando) and helpful, housekeeping genuine and friendly (Delores). November 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Cozy experience I am pleased with my stay at Holiday Inn Express® San Diego Airport-Old Town. The reception staff was friendly and helpful; checking-in was easy and quick. The complimentary shuttle service from the airport was a thumbs up. The room was cozy, very clean, having sufficient cupboard space, equipped with electronic safe and was facing swimming pool. Complimentary shuttle service to major locations was of great help to first comers at San Diego. The amenities provided like complimentary hot breakfast buffet, free Wifi, 24-hour convenience store were very valuable. Thanks a lot for making my stay comfortable at San Diego. I would surely love to come to San Diego with my family and stay here once again. November 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Staff!!! We had a great time during our stay here. The staff was absolutely wonderful and friendly! The shuttle drivers were wonderful and extremely helpful with dining recommendations. When they said they would be there to pick us up in 15 minutes, it was 15 minutes or less! The staff at the front desk was great about getting us a shuttle for our needs. Also did a wonderful job in switching our room for 1 of the 3 nights when we needed 2 beds (our travel agent screwed up and booked us a single for all 3 nights when I specifically told them we needed 2 beds!). All in all this was a wonderful stay. My only complaint would be that we could hear the people in the hall and in the adjoining rooms quite easily. November 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location This Hotel was great, excellent location to the Old Downtown area, as it was within walking distance November 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice, clean, friendly place We arrived at this hotel after midnight and were greeted by friendly, knowledgeable staff who desired to meet our needs, even at such a late hour. The room was clean November 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great weekend celebrating husband birthday I was very pleased with my stay. My room was great and spacious. Free Wifi and shuttle service. Breakfast was very delicious. Great staff overall November 6, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible HIX Hotel Property This place definitely needs a remodel. The rooms, buildings, hallways, the elevators are all terrible. It is definitely overpriced, no value here. I will never stay there again and I am now going to ensure that I do not stay at HIX's in the future that need remodeling and investment upgrades. This facility hurts the entire HIX system. The only thing positive was the front desk staff. November 5, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by To close to Freeway I paid for my hotel in advance to hold the price and when we got to hotel they said my room was not paid. Very confusing to my elderly parents. I purposely paid for the room to make it easier for them. Check in people were rude to them and insisted that they pay after I had made arrangements for them to check in and relax. As we were celebrating the graduation of our son at the Marine Corp Recruit Depot on October 31st. I also feel they should arrange pricing for the Military families coming in to San Diego instead of giving a Travel Agent all the perks to book and make money off the Marine Families that are protecting the country. I am a Military wife and mother and think the Agency was also rude. Please think about using an agency to give your countrymen and their families a good deal After all the only reason you are can ensure your safety is my our Military protecting our country. November 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff provided excellent service. Good location with onsite parking and shuttle to major attractions. Room was quiet even though hotel is close to freeway and airport. Elia, Vangie and Josh were friendly, very knowledgeable and efficient. Their recommendations and service made our first trip to San Diego memorable. November 3, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by parking nightmare this property is old and run down. the hallways are long so if you have a few things to bring in, make sure to request a room close to the elevator. the parking 'cellar' was a bit scary so I parked up on the very tight parking area in front of the hotel. if you get there early, you might find a space. the hotel is literally on I-5, so even with a room on the opposite side of the highway side, it is still noisy. just way outdated and dingy in long poorly lit hallways. it is however, just across the highway from the airport. November 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasantly surprised We were very happy with our choice. The room was a little small but not really, and it was right next to the freeway but not noisy in the room. Other than that we thought the bed was comfortable, the room was clean and the maid service was excellent. The complimentary breakfast had great variety - something for everyone and it really added value to the room rate, as did the complimentary shuttle that took us not only to and from the airport and MCRD, but to a nearby restaurant as well. We got in quite late so were very grateful for the little 24-hr sundry shop and the microwave in the room. We loved it and would definitely stay again. November 1, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very bad highly unlikely to stay again... This place needs to close and redo one area at a time. October 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service Wonderful staff, clean room, comfortable bed, yummy breakfast, and outstanding shuttle service made our trip to San Diego stress free. Thank you so much. October 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 The hallways were being remodeled but guest rooms were fine. If coming to watch your son graduate from MCRD great place. October 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Customer Service The shuttle picked me up promptly at the airport and the check-in was easy and fast. The room had been recently renovated, and almost all the furnishings and linen seemed new. Well worth the money. October 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Away from home I have stayed here twice now. Both times allowed me to relax and enjoy the city. The drivers were pleased to shuttle me whenever I needed them. The staff was friendly and very pleased to see my return. October 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very friendly and helpful staff!! A great place to stay in San Diego! Walking distance of Old Town which has very good restaurants. The staff were super friendly and very helpful. They were able to answer all our questions and offer suggestions on sights to visit etc. The shuttle service was also very convenient. Would definitely recommend this hotel as a place to stay in San Diego!! October 29, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and newly decorated room We stayed only a night so we did not really utilize all of the facilities. The staff was great and very friendly. Check in and check out went quickly October 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good overnight stay between flights should be quite nice once renovations are finished. Good sleep and good beds in double bed room. Bath tub a plus. Nice complementary breakfast - lots of variety in choices. Friendly front desk staff and shuttle drivers. Wifi was fine. Printed boarding passes at business ctr PCs. October 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great room and service The family was down for one of our own graduating from Marine Corps boot camp. We had three rooms. The hotel is under renovation but while it was going on it was totally unobtrusive to our stay. The staff of the hotel went out of their way to help in every area we asked about, very helpful and friendly. The shuttle service was outstanding getting us to old town for dinner or wherever and return without any problems. The rooms are comfortable and very nice. October 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convinient location and excellent service Location is convenient for transit. Drivers are very friendly. Staff at front desk are courteous. Breakfast is great. October 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Old Town Holodiay Inn Tucked up in the hills above the port area of San Diego. It is a quick ride from the airport. Shuttle service to a restaurant may or maynot cost. It cost us but during reservation call was told it did not have a charge. Nice brew pub just to the right as you exit the front doors and down a few blocks. Received incorrect directions from a robotic style front office clerk. Excellent location for the San Diego cruise port. October 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by awesome Great place to stay will return on my next stay. The staff is excellent and friendly. Old town is just down the street great food and area October 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Reliable and Consistent I continue to use the Holiday Inn Express in Old Town San Diego due to its location for meeting clients and to access some of my favorite restaurants. I have had to use the airport shuttle once and it was easy. The staff are friendly. The hotel has the essentials and actually the "pantry" is better stocked than some drug stores I've been in! The staff are reliable and the service is consistent. October 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Peace and quiet My stay was excellent. I was able to reach my meetings by car and/or shuttle. Because most people took the shuttle, I had the convenience of parking close to event. The room was ultra clean and the staff very helpful. In room safe was great for electronics left in room. October 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Romantic Getaway Only spent one night on my way back home but the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Area was close to the airport and Old San Diego for a nice night out. Great location after a week of driving shuttle service to nearby attractions makes it a plus!! October 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff Everyone was friendly and helpful. Shuttle drivers were the best, and the folks at the front desk could not have been more helpful with directions and pointers for getting around. Breakfasts were nicely prepared. A most enjoyable stay!! Thanks for helping to make our vacation special. October 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excelente para viaje de negocios Es un hotel muy limpio; muy buena atención por parte del staff. A pesar de estar cerca del aeropuerto, no se escuchan los aviones. Yo fui a un congreso, por lo que el shuttle del hotel nos llevó al convention center y nos regresaba al hotel. Lo recomiento ampliamente. October 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 good hotel, excellent staff the hotel is in a good location if you get a room away from the freeway. the staff is very service oriented. the room was clean, and the breakfast was good. the only downside was that there was repair work going on in the third floor hallway, so walking to the room required walking through the work zone. overall - good experience. if the shuttle van to the airport would run every 30-45 minutes, instead of every hour, that would be helpful too. thanks! October 20, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 17 next>>
Candlewood Suites San Diego Hotel
Candlewood Suites San Diego Hotel
Select to close.
Candlewood Suites San Diego Hotel Scenery / Landscape Entrance Hotel Lobby Front Desk Our Spa Area Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Stay for Less
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-27-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-28-2014)
Check Availability
Loading