• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: KANSAS CITY
  • Distance From Hotel: 40.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Domestic dogs and cats only, 80 lb. weight limit, 1 to 6 night fee won't exceed 75.00 and 7 plus nights won't exceed 150.00. Limit of one pet per room. Pets must be attended at all times. Additional charges may apply if damage found after check out.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Chiefs Training Camp
Distance From Hotel:6.15MI
Attraction:
Terrible's St Joe Frontier Casino
Distance From Hotel:9.43MI
Attraction:
Pony Express Museum
Distance From Hotel:9.59MI
Attraction:
Patee House Museum
Distance From Hotel:9.69MI

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:80
  • Total number of suites:80
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:52
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:28
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:80
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Welcome to the Candlewood Suites hotel in St. Joseph, MO. We are conveniently located off Interstate 29 at exit 50 making it a convenient choice for both business and leisure travelers. The Candlewood Suites is also in close proximity to the following major companies, Boehringer Ingelheim, Heartland Health, Herzog Industries, Johnson Controls and Triumph Foods to name just a few.

We have everything you need for a productive business trip in St. Joseph, MO. Whether you're here for
View More

Welcome to the Candlewood Suites hotel in St. Joseph, MO. We are conveniently located off Interstate 29 at exit 50 making it a convenient choice for both business and leisure travelers. The Candlewood Suites is also in close proximity to the following major companies, Boehringer Ingelheim, Heartland Health, Herzog Industries, Johnson Controls and Triumph Foods to name just a few.

We have everything you need for a productive business trip in St. Joseph, MO. Whether you're here for a short trip or an extended stay, we provide everything you need. Our services include a 24 hour Fitness Center, free parking and free guest laundry facilities. The hotel is equipped with a 24 hour business center and each suite includes free Wi-Fi access and spacious work area. Furnished for comfort and daily living, the suites at the Candlewood Suites have plenty of space for relaxing, entertaining, or meeting with colleagues. Our full kitchens have the amenities you need to get you going in the morning and to make your evening complete. Our outdoor gazebo and grilling area will help you relax and unwind after a long day. In need of a quick bite to eat be sure to stop by our 24 hour Candlewood Cupboard that sells value priced items.

View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 173 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn, St. Joe Reasonable hotel. I like the hotel, but you best hope you have a newer remodeled room and not an older, untouched one. The restaurant is very good. March 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place To Stay Great place to stay. Clean, comfortable, very relaxing. My only complaint would be that the restaurant was not staffed appropriately for a city that was holding a National Wrestling Tournament directly across the street. One staff member was working the restaurant at 7 pm when College Basketball was on and had to get a manager to put our names on the list to be seated. They had probably 10 open tables but no one to wait on them so we had to wait to be seated (behind 3 other families waiting). We sat at the bar which was great. The bartender was awesome!!!! Food was great. I would stay there anytime I was in town. March 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service Staff at the the front desk and in the restaurant were extremely friendly and accomodating. We did have a room adjacent with very loud young ladies, but when the front desk was notified of our dilema they handled it efficiently and politely. March 6, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by This Hotel is going downhill Will not return until something changes. It has gone downhill significantly in the last few months. Won't be back. March 6, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great service but needs some attention Although my stay was fine there were a few things needing some attention in my room. March 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT ROOM/HORRIBLE RESTAURANT The room was clean and quiet and we were able to sleep quite well. However, the food and service in the restaurant was horrible. We had to wait quite a while for our order to be taken, and then almost an hour after that to get the food. My husband went to get our drinks off the bar after they had been sitting there for 10 minutes. He also had to get ketchup and napkins for other tables after we had asked for it. The pool and sauna area were also very nice, thought they could use a few more chairs and tables. February 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by quick trip We were a little concerned with the safety of location but no problem. February 23, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Just an average hotel Cleanliness of the room/bathrooms could habe been better. February 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice and quiet This is a nice place. The days I was here, there were no conventions and not a lot of people, so it was a laid-back, quieter atmosphere. I especially liked the restaurant -- good breakfast in the morning, great spaghetti and meatballs for lunch. As for the room, I got a nice big TV, a very comfortable king bed and a heater that worked great on a VERY cold night (like, 5 below zero). Front desk staff was pleasant and very helpful. All in all, a great experience. February 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by smalltown Thank you for a wonderful stay! Staff was amazing and very helpful. Will stay again. February 8, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Hardly reactive, certainly not proactive. Everything other than the quality of the bed was below average. Expect to have problems and they will not be solved. Find your own entertainment since the TV selections are poor, the pool area is not kept up and its access will freeze you and get you dirty. February 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed Very clean, everything in room worked well. Beautiful lobby February 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn, St Joseph - in January St Jo's is a chilly place most of the time in January - -19C when we were there, but the Hotel was warm in all areas. I did have to take the sheets and duvet off the other bed though and place them on mine as the a/c / heater was a bit too noisy for my sleeping and I preferred to have it switched off. You only have a choice of the river and railway or the front - I suggest asking for the front as it is less noisy, although you may get the noise of the plant rattling in a high wind. It's easily accessible off the Interstate and quick to get to most places. The staff are really good and very helpful, in all areas and I would recommend a stay there if in St Jo's. February 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel in St. Joseph It was easy to get to our destinations in St. Joseph from this hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. January 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Small town comfort Great location, and wonderful place to visit! My wife and I have decided to move to St. Joseph after visited! January 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Business Traveler Nice hotel, great location for downtown business meetings. January 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by only 1 issue In the corner of the room next to the bathroom there is an access panel that looks like there has been water damage. My overall view of the hotel is clean and well maintained and this problem detracts from that. January 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by overall nice place to stay at a good distance to the final destination. January 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome stay The room was great, breakfast was delicious and the staff was very nice. Thank you!! January 12, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Gross First room the bed had visible stains and dirtiness- hair on the pillow. I asked the front desk for a new room (in person as the phone didn't work). They gave me a new room which was even worse. There was poop left in the toilet and urine on the rim. It clearlyt had not been cleaned. The heater/AC unit functioned bbut was broken (coing apart- wires hanging out) January 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by I love the HI I've stayed at this hotel on a regular basis for years. I love the location. Most of the hotel staff are very helpful, friendly, and courteous. I love the extra counter space in the bathroom, and all the extra furniture (desk and desk chair, side chair, trunk) and closet. Many hotels do not have all that. When you have more than one person staying in a room, the extra counter space, room for luggage, and room to spread out without being on top of each other all the time is very much appreciated. I also love that most rooms have a mini fridge and microwave. When you're on a budget and staying in a hotel several days, being able to store and reheat leftovers is a huge bonus as well. I will stay here again, and I recommend it. January 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Hotel My family and I enjoy this hotel each time we stay. Definitely recommend. January 8, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel - TERRIBLE RESTAURANT Staff and rooms are great - the restaurant is the worst EVER! Unprofessional staff, slow service and food tasted poorly…too bad, as the hotel itself was a good place to stay, but there are no other nearby, convenient places to eat. January 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Large rooms and comfortable bed. I always enjoy staying at this holiday inn. They do not have a complimentary breakfast but they have morning coffee, fresh fruit and granola bars. There is a restaurant and bar on sight if you choose to use it. The staff are helpful and the rooms are large and comfortable. January 1, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Even the accommodating staff couldn't turn it around for me I stayed at this property for business for a few nights and chose it because it was an IHG brand and in a fairly convenient location for me. The lobby is nice, the staff was friendly and quick at check in. I got to my room, noticed it was somewhat dated, and had a little bit of a funk. I turned on the heater in the room and after a while it had a pretty bad smell to it. Smelled kinda like sewage. Mentioned to the front desk and they kindly offered to move me. I moved to the other side of the building a few floors up. It seemed better at first but ultimately same smell. I learned later as I was driving through town with my window cracked open that it is the city itself that smells like sewage, not just the hotel. Also, the side I was moved to was facing the highway and railroad tracks, so there was some engine braking trucks and train horns. They even gave me a spray when I requested but it just wasn't enough, and I decided to switch hotels for my last night and stay in KC. Everything in the room was OK, the bathroom was a little dated and could use a re grouting. The television was pretty staticy but there are HD channels that you can enter - manually- into the remote. The beds seem old and worn, like a guest bed at an in-laws house. Not super comfortable. In the end, maybe it is a sensitive sense of smell, but even the very accommodating staff couldn't save this hotel stay for me. December 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable hotel Enjoyed the room and good location to downtown St. Joseph. Staff really need to have maps of downtown and to be able to provide more information on restaurants in the area. They had very little knowledge. Overall, a pleasant stay. December 21, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Business Stay I have stayed at many a Holiday Inn for business and they have been wonderful. This property however is not on my list of places to stay at again. From the moment we checked into our room to the restaurant our experience was terrible. The lack of detail to attention, poor service, and cleanliness of the room made this stay one we will not forget. For room cleanliness there was a pill under the sink in the bathroom when we checked in. That pill remained there throughout our stay. At one point we had returned to our room as the maid was cleaning and she made us stand in the hall for 15 minutes until she was finished. I am a disabled veteran and cannot stand for longer than 5 minutes without pain. The restaurant food, service, and cleanliness was lacking. Our first night in the hotel we dined at the restaurant. My wife ordered the steak and I ordered the fish and chips. The steak was mostly fat and the fish and chips was swimming in oil. We dined each morning for breakfast and the tables were always sticky, the food was served cold, and the staff was extremely slow. During our entire stay my wife kept requesting that I find another hotel we could stay at. I will never book a room at this Holiday Inn property ever again. December 15, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Beer can under pillow! Arrived at the room after 9:30PM pulled down blankets. Moved pillow to find a crushed Becks beer can under the pillow. Too tired to change rooms so slept in other bed. When reported to front desk in the morning the employee was very apologetic and would report this to the manager. Did leave my cell phone number but never received a call. I don't want a call now. But I wanted to report this incident. December 15, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Smoky and empty Stayed over thanksgiving holidays. 1st room had reeked of smoke in the bathroom, which staff explained they have the 4th floor as smoking. We were on the 5th floor. They tried to move us to the another 5th floor room, but it wasn't much better. I am guessing all the other floors were closed since we were not given any other option. No real RA benefits really seen here, and barely any recognition as top tier member. All the staff seemed disinterested in any request or never said hi or hello as we passed them by. Finally just left early and stayed elsewhere for last night. I really would not recommend this hotel, unless you are a smoker. December 11, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Internet problems Pro:The room was clean and good value with my discount. Con: Hotel claimed to have free internet. I read previous reviews complaining about lack of working internet and was concerned, but manager noted the problems were fixed. Not true. Internet worked the first night, but on the second day of my stay there was no connection. I phoned the desk and was told they were aware and were working on it. However, it did not work for the remainder of my stay. No-one at the desk when I checked out (gone for 10 minutes!!) so I was unable to join the rewards program & get credit for this stay. Also, there were 2 of us, yet they left only one bar of sink soap and 1 shower soap and didn't bother to replace the second day. Not what I would expect from a Holiday Inn. December 3, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Front Desk Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Check Availability
Loading