• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-22-2014)
(e.g. Jul-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Resort

  • Location: Resort
  • Closest City: San Diego
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:3
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Cleaning Fees 75.00 USD up to 6 days, 150.00 USD for 7 or more days
Pet deposit amount  150.00    per stay
Pet fee amount  75.00    per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Sea World
Distance From Hotel:5.0
Attraction:
San Diego Zoo
Distance From Hotel:5.0
Attraction:
Old Town San Diego
Distance From Hotel:1.0
Attraction:
Balboa Park
Distance From Hotel:5.0

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:68
  • Car Parking Available
  • Car Parking Available

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:50
  • Total number of suites:50
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:28
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:22
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:50
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:3
  • Total number of floors:3

Set atop the hillside of Hotel Circle South, the three-story Candlewood Suites San Diego offers a spectacular view of Mission Valley.

Candlewood Suites San Diego is conveniently located to all major San Diego attractions and Interstate 8 freeway access. Nearby attractions include SeaWorld, the Riverwalk Golf Course, Fashion Valley Mall, the world famous San Diego Zoo, downtown's historic Gaslamp Quarter, Petco Park, Old Town, Tijuana - Mexico, Qualcomm Stadium, USD, SDSU, Balboa Park, Seaport
View More

Set atop the hillside of Hotel Circle South, the three-story Candlewood Suites San Diego offers a spectacular view of Mission Valley.

Candlewood Suites San Diego is conveniently located to all major San Diego attractions and Interstate 8 freeway access. Nearby attractions include SeaWorld, the Riverwalk Golf Course, Fashion Valley Mall, the world famous San Diego Zoo, downtown's historic Gaslamp Quarter, Petco Park, Old Town, Tijuana - Mexico, Qualcomm Stadium, USD, SDSU, Balboa Park, Seaport Village, Legoland, Pacific Beach, Sunset Cliffs, Coronado, and San Diego Wild Animal Park.

Nearby organizations include Spa War, Caltrans, Aetna, AIG, BoozAllenHamiton, CP Kelco, Firemans Fund, HSBC/Household, Hyundai, Jack in the Box, Kaiser Permanente, Nextel, Sempra Energy, Stewart Title, SunGard SCT, UCSD Medical Center, Scripps Mercy Hospital, and Symitar Systems.

View Less
Features
Largest suites in Hotel Circle area. Hotel near to any major attraction in town.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 273 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful stay The staff was very friendly and I was definitely taken care of as a platinum member. The room was very spacious and quiet, overlooking the pool and HIllcrest. Since the executive club is closed on weekends, I was given two free breakfast coupons for the restaurant downstairs. The location of the hotel is great, only about 5 minutes to downtown, Seaworld, or Balboa Park (zoo). The hotel also has a surprisingly good sushi restaurant which has a cocktail menu fitting for a tiki bar. I enjoyed the hotel's Hawaii theme as a nice change of pace from the monotony of so many hotels. It is true that the hotel is not new or ultra-modern, but I found kitschy design to be quite charming. They also have a very large pool, as well as various tiki statues and decorations all over. The price is an absolute steal, especially compared to many 'modern' hotels. I have stayed in many different hotels around San Diego, but this was one of the best experiences I have had. I will absolutely come here again. December 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Needs a refresh I have stayed here many times, the property is in a great location. It does have some short coming, the rooms are dated, the decore really needs an update. The lounge has a good continential breakfast, but the evening cocktail service is were this lounge shines. My last stay the food out was excellent, was just enough to hold you over until you got to dinner, the theme was italian. Once the rooms and some of the grounds been redone, this would be one great place..... December 6, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by 11 Trips in 25 Years Having stayed in this hotel some 11 times over the past 25 years this last trip shall be the last time. The service receive was absolutely sub-par for the and the food was only slightly better. The person (no name given) checked us in had the attitude of a superior being. She took a look down her nose for I was not dressed correctly when I signed in. In short this stay wiped all the good stays I previously have spent there. I would not recommend this establishment even to my worst enemy. December 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by LOST RESERVATION We booked this room through a group reservation with several conversations with the host. When we arrived we did not have a reservation in the system and did not bring my confirmation. I was however able to show the multiple calls over the last two months with the Hotel and the front desk honored the group rate and got us a room. Nice job by your front desk to manage the issue I wish I had retained the name of the gentleman that assisted us. December 3, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Would not stay here ever again I chose to stay at this hotel based on the beautiful pics I saw on the website. Bad choice. Indeed, the grounds are beautiful and lush and made me feel like I was in Hawaii. HOWEVER, the rooms were NOT. They were old and run down. My room had the faint smell of urine and my dad's room smelled like smoke (even though it was "non-smoking"). The bedspread was a weird rubbery texture, instead of soft or cuddly. When I took a shower, the tub filled with water even though it was not plugged by me. Needed a plumber badly. The neighbors in the room next door were unbelievable loud so we called the front desk around 11pm, but it seems nothing was ever done because the noise went until well after midnight. There were a lot of spiders in our rooms (the price we paid for the beautiful landscaping, I guess). And finally, upon check-out, when I expected someone to ask us how our stay was, the desk girl said nothing. Not "hope you enjoyed your stay" or "have a nice day". Nothing. So we went quietly; vowing NOT to return to this hotel ever again. December 1, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service, needs reno They were able to accommodate us with an early check-in...at 11am! Maybe I was lucky, but it worked out. Rooms were decent, a little old and could use a renovation. Bed sheets were stiff and felt like paper. Good location. November 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Old hotel, excellent service Front desk staff Adam is good. hotel is old but provide excellent service. only down side is short of elevator, always need to wait for a long time. however, really good deal for service, and location. November 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Felt like home away from home! We used this hotel as a base for our wedding guests, everyone was friendly, kind and understanding of all our needs. The hospitality suite was great, food was good and provided a much needed break on a busy day! Kudos to all on staff here and thank you very much! November 21, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good, the bad and the ugly I really hesitate to write this review. We had two extremes with this hotel - fantastic and awful. The fantastic part is that it is a very nice hotel, excellent location, and our experience at check in was fantastic. Adam who checked us in Saturday night was customer service at its finest. He made us feel important, greeted us, smiled, thanked us. He was perfect and I'd like every single customer service experience to be just like that. The room was great and we slept wonderful Saturday night. Then Sunday night happened. Around 5:30pm we there was a domestic dispute below us, very loud and very violent. We of course called guest services to let them know what was happening on their property. They assured us they would look into the problem. We thanked them and went out for dinner. Later that evening there was more noise and we tried to ignore it and go to sleep. At 10:30 I was startled out of a deep sleep by VERY loud VERY VERY VIOLENT disturbance going on. Seriously, like nothing I've heard or want to hear ever again. This is not the things of legitimate hotel guests. We of course called guest services again who assured us they would check out the problem. The ruckus didn't stop throughout the night. My husband did not sleep a wink the entire night - which made for a great Monday. I'm not sure why we didn't call 911 when we heard the violence. That is our bad and we won't let that happen again. At 3;30am more people came to the room to join the " party " . We left shortly after that. Yes, we basically fled our hotel room in the middle of the night. I did call guest services on Tuesday after we returned from our vacation and spoke with Michelle who apologized and said she would talk to her manager about the situation. I left my number in case the manager wanted to speak with me. I have not heard from them. I do hope that this was a one time occurrence at this hotel. It is a very nice property. Unfortunately, the stay was ruined for us and our daughter can not unhear the things we heard that evening. - wishing I had those reward points back :( November 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Excelente stay Very good and pleasant experience to stay,relaxing time and near to principal areas November 20, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Outdated The hotel is outdated, the lobby is nice, but the rooms are and other parts of the hotel are very outdated. The hotel also has an odor! I didnt like the "motel room" feeling and the fact that the hotel is so OPEN. This hotel needs an EXTENSIVE makeover! November 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by better than I ever expected This hotel has been around for a long time, but they have done a very good job keeping it looking fresh and up dates. Conveniently located and priced right, this is a vrey good choice in the San Diego area. November 6, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Front Desk Care I booked an executive room and paid in advance. The room i booked was for a king bed. When i arrived at 4pm for check in (on time) i was told there were no executive level king rooms available. I said, uh, look at this EMAIL confirming my RESERVATION (did you need me to define the word RESERVE) for a KING EXECUTIVE LEVEL ROOM. You seemed to offer this in exchange for PREPAYING my room. I didn't understand how you can have no rooms left when that is WHY i prepaid in the first place. When i expressed my unhappiness and disappointment, your employee, said, what do you want me to do about it, it was an upgrade. No where on this website when i made my reservation did it say, we will give you a room and try and upgrade you but lets pretend you are going to get what you pay for. He offered to pay for our parking, but we had took a cab from the airport. When i tried to explain that he cut me off and said he had a king on the second floor, that's what i could take. I was so upset, but what other choice did i have? Way to go!!!! Never once did you try and accommodate us, or offer anything in return. I have stayed here once before with no problems, but i will not stay again. I regretted recommending this hotel to the friends we were with...good thing they did not request a king in their reservation, The only reason this got two stars was for the nice bartender and the house keeping staff who greeted us every time they saw us. You really need to remove that guy from the front desk. And make sure you accommodate people who PREPAY! Or state clearly that the only thing guaranteed is that you will charge my card. October 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Uncomfortable bed but great service Overall our stay was good, the rooms look good and are clean, but are dated and the bed need a lot more comfort. October 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Another nice stay We have been staying here for a few years now and have always enjoyed our visits. The desk clerk was nice enough to put us in a room away from the activities of the three reunions scheduled during our stay. The room was very nice with a view of the pool area. As always the room was clean and the bed was great. We have always enjoyed staying here. The location is convenient and it is a good value. October 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wedding mother My daughter and I stayed in room 1649 (Parlor room), so clean and comfortable. The Bride and I got a great night sleep and ready for her big day. The room size accommodated 10 of the girls needing to get ready for the wedding, including the makeup and hair stylist. We had room service the morning of the wedding; I have to say it was better than any other Resort or Hotel I have stayed at. The staff was very professional and happy to assist. Room service, Bellmen, restaurant staff, catering staff was all very helpful and professional. Crowne Plaza is a very safe and clean Resort would refer everyone that I come in contact with that is coming to San Diego. October 26, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Busn Trip This is an older hotel that is need of some serious updating. The staff was helpful. October 23, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Loud, all night neighbors Unfortunately, my stay there was marred by someone at the front desk placing a loud, young couple next to my room who talked and watched TV loudly all night long. In the morning, when they were asleep, I made sure to turn my TV up as loud as I could while I took a shower so they would experience what I did with them. I didn't call the hotel manager and should have but was just annoyed that it happened especially since I paid $139.00 for the room! But at least they didn't charge me parking (which is outrageous anyway!). I loved the other Holiday Inn Expresses I stayed at in Banning, Phoenix and Calexico (although this one had problems too). The best places were the Banning and Phoenix HIE. October 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Retreat - Close to Everything! This hotel was the last (and most pleasant) stop on our honeymoon. After 9 days spent in 7 different hotels, the Crowne Plaza Mission Valley was a very welcome, happy ending! Everything was great, and the staff were generally helpful. The only constructive criticism we have to offer is to encourage the check-in staff to be more genuine when thanking guests for being loyal IHG Rewards Club members. October 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Reunion Great place for our reunion. Room was quiet and pleasant. Staff very attentive to our needs. Easy to get around town from this location. October 13, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not up to Crowne Plaza standards Very disappointing. Tired, dark, property. Extremely surprised by this Crowne Plaza. I wish I booked another hotel. I won't stay there again no matter what the price. October 10, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by overall experience arrived 10/4/13 - room smell so bad that we asked for a change....moved to another room, larger, queen murphy bed...very uncomfortable, cigar smoke from outside smoker....10/5 moved to another room 2nd floor ...great! Also charged $80.00 on my debit card......we had no additional charges...why card is charged prior to receiving any incidential from hotel????? Waiting at table for 21 minutes, had to go get server to take our order...cafe was not busy....food overcharged, bad, bad, bad. Have stayed there several times, love hotel and location....terrible experience this last visit. Maid serves great, very pleasant, helpful. October 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great host for our event The Crowne Plaza was a great host for our Marine Basic School class reunion. I like how you specialize in military reunions. The catered banquet and party room were excellent. The San Diego ambience was wonderful...cool and green. The staff had the right answer for all questions. October 8, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Maybe good for a family vacation I'm in San Diego on business often and usually stay at the Holiday Inn - Miramar. This was closer to my meetings, but I wish I had just driven the extra distance. The highway noise made for three miserable nights of sleep - from motorcycles screaming by to trucks down-shifting. The hotel has an Hawaiian theme, which must per-date it being a Crowne Plaza. On my last night there, there was a luau on the property right below my room that was deafening until 9 pm. Never again. October 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Cowboys game weekend My boyfriend and I stayed here the weekend the cowboys played the chargers. I had reserved a king size room and when I got there they had told me they weren't available for our first night but were for our second night. We still had a king size im gonna go to bed now babe it was just their "compact" room. Basically it was just smaller. We were surprised to find the room was still nice though, by the end of the night we just decided to stay in the initial compact room because it was nice then we had expected and just as comfortable as if we'd be in another room. Everything was clean and the im gonna go to bed now babe was comfortable. Oh and the pillows were amazing! They stayed fluffy no matter how long I laid on them. Overall will gladly come back to this hotel in the future. October 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect location This hotel is centrally located for Balboa Park, Sea World, and a visit to the US Midway. The staff are so friendly and helpful from Thomas at the front desk to Bill and Roberto in the restaurant. We used their shuttle service to visit Old Town, perfect. The amenities were very clean, the only disappointment was the presentation of the food and quality. Having stayed at other Crowne Plazas this one needs a little help in the kitchen. Overall, I would definitely revisit. October 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Second Stay This was our second stay at this hotel. Both times were for a Navy Reunion. The hotel staff members were very welcoming and helpful. The facilities were very nice and the events were well prepared for and well serviced. October 3, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed! I booked this hotel due to past experiences with this brand. I was totally disappointed! First appearance was this place is really old. I made reservations that were confirmed ( I am also a gold member ) and when I go to check in, they tell me that me and my brother have to share a bed because they ran out of rooms with double beds. Really! So why did I even make a reservation 20 days prior? So when we talked to the manager on duty, they switched the room to what I asked for. This place needs to be on Hotel Impossible because it needs renovation and the staff needs to be retrained! October 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Thee best military friendly hotel I was greeted at the door. Very clean and well kept hotel resort. Plenty of parking, awesome location, and multiple choices for supper in the hotel. September 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Tropical atmosphere Nice room on the executive level with a view of the valley to the north. Enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and the pool. September 29, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 10 next>>
Candlewood Suites San Diego Hotel
Candlewood Suites San Diego Hotel
Select to close.
Candlewood Suites San Diego Hotel Scenery / Landscape Entrance Hotel Lobby Front Desk Our Spa Area Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-22-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-23-2014)
Check Availability
Loading