• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-01-2014)
(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: KANSAS CITY
  • Distance From Hotel: 40.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Domestic dogs and cats only, 80 lb. weight limit, 1 to 6 night fee won't exceed 75.00 and 7 plus nights won't exceed 150.00. Limit of one pet per room. Pets must be attended at all times. Additional charges may apply if damage found after check out.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Chiefs Training Camp
Distance From Hotel:6.15MI
Attraction:
Terrible's St Joe Frontier Casino
Distance From Hotel:9.43MI
Attraction:
Pony Express Museum
Distance From Hotel:9.59MI
Attraction:
Patee House Museum
Distance From Hotel:9.69MI

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:80
  • Total number of suites:80
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:52
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:28
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:80
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Welcome to the Candlewood Suites hotel in St. Joseph, MO. We are conveniently located off Interstate 29 at exit 50 making it a convenient choice for both business and leisure travelers. The Candlewood Suites is also in close proximity to the following major companies, Boehringer Ingelheim, Heartland Health, Herzog Industries, Johnson Controls and Triumph Foods to name just a few.

We have everything you need for a productive business trip in St. Joseph, MO. Whether you're here for
View More

Welcome to the Candlewood Suites hotel in St. Joseph, MO. We are conveniently located off Interstate 29 at exit 50 making it a convenient choice for both business and leisure travelers. The Candlewood Suites is also in close proximity to the following major companies, Boehringer Ingelheim, Heartland Health, Herzog Industries, Johnson Controls and Triumph Foods to name just a few.

We have everything you need for a productive business trip in St. Joseph, MO. Whether you're here for a short trip or an extended stay, we provide everything you need. Our services include a 24 hour Fitness Center, free parking and free guest laundry facilities. The hotel is equipped with a 24 hour business center and each suite includes free Wi-Fi access and spacious work area. Furnished for comfort and daily living, the suites at the Candlewood Suites have plenty of space for relaxing, entertaining, or meeting with colleagues. Our full kitchens have the amenities you need to get you going in the morning and to make your evening complete. Our outdoor gazebo and grilling area will help you relax and unwind after a long day. In need of a quick bite to eat be sure to stop by our 24 hour Candlewood Cupboard that sells value priced items.

View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 178 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable hotel Enjoyed the room and good location to downtown St. Joseph. Staff really need to have maps of downtown and to be able to provide more information on restaurants in the area. They had very little knowledge. Overall, a pleasant stay. December 21, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Business Stay I have stayed at many a Holiday Inn for business and they have been wonderful. This property however is not on my list of places to stay at again. From the moment we checked into our room to the restaurant our experience was terrible. The lack of detail to attention, poor service, and cleanliness of the room made this stay one we will not forget. For room cleanliness there was a pill under the sink in the bathroom when we checked in. That pill remained there throughout our stay. At one point we had returned to our room as the maid was cleaning and she made us stand in the hall for 15 minutes until she was finished. I am a disabled veteran and cannot stand for longer than 5 minutes without pain. The restaurant food, service, and cleanliness was lacking. Our first night in the hotel we dined at the restaurant. My wife ordered the steak and I ordered the fish and chips. The steak was mostly fat and the fish and chips was swimming in oil. We dined each morning for breakfast and the tables were always sticky, the food was served cold, and the staff was extremely slow. During our entire stay my wife kept requesting that I find another hotel we could stay at. I will never book a room at this Holiday Inn property ever again. December 15, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Beer can under pillow! Arrived at the room after 9:30PM pulled down blankets. Moved pillow to find a crushed Becks beer can under the pillow. Too tired to change rooms so slept in other bed. When reported to front desk in the morning the employee was very apologetic and would report this to the manager. Did leave my cell phone number but never received a call. I don't want a call now. But I wanted to report this incident. December 15, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Smoky and empty Stayed over thanksgiving holidays. 1st room had reeked of smoke in the bathroom, which staff explained they have the 4th floor as smoking. We were on the 5th floor. They tried to move us to the another 5th floor room, but it wasn't much better. I am guessing all the other floors were closed since we were not given any other option. No real RA benefits really seen here, and barely any recognition as top tier member. All the staff seemed disinterested in any request or never said hi or hello as we passed them by. Finally just left early and stayed elsewhere for last night. I really would not recommend this hotel, unless you are a smoker. December 11, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Internet problems Pro:The room was clean and good value with my discount. Con: Hotel claimed to have free internet. I read previous reviews complaining about lack of working internet and was concerned, but manager noted the problems were fixed. Not true. Internet worked the first night, but on the second day of my stay there was no connection. I phoned the desk and was told they were aware and were working on it. However, it did not work for the remainder of my stay. No-one at the desk when I checked out (gone for 10 minutes!!) so I was unable to join the rewards program & get credit for this stay. Also, there were 2 of us, yet they left only one bar of sink soap and 1 shower soap and didn't bother to replace the second day. Not what I would expect from a Holiday Inn. December 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice!! This is a very nice hotel! The room was clean, the staff was very courteous and helpful and the dining room served delicious meals. We would definitely stay there again. November 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room Fine, Environmental Controls Not Fine We stayed one night and, while the room itself was fine, the heater didn't work properly. It wouldn't shut off when it got to the requested temp. It just kept running and running until we got up and turned it off. By then it was so hot in the room it was difficult to sleep. Of course, since it was about 15 degrees outside, it got cold fast and we had to turn the heat back on. Not a restful night. November 27, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Without a Doubt The internet didn't work the entire four day stay at this hotel. I complained daily and was told they were working the issue. Last year when I stayed at this hotel it was the same for my entire stay. Definitely not a place to stay if you need internet connectivity. I will not stay at this Holiday Inn again. November 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nicer than I expected After reading other reviews on this location, I was ready to settle for average. I was pleasantly surprised. I arrived late and was upgraded to a Jacuzzi suite. The room was huge. The hotel facilities seemed very nice. Since I arrived late and left early I didn't sample the food. My daughter attends college nearby and I will plan to stay here next time I visit. November 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday inn business trip The overall experience was pleasant. I was a little disappointed in the lack of a free breakfast, but I understand with the restaurant in the building. November 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff , very clean rooms, and wonderful location. We have stayed at this motel at least three times and we have been very pleased every time. The staff is always welcoming and helpful. The rooms are spotless and smell fresh and clean. We really appreciate the blackout curtains which limit the outside lighting from keeping us awake. The restaurant has great food and we really enjoy being able to walk to dinner or breakfast without leaving the building. We love the location in the older part of downtown which allows us to take entertaining walks to many interesting buildings as well as walks along the beautiful riverfront park. November 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice and comfortable hotel, BUT Nice and comfortable hotel, BUT describing it (in IHG website) as Riverfront and Historical area is misleading. November 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice comfortable hotel, BUT Nice comfortable hotel. BUT the description in the IHG website as Historical area and River Front is very misleading. We did not find any historical area and the river front is just a river beyond a major highway and a fence. November 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by River front What aotel the staff was great the people were frendly, the room was great. I would rate this the best Hotel I have stayed in for a long time. They made you feel right at hom the Cafe offeref a great breakfast at a good cost. November 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Experience, nice staff! There was lots of things to do near by such as museums, jesse james home, and St. Jo's casino was great, did well on the u-spin and the monopoly slots. :) The diner downstairs,6th ave, was ok. The portabella mushrooms were good, the nachos were not and the main meals were of good quality. The food is less in quality at night. The beds there could have been better, pretty used i would say but on average, the woman at the front desk during this night was very helpful and nice! Good Experience. November 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel Atmosphere Overall great stay. One point of concern is that the comforter had a brown stain that looked like spilled coffee. This was noticeable and should have been changed before I checked in. November 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very satisfied with my stay The staff is very friendly and eager to please. The food is very good and the best part is I did not need to go out to find it. It is a significant plus to me when I don't need to leave the hotel in search of a place to eat in the evening or for breakfast. Breakfast is the main meal of the day for me and I couldn't have asked for better service, food, or value. My room was quiet and comfortable and every evening came back to find it clean and neat. In the evening the staff in the bar and grill provided a friendly, relaxing atmosphere and attentive service. November 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by bad TV reception TV was bad. Could not even watch the world series. Very fuzzy October 31, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by over slept called for a wake-up call at 5am. I did not receive the call. I drive alot and rely on this service. food and service at the bar was excellent. October 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and service, comfortable bed. This is an older property in downtown St. Joseph, MO that was remodeled some years ago. The room was nicely appointed, the bathroom has a nice large counter with granite countertop. The public areas are very nice and the staff very welcoming and provided efficient service. Every staff person we encountered on our two night stay seemed happy to be there and all were very friendly and helpful. At check in, the front desk staff immediately asked if we were IHG Rewards members (we are) and they expressed and showed their appreciation - something that doesn't always happen at other hotels. This hotel has the 36th Street Restaurant within the hotel - a very nice restaurant and bar. The location is convenient to downtown St. Joseph. While there is not a lot in the downtown area, there are a few nice restaurants within walking distance and the hotel is across the street from the city arena. A nice large parking lot is located next to the hotel. October 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Extremely helpful staff The front desk was so helpful I needed to check in early if possible attending my Mothers funeral and had a long flight the front desk able to assist with directions and also able to check in early which was so needed after a all night flight. I would recommend this hotel. Also close to the major highway. October 2, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Bad TV reception Digital and analog TV reception is terrible and has been the last 4-6 months. I've been staying here for over 20 years and normally enjoy my stay. October 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Great Stay in St. Joseph, MO! I was very impressed with the experience I had at the St. Joseph Riverfront Holiday Inn. Normally there are one or two snafus that occur as often as I travel, but this stay was convenient, without any hassles, relaxing & I definitely plan on returning to this location again. Having a restaurant on site was very nice as I just went downstairs, had dinner & did not have to leave the premises. I recommend you to stay here if you are in the area. If you like historic architecture, you're not far from this either. September 26, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Air conditioner not working Staff friendly but air conditioners not working well. Had to be switched from first room where air conditioner not working at all. 2nd room better but still never able to get that cool. September 6, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel needs updating Overall, the hotel looks like it could use a facelift. Little things like chips in the elevator doors, torn wallpaper. My room was not very clean -carpeting was very dirty and the bathroom floor had small pieces of debris on it. The bathroom smelled musty -looked like there was water stains on the wall behind the toilet. Food was mediocre at best. August 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service I was impressed with the customer service at this location. When I arrived at the location, I was given a "goodie" bag which I needed desperately since I arrived so late. The next day, I needed to print materials for a presentation. The manager gave up his personal computer to assist me since the business center was out of order. That night I asked the front desk for a suggestion for dinner and the recommendation was superb! The staff always greeted guests with a smile. I would highly recommend this hotel and location! August 29, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good location Overall experience at this Holiday Inn was average, the location was the most important for why we were there. Had a few issues in the room that the staff worked out. Room keys seem to still be a problem with me. Wish the pool hours were longer for adults. August 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Room & Service very comfortable & accommodating My wife & I have stayed at the St Jo, MO HI location multiple times and continue to return because of their excellent service and accommodations. We will continue to stay at this location on our future visits. August 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value and friendly service I stay at hotels all the time, I travel every other week for my job. One of the most important things for me is service. Friendly staff that are willing to be polite and ask you if everything is ok, and actually smile and greet you is sometimes hard to find. I was pleasantly surprised to find all the staff friendly and helpful. It was refreshing! August 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Hot water and dated furniture I loved the fact that the water was always hot when needed. However the décor was dated and could use some updates. August 12, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Front Desk Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-01-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
Check Availability
Loading