Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Dec-17-2014)
(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 83 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Family Visit I recommend this hotel to anyone, especially those who have things to do, and are looking for a very safe and comfortable place where they can rest. Since I was only resting and sleeping at the hotel it was perfect for me. It was in a secluded business area. Yet, their were neighborhoods where I could walk and enjoy the green space. The stores were 4-5 blocks away. For me, this was perfect as I could get in a walk, do a little browsing at a second hand store and even get something to eat if I wanted before family came to pick me up for the day. This is where I will stay each time I visit family in Detroit. I will also recommend it to my friends and church members. July 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice hotel My stay was nice...quiet rooms, VERY nice cable channel lineup, nice/clean room. The only thing is that the mattress springs squeaked. July 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great front desk service Jeff always makes my reservations when I call. He makes sure I get assigned a room as close to the elevator as possible. I walk with a cane so it is very helpful to be close. July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great people We have family nearby, and this hotel is conveniently located to them. We have stayed in several hotels in the area. This is by far the least expensive and easiest to navigate in and out of. The staff is helpful and friendly. The kitchen is well equipped. July 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfort of room Room was easy to work in and had everythingIneeded to feel at home. June 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love the Staff Great staff and clean rooms make a great stay and this place has both. Staff gets to know you and are friendly and speed your check in process. They remember your preferences and try to accommodate whenever possible. I'm always disappointed when they are full and I can't get a room.... book early! June 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Mixed stay at this property I stayed at a Candlewood Suites in Sierra Vista in Arizona in April and was so delighted with the accomodations and the value that I decided to try another Candlewood when I traveled to Michigan. I had a mixed experience this time. The Southfield Candlewood Suites was in the perfect location for me for this trip, with convenient access to multiple freeways and central to the various places I planned to go. This was one of the reasons I chose it. I had mixed experiences with the staff. The person who checked me in was helpful and friendly. I was told I'd been put in a first floor room and was asked if that was OK. I said if it was possible, I'd prefer to be on a higher floor, so she gave me a room on the third floor, which was great and I thanked her. Later in the evening my husband tried to call me and was told I wasn't there, and that nobody had been assigned to my room. (I'd talked to him earlier and had given him my room number.) He called me on my cell phone to let me know. I have limited cell phone minutes, so that's why he was calling me on the hotel phone. I called down to the front desk and asked what the story was and the person I spoke with said the person who checked me in had put me down as a no show. Darn good thing I found this out and they fixed it before they assigned someone else to my room while I was still there. On my first full day I asked the person working the front desk for some directions and received a very friendly and helpful response. The morning before I was to check out someone knocked on my door and asked if I was checking out that day. I said no, my reservation was through the next day. I was told to call the front desk. They told me the system showed me checking out that day and they didn't have a room for me that night. I can't say I was all that pleasant in my response (no profanity or personal attacks by me, I was just ticked off ), and explained that I had the e-mail copy of my reservation showing my checkout date, that I wasn't leaving, my flight didn't leave until the next evening, and I had nowhere to go. I have dietary restrictions, so I need a kitchen, I can't just stay anywhere a room might be available. They treated me like the whole thing was my fault. I took my reservation copy down to the desk and they said they were working it out and I didn't have to check out, but still were rather surly with me. I got a call a little bit later with half an apology, but not a very sincere one. The last evening of my stay I called the desk to ask about something, and the person who answered was someone I hadn't dealt with previously, was very nice, and had noticed what had happened with my reservation issues. He sincerely apologized, and comped one night of my stay. Before that happened I had decided I would not stay at this location again. Now I probably would. As far as the accommodations, the room was comfortable, they use nice towels and sheets for a property of this type, and the bed and pillows were comfortable. Cleanliness wasn't as good as it should have been. The bathroom was clean, and the kitchen was clean, except for the floor. Furniture appeared to be clean. I spilled some water on the kitchen floor and when I wiped it up I picked up a lot of dirt with it. The carpet was spotted and stained, and at one point I laid down on it to do some exercises and when I got up I was covered in what seemed to be pet hair. It was not carpet fibers. I did not have a pet with me. Don't know if the carpet hadn't been vacuumed, or if their vacuum is not very effective. No idea when the carpet was last cleaned, but it clearly needed it. I felt that everything but the floors was acceptably clean. One other issue I had is that they clean with Pine Sol. I'm sensitive to strong odors and that smell really bothered my sinuses and airways when I walked into the property and into my room. Fortunately, it's possible to open windows in the rooms, so that's what I did, and the smell eventually went away. Some people have complained about the refrigerator noise in the rooms at this property. It is noticeable, but it's a constant white-noise type of noise. I chose to use ear plugs at night most nights. The other Candlewood I stayed at had one bedroom suites, which removes the refrigerator noise issue. This property only seemed to have studios. Despite the proximity to the freeways, road noise wasn't bad. With the windows closed I didn't hear it at all, and with them open it wasn't too terrible. I used the small gym facilities, and appreciated it being there. The equipment I used appeared to be clean and was fully functional. There was a problem with the door to the gym area. Apparently it wasn't latching right and someone had stuck kleenex in the latch so it couldn't just be pushed open, which made it very hard to open the door. No idea why it hadn't been properly repaired. I also noticed some of the plastic baseboard was peeling away from one of the walls and hadn't been repaired. One thing that was odd as far as hotels go is that there were no blackout curtains in my room. I came from the west coast and chose not to try to adjust to the time zone change, since I didn't have a need to, which meant I wanted/needed to sleep late in the morning. The sun streaming into the room woke me up in the morning much earlier than I wanted to wake up, and I'd forgotten to pack eye shades. So be prepared if you stay here and light wakes you up and you want to sleep in. Despite the issues I had, I would probably stay at this property again due to the convenient location, useable kitchen, price, and mostly helpful and friendly staff. June 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Staff Fantastic Mattress was soft Great Value The Hotel was very nice and the accommodations were wonderful and the staff were very nice , helpful, and pleasant. We truly enjoyed our time there. Our only complaint was my mattress was too soft for our personal liking. We will be doing more travel this year and this is the 2nd time we have stayed at a Candlewood Facility. One in Pittsburgh and most recently in Southfield Michigan. Both facilities were excellent. We will be looking for Candlewood Suites in each City we stay in for available accommodations. There is no reason other than there not being a Candlewood or it being totally booked in the area that we would not chose to stay there. June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Business Center and Shower Overall, everything was very good. It would have been helpful to have access to a computer and printer to print boarding passes. Also, on one morning my companion had an early morning shower and complained the water was only tepid, not nearly hot enough. Later in the morning, the water was hotter. April 25, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff-linen yucky I loved the staff..they took really good care of us. When I went to get in bed...there was blood on the comforter and when housekeeping changed the bed..they only changed the comforter. I wound up sleeping on the let out couch in the livingroom. April 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The Best Hotel in Michigan from the customer service to the rooms, this is hands down my favorite hotel. It has everything you need. All you have to do is bring clothes and food for the full kitchen. They supply all dishes also April 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by clean and comfortable Staff very friendly and helpful. Room clean and comfortable. Very enjoyable stay. March 30, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Everything you need for a long term stay. Room smelled strongly of smoke and smoke detector was gone out of the ceiling. March 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice and relaxing stay feeling of hoomy stay while in a business trip, this hotel makes you feel that. the cupboard was a nice idea for the people on the go. March 20, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Syxcents This location does not disclose the incidental holds. My card was charged double the agreed upon rate at booking. In total $500 was held for a 2day stay. I requested a fairly quiet room, but was given one next to the boiler room. I switched rooms around midnight. Nice hotel, but front desk service was sub par. Location is a bit hidden. March 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Location As always everything was great. The staff was great and the property was well taken care of. January 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by my favorite local hotel I like staying at this property and Mary at the front desk is always amazing. January 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay We stayed here and attended a party in Detroit. Hotel was great and location was a convenient/short drive from downtown. The room exceeded my expectations and the staff was very friendly. I would definitely stay here again. January 15, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by bad service No service. Very poor support do not clean room staff do mot care even afternoon repeated complaints December 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Candlewood Suites Very clean hotel. 5-10 min drive to stores and restaurants. 15-20mins away from downtown. October 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and Comfortable The bed was comfortable and the fluffy pillows were a plus. The room had a nice home feel. It was a beautiful room with a small kitchen. If we needed the room for longer than just a night we would have utilized the kitchen aspect. If ever in the area again we will stay here. October 23, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Did not receive the room I booked in advance from IHG site I stayed at this hotel on Oct. 14th. I booked a one bedroom suite through IHG site, well in advance. When I arrived, I was given a room without a bedroom, with a noisy refrigerator and the heater stuck between the bed and the TV... so I could not even hear the TV & the room did not even look like it had been cleaned from the night before! The girl at the front desk said "Sorry!! I don't know what to tell you! I will have the manager call you in the morning to explain why you never got a one bedroom suite." He never called. I had long ago given up thinking I would get the free room upgrades promised to Elite Reward members, but this downgrade was inexcusable, handled poorly, and demonstrated rotten customer service. October 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place I have been staying here for the past 3 years and every time the place is extremely clean and such a great staff. October 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Great place to stay. Convenient and always clean. Love this place. October 17, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Room 130 If needed I would stay at this location again but will most certainly ask for another room if EVER booked in room 130 again. The elevator and it's power room are on the other side of the wall by the head of the bed...very loud, the fridge was noisy and it is near an exit door that people use to go in and out of all night for smoke breaks. a good location for my business stay but a lousy location for room placement. October 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Staff is very friendly and accomodating. Whenever I needed anything they were right there to help. October 1, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Never Again I spend a great deal of time on the road. I use IHG brand hotels exclusively. I stayed 4 nights at this hotel. I was shocked when I arrived back to my room after work that housekeeping hadn't been there yet! This was 3:30 pm. As a matter of fact, housekeeping NEVER came into my room that day? I was even more shocked, when this happened on the 3rd AND 4th day! That's right 4 nights no housekeeping. Must be you have to ask for it? Secondly, my toilet clogged. No big deal, things happen. I call the front desk around 3:30pm and they say, "Someone will be right up." at 5:00pm I call back and the Front Desk said, "Oh, he never came up?" followed by "Well he left for the day, but you can come and get the plunger, and set it outside my door when you're done." Must be you do your own housekeeping and maintenance at this facility? Lastly, the heater/AC vibrated and made more noise than a jet taking off. I decided not to call and mention it. I figured after seeing the lack of housekeeping and maintenance, this complaint/concern would fall on deaf ears. On a good note, the laundry room was great. The equipment was far better than most places I stay at. I also got a note slid under my door that a new manager has taken over. I hope he fixes these issues. I will NOT ever stay at this place again when I'm in the area, even if that mean staying outside the IHG family. September 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff and Wonderful Room The staff here is always polite, positive and professional. They remember you by name and call to make sure the room is ok. I have always had a pleasant stay and would recommend this to any businessman or family September 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel Friendly staff, clean room, good value. I would recommend. September 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A wonderful place to stay Very clean, quiet and great location. The staff were friendly and very helpful! September 1, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 next>>