• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
(e.g. Aug-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Resort

  • Location: Resort
  • Closest City: San Diego
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:3
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Cleaning Fees 75.00 USD up to 6 days, 150.00 USD for 7 or more days
Pet deposit amount  150.00  USD  per stay
Pet fee amount  75.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Old Town San Diego
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Balboa Park
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
San Diego Zoo
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
Sea World
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:68
  • Car Parking Available
  • Car Parking Available

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:50
  • Total number of suites:50
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:28
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:22
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:50
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:3
  • Total number of floors:3

Set atop the hillside of Hotel Circle South, the three-story Candlewood Suites San Diego offers a spectacular view of Mission Valley.

Candlewood Suites San Diego is conveniently located to all major San Diego attractions and Interstate 8 freeway access. Nearby attractions include SeaWorld, the Riverwalk Golf Course, Fashion Valley Mall, the world famous San Diego Zoo, downtown's historic Gaslamp Quarter, Petco Park, Old Town, Tijuana - Mexico, Qualcomm Stadium, USD, SDSU, Balboa Park, Seaport
View More

Set atop the hillside of Hotel Circle South, the three-story Candlewood Suites San Diego offers a spectacular view of Mission Valley.

Candlewood Suites San Diego is conveniently located to all major San Diego attractions and Interstate 8 freeway access. Nearby attractions include SeaWorld, the Riverwalk Golf Course, Fashion Valley Mall, the world famous San Diego Zoo, downtown's historic Gaslamp Quarter, Petco Park, Old Town, Tijuana - Mexico, Qualcomm Stadium, USD, SDSU, Balboa Park, Seaport Village, Legoland, Pacific Beach, Sunset Cliffs, Coronado, and San Diego Wild Animal Park.

Nearby organizations include Spa War, Caltrans, Aetna, AIG, BoozAllenHamiton, CP Kelco, Firemans Fund, HSBC/Household, Hyundai, Jack in the Box, Kaiser Permanente, Nextel, Sempra Energy, Stewart Title, SunGard SCT, UCSD Medical Center, Scripps Mercy Hospital, and Symitar Systems.

View Less
Features
Largest suites in Hotel Circle area. Hotel near to any major attraction in town.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 362 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and location The staff is incredibly nice and helpful. I love that parking is free and they have a shuttle that will take you to places close by and pick you up until 11pm. The downside was that we got there late on a Friday night and must have gotten the last room. It was right across from the breakfast room. The noise started promptly at 6:00am and would could not sleep through it. Other than that, the beds were reasonably comfortable and you cannot really hear the freeway at all. A little pricey, but not too bad considering the free breakfast, parking, and shuttle. September 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great extras! The rooms were clean! The staff was super friendly and helpful! The breakfast had a nice variety, was constantly restocked, and always a staff member around to help. Love the courtyard for relaxing in the evening, since there is no balcony off the rooms! The shuttles were one of the big reasons we choose this hotel, and they did NOT disappoint! The drivers were absolutely awesome, friendly and giving great tips/advice. They took us to Sea World, San Diego Zoo, airport, old town and the train station all for free! For a fee ($30) they took us and picked us up from the Mission Beach, which is still way cheaper than a taxi, and quicker than a bus! The extras of shuttle and breakfast saved us a bunch of time and $$$, and the price was excellent, with very clean facilities! There is not a restaurant on site, but a small store with tonnes of snacks to buy, a little expensive, but convenient. There is not a lot near the hotel, but with the shuttles it didn't matter to us. Would definitely recommend to others, in fact we have already recommended to a family at the airport, and to our own family! September 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Friendly & helpful Staff The staff was outstanding, always friendly and helpful. Bed was one of the more comfortable HI beds I've been in this year, perhaps the most comfortable. The area near the pool can get a little noisy than some areas, the building acts to reflect and amplify sound. Took a little getting used to finding my way down to the gated parking (easy with the elevator, but a challenge when hoofing it). Convenient location, easy to access from the airport. September 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Just what I needed for business This is a very nice hotel with great service. Even have reserved parking for Platinum members! The only thing that detracted from the experience was the mouldy smell in the bathroom. No natural lighting or ventilation. Needs to be aired. As usual I hate Holiday Inn Express breakfasts. Don't know how Americans tolerate it...I'm use to real food breakfasts in Australia. September 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff- Very Accomodating Kylene checked us in and was capable of multi tasking as well as anyone I have ever seen. Anything we needed was right on the spot. There were written directions to everywhere, made it so much easier if you are from out of town. Our room was very clean and comfortable. We could hear the freeway but it did not bother us. I was disappointed in the swimming pool. I expected larger and not so far from the hot tub. We did not have an Ice Machine on our floor and had to walk to the main floor and down the hall to get Ice. We used the laundry and there was no rack to hang dry clothes onto. We really enjoyed the mini mart downstairs. Kept us from having to leave the property a couple of times . It was great to have the computer area to print our boarding passes. We enjoyed our visit even tho there were these few glitches. I did not have a problem with any of the employees and we were there 5 days. I appreciate competent employees. September 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great accommodations near San Diego airport Love your Park and Fly plan when we're traveling. Very convenient location and customer service was excellent. We'll be back! September 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by average It is the quality I have come to expect at any Holiday Inn. I would have preferred a larger room but I booked a queen bed room not realizing it would be so small. Lots of nice furniture, maybe too much or too big the the room size. security good as we needed a key to enter any hall or whirlpool area. About a 15 min walk or a 3-4 min shuttle ride to Old Town. Shuttle is a nice convenience if you don't mind waiting. It seems there are more vans than drivers. Breakfast is very nice but the room is small for the number of guess the hotel is equipped to handle. September 11, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Great customer service Second year in a row we spent a week+ at this hotel. Norbert, Paul front desk, rafe' , Jose and young lady whose name started with a B. were courteous , professional and went above and beyond to make our anniversary trip special. September 10, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room Assignment I'm a gold IHG member and yet I was put in a room that was smelling of recently repainted walls or furniture. My room was beside the highway and was too noisy due to continuous passing of vehicles. September 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by bears4usmcgraduation Our family was attending our son's/grandson's graduation from US Marine Corp. The hotel staff could not have been more accommodating to us and all the other family members in the hotel for this momentous occasion. The shuttle drivers were great, getting us into and through security at MCRD quickly and driving and picking us up from lunch and dinner locations in Old Town! The breakfast staff (some doing double duty as shuttle drivers) hustled and maintained a supply of all breakfast items and full coffee pots! Kudos to management and staff! September 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Park, Sleep & Fly package This was a perfect spot for us to spend the night before flying to Hawaii and leave our car in a safe location for the 10 days we were gone. Very reasonable price for the stay & park, plus it is just down the street from Old Town so we could have dinner at our favorite restaurant when we arrived. The room was clean and quiet, the staff was very helpful and the shuttle van to/from the airport was right on time. September 8, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Very noisy & small rooms This hotel is located right next to the freeway and it was very very noisy. Hard to sleep. The rooms were also small and the pool was very small as well. The hot tub was located away from the pool which was odd. I like to relax in the hot tub while watching the kids swim but I was unable to do so. Staff was very friendly and the hotel was clean. There is a nice patio outside but it is right now to the freeway so it's hard to hold a conversation or make a phone call. September 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Marine Families A fabulous stay. Staff is unbelievable. Kylene,Josh, Ryan, Fernando could not have been more helpful! They shuttle to all most all attractions. September 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Central Very centrally located to Old Town San Diego-just down the block. Downtown is 8 minutes away and freeway close. Clothes rack was not made available to us as we were told by the front desk,because we were across the driveway. But as we left our room that night, a new check-in, had one. Hauling our bags up/down to the 3rd floor was a bit irritating. September 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay. Everything met and exceeded my expectations. Thank you for the quality customer service. September 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Extras! This hotel had an awesome breakfast selection, so varied and very tasty. I was also impressed with their shuttle services, to and from the airport, the zoo and nearby Old Town. So important for short visits! The customer service was good also. September 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good price for the area and helpful staff We wanted a place close to Sea World and Old Town and this location was great. I was surprised at how "secluded" the hotel could feel despite being squished into a neighborhood and jammed up against a freeway. We enjoyed the breakfast, pool, hot tub and free parking. The rooms we were given were in a nice spot by the pool, but despite being labeled as "non-smoking", smelled a little of smoke -- probably from the proximity to the outside area by the pool. When we expressed the concern for one member of our party (who had a child with breathing problems) to the staff, they were very helpful and changed our room to a more desireable location. Even though the new room was facing the freeway, the noise was almost undetectable. Overall, great value for the location and convenience. September 2, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Adequate Holiday Inn Express Old Town is adequate, no frills. Near the I-5 Freeway,noisy. Staff is not friendly. On the day we wanted housekeeping to come, they showed up at 3:00pm and told us they only work until 3:30. We wont recommend this hotel to anyone. September 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always reliable comfort and customer service Each time we return to San Diego I never hesitate to make my reservation with the Holiday Inn express at Old Town. Cleanliness is a priority, and the very friendly staff. We are never disappointed and truly appreciate the shuttle service to the airport. We will definitely be back. August 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed Shuttle took us to the hotel. and welcome gifts for member when check in. Good view to downtown San Diego. 2 minutes drive to old town. August 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to Stay My stay was 3 nights. I was picking my daughter in law and 2 grandkids (6 & 3) up from the airport and knew they would be exhausted from a flight from Japan. I chose this hotel because it was Holiday Inn Express and because it was close to the airport. Not only did we get a great room with very comfortable beds, but we got the quiet needed for a restful stay. The breakfast was great and the staff was friendly and helpful. We were on the I-5 side but the traffic noise was minimal and did not disturb us. Also I appreciate the referral to Dr. Boyd's Pet Hotel as they had 2 German Shepards to board as well. Thanks for a great stay and I highly recommend this hotel!! August 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Experience My stay at the Holiday Inn was very good. Hotel was clean. Front desk staff was friendly and very helpful. They organized taxi and shuttle rides. Drivers were very friendly and helpful as well. My husband likes his breakfast and normally is not impressed with continental breakfasts, but they had an awesome layout for breakfast. Hot cinnamon rolls, one variety of meat every day (sausage, bacon, etc), eggs, breads, pancakes, juices, coffee tea, milk, cereal, etc. Rooms were adequate and clean. Not overly fancy, but the price was good. They have a small store by the front desk where you can get snacks and beverages which is really convenient. Pool and Jacuzzi were well taken care of although a little spread out from each other. I would recommend this hotel and I would stay there again. August 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another Great Stay This is the second time I've stayed at this particular Holiday Inn Express and I am just as satisfied as I was the first time. This time I had a King Feature Room which was very spacious. The bathroom was very big and the glass and tile shower had two shower heads and was actually big enough for two. My bed was comfy just like last time. I'm still a satisfied customer. I definitely recommend staying here. August 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Business The shuttle service was excellent and superior to most IHG locations. As a business guest I appreciate the courteous and friendly front desk personnel. August 26, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by No Help For TV I was at hotel for 10 days. After two days I was moved to new room. TV in new room did not Work correctly. Made about 4 requests to have it fixed but no one did anything. Also one lady at front desk seemed to have attitude. August 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice hotel We arrived way early for our check-in but the staff was very helpful in getting our rooms cleaned and ready in about an hour. Bravo!!! We were recognized as Priority Club Members with a gift bag of chips, granola bar and a bottle of water. Breakfast was good and there was a variety of food and beverages. I loved that we could get the hotel shuttle to and from the Zoo and Sea World. What a time and headache saver!! We walked to Old Town every night for dinner even though the hotel shuttle would've taken us and picked us up. My only minor criticism would be the number of flyers slipped under our door everyday advertising the same two restaurants. August 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by NICE LOCATION-OLD TOWN Had a great time in Old Town, lots to do and visited friends. Great Hotel, clean,location,clean room as always,great staff. Only bad thing is that the pool area is closed at 10 pm, other than this, enjoyed my stay at San Diego Airport-Old Town location. Would recommend it. August 22, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Alice I stayed in your facility on the 6th, 7th, and 8th of August on the freeway side. The road noise made sleeping impossible. We stayed in your facility when we returned to the continental US on the 16th and 17th of August. We would have stayed in a different place except I was told we would have rooms away from the freeway. However, when I returned, lo and behold, I did not get the rooms expected and got rooms on the freeway side again. August 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Your staff is the best! Our family came for Marine Boot Camp graduation. Your staff has the schedule down to an art. They knew more about where and when we needed to be at the depot than we did. They even have late check out on Friday for us. Completly worry free for us as the staff takes care of it all. They actually seem to enjoy their jobs.. True or not .. We certinally enjoyed their kind and detailed attention. A special thanks to our favorite shuttle drivers Alfonzo and his co-worker (wish I could remember his name). All 8 of us from South Dakota gives this place a 5star rating. Our new Marine thanks you for taking care of his family too. August 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place To Stay For Marine Corps Graduation! We recently stayed here for our son's Marine Corp Graduation. The staff was extremely helpful and the hotel was clean! They were very well aware of the graduation schedule and had everything well organized. They have a great shuttle service to many different area attractions as well! I would definitely recommend staying here! August 19, 2013
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 13 next>>
Candlewood Suites San Diego Hotel
Candlewood Suites San Diego Hotel
Select to close.
Candlewood Suites San Diego Hotel Scenery / Landscape Entrance Hotel Lobby Front Desk Our Spa Area Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Earn 1000 points per night when you book a Bonus Points Package.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-24-2014)
Check Availability
Loading