• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-01-2014)
(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Resort

  • Location: Resort
  • Closest City: San Diego
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:3
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Cleaning Fees 75.00 USD up to 6 days, 150.00 USD for 7 or more days
Pet deposit amount  150.00  USD  per stay
Pet fee amount  75.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Old Town San Diego
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Balboa Park
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
San Diego Zoo
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
Sea World
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:68
  • Car Parking Available
  • Car Parking Available

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:50
  • Total number of suites:50
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:28
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:22
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:50
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:3
  • Total number of floors:3

Set atop the hillside of Hotel Circle South, the three-story Candlewood Suites San Diego offers a spectacular view of Mission Valley.

Candlewood Suites San Diego is conveniently located to all major San Diego attractions and Interstate 8 freeway access. Nearby attractions include SeaWorld, the Riverwalk Golf Course, Fashion Valley Mall, the world famous San Diego Zoo, downtown's historic Gaslamp Quarter, Petco Park, Old Town, Tijuana - Mexico, Qualcomm Stadium, USD, SDSU, Balboa Park, Seaport
View More

Set atop the hillside of Hotel Circle South, the three-story Candlewood Suites San Diego offers a spectacular view of Mission Valley.

Candlewood Suites San Diego is conveniently located to all major San Diego attractions and Interstate 8 freeway access. Nearby attractions include SeaWorld, the Riverwalk Golf Course, Fashion Valley Mall, the world famous San Diego Zoo, downtown's historic Gaslamp Quarter, Petco Park, Old Town, Tijuana - Mexico, Qualcomm Stadium, USD, SDSU, Balboa Park, Seaport Village, Legoland, Pacific Beach, Sunset Cliffs, Coronado, and San Diego Wild Animal Park.

Nearby organizations include Spa War, Caltrans, Aetna, AIG, BoozAllenHamiton, CP Kelco, Firemans Fund, HSBC/Household, Hyundai, Jack in the Box, Kaiser Permanente, Nextel, Sempra Energy, Stewart Title, SunGard SCT, UCSD Medical Center, Scripps Mercy Hospital, and Symitar Systems.

View Less
Features
Largest suites in Hotel Circle area. Hotel near to any major attraction in town.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 367 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Oaid extra for poolside The pictures on the website of this property are severely misleading. Poolside as it was called on the website was no where near being beside a pool. I paid extra for a second floor turn to the right pool view. Main building looks nice but I was in a satellite building with open outside entrance. Room was old and not very clean. Balcony was open to anyone. I will not stay hear next time in am in San Diego. It is close to the airport though. November 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Bayside SanDiego Our stay was the highlight of an 8 day road trip. The staff took care to make our stay special, we were celebrating a milestone. The room was beautiful and spacious overlooking San Diego Harbour. Free use of bicycles was a bonus and something we enjoyed so much. Thank you Holiday Inn for taking such good care of us, we will definitely be back. November 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely stay on a beautiful San Diego day We had reserved two rooms in the new building and were given top floor with stunning view of the marina sparkling at us just across the street. We were off a cruise ship so arrived mid-morning; since the hotel had been sold out the night before, our rooms were not yet available. Felt that the staff were doing all they could to get them ready and let us into our rooms as soon as possible. Generally, the staff was terrific, cheerful and accommodating. Rooms are well-appointed with ample furniture and nice wood shutters on the windows instead of the typical drapes. Beds were very comfortable, bath well-supplied with towels. We dined for lunch and breakfast at the Point Loma Cafe next door. Excellent! The menu was varied, food quality was fine and plentiful portions. The staff in the Cafe were terrific - friendly and helpful - made us feel like family. November 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice hotel, great bed Two Negatives: we did not receive Priority Club amenities that we get at other Holiday Express properties and found someone else's hair on the bedding. November 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Experience The staff were very polite and helpful. But the building is old November 12, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Received noisiest room in the house! I was on a journey and had a night in San Diego booked at this IHG property. After booking I found a lower rate so that I received after the BRG T&C a comp night. At checkin the front desk told me that I get an upgrade of a room with balcony on the 5th floor - sounds nice but wasn't! During the night a penetrating loud noise from the roof in addition with the elevator and vending machine - which was all beside the room let me sleep only some hours. Further a sporadic rattle which I couldn't locate and every time I fall in sleep happened let me stand up in bed. I'm not sure If I had get such a poor room with a regular paid stay and not with the comp BRG. But as a loyal Platinum member I can't accept such a treatment even with a BRG stay! For my next stays in San Diego I/my friends choose definitely an other IHG Hotel or an other Brand because that was the worst experience that I had in a Hotel since years. November 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beds made of clouds Took my son back for his second stage in the Marines. We both loved the room it was above our expectations. The beds were like clouds they were the most comfortable beds we've ever slept on and given the chance we will be back. The staff was great we had a super quick check in and out. Again the rooms were great super clean. The price was exceptional for the room which was a suite. November 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful facility with great space and accommodations First class place. Great value for the money. Excellent staff, friendly and efficient. November 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Better than expected I had read reviews prior to visiting, so I was skeptical. But I found the hotel to be clean, friendly, accommodating and lovely. There's a new section that's modern and looks upscale - definitely more than I was expecting for the Holiday Inn. It's very conveniently located, with groceries, restaurants and the harbor in walking distance. Would stay here again! November 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Location I am very happy with the new building at this Holiday Inn. The views are beautiful and being next to Shelter Island is wonderful. I love staying here and will definitely be back. Thanks very much for the new facility, Tom October 31, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location to Harbor, Airport and/or Downtown San Diego I had an enjoyable two-day business stay. Food, accomodations and staff very helpful and hospitable. October 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience Great Experience and great food, bar staff provide a very good service... October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Reunion Stay We had a wonderful time and the hotel was very accommodating. My only complaint is that our room was not made up on Thursday, Oct.24, until very late in the afternoon....about 5pm. That was a big inconvenience and disappointment. October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room in the new bayside building! We have stayed there before and plan to do so if ever in San Diego again. October 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, quiet and contemporary Newer hotel with attentive staff. Quiet even though on busy street. Must drive to good restaurants. Will return. October 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Bayside view very nice We stayed in 2 rooms with a Bayside view - the one on the 4th floor had a much better view than the one on the 3rd floor, but it was nice too. Two queen beds, very large bathroom (shower, no tub, but I don't take baths anyway, so that was fine#. Many pillows to choose from! Very happy with the room. The restaurant associated with the property was excellent. I do not know about the other rooms in this property - they are located in older buildings, and appeared to be smaller, however they have balconies or patios which we did not have. The location is a bit away from downtown, but I felt safe here, I don't know if I would have felt that way downtown. There was also no noise from the airport, train, or city traffic. The only thing missing is coffee brewed and ready in the lobby. All other hotels I stayed at, had coffee - no restaurant, just breakfast service. I don't know if that is why the other hotels had coffee and this one didn't. I could have made it in the room, but then there is powdered milk - standard in all the hotels we stayed at. I would definitely stay here again. October 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Love the new tower! We had an opportunity recently to stay in the new tower. What a pleasure! The room was clean, spacious, quiet and so comfortable. I will definitely plan to stay here on my next visit to San Diego. October 18, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Mediocre Tried to ck in after 330.. room not ready until 4PM... OK as that is what book says... No Platinum gift bag, had to come back down and ask for it. (2 btls of water, bag of chips and 2 pcs of chocolate) Ck in person appeared to be new and very nervous. Directions to the hotel incorrect. s/b left off of Rosecrans on Nimitz, right into parking log... Asked for Handicapped room, they stated OK, room was not ADA equipped but it was, overall, a very nice suite with a peek at the water. After many stays at HI's from CA to NJ, this was my least favorite and do not think I would stay again nor recommend it to friends. October 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A pleasant location I had to attend a conference held at this hotel. I had stayed in this area some time ago and enjoyed it then. This hotel is expanded with new additions. That was all very nice but a bit confusing and spread things out a bit. I was in the Executive building which I was told had the largest rooms. The room was nice and the bed was comfortable. The room was also quiet. I was on the back of the building so that was probably a plus. The sink area with the closet was big cramped because you can't leave the doors open and pass by easily. The island with the microwave was odd. It sticks out way too far and only has the microwave on it. What was the point? If it had a sink and a fridge there it might make more sense. I assumed the big space underneath was for a fridge. I was surprised to not find one. I later found one under the dresser with the tv on it. Odd to put it there is you have an island for that purpose but it was good to have a refrigerator. However, I put in some bottled water and sodas and they were frozen solid in a few hours. I could not find a temp controls. Not the way that should work. The restaurant offered fast service and a very delicious meal. The conference luncheon of a salad with chicken was nothing to write home about. The free internet and parking were nice. However, with other hotels offering free breakfast, cookies or snacks for an equivalent room rate I would say that is not in the Holiday Inns favor. Also I wanted to go out to dinner and drove around the area on a wild goose chase only to find an excellent "American Tavern" literally across the street. I wish there had been a guide to what was in this area. The only major negative was coming out of my room the next day there was some odd looking straw or something in front of the door next to mine. Then walking down the hall I noticed three piles of vomit. I came back to my room it was still there. When I checked out a couple hours later there was still vomit all down the hall- really? Ironically there were maids cleaning room all around it. I can't imagine why this wasn't cleaned up right away. It was the kind of thing you might expect in a dive hotel but for this money- no way. October 16, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Housekeeping was terrible. Arrived very late to find trash in the bathroom trash can, under the sink, and hair in the tub. Had it not been so late I would have left. Next day the room was cleaned well but they forgot towels. It was corrected immediately after I called. Next day returned at 5pm to find no housekeeping service at all. Again corrected immediately after calling guest services. Next three days were adequate. Probably should have found a new hotel right away but was just too busy. For the cost of rooms I shouldn't have had to call for basic service. Also no microwave in the room unless you pay for the higher priced executive room. Lastly, the continental breakfast provided was so poor, with the slowest and most unfriendly service ever, that after day 2 we gave up on that. October 13, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Smoking free room, too much smoke Rooms were very nice, clean and comfortable. One big negative was the smoke that came through the vents. Although we were in a no smoking room, the recycled air from other rooms required me to cover my face when I slept with a pillow. October 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bathroom facilities We reserved a king executive room and were allocated a superb top floor mini suite in the recently opened block. Unfortunately the otherwise exceptionally appointed bathroom did not contain a bath. Perhaps it should be renamed "shower room". This would have been a medical problem for ourselves and no doubt for other guests who require a bath on medical grounds. Sadly we were forced to relocate to a room in the older block which was adequate for our requirements. October 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good place for business and holiday stay Stayed in the new building end of September, very helpful staff, excellent room, comfortable bed and good room service. I really like the room AC in this new building, no operating noise at all, but always at the desired temperature. October 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by New Building The new building is beautiful and very comfortable. The location was perfect. October 2, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Visit Usually I got a goody bag like water some chips and others on other previous visit. The guy who check me in did not gave me one. My co worker got theirs. The Hotel is nice in the new building but the older one that close to the pool. rooms smells. September 29, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Front Desk assistance on morning of check out On morning of check out ( 9-24-13) I requested the front desk staff (Mayra?) to ship via UPS Red Label overnight a package back to my company. I boxed up the small shipment and provided all shipping information on the label including my UPS shipper number. I emphasized I needed this back to my company the next day, on 9-25. I received it 2 days later(on 9-26) and the UPS tracker shows it was given to UPS by the Hotel on Wednesday, the day after I dropped it off. This goof cost me business with a valued client. September 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Washburn reunion Great service for the Washburn reunion. Service and food was really great for the reunion. Room was average for the price. Location of the motel was great. The restaurant service was good the price was high for the quality of the food. September 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Great place to stay for Humphrey's concerts This hotel is now called the Holiday Inn Bayside. We used our priority club points here, and it was a great stay after a great concert. Within walking distance of Humphrey's saved us parking money at the concert venue. Great view of the bay from 2nd story window. The only thing that could have been better in our suite was the pullout mattress for the kids. It was thin, and springs were hard and pokey. The grownup bed was great though. September 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall experience I stayed along with my 9 year old son to attend my sons graduation at MCRD. Joseph checked us in at the front desk he was very friendly courteous and knowledgable. Joseph assisted me with the shuttle service to MCRD so there were no issues. Additionally he explained all the amenities your hotel had to offer and local sights of potential interest. I would personally like to acknowledge Joseph and how well he represented your hotel and the excellent customer service he provided. I would also like to complement the shuttle driver which I can't remember his name, he too was very friendly and provided us with excellent service. My son and I really enjoyed your pool which was clean and accessible. My overall experience with your hotel was OUTSTANDING !! I am very satisfied with your hotel September 23, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Needs Work! One telephone was not working, changed out and still didn't work! Could not set clock, had to have telephone wake up call! Light in bathroom went off and on, and had to manually flush toilet a few times! Needed item from housekeepin, front desk said they would have it sent up; after wating over an hour, picked it up myself at front desk! Used business office, but initially could not get PCs to boot up; front desk said they would send some one up; played with one for a while and finally got it up and operating; left after 45 minutes, and never did see member of hotel staff! In summation, older property that needs maintenance; staff friendly, but not really responsive! September 23, 2013
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 13 next>>
Candlewood Suites San Diego Hotel
Candlewood Suites San Diego Hotel
Select to close.
Candlewood Suites San Diego Hotel Scenery / Landscape Entrance Hotel Lobby Front Desk Our Spa Area Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-01-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
Check Availability
Loading