• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
(e.g. Aug-02-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: KANSAS CITY
  • Distance From Hotel: 40.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Domestic dogs and cats only, 80 lb. weight limit, 1 to 6 night fee won't exceed 75.00 and 7 plus nights won't exceed 150.00. Limit of one pet per room. Pets must be attended at all times. Additional charges may apply if damage found after check out.
Pet deposit amount  75.00    per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Chiefs Training Camp
Distance From Hotel:6.15
Attraction:
Terrible's St Joe Frontier Casino
Distance From Hotel:9.43
Attraction:
Pony Express Museum
Distance From Hotel:9.59
Attraction:
Patee House Museum
Distance From Hotel:9.69

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:80
  • Total number of suites:80
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:52
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:28
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:80
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Welcome to the Candlewood Suites hotel in St. Joseph, MO. We are conveniently located off Interstate 29 at exit 50 making it a convenient choice for both business and leisure travelers. The Candlewood Suites is also in close proximity to the following major companies, Boehringer Ingelheim, Heartland Health, Herzog Industries, Johnson Controls and Triumph Foods to name just a few.

We have everything you need for a productive business trip in St. Joseph, MO. Whether you're here for
View More

Welcome to the Candlewood Suites hotel in St. Joseph, MO. We are conveniently located off Interstate 29 at exit 50 making it a convenient choice for both business and leisure travelers. The Candlewood Suites is also in close proximity to the following major companies, Boehringer Ingelheim, Heartland Health, Herzog Industries, Johnson Controls and Triumph Foods to name just a few.

We have everything you need for a productive business trip in St. Joseph, MO. Whether you're here for a short trip or an extended stay, we provide everything you need. Our services include a 24 hour Fitness Center, free parking and free guest laundry facilities. The hotel is equipped with a 24 hour business center and each suite includes free Wi-Fi access and spacious work area. Furnished for comfort and daily living, the suites at the Candlewood Suites have plenty of space for relaxing, entertaining, or meeting with colleagues. Our full kitchens have the amenities you need to get you going in the morning and to make your evening complete. Our outdoor gazebo and grilling area will help you relax and unwind after a long day. In need of a quick bite to eat be sure to stop by our 24 hour Candlewood Cupboard that sells value priced items.

View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 156 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Great Stay in St. Joseph, MO! I was very impressed with the experience I had at the St. Joseph Riverfront Holiday Inn. Normally there are one or two snafus that occur as often as I travel, but this stay was convenient, without any hassles, relaxing & I definitely plan on returning to this location again. Having a restaurant on site was very nice as I just went downstairs, had dinner & did not have to leave the premises. I recommend you to stay here if you are in the area. If you like historic architecture, you're not far from this either. September 26, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Air conditioner not working Staff friendly but air conditioners not working well. Had to be switched from first room where air conditioner not working at all. 2nd room better but still never able to get that cool. September 6, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel needs updating Overall, the hotel looks like it could use a facelift. Little things like chips in the elevator doors, torn wallpaper. My room was not very clean -carpeting was very dirty and the bathroom floor had small pieces of debris on it. The bathroom smelled musty -looked like there was water stains on the wall behind the toilet. Food was mediocre at best. August 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service I was impressed with the customer service at this location. When I arrived at the location, I was given a "goodie" bag which I needed desperately since I arrived so late. The next day, I needed to print materials for a presentation. The manager gave up his personal computer to assist me since the business center was out of order. That night I asked the front desk for a suggestion for dinner and the recommendation was superb! The staff always greeted guests with a smile. I would highly recommend this hotel and location! August 29, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good location Overall experience at this Holiday Inn was average, the location was the most important for why we were there. Had a few issues in the room that the staff worked out. Room keys seem to still be a problem with me. Wish the pool hours were longer for adults. August 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Room & Service very comfortable & accommodating My wife & I have stayed at the St Jo, MO HI location multiple times and continue to return because of their excellent service and accommodations. We will continue to stay at this location on our future visits. August 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value and friendly service I stay at hotels all the time, I travel every other week for my job. One of the most important things for me is service. Friendly staff that are willing to be polite and ask you if everything is ok, and actually smile and greet you is sometimes hard to find. I was pleasantly surprised to find all the staff friendly and helpful. It was refreshing! August 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Hot water and dated furniture I loved the fact that the water was always hot when needed. However the décor was dated and could use some updates. August 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, air conditioned room, friendly staff Room was nice, clean, quiet, good air conditioner, good pillows, nice flat screen. Nice shower with good water pressure. Microwave did not work. Low flow toliets, not a big fan. Beautiful lobby and decor. Friendly staff. Liked the seperate non-smoking floors! Downtown hotel close to Jesse James & Pony Express museums.. August 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always feel welcomed I have business in St Joe every month and when I stay...this is the hotel for me. The staff is the best...they alwyas make me feel welcome and make sure my stay is always enjoyable. THe hotel is very nice...the rooms clean and comfortable...right in the heart of downtown. August 1, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Bed had an odor, either urine or dirty body! Did not complain, just wanted to get some sleep! Sheets seemed clean, but the mattress was smelly! July 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Overall my stay was great. I did not rate the food & beverage this visit, as I did not use them. Other people dragged me away for meeting that included meals. July 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Neat view of the city check in was very fast. I had some extra business needs that were met very promptly. Internet connected very easily. And it had a nice view of old downtown St. joseph. One of the few motels that still gives a goody bag to IHG members. July 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff - Comfortable Site Although a bit dated, the facility is clean and well managed. The restaurant is quite good. Overall a great place to stay when visiting the St. Joseph area - definitely recommend! July 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location We were so glad to get a room here. It was late so, we got one of the last rooms. It had great views. Great service. July 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 36th Street Food and Drink We were tired after driving 650 miles in a day and hungry. We saw they had a in house bar and grill, so not wanting to leave the building we opted to do the easiest solution. We were expecting the average experience in that situation, but were surprised when the food arrived, large portions, more than fairly priced, hot and cooked by someone who had a passion for fine dining and had cooked in 5 star restaurants. Will stop there again to eat even if not staying all night. Wonderful and unexpected! July 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hidden gem This is really a great property... everything you need right onsite, and right across the street from Civic Arena. The complimentary morning coffee, fruit, and breakfast bars were an unexpected surprise. An on-site restaurant is available for those with heartier morning appetites. The pool area isn't just a room with a pool in it; it's really nicely laid out, including a carpeted area with tables and chairs for conviviality. When I had a minor car problem, the staff really did more than they had to to help get me on my way... much appreciated. July 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant stay, excellent staff What a wonderful staff this hotel has! The room was comfortable, however the TV channels seemed limited. Though the channels were listed, they were unavailable. No big deal, just annoying! July 3, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Convenience Factor The hotel was good, but my room’s A/C unit would not cool the room. I was in town for one night and did not bother to get another room. On a previous trip I had a similar situation, but was staying for multiple nights. I did opt to get switched to a new room, but it took three (3) attempts to get a new room due to keycard reader malfunctions and smoke-free rooms that smelled like someone was literally in the room smoking when I walked in. The staff is always friendly and helpful. June 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Ok Stay The hotel was ok, easy to find put turned out to be out of my way. (long way from the Interstate I was on) It was downtown but not a problem. St. Joseph is a quiet town. Had to park across the street and not close to places to eat so we just ate in the attached restaurant. Food was ok but not great. June 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value for St. Joe Stayed at hotel for 5 weeks while in town on business. Could have stayed at various hotels, but there was no reason to change. Hotel staff was very professional and very pleasant. June 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, Beds always comfortable. The beds are why I Stay a Holiday inns - always comfortable. The rooms are spacious and I am able to work on my computer at ease. The Location is a little hard to figure how to get to the Parking. The bar/ Restaurant conveniently located next to the lobby made it ease to get good food and a cold brew. Thanks June 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service front desk personnel were wonderful. rooms were clean and very comfortable. June 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasure Stay Rented 3 rooms for the State HS Bowling tournament in town and everything was wonderful. Very nice location, easy commute around town and clean affordable accommodations. The pool was large enough to handle multiple groups of kids and was located right off the elevator for easy access. Would definitely recommend this location when visiting St. Joseph. May 30, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Lack of housekeeping When we first considered this property for a weekend stay, I contacted the manager about my concerns raised by the reviews expressed by other patrons. He assured me that the ratings through this site, opposed to "social media sites," showed the property as a clean, safe and exceptional value. After a Saturday and Sunday stay, I can't agree with him. Our visit started out poorly when we tried to check in and learned that our reservation was for a king smoking room. I thought that it was possible, though not likely, that I checked the wrong room type, but the clerk told us that the king non-smoking rooms had been booked for months. So, we were moved to a smoking room; but they happened to have a last minute cancellation in a queen room. The housekeeping of the property was our main complaint. Our room was ready early...because it had not been cleaned. The carpeting and furniture were noticeably dirty and needed vacuuming. Even after we requested the cleaning, the margin of dirt around the baseboard remained. It was clear where a vacuum would reach without using an attachment to clean. Parts of the AC/heater were laying on the floor by the unit. Bits of paper littered the hallway outside our room which remained through-out our stay. While coming in and out of our room, we noted the housekeeping staff more often visiting in rooms rather than cleaning. One particular time a member was playing with a baby in a room (friend, family, or co-worker perhaps) when we left and was still doing so over an hour later when we returned. The grout in the tile floor of our bathroom was dark in the center and lighter color near the edges. I did not go barefoot during our stay. Maintenance of the property reflected the quality of housekeeping. The sink in our bathroom was held up by re-used (old nail holes and paint) 1x4 boards and shelf brackets. While the property doesn't advertise breakfast, we weren't told about their very minimal offering of granola bars and apples until we asked. We checked out Monday morning very disappointed with no desire to return or recommend. May 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very nice rooms well kept, greeted nicely This is a good location to stay in St. Joseph, I would reccommend this Holiday Inn to anyone passing through the area. April 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very helpful service beautiful lobby and dinning area beautiful place liked near river and downtown food was reasonable and goodghduvjik April 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by relaxing room My experience was one of pure relaxation. My room was clean, comfortable and inviting. As soon as I laid down on my bed, I knew that I would have to call for a wake-up call. I couldn't have asked for a more comfortable way to end a gruelling day at work, if I couldn't be home. April 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Desk service was outstanding. House keeping was great. Our restaurant food as great and our server was outstanding March 30, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by TV Cable Problems Overall appearence and comfort was excellent, did have problems with the TV cable which was poor in quality the motel maintenance personnel did respond and could not fix the TV cable problem. The heater in the room did not work maintenance fixed the heater. March 28, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Front Desk Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Earn 1000 points per night when you book a Bonus Points Package.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-02-2014)
Check Availability
Loading