• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-01-2014)
(e.g. Sep-02-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Airport

  • Location: Airport
  • Closest City: WASHINGTON DC
  • Distance From Hotel: 30.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Up to 75.00 dollars for 1 to 6 nights and up to 150.00 dollars for 7 or more nights. Pets allowed with a non refundable one time fee.
Pet deposit amount  150.00  USD  per stay
Pet fee amount  75.00  USD  per night

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking is for hotel guests only, unless there is a parking pass for the Park and Fly Package. Parking lot is very well lit and plentyful.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2011
  • Total number of rooms:121
  • Total number of suites:121
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:85
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:12
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:121
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:6
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
  • FEMA Property Number:VA5106

Enjoy Newly Renovated Kitchens at Dulles Airport Hotel

See our new modern kitchens with flat burner stove tops and large spacious refrigerators! Located in the heart of the Dulles Technology Corridor, the Candlewood Suites® Washington Dulles Sterling offers a comfortable home away from home in Sterling, VA. Entertainment options are endless with downtown Washington, DC just 30 miles away. Now open just 10 miles away, the Wiehlie Reston Metro is easily accessible by car or a 25 dollar
View More

Enjoy Newly Renovated Kitchens at Dulles Airport Hotel

See our new modern kitchens with flat burner stove tops and large spacious refrigerators! Located in the heart of the Dulles Technology Corridor, the Candlewood Suites® Washington Dulles Sterling offers a comfortable home away from home in Sterling, VA. Entertainment options are endless with downtown Washington, DC just 30 miles away. Now open just 10 miles away, the Wiehlie Reston Metro is easily accessible by car or a 25 dollar taxi fare.

Our extended stay hotel has a professional, boardroom-style meeting area with space for up to 12 guests. We're just minutes from Neustar, IBM, Verizon Business, AOL, Northrop Grumman and Orbital, which means our patrons enjoy quick commutes.

Leisure travelers must visit the National Air and Space Museum Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center, which presents a wonderful display of artifacts, including jets that appear to soar through the sky as they hang high museum-goers. Guests can also spend time shopping at the Dulles Town Center Mall and the nearby Leesburg Corner Premium Outlets.

Since Washington Dulles International Airport (IAD) is near the hotel, it's easy to travel into the Sterling area. After flying in, guests can stop by the Candlewood Cupboard convenience store to stock up on snacks before heading to the comfort of a spacious suite. Come relax at this hotel in the Dulles Technology Corridor!

View Less
Features
Freshly equipped kitchens, free Wi-Fi, and complimentary on-site laundry access. Top convenience and accessibility selection by government & business travelers on extended travel. Join our loyal guests and get comfortable on your next trip.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.3 out of 5 by 100 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant stay, excellent value Our party occupied two rooms for two nights each in April 2014, as part of a visit to Civil War battlefields. Both rooms were excellent -- clean, comfortable, attractively furnished. The hotel had ample parking and the check-in and check-out process was smooth. One evening, one room was short on wash clothes and the front desk sent some up promptly. In short, everyone was very satisfied with the experience. The rates for the rooms was very competitive, making this hotel an excellent value. We will stay here again when in the area. April 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value! Pleasant staff, clean and comfortable room. Will stay again. April 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Hard To Find This hotel is situated all the way at the end of the road right behind all the other hotels in the area. If you're driving at night it is very difficult to find. Other than that the hotel is average on everything. Nothing really stands out here. The beds are comfortable. The furniture in the rooms needs to be updated. Fitness area is very tight but they do have decent equipment. Rooms are clean and pretty quiet. I didn't hear housekeeping slamming the doors in the morning which is very nice. I got offered a bottle of water and a snack or 500 points at the front desk which I normally take the points because the water is almost always free. February 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Our Perfect Baby Shower in the Carradoc Hall Suite In summer 2013 I learned of a blessed event expected in 2014. I arranged for a venue to host a baby shower the Sunday after Thanksgiving. What a fun time was had in all of the preparations. The chef had only to prepare the dishes I had requested with recipes I had provided for ideas. Since this shower was planned long distance (I live 500 miles away) I sent or carried all the items for the event. The cooperation with the D.C. venue was paramount. Ten days before the event, I was told my reservation was cancelled. I was devastated. All the preparation. All the guests. After recovering from my shock, I went on line for Leesburg area hotels, etc. The expectant parents live in Leesburg as do many of the invited guests. I know of Morven Park and Carradoc Hall was the associated hotel. I recognized it in the photos. An Historic venue would perfect! From the first phone call with Charity, the front desk manager and reservations/event manager, to the assistance from Shehryar with getting the baby gifts and and things to the car afterwards,this was the perfect location for our event. I needed a suite of sorts and ours was perfect for our 20+ guests. This historic hotel has a very warm, rich feeling while providing all of the modern amenities. Charity knows her property well and was so very accommodating making all of our arrangements. Dave carried in all of our many boxes of party supplies. Then he moved the tables and chairs around just as I needed to display food, gift table, etc. in the perfectly sized living/conference room area.The adjoining bedroom had several refrigerators for beverages, room for coats, etc. Laura does a wonderful job of managing these truly customer service staff individuals who are so sincere in their caring for their guests to the nth degree. Thank you all and each of you for making our baby shower such a wonderful celebration. We truly couldn't have done it without you!!! January 30, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Needs a major update The only reason I stay at this Holiday Inn is due the location. The hotel needs serious updating and a full blown renovation. I have tried eating breakfast in the restaurant on several visits and have been disappointed every time. January 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay The property is in a great location in Leesburg, VA. The staff was very accommodating to my room location request. Great room, comfortable bed, quite night's sleep...even on New Year's Eve when the hotel was hosting a large function. It's a really nice well kept property. I can't say enough about the staff...very helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. January 6, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by IHG and Room IHG mistake was finally cleared. Reservation issue that took their handling of the local staff to resolve. Thank you Room was ok. Bath was worn, dirty and needs work. Hotel in general was not up to Holiday Inn standard. Disapponting and frankly a bit discouraging for a strong advocate of the chain. January 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing Stay Old country in with modern amenities. Great view. Many local sites nearby. Old country charm. January 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Absolutely The Best People! We were in town for a wedding and had the best time, due in large part, to your staff. We were a large group and you accommodated us in every way! Van rides to town, a winery, and a family party. Thanks Dave and 2 other drivers! Excellent food and a personalized India experience. Thanks Ali! Excellent wine and spirits. Thanks Bill! A Wonderful front desk staff. Thanks Lauren, Sally and others whose names I forget! We all had a great time, got home safe and will definitely come back once the snow stops flying! December 14, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Hard to find and hot! We arrived after it was dark driving in from the DC area. Our GPS was telling us that we were nearly there yet we couldn't see the hotel. It wasn't until we were within 100 yards of the driveway that we saw it. And it wasn't until we were at the registration door that I was convinced we were at the right place. The temperature outside was just above freezing. When we got to our room the AC/Furnace was set for 70. The room felt like 90. We had to turn on the AC set the temp at 56 for 20 minutes in order to make the room comfortable. Even then we had to run the unit - set at 60 - to make sleep comfortable. November 28, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by not exactly great service The hotel was unable to provide bedding for the king suite room I stayed in. It took 30 minutes to get 2 pillows, after I was initially told they did not have pillows for the pull out in my room. They we not able to provide a blanket for the pull out. I used the blanket on my bed for my 2 children and I slept with only a sheet. I made a complaint at checkout and never heard back from anyone. The hotel is also very hard to find your way around. The staff actually commented on the fact by saying, "It is like a maze, good luck" I had to use the map every time I came and went from my room. November 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel From the time I arrived and until I departed the staff went out of their way to make my stay enjoyable. November 20, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Sneaking out on Wedding Night! We chose this location due to proximity to Leesburg, and that might have been our issue. Bed was extremely rough, and those tiny blocks acting as pillows were too rough. After a long day we called it a night about 8:30pm and tried to get some sleep. Kept on waking up from noises that we thought were coming from the other rooms, but when I looked outside the window it was it was a bunch of children at 11:30pm playing in the parking lot and grass area outside the conference center area. Apparently it was an Indian celebration, and it seemed like the parents didn't worry about their children. It was that time we decided to just head home in Woodbridge to get some sleep. I never heard of anybody having to leave the hotel on their wedding night due to noise. This has to be the worse IHG property in the system, and will never stay that place again. Its worse that I wasted points on the room, just to be forced to leave to sleep. November 11, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor choice for Holiday Inn This is one of the worst Holiday Inn properties I've every visited. I truly don't understand how Holiday Inn would chose this location as a representative. Cold Coffee in the Lobby Breakfast - Wouldn't even give it a try. November 7, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Inexpensive place to stay In an area where room rates are through the roof, this property certainly helps control costs. It's an old building and there's just no getting around it. IHG has done everything they can to doctor it up, make it look modern, etc. but in the end, it's a very old property and it is showing its age. The layout is odd to say the least - going up and down stairs to move down one floor. The cable is standard digital, no movies or other things you see in modern hotels. There is wired and open wireless Internet. The attached restaurant serves amazingly good Indian food. They also have American fare but let's face it, good Indian food is just hard to come by in the area. Since the property is directly off Rt. 7, the main artery in the area, it is VERY accessible. November 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Staff And Service We booked the "Shop and Stay" package but at arrival at the hotel nobody knew about the benefits of this package. Next morning there was an excellemt lady at the reception who knew that there was something and after some searching she was able to help us. Without her, this review would be really bad! October 28, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by nice service can't cover up aging building This is the type of Holiday Inn that gives Holiday Inns a bad name. We were in room 207 for a wedding. The tiles were loose in the bathroom floor and I saw small bugs crawling around on past guest's hair that had been wedged into the corners of the floor by the bathtub. I also saw an ant crawling around on the air conditioner. The hotel has new furniture, paint and draperies/wall paper, but the rest is in terrible condition. The corridors had the smell of old, unclean motel. Management should have known the restaurant would be busy - the hotel was sold out - but then they only staffed two people for breakfast, leading to an un-stocked buffet, dirty dishes everywhere, and people having to ask to pay their checks by walking into the kitchen. I sat in a booth and the wall of the booth was covered in dirt and food residue. It should also be said that this hotel is not laid out well. There are stairs to all levels and no elevator. They do have a wheelchair lift, but it looked to be the type that is a hassle to use. October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome My family and I stay here for to nights and had the best expertations .. October 22, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by In town for a wedding I was in town for a wedding. I thought the hotel was average. They just painted it, I could smell paint everywhere. The bed was comfortable and the staff was nice. Breakfast was good. The signage could be better, it's a big place. October 17, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Room smells Bad, carpets were dirty. I told one of the staff that my room smell bad and to please come inside. She said well it has been sprayed, maybe someone smoke in it or a dog was in here and there are no more rooms available. It was really bad. I had no choice. October 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxed Thursday and enjoyed our event on Friday Eating at this Holiday Inn is not for the impatient. Service is friendly and the food is good -- but slow! My guest room was very comfortable. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Wish that my "junk" and luggage cart fit onto the elevette *OR* that ramps were available to take things from the guest rooms to the "lobby floor". October 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lots of Stairs Our only complaints about the facility were: 1. Its non-trivial to find, the entrance drive has a large sign for an Indian restaurant, and the Holiday Inn sign on a pillar is several feet beyond the driveway. 2. My wife has bad knees, and we had the 2nd floor [no elevator]. To get to the restaurant, we needed to descend to the 1st floor, then go back up 1/2 a flight to the dining area. Reverse to get back. Room was clean and convenient. October 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by The staff was amazing! I flew in to Dulles airport with a large box for the bicycle ride I was doing. The staff was very helpful in a dinner recommendation and ensuring I got to where I needed to go for my EOD Warrior bike ride! October 3, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by What a dump! Shabby all around. The entire place - which is quite old but lacking in any kind of historic charm - reeked of stale cigarette smoke. In room refrigerator barely worked, hadn't been defrosted in ages. Curtains and curtain pulls were filthy. Carpets filthy. In short: a dump, and a real black eye for the Holiday Inn brand. And the staff seemed completely out to lunch, couldn't answer basic questions Yuck! October 2, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed, just an average experience This is not a $100+ a night property. It's obviousally an older facility; maybe lots of renovation work has been done but it needs lots more work. Pretty shabby overall appearance. Heating and AC system very dated, way too loud. Very difficult to locate the facility. Need better signage. I will not be staying there again. Win October 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent breakfast service After a long day of travelling I checked in really tired, and appaerntly I missed some of the information during check-in. The staff at breakfast asked me for the breakfast cupon and when I couldn't answer they asked for my room number and check with front desk themselves. They got me a cupon, i.e. the breakfast was included. Furthermore the breakfast buffet included everything that I usually have for breakfast plus a fresh fruit salad. October 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Review Excellent housekeeping staff. Very pleasant stay. Recommend for anyone. September 26, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not that great... If you want an animal friendly hotel then this is for you. Dogs barking at all hours of the night and our room smelled of cat urine. Definitely not a hotel we'd recommend. September 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Needs Work Check in person did not say thank you for being a platinum member. Did not tell me the internet code was written on my card holder - I had to call the front desk to get it. No offer to show us where anything was located in the hotel. Did help with the luggage. The wheelchair elevator worked the first time I used it by myself. After that, I had to have someone push the button on the outside of the elevator to make it move up or down. Brought this to the attention of the front desk and they said they would get it corrected right away. After our 3 days there, it was still not fixed. Restaurant needs to recognize that not everyone wants Indian cuisine at lunch. We had our grandchild with us and there was nothing but spicy buffet offerings so we were forced to look elsewhere for lunch. This is America! Have American food! September 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfy, quiet & polite staff Our room was crisp clean & pillows that were even labeled form & soft. The hotel area was very quiet & we had no trouble sleeping. The staff was very polite & made sure we were very well taken care of. The hot buffet was always replenished quickly & our server made sure our glasses of OJ & coffee were never empty. Very easy to get to many different activities like the wine tour, great restaurants & shopping. Great place & will def return! August 28, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Reception Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Your chance to win 1 of 5 Hollywood Experiences and more
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-01-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-02-2014)
Check Availability
Loading