• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Nov-27-2014)
(e.g. Nov-28-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: KANSAS CITY
  • Distance From Hotel: 40.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-06:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Domestic dogs and cats only, 80 lb. weight limit, 1 to 6 night fee won't exceed 75.00 and 7 plus nights won't exceed 150.00. Limit of one pet per room. Pets must be attended at all times. Additional charges may apply if damage found after check out.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Chiefs Training Camp
Distance From Hotel:6.15MI
Attraction:
Terrible's St Joe Frontier Casino
Distance From Hotel:9.43MI
Attraction:
Pony Express Museum
Distance From Hotel:9.59MI
Attraction:
Patee House Museum
Distance From Hotel:9.69MI

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:80
  • Total number of suites:80
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:52
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:28
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:80
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Welcome to the Candlewood Suites hotel in St. Joseph, MO. We are conveniently located off Interstate 29 at exit 50 making it a convenient choice for both business and leisure travelers. The Candlewood Suites is also in close proximity to the following major companies, Boehringer Ingelheim, Heartland Health, Herzog Industries, Johnson Controls and Triumph Foods to name just a few.

We have everything you need for a productive business trip in St. Joseph, MO. Whether you're here for
View More

Welcome to the Candlewood Suites hotel in St. Joseph, MO. We are conveniently located off Interstate 29 at exit 50 making it a convenient choice for both business and leisure travelers. The Candlewood Suites is also in close proximity to the following major companies, Boehringer Ingelheim, Heartland Health, Herzog Industries, Johnson Controls and Triumph Foods to name just a few.

We have everything you need for a productive business trip in St. Joseph, MO. Whether you're here for a short trip or an extended stay, we provide everything you need. Our services include a 24 hour Fitness Center, free parking and free guest laundry facilities. The hotel is equipped with a 24 hour business center and each suite includes free Wi-Fi access and spacious work area. Furnished for comfort and daily living, the suites at the Candlewood Suites have plenty of space for relaxing, entertaining, or meeting with colleagues. Our full kitchens have the amenities you need to get you going in the morning and to make your evening complete. Our outdoor gazebo and grilling area will help you relax and unwind after a long day. In need of a quick bite to eat be sure to stop by our 24 hour Candlewood Cupboard that sells value priced items.

View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 204 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay, Nice Room - Comfy Beds paired with Great Location Enjoyed my staff on business, convinient location and business traveler friendly. November 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and service We have stayed here many times and Joan and Ashley are great. Greet us by name ,friendly , courteous and as Platinum members upgrades our room when ever possible. November 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by St Joe Pony Express Visit We came on our way to a meeting in Hutchinson, KS and this was a midway point. We wanted to visit St. Joseph for the Pony Express Museum and historical district tour. The hotel was nicely located for that purpose. The building is older but in generally good shape. The bed was a bit firmer than I prefer, but okay. We had a nice check in and helpful in finding a restaurant in walking distance. Our only complaint was the sad breakfast. My husband and I love eggs benedict and we wanted a nice Sunday breakfast. The service was okay, not very friendly and the dish was the worst looking meal I have ever seen. Deep fried american fries, awful and the sauce was without flavor, overcooked muffins and hardly any ham. There was absolutely no presentation value, nothing. The person checking out barely looked up as we left and had a very poor attitude. It left us feeling a bit less enthusiastic than when we started. November 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely accommodations in every way! All staff members were helpful and inviting at this hotel. We asked for directions to certain places and they were most helpful to us. The hotel was comfortable and secure. It was clean and well cared for. We couldn't have been more pleased with our stay. November 3, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Needs updating The staff is friendly. The room was clean. It is though in need of updating. I also felt secure within the hotel but not the surrounding neighborhood. Breakfast was average. October 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Manager Good place to stay, great value for the price, excellent location and plenty of parking October 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Business Visit The Front Desk was responsive to my request of location of room and able to assist me. The Room Service Breakfast was delivered on time and was a good starting meal for that style. It was delivered cheerfully. The rooms have always been clean and adequate, well maintained for comfort. The Front Desk was responsive and efficient at Check out. A job well done by all staff. October 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Reserved 2 rooms for my folks and us on our way to Frontier Casino. Found the Hotel and staff to be very clean, freindly and helpful. Found rooms to be very large and clean. The resturant for breakfast was excellent at a fantastic price. We willo be be staying there agin on our next trip. October 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by pet friendly We have stayed at Holiday Inn's before and have been very satisfied. We really appreciate the pet friendly policy October 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed Older property. needs updating. Bed was comfortable. bathroom was clean. however found Old dried up roach on carpeting after arriving close to midnight. I was just too tired to say anything. so i picked it up with a tissue and discarded it in the bathroom trash. No more bugs were seen the rest of my stay. Housekeeping should be more vigilant and inspect rooms before guest check in. October 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Helpful staff We were in town for family weekend at a local college and although we have been to St. Joe on numerous other occassions I am not familiar with the area that this hotel is in. The reception staff was very helpful with directions to and from the hotel October 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay Everything about the hotel from check in to check out was great. Very friendly staff. The hotel is located within 2 blocks of a 1 1/2 mile river walk which is a must. The in house cafe, 36th Street Food and Drink, has outstanding food reasonably priced with exceptionally friendly wait staff. I would stay there again except that I will never have to go St Jo again. October 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Smokers You HAVE to move the smokers away from the back door to around the building corner. I think I got cancer trying to load the trunk of my car while two employees huffed on cigs fir 5 min. Please move them around the building corner. October 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service Comfortable bed and great service.I loved the atmosphere of the restaurant and bar ,great food and large portions at a awesome price. October 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We sure like this Hotel We returned to St Joe and booked the Holiday Inn based on prior excellent experiences here. We especially like the friendly front desk staff, and the free lobby coffee bar with breakfast bars and fresh fruit is greatly appreciated. The pool area is extraordinary, and the entire hotel is well maintained and provides a classic downtown hotel experience. A definite "10", and we will return again. October 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service We have received great service every time we have stayed at this hotel. THe front desk personel have been excellent in their greetings and knowledge and personality. October 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Riverfront Holiday Inn is worth the price 36th Street Bar and Grill is a relaxing place to eat, and the hotel had no problems which I could find. It's off the beaten path (not near other hotels or restaurants) which is for me a plus. Downtown area can be walked during the day. October 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pinkerton Stay The bar needs HD TV's. Current TV's are not even visible. I challenge anyone to identify any team which is playing. Sarah, Johnna, and Meg are top shelve women who want to serve and they do it very well. Ashley at the front desk is hard to beat. Nathan tries hard, but can skin the cat as he obviously does not have a budget. The hotel needs to spend a couple of bucks. September 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by weekend visit Overall the hotel was fine for a small town economy hotel. Some of the furniture was in bad shape as it appeared that an animal had been chewing on the edges. Also, this hotel needs to invest in some modern coffee equipment for the lobby. There is one percolator coffee machine, which takes at least 30-40 minutes to make coffee. The pot always seemed to run out at the wrong time. A rather unhappy crowd was collected in the lobby over the weekend as this machine was making unusually loud noises. Good coffee, which is readily available, is very important to hotel guests. The owners of this hotel need to bite the bullet and make this upgrade. September 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect location I've stayed at this Holiday Inn three or four times now since it has the following advantages: -- very comfortable beds and rooms with a nice city view; -- restaurant and bar available for breakfast, dinner, and late night; -- good restaurants within a few blocks; -- great price deals especially on weekends. September 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall experience This is our third visit at this hotel. We have never been disappointed in the service and/or accommodations. Staff is friendly and accommodating. Front Desk staff are knowledgeable and professional. Freshly brewed coffee was/is an extra plus. September 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Musty smell in hall way There was a musty smell in the hallway and the elevator needed cleaning September 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel Hotel is rather old. However, the room was clean, except for the bathroom. The living area was comfortable. Staff was really nice. Restaurant had some good food...especially the Reuben soup which I have never had before. Delicious!!! The bed needed to be updated, but was still comfortable. Just not what I am accustom to at Holiday Inn. There was some hair in the tub that wasn't cleaned out. That was kind of disgusting. Overall, a good property. September 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by like the covience great place to stay in st joe mo. stay here every year in sept since 2011 September 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by St. Joe Very nice hotel overall. Very friendly staff that greeted me when I arrived. Only reason I didn't give it a 5/5 is that the room smelled of a hint of smoke like it maybe was a previous smoking room in the past. Very comfortable bed!! Would stay here again if in the area for business. August 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet I enjoyed the fact that there was a place inside the hotel where you can enjoy a good meal and a few drinks without the worries of driving. The rooms were nice and well kept, the staff were very pleasant August 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room We are here frequently, and every time, the room is clean and comfortable. The staff are friendly and helpful. This is a really nice hotel. August 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean comfortable room and excellent friendly service I have stayed at this Holiday Inn on several occasions and have always been very happy with my accommodations. The room is clean and comfortable and the staff is friendly, helpful, and efficient. I have always had an excellent breakfast the next morning at the restaurant as well. August 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff Very good staff. Friendly and will go above and beyond the call of duty. Nice rooms and excellent pool area. Nice Bar and restaurant. Only negative was the neighborhood was rough. I did not like having to park my car across the street. even though I did not have any issues, I just wish the outside felt safer. August 20, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Cold Shower I had to change my reservation but somehow the hotel checked me in on the original night, despite a new confirmation from the reservation system. Thankfully, the hotel was not full and the desk clerk was able to get me checked in. The room was clean and not uncomfortable. There were a few maintenance issues in the bathroom which I mentioned on checkout. Overall, everything was ok. Nice restaurant for a hotel and a clean room. When I showered in the morning, around 6:30, there was no hot water. At best the water was lukewarm. For a hotel to not have hot water is unacceptable. August 20, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Stay for Less
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-27-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-28-2014)
Check Availability
Loading