• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
(e.g. Dec-19-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Airport

  • Location: Airport
  • Closest City: WASHINGTON DC
  • Distance From Hotel: 30.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Up to 75.00 dollars for 1 to 6 nights and up to 150.00 dollars for 7 or more nights. Pets allowed with a non refundable one time fee.
Pet deposit amount  150.00  USD  per stay
Pet fee amount  75.00  USD  per night

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking is for hotel guests only, unless there is a parking pass for the Park and Fly Package. Parking lot is very well lit and plentyful.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2011
  • Total number of rooms:121
  • Total number of suites:121
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:85
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:12
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:121
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:6
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
  • FEMA Property Number:VA5106

Enjoy Newly Renovated Kitchens at Dulles Airport Hotel

See our new modern kitchens with flat burner stove tops and large spacious refrigerators! Located in the heart of the Dulles Technology Corridor, the Candlewood Suites® Washington Dulles Sterling offers a comfortable home away from home in Sterling, VA. Working in Reston or Herndon, VA? Our hotel is a quick 7-8 miles away. Take advantage of the just opened Silverline metro stop while there for a quick ride into DC.

Our
View More

Enjoy Newly Renovated Kitchens at Dulles Airport Hotel

See our new modern kitchens with flat burner stove tops and large spacious refrigerators! Located in the heart of the Dulles Technology Corridor, the Candlewood Suites® Washington Dulles Sterling offers a comfortable home away from home in Sterling, VA. Working in Reston or Herndon, VA? Our hotel is a quick 7-8 miles away. Take advantage of the just opened Silverline metro stop while there for a quick ride into DC.

Our extended stay hotel has a professional, boardroom-style meeting area if you might like to conduct work from home. We're just minutes from Neustar, IBM, Verizon Business, AOL, Northrop Grumman and Orbital, which means our patrons enjoy quick commutes.

Leisure travelers must visit the National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center, which presents a wonderful display of artifacts, including jets that appear to soar through the sky as they hang high museum-goers. Guests can also spend time shopping at the Dulles Town Center Mall and the nearby Leesburg Corner Premium Outlets.

Since Washington Dulles International Airport (IAD) is near the hotel, it's easy to travel into the Sterling area. After flying in, guests can stop by the Candlewood Cupboard convenience store to stock up on snacks before heading to the comfort of a spacious suite. Come relax at this hotel in the Dulles Technology Corridor!

View Less
Features
Freshly equipped kitchens, free Wi-Fi, and complimentary on-site laundry access. Top convenience and accessibility selection by government & business travelers on extended travel. Join our loyal guests and get comfortable on your next trip.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.4 out of 5 by 135 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Should not be branded a Holiday Inn The staff was very pleasant and that is the only positive. The room was dirty as well as the bathroom. We checked in as late as 9:00 PM and there were still disches outside our door. The room was very tiny and the hotel advertises in-room movies that were non-exsistent. They ran out of towels and pillows on our first night. The restaurant is independent and the food variety is limited to Indian or America. The indian food was tasty, however the American options tasted like store bought frozen food. the hotel is old and outdated and they do not even have a sundries room for incidental guest needs. They do offer a convenient shuttle. Overall, we were disappointed and felt that this was a 1 1/2 star property. November 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My Daughter's Wedding Weekend The historic house that is the focal point of the property is very impressive from the exterior. It's a shame the house is not really accessible as part of the Hotel - the interior needs extensive work. The two things that stood out in my mind was the considerable friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff; Gil, LaCretia and Charity, not only when making the reservations earlier this year but upon arrival. We had a large block of rooms for several days for many of the guests at my daughter's pending wedding and I believe most were quite happy with the accommodations. I found our rooms to be clean and updated and the beds extremely comfortable. The air conditioner in one room was not operating up to par, but overall the bridal suite more than met my expectations for size. The Lobby was very welcoming, comfortable, and cozy. Bottom-line I would stay here again if I were to travel to Leesburg, VA. This was a first visit to Leesburg for the majority of the wedding guests - 125 of us. November 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Hotel Good location. Nice room, unfortunately our room smelled like smoke even though we had asked for a non-smoking room. No elevator in the building. Staff was very friendly and helpful. October 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay with great service The accommodations at this hotel are very comfortable and inviting. The staff is great and very responsive to guest questions and needs. The atmosphere is different in a good way due to the history of the property. If you are going to dine in the restaurant, make sure that you like Indian food and don't expect a large staff. Not sure if the restaurant is part of the hotel, but that was the only part that could have been better. October 28, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by May be my last stay here I'll be emailing the Intercontinental Hotels Group with the details and a photo. I've stayed here enough times to earn Gold Elite status, because it is very close to where I work. I've sensed a downward trend for several months now, but it has reached the point where I don't think I'll stay here again, which means I won't stay with IHG. The staff here are great, and the restaurant has typically been excellent. I've no problems at all with the staff. But the negatives are too much at this point...inability to connect to the hardwired Ethernet ports, inability to connect wirelessly (I'm using my phone for tethered connection now), and especially, arriving at 4:00 or 4:30 to find hallways with linen outside almost every door, and carts of cleaning supplies. Not just one hallway, but most of them. This isn't an isolated occurrence, it is typical now. When I first started coming here, that wasn't the case. I've arrived here at 5:00 to find my room wasn't ready because rooms were still being cleaned. The hardwired internet connectivity problem has always been there for me, but the wireless problems are fairly new, just over the last couple of months. When I arrived today, almost every hallway I walked down had dirty linen piled up next to the doors to many of the rooms. There was also assorted refuse from the rooms (cups, empty snack bags, etc.) on the carpet. When I came back from the restaurant at 6:30, the linens were gone. Most of the refuse was picked up, but not all. Management at this hotel is NOT doing corporate IHG any favors. I like the people here, but I think I am done with this hotel. The last thing I need when I arrive at 4pm is to have to walk around carts of cleaning supplies and step over piles of dirty laundry in the hallway. Unbelievable. And it happens more and more. October 26, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Decent Stay For the low room prices, it is a pretty decent stay. Hear they are working to upgrade the facility and I do hope that the place will be more reflective with other modern Holiday Inns. October 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by quiet and comfortable hotel My husband and I were able to rest comfortably at this hotel because the beds and pillows were so comfortable along with the overall quietness. It is close to a thoroughfare so ease of travel in the area was great. October 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by One Nighter It's alright. Nearest my brother's house but difficult to find at night. October 22, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice staff, mediocre hotel Staff is very friendly and welcoming. Hotel needs some maintenance attention, such as fixing electrical outlets, cleaning in stairways, fixing AC unit (ours did not cool the room adequately). Fresh towels should be provided each day with out having to request them. Restaurant is mediocre, and I realize it is under its own management, but if they want to stay part of the hotel they should cooperate with hotel management. Make these few improvements and customers will enjoy their stay and feel value for their dollar spent. October 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by One of a wedding party Worked well for our purpose. The dining room was woefully under staffed for the number of guests on Sunday. October 16, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by average is overstating this hotel overall the hotel was not bad, however the amenities could use some work especially in the bar and restaurant area. October 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Guest Facilities were great, the food not so much. The rooms were clean. October 15, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Look Are Deceiving When looking at the beautiful Carradoc Hall online, you may think that you are staying in a stately manor hotel. Wrong! This hotel has seen better days. From the outdated decor to the lack of housekeeping, I was unimpressed with this Holiday Inn. Sadly, I was there on business and was unable to change my plans. The bathroom was moldy and the housekeeping staff were rude. Think twice! October 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by More than satisfied We were travelling with our grandchildren while visiting family. This hotel met all our needs for our overnight stay with two young children. The staff was exceptionally attentive and considerate. The room was very clean and attractive. I would recommend this hotel to anyone; however, the restaurant was not the best and I would recommend going elsewhere for dinner. (I can't speak of breakfast or lunch as we did not eat there at those times.) September 30, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Horror check-in situation Came to the hotel and had to wait over an hour to get into my hotel room despite being well after my check-in time. Because of the delay, I was only given about 20 minutes to get ready for a friend's wedding before the bus left for the ceremony. I know that several other people could not get into their room in a timely manner due to the crowd that was waiting in the lobby with no where to go. This really is unacceptable for a hotel that is hosting wedding parties. September 23, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by clean rooms the hotel staff was excellent. the rooms were clean and comfortable. the breakfast was not good. food looked liked it was dried out and not palatable, the real problem we had was being placed on second floor without elevator. as an older couple climbing the stairs with suitcases was difficult. the hotel staff offered to help however with our luggage. It is an older hotel but very well kept otherwise. September 20, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Tired hotel This Holiday in is tired. So is most of its staff. Too much needs work to list here, but our room would not have been made up for two nights had we not flagged down staff the second day to do it. Hotel seems pretty clean, but hard to tell as it's dark with dark furnishings. We hosted a large group of friends here and we were somewhat embarrassed at the accomodations. September 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location The location for this HI is perfect. Close proximity to Tarrara Winery and across the street from an excellent area with great food choices and shopping as well. The staff were very knowledgeable and friendly. They were also prepared to assist with the local events in the area. We were there to run a half marathon at Tarrara Winery and the staff provided excellent directions that were already printed out. The morning buffet was good with fresh food. Very busy restaurant and the servers did a nice job. September 17, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by OK Rooms are nice, halls etc. looked dirty. I asked for and was told my friends and I could be next to each other, but the change never took place. Pool was closed even though it was hot and humid...would have been nice to at lest sit by the pool...no lounge chairs were out! Just o.k. nothing special. September 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and clean My family and I stayed here after visiting DC for the day. The hotel is clean, well kept, and has a homey feel to it. The front desk staff are kind and attentive. The beds are soft, but not too soft, and the bathrooms are very clean and well maintained. The only complaint we had was the quality of the breakfast service in the hotel restaurant. The staff seemed preoccupied, and the food was not good enough to make up for the lack of attentiveness. The food was the normal 'hot breakfast buffet' fair, but even though there were only seven people in the dinning area the trays were empty more often than full. Overall we were very pleased with our stay. September 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel is Awesome If you are just looking for a place to stay, this place is great. If you are looking for a place to eat, avoid the Indian Restaurant by the hotel. September 5, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Theft I am 100% certain I left my $50 SoundSleeper in the room. No one could find it. Shocker. Hotel manager (Gill?) wouldn't return my phone calls. Very disappointed in this location. September 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great value foe the money The staff were very helpful in finding local shops and eateries, and quite pleasant to deal with. Everyone was very energetic and upbeat. Made our stay very enjoyable. September 2, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing.... My wife and I spent one night here. We spent very little time at the hotel since our visit was centered around a concert a friend of mine was playing in. I do NOT like hassles. If I see a problem, it takes the wind out of my sails. Due to the shortness of our visit, there was not time to get it fixed. Firstly, there was a salad (YES a salad) in the mini fridge. What can the hotel staff say about that??? Secondly, there were drip stains around the base of the toilet. By the time I noticed that, it was WAY too late to report it. I most certainly would NOT stay here again. Sorry I used points for this stay.... September 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by SUMMER TIME BLUES A group of Asian foriegn students 13 and up stayed there the same time and the noise level was outrageously unacceptable. Many people complained but they never really settled down until bed time. They ran back and forth from room to room. It even sounded like they were jumping up and down in the rooms. I stayed on the first floor and their rooms were on the second floor. They had at least 5 or more rooms. Nothing was done and I wish I stayled someplace else. I pray that the hotel upper management contact this group and let them know that this sort of behavior is extremely unacceptable. I'm sure they don't act that way at hotels in their home counrty. August 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great historic hotel This is a great hotel centered around a historic home. The rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. Staff was friendly and accomodating. Definitely recommend it to anyone traveling in this area. Great value for the money. August 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room and outstanding service We were completely satisfied with our room and the service provided was awesome. The front desk personnel were extremely friendly and knowledgeable. August 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and pillows The bed and pillows were very comfortable. Overall, a very nice hotel. No signage pointing to the lobby so it was a bit confusing when coming out of the room on which way to go. August 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great little hotel Enjoyed the unique feel of the hotel, friendliness of staff, and comfort of the room. August 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff The staff was excellent. Recommendations for dinner were great! Shuttle service was awesome. August 20, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Reception Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn Up To 5,000 Points
Close
Check In
(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Dec-19-2014)
Check Availability
Loading