• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
(e.g. Sep-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Resort

  • Location: Resort
  • Closest City: San Diego
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:3
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Cleaning Fees 75.00 USD up to 6 days, 150.00 USD for 7 or more days
Pet deposit amount  150.00  USD  per stay
Pet fee amount  75.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Old Town San Diego
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Balboa Park
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
San Diego Zoo
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
Sea World
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:68
  • Car Parking Available
  • Car Parking Available

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:50
  • Total number of suites:50
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:28
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:22
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:50
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:3
  • Total number of floors:3

Set atop the hillside of Hotel Circle South, the three-story Candlewood Suites San Diego offers a spectacular view of Mission Valley.

Candlewood Suites San Diego is conveniently located to all major San Diego attractions and Interstate 8 freeway access. Nearby attractions include SeaWorld, the Riverwalk Golf Course, Fashion Valley Mall, the world famous San Diego Zoo, downtown's historic Gaslamp Quarter, Petco Park, Old Town, Tijuana - Mexico, Qualcomm Stadium, USD, SDSU, Balboa Park, Seaport
View More

Set atop the hillside of Hotel Circle South, the three-story Candlewood Suites San Diego offers a spectacular view of Mission Valley.

Candlewood Suites San Diego is conveniently located to all major San Diego attractions and Interstate 8 freeway access. Nearby attractions include SeaWorld, the Riverwalk Golf Course, Fashion Valley Mall, the world famous San Diego Zoo, downtown's historic Gaslamp Quarter, Petco Park, Old Town, Tijuana - Mexico, Qualcomm Stadium, USD, SDSU, Balboa Park, Seaport Village, Legoland, Pacific Beach, Sunset Cliffs, Coronado, and San Diego Wild Animal Park.

Nearby organizations include Spa War, Caltrans, Aetna, AIG, BoozAllenHamiton, CP Kelco, Firemans Fund, HSBC/Household, Hyundai, Jack in the Box, Kaiser Permanente, Nextel, Sempra Energy, Stewart Title, SunGard SCT, UCSD Medical Center, Scripps Mercy Hospital, and Symitar Systems.

View Less
Features
Largest suites in Hotel Circle area. Hotel near to any major attraction in town.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 338 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience. My only complaint has to do with the fact that we didn't get to fully enjoy all that the hotel has to offer. Our stay, due to our schedule being hectic, was not all that it could have been. We did, on our last night manage to walk around the property and see how lovely the property, the pool, and the restaurant all were. Everyone was friendly, the beds were comfortable and everything was very clean. Thank you. June 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Better Than I expected I was a little concerned because of a few reviews I had read prior to my visit. I attended a Convention at Qualcom Stadium and was expecting to deal with one of the biggest complaints which was the $12.00 parking fee. To my surprise, this fee was waived. I also expected to pay for Wi-Fi and this was complimentary. I assume these were part of the agreement with the organization that made the original arrangements but, either way, I was pleasantly surprised. The staff was great, including the Front Desk personnel, the Concierge, The Sushi Chefs, The bartender (who gave us 3 small sample drinks of local brews to try) I also received prompt response from your housekeeping staff for supplying me with additional bath towels at 9:00 p.m. The room was very comfortable with a nice view of the golf course. And, finally, I was informed that most of the rooms do not include a microwave or refrigerator but I requested both and both were provided. I had a great weekend, thanks to The Crowne Plaza. June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing Experience My family first stayed in your hotel over 30 years ago. We enjoyed our stay so much that we have stayed with you as often as possible since. Room service is prompt and friendly. The pool is perfect. And the atrium is relaxing and my favorite place to sit and read! I have always, and will continue, to recommend your facility! June 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by individual Room Very pleased with room overall. more than satisfied. June 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 outstanding staff hotel staff made stay very enjoyable and the ambiance was great June 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Oldie but Goodie! Stayed at the hotel in late May for business. It's an older property and is starting to show it's age but it is a great value and the staff more than make up for any surface age the place is starting to show. A special shout out to Josephine my housekeeper, she did an incredible job making my room up everyday and kept it fully stock with what I needed. Many thanks to the staff as they made the stay better than what I expected! June 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel Location Was Excellent The hotel was closely located to my points of interest: San Diago Old Town, Naval Base San Diago, and the Petco Ball Park. June 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Annual Military reunion of 100 to 200 members Everyone was delighted with the trees, bushes, flowers, pool, meeting rooms, etc. The one thing that set you apart from any of the hundreds of hotels I have stayed at in my lifetime...was your employees! They laughed! They went out of their way to be helpful and even worked the "impossible" to can do. Every part of our stay was great. But your employees must be congratulated and thanked, as we all did. There are a lot of military reunions in this country. You might solicit those many. BUT...you might find a better way to display our flag on it's staff (in the meeting room). A ball or eagle and not just screws to hold it to the staff. June 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by San Diego visit Quiet, ambiance was good and every one was very accommodating . Hotel is centrally located to main attractions in the area. Due to our membership in IHG we were upgraded to the Club Lounge level, very excited and a nice surprise! We'll be back !! June 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Environment This hotel has a great exterior environment and a very responsive staff. Room was a nice relaxing environment and quiet despite the hotel's close proximity to a major expressway. The room had some minor maintenance issues but they were handled very rapidly. June 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful package for MCRD! We stayed three nights at the Crowne Plaza because we were attending the Marine Corps graduation. They offered an amazing rate and package that made this the easiest, only pick for a hotel for this event. The daily breakfast buffet was great; they could have been more sure the scrambled eggs were cooked through, but otherwise everything was awesome! The property is truly beautiful and you feel like you are on a vacation in Hawaii with the plants and well maintained grounds. I would highly recommend this hotel and definitely will stay here again if in the area. June 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value Although standard rates and fees are too high, Special Rates get the guest good value. June 5, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Error Generalmente me gusta hospedarme en hoteles que me dan un buen servicio por ser miembro de IHG, pero esta vez ha sido la peor experiencia. No estoy seguro de volver a ir a un hotel de esta cadena. Habitaciones sucias y mal servicio. June 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff overall good The atmosphere was fun. The room was clean but a little dated. One beds sheets were comfy and the other beds sheets felt old, starchy and like they dried with soap in them...Not comfy. The staff was very nice. The breakfast was not very good - wet cold eggs and not very much or good selection, it could be much better. The pool was clean.Overall it was good. We would come back for the right price. June 4, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Bad Experience During our stay our rooms were not cleaned one day. And always they were leaving garbage and the dirty glasses of the roomservice. the Miss of the counter had his uniform of the sleeve torn and in addition the service in counter was bad enough. June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Missing item My overall experience was excellent except I left my phone charger in the room. I called the hotel on my way to the airport and housekeeping informed me that I will receive a phone call from registration this Monday along with my phone. Thus far, I have not received nor a phone call or my charger June 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Good Experience I recently stayed at Crowne Plaza for my daughter's graduation from USD. Upon arrival I was informed that there is a $12 a day charge for parking. I was extremely concerned about the fact that the security gate was left in upright position for the first 2 nights of my stay with no security so anyone could drive in. The entrance to my room was in back of building and doors to lobby were WIDE open 24 hours. I went to front desk to express my concern and the gentleman I spoke with was extremely disrespectful and rude to me. I left the front desk shaking and very upset. My daughter called and spoke with Manager of Hotel. They never charged me for parking which I am grateful but still felt disrespected by clerk and never received an apology. May 30, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great - EXCEPT no fridge in room. Everything was great - we got a good deal on the room, it was clean - the bed was super comfy with nice bedding, pool was nice, room was quiet, staff was nice and accommodating. BUT what a pain to have a room without a fridge!...We had to keep filling the waste basket with ice cubes each night and morning to keep our stuff cold. the room was a little worse for ware as well...one lamp didn't work, the desk chair was ripped, we could not figure out the alarm clock - and it was only on one side of the - so I could not tell what time it was. Not enough outlets. May 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Hospital Visit Overall as mentioned before I feel I did not get the best rate available. May 28, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Hard Bed and Stiff Sheets The bed was very hard. The sheets were very stiff. The towels were very stiff. There was nothing soft about that room. There was no table and chairs where you could sit to maybe eat breakfast. When you walked on the hallway rugs then back to an unrugged surface it was sticky like you walked in soda. I went to the restaurant to order breakfast to take to my room. When I told the man in charge I was not eating there he acted like I was bothering him. He seemed very rude to me and my daughter. The food was over priced. When I booked my room I never read anywhere that you would have to pay for parking. In fact I booked there because I believed there were no charges. Of course when I arrived I was told parking was $12. per night. I cold not figure out why they needed to charge to park. There was ample parking. The parking lot was so big it never filled up. I think that was their way of getting more money out of everine. The rooms were clean enough to stay in. It for sure was just average. A 3 star but not a 4 star. The free WIFI had a very weak signal and was very unsecure. The only nice thing was the balcony to sit out on. May 28, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Old and run down. I am a platinum member with IHG and this is by far the worst Crowne Plaza that I have ever stayed at. The hotel is very old and in need of updating. The hotel has a local "aloha" club that actually treats it's members far better than the IHG members. As a platinum member I had to eat a continental breakfast in a make shift guest room that they called the club lounge. To me this is an outrage that the local club members get breakfast in the main restaurant and then a complimentary free dinner in some undisclosed location but IHG members who spend great amounts of money at IHG properties are told to buy dinner in the restaurant or the sushi bar. Does that make sense to anyone? Overall the hotel is very centrally located and makes getting around town easy but with all the other issues I will not be returning to this property. May 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hospitality This hotel is an excellent value for the government traveler. May 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excelente Una opcion de descando y shopping valedera, muy bien atendidos, relacion precio servicio (restaurant) Excelente, recomendable en todo sentido May 21, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by ROOM AND THINGS IT WORKED OUT WITH LOTS OF THINGS CLOSE BY. VERY NICE HAVING FREE SHUTTLE SERVICE TO SOME PLACES ROOM SIZE WITH PLENTY OF CLOSET SPACE May 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great view spacious room very clean The rates were great and the room was very spacious and clean we had a balcony over looking the pool and had a great breakfast in the morning I will deffinatly recommend this hotel May 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding Customer Service During a recent stay, as a member of the staff for a large reunion group onsite, I cannot express our gratitude and applauds for the excellent job staff did in accommodating every request/need in a timely and responsive manner. Also, ALL staff were consistently pleasant and ready to assist with any need. Many (i.e. van drivers) went above and beyond expectations! Kudos on a job well done. Please share our appreciation with staff (4/29/14-5/5/14). May 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great staff, great experience overall Everyone, even passing me in the corridor, was cheerful, helpful, and made my stay memorable. May 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and great service Everything was great except the room air conditioning. Staff was exceptional. May 14, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Bad room. Heating did not work. Staff took forever to fix while my kids were cold. Old property. Needs a lot of improvement. Room balcony opened to a wall. May 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by ASAA seminar stay... Love the venue, love the location ( the beach would've been better, but probably much more expensive! ) enjoyed the weather and the courtyard and pool. The room where we had the convention was a bit colder than it should have been, but eventually that got straightened out. If I have one complaint, it would be that the breakfast buffet, ( we had vouchers! ) is pretty much the same. My stay was about a week and so, it got a bit boring after a few days. That's it... May 8, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 12 next>>
Candlewood Suites San Diego Hotel
Candlewood Suites San Diego Hotel
Select to close.
Candlewood Suites San Diego Hotel Scenery / Landscape Entrance Hotel Lobby Front Desk Our Spa Area Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-24-2014)
Check Availability
Loading