• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Apr-17-2014)
(e.g. Apr-18-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Resort

  • Location: Resort
  • Closest City: San Diego
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:3
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Cleaning Fees 75.00 USD up to 6 days, 150.00 USD for 7 or more days
Pet deposit amount  150.00    per stay
Pet fee amount  75.00    per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Sea World
Distance From Hotel:5.0
Attraction:
San Diego Zoo
Distance From Hotel:5.0
Attraction:
Old Town San Diego
Distance From Hotel:1.0
Attraction:
Balboa Park
Distance From Hotel:5.0

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:68
  • Car Parking Available
  • Car Parking Available

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:50
  • Total number of suites:50
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:28
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:22
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:50
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:3
  • Total number of floors:3

Set atop the hillside of Hotel Circle South, the three-story Candlewood Suites San Diego offers a spectacular view of Mission Valley.

Candlewood Suites San Diego is conveniently located to all major San Diego attractions and Interstate 8 freeway access. Nearby attractions include SeaWorld, the Riverwalk Golf Course, Fashion Valley Mall, the world famous San Diego Zoo, downtown's historic Gaslamp Quarter, Petco Park, Old Town, Tijuana - Mexico, Qualcomm Stadium, USD, SDSU, Balboa Park, Seaport
View More

Set atop the hillside of Hotel Circle South, the three-story Candlewood Suites San Diego offers a spectacular view of Mission Valley.

Candlewood Suites San Diego is conveniently located to all major San Diego attractions and Interstate 8 freeway access. Nearby attractions include SeaWorld, the Riverwalk Golf Course, Fashion Valley Mall, the world famous San Diego Zoo, downtown's historic Gaslamp Quarter, Petco Park, Old Town, Tijuana - Mexico, Qualcomm Stadium, USD, SDSU, Balboa Park, Seaport Village, Legoland, Pacific Beach, Sunset Cliffs, Coronado, and San Diego Wild Animal Park.

Nearby organizations include Spa War, Caltrans, Aetna, AIG, BoozAllenHamiton, CP Kelco, Firemans Fund, HSBC/Household, Hyundai, Jack in the Box, Kaiser Permanente, Nextel, Sempra Energy, Stewart Title, SunGard SCT, UCSD Medical Center, Scripps Mercy Hospital, and Symitar Systems.

View Less
Features
Largest suites in Hotel Circle area. Hotel near to any major attraction in town.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 249 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Wonderful Staff The staff was so helpful and friendly. Especially appreciated the shuttle to areas. Will definitely return to this hotel. May 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient and close to most areas nice hotel - friendly staff, rooms a bit small compared to other properties, but clean and quiet. May 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best staff Upon check in particularly but also throughout stay front desk staff went out of their way to be helpful and informative about hotel and Old Town neighborhood Resturant and bar options. It is not often that entire staff from the young man and Asian lady at check in, shuttle driver Alex, breakfast room attendant and cleaning staff were all positive and seemed to want guests to enjoy stay. Incredible teamwork and enthusiasm. Thank you! May 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Everyone was so nice and helpful. We will continue to stay here whenever we are in San Diego. May 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by cinco de Mayo weekend We stayed in Old San Diego because events downtown caused all of the Harbor hotels to be full. This particular weekend was busy all over. We were able to walk to Cinco de Mayo Festivities on Saturday night. - quite fun. Unfortunately for us, Sunday night it rained so we chose not to attend festivities. That weekend it was a bit of a hassel getting to and from the hotel and to and from Old Town because of Festival traffic. Sunday we left during the day and when we returned to the hotel around 4 p.m. or after, our room was still not tended to so we had to alert the front desk and had to wait for 30 minutes or more in the lobby until it was cleaned. Just a little inconvenient - they did have the whole day to clean the room. It was a little pricey - well over 400 for 2 nights. Would we stay there again? I don't know, it's a flip of a coin...only if we had to. May 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff A very busy celebration weekend in San Diego and the staff were genuinely engaged with their clients . May 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value Hotel This was our second stay and again a good experience - clean, comfortable room, and friendly service. There are great restaurant choices at Old Town, a 20-minute walk away, and nearby Shakespeare's Pub has good comfort food. We love San Diego, and this hotel is a good value choice for those who don't mind being a bit away from the town centre. We catch the nearby Metro train downtown (a short walk to the Metro, and a few stops into downtown) as we like experiencing the city like a local. Despite being next to the freeway, traffic noise was seldom an issue for us. We will gladly stay in future! May 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A good value close to all things San Diego Room 315 The front desk was very friendly, we even checked in in a bit early. Since I was a Gold Priority Club Member, they gave us a small bag on check in which had a bottle water, a granola bar and a bag of chips ). Parking can be a bit tight if you drive a tall vehicle or a long vehicle ( I drive a 2006 tundra access cab and it just clears the under ground parking ), even then maneuvering into the parking stalls can be a bit tight. There are only is so much topside parking, maybe 28 spots. There is no restaurant located next door.. There is a Irish Pub up the street and a small Mexican take out food place as well, and Old Town with it's many Mexican restaurants is up the street a bit more. We however never went there, instead we drove around ( not even using Yelp! ) and tried our luck. We found a good Pho place and an excellent Thai place ( Antique Thai, with the Pho place close by, both off of Rosecrans and Midway ) The hotel is by itself, that is there are no other hotels next to it. This lends itself to be quiet since you generally have traffic when you are next to other hotels. I have been to more than one HI Express where they tend to buy or construct them like this, semi isolated from other hotels Our room was on the frontside, so freeway noise was not an issue. The room AC worked fine and cooled the room down well. WiFi was amazingly quick, either not many people were on or they had better bandwidth allocation, ans I usually prefer to hardwire where available for better speed and security. The hotel is close to Old Town with a free shuttle service ( though we did not take advantage of it ). The bathroom tub is a porcelain steel tub and shallow at 12" deep. It also flex a bit on the bottom due to not enough grouting when they set the tub. It made a rumbling / popping noise as you showered since you move a bit and flexed the bottom. Water pressure was good and the shower head made it feel like you were using a non restricted shower head. Temperature was fine as well. The exhaust fan for the bathroom was under powered and could not prevent the mirror from steaming up. There is no light over the shower. So when you draw the shower curtain, even though it's a semi translucent white one, it can get a bit dim in the shower. The shower walls were done in a faux travertine tile ( it's really porcelain ) but the floor was travertine. Both were spaced about 1/4" plus apart. The shower has somewhat color matched caulking at the base, and it was not too good of a job at that ( yeah I used to do stone and tile work for 14 plus years, so I tend to notice these things ). The vanity counter top was a a nice granite ( it looked like Icon Brown ) . The faucet was a bit small ( in my opinion ) and I am sure the cleaning service hates cleaning it as the nooks and crannies gather mineral deposits over time. The water felt like was water softened. The towels were nice and white and soft. It did have the dubious small one shot single serve coffer make in the bathroom. I could help at think of the recent commercials for another chain as I started singing " We're not going to take it.. " in the bathroom. There is no carafe,so you can't make a small pot of coffee to share. It is a bit slow to get one cup going. Walking in the unit will make a bit of floor flexing if you have heavy feet and you will feel it. I think this was not originally a HI Express hotel ( google maps has the old sign at the freeway as a something else ) but one they bought and remodeled to their spec, so the sub floor construction is what it is and hence why you get a little bit of bounce if you walk heavy on the floor The room Decor was a nice, with black granite tops on the night stands, the TV / refridge / microwave / dresser cabinet. Though the door that hid the small Avanti refrige was hinged to the left, but the door on the Avanti was hinged to the right, so you have to fully open the door at least 90 degrees to open the Avanti fridge. not an big issue, but some one at the design stage missed that one. The microwave was visible, small ( also an Avanti ), but we never tried it, so I do not know how powerful it was. The entry closet had an iron, and ironing board and a small digital safe. along with some hangers. The TV did not look modern, even though it was a LCD ( LED ? ), silver in color, LG with a pretty big frame. Still the picture quality on the digital channels was good ( Hi Def ), it was ok on the analog channels. You got free HBO and enough local channels to keep you entertained. There are no gaming hook ups like in other HI Express ( Salinas!!! ) hotels. The 4 lamps were modern looking, and fit the modern decor of the room. All the 3 desk lamps had 2 simplex outlets at the base for hooking up chargers and what not and we took full advantage of them. The room had decorative drapes ( fixed ) and window shear and no curtains ( unlike the Salinas HI Express ). There are apartments across the street, so privacy at night with lights on and the TV running can be an issue. There is not much light pollution coming from the street that when you do turn off the lights and TV , you can't get to sleep. I prefer a darkend room, but I had no trouble getting to sleep. The bed ( Queen ) was comfortable with 4 pillows. I slept good on it. We had the free breakfast one morning down stairs. You know the drill by now, scrambled folded eggs with cheese, bacon sausage link, a the slow pancake machine, the coffee, the cereal, the bananas..all of it self serve, hey it's free, it not too bad and it works for me. The hot tub is up front by the entrance to the underground parking , between the 2 main buildings. It does has privacy from the street, there is a open patio are between the 2 buildings, but the constant freeway noise pretty much makes the patio not very useable the lobby entrance is on the left of the underground entrance. I did not try either the hot tub nor the pool which is located to the far right , away from the hot tub. Which makes no sense. hot tubs are always grouped together with pools, this is Hotel 101 basic design rules. Being right next to the freeway, the open supporting columns along the perimeter of the under ground parking all have iron bars to keep people out, as there are transients in the area, so you car is pretty secure ( you need the room key swiped at the under ground entrance to even get in and from the garage to access the elevators ) . The front desk does have quite a few monitors with quite a few camera feeds to see the property pretty well covered, still common sense is that you do not leave valuables in the car. There was one outside gate access left open ( from the underground parking to the laundry room for the hotel ) and when I cam in for the night is was still left open. It's only a slight hop over the chain link fence from the free way to the hotel under ground garage parking section. I like to say if you have stayed in one HI Express you have stayed in them all, this is not true, all of them have there own "personalities", with the Salinas, CA one being my favorite, hotel wise ( not location wise ). This one is what I would rate as comfortable, a good value. You are close enough to downtown, the airport, Old Town, so it fits my objective as a base to drive out in all directions with minimal drive time. It does not feel like a really polished hotel in a better area, but a remodeled hotel in a OK area, and that I am OK with. Would I stay here again for my San Diego get ways, absolutely. May 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by close to airport and military base Older hotel remodeled. centrailized area around military base, restaurants, other hotels, and shopping centers. Expressway runs right by hotel. Parking is underneath hotel, secured by a gate. Very friendly staff and very accomdating. May 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by COULDN'T ASK FOR MORE!!!! My family and I came for our son's graduation from MCRD. The hotel made our trip so smooth. We called as soon as we landed in San Diego and the hotel shuttle picked us up within 10 minutes of arriving in San Diego, had our rooms ready, told us about the shuttles we needed for the upcoming days at MCRD and signed us up right away for them. I WOULD recommend this hotel to anyone expecially MCRD families. The hotel shuttles us both days to MCRD for family day and graduation day. With the security of getting onto the base I thought the hotels shuttle drivers were very helpful since they have done this repeatedly. The rooms were clean, the staff was pleasant and extremely helpful. The hotel is within walking distance to many shops and eateries. It has a beautiful view of the MCRD. They offer shuttles to many of the area attractions for free. The breakfast was hot and very filling. The hotel also offers a small shop that is very convenient. When it was time to go our van driver dropped us off right at our airline and assisted with our luggage. We had NO COMPLAINTS! May 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Vacation trip to San Diego My overall experience was AWESOME!!!! The staff was extremely helpful and nice my entire trip. We had an issue with our luggage arriving to San Diego and although it wasn't their problem they were very accommodating and made a bad experience better! I would stay there every time I visit San Diego! Big Thanks out to the Staff! May 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location & Service for MCRD Graduation Our Son was Graduating from MCRD and we picked this property based on previous reviews and great amenities such as free shuttle to various locations in the San Diego area. Kayleen and Ryan, two of the Front Desk team members. Just great --provided wonderful recommendations of area attraction, restaurants, etc Will surely recommend this hotel for anyone traveling to San Diego, especially to MCRD!. April 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place and very frienly Thanks for the great stay was picked up at airport with in !5 mins of calling. April 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect!! We picked this hotel because it was close to the cruise terminal, it had free breakfast, shuttle and parking. Vangie at the front desk was super nice. Everyone was great. We will be coming back the next cruise we have in San Diego. Everything was perfect, no complaints at all. April 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean room and the best staff. After staying in several hotels in San Diego over a 13 year period, I have found a home. I work at the Navy base in El Centro and stay in San Diego near the airport on my way home. I also work at the Marine base in Miramar. I look forward to my future stays, other hotels don't compare, the staff made the difference but I love the clean rooms with frig and microwave. April 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place Great service from all the staff, good breakfast with a lot of choices. Everyone helpful and the shuttle took us to old town and came back later to take us back to the hotel. We will stay here again when we return to SD. April 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by What a great place to stay. We had a wonderful short stay prior to a cruise. Perfectly located near to the cruise ship docks and in Old Town. Clean, quiet, great service and a super breakfast and as if that was not enough a free shuttle to the docks. Thanks Holiday Inn Express! April 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean room, comfortable beds We were very pleased with our stay at your hotel. A very convenient location with free breakfast and pleasant and helpful staff made our stay very satisfactory. The room was super clean and the bed very comfortable. Could hear the traffic noise inside the room but with the fan on, it was hardly noticeable. April 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic Time I was able to call and talk to a customer service person and she made my reservation so easy to do. She even told me about San Diego and things to do. I the flew into San Diego from Fairbanks, Alaska with a five minute wait for the shuttle (after I called the front desk). The driver picked me up and it was just a five minute drive to the hotel. The front desk staff were great and professional with maybe a three minute key and directions to my room. I liked the deli and the free coffee/USA Today at the front desk area. The free breakfast was from 6 am to 10 am, quiet and filling. My room was ready and the bed was so comfortable, pillow galore!! I recommend this hotel for everyone. April 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice design. Great location. Quiet rooms even when facing the freeway. Nice outdoor patio. Bed was very comfortable. April 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service We stayed here to attend graduation at MCRD. The staff was very nice and helpful. Shuttle picked us up and took us back to airport and took us to MCRD. We will stay here again if ever in the San Diego area. April 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay before a cruise Very comfortable and a great place to stay when driving to San Diego for a cruise. The car is safe and covered while we cruise. We will do this again. April 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very clean, friendly staff close to everything downtown and old town. great freeway access April 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff and Service We recently stayed at this hotel one night in order to go on a cruise. The staff (desk, shuttle transportation, etc.) were excellent. We would definitely recommend and stay at this hotel again! April 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place, location and very friendly One of the nicest Holiday Inn Express i have stayed at. A true treat. Thanks for a great time. April 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff The staff is amazing. Very knowledgeable and friendly. Would definately stay here again March 31, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Rooms Have always good service from the desk. Rooms are nice/cozy; nice having fridge and microwave. My only complaint is that the internet can be really slow, not what I was expecting for San Diego. Only other issue you could run into is parking. One stay their free parking was almost completely full (I think I got the last one), however on the next stay there was plenty of spots, something to watch out for. March 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Staff very friendly and helpful Our overall experience was good due to the friendly and helpful staff. Upon arriving was greeted and checkin was extremely efficient. They also advised us of their shuttle service which allowed us to leave our car and take the shuttle to Old Town or other places in San Diego. The room was refreshed- the bathroom was old but clean. Only complaint we had was the noise of the heating/air conditioner. March 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 perfect Walking distance to oldtown, good food, coffee always ready, gift shop well stocked for snacks and needed items. Quiet location and felt very safe. Good parking with key access. Staff had genuine smiles and good attitudes. would select again if in San Diego. Short drive to Balboa park. March 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by overall good experience Can't say enough good things about their staff. Very friendly, courteous and accommodating. Rooms are large. Cleaning staff is very efficient. Room air is noisy, Rooms facing freeway are noisy also. March 28, 2013
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 10 next>>
Candlewood Suites San Diego Hotel
Candlewood Suites San Diego Hotel
Select to close.
Candlewood Suites San Diego Hotel Scenery / Landscape Entrance Hotel Lobby Front Desk Our Spa Area Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Spread Out and Relax