• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Dec-17-2014)
(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: DOWNTOWN ST. JOSEPH
  • Distance From Hotel: 4.5MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pet fee $75.00 (Non-Refundable). Pets under 68lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check-in. Call hotel for details..

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Silver Beach Carousel
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:80
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking open 24/7 to all guests, no fee all out doors. Directly behind Cracker Barrel restaurant.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2011
  • Total number of rooms:51
  • Total number of suites:12
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:51
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:MI5055

Lake Michigan Hotel's Location near Benton Harbor & St. Joseph

Comfort is our priority at the Candlewood Suites® St Joseph - Benton Harbor hotel. Situated amid the sandy beaches of Lake Michigan, our hotel's guests are minutes from Four Winds Casino Resort.

Corporate guests visiting Stevensville or St. Joseph, Michigan appreciate our hotel's top-notch business meeting room with free Wi-Fi access and seating for 20 guests. Why not meet clients at The Golf Club at Harbor Shore,
View More

Lake Michigan Hotel's Location near Benton Harbor & St. Joseph

Comfort is our priority at the Candlewood Suites® St Joseph - Benton Harbor hotel. Situated amid the sandy beaches of Lake Michigan, our hotel's guests are minutes from Four Winds Casino Resort.

Corporate guests visiting Stevensville or St. Joseph, Michigan appreciate our hotel's top-notch business meeting room with free Wi-Fi access and seating for 20 guests. Why not meet clients at The Golf Club at Harbor Shore, designed by Jack Nicklaus? And extended stay business travelers love the free high-speed, wireless Internet access in each of our suites.

During your leisure time, guests enjoy exploring the unique specialty shops and fine restaurants surrounding us. Spend the day along the magnificent Lake Michigan coastline, at the Lincoln Township beaches or visiting Grand Mere State Park in Stevensville. Our hotel guests love the Silver Beach Carousel & Amusement Park Museum. Or try for a million-dollar jackpot at Four Winds Casino.

No matter what brings you to St. Joseph and Stevensville, our hotel offers guests outstanding conveniences. Stop by the Candlewood Cupboard for value-priced items. Hop aboard the shuttle service to get around the city or to the airport. Relax in a suite with a fully-equipped kitchen and all the comforts of home. You'll see why our St. Joseph, Michigan hotel's guests consider us their home away from home on the shores of Lake Michigan.

View Less
Features
After a fun-filled day on the St. Joseph beaches, return to a suite that's more like a condominium. Enjoy free DVD movies, a Fitness Center and a hot tub as our hotel's guest near Benton Harbor.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 154 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and great breakfast If you want a great night sleep and wake up to an excellent breakfast then this should be your destination November 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and convenient My experience exceeded my expectations for a Holiday Inn Express which opened in 1999. November 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Pleasant This was a very nice HI express, I have stayed at a few that were merely "updated" but this place is like new everywhere. November 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect stop for business Everything was in order and had a good nights sleep. November 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice experience The property and staff were very nice. My granddaughter in particular, was enchanted by the friendly staff. They took the time to make sure that her visit was special. November 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Benton Harbor Review The only issue I had aside from not being greeted as a Gold Member was that my boyfriend used his credit card to make the reservation and was paying for the room but was not with me. So in order to still use it even though it was on file he had to text me a picture of his card and license and then I had to email it to the front desk. This was very inconvenient when the number was in the system and I had him on the phone to where he could verify his information to the front desk. November 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great HIE on 194 We have stayed multiple times at this location. The staff are always attentive and friendly, The rooms are clean and the pool is nice. The hot tub seemed a little under the weather but other than that the stay was just fine. October 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service! A very nice hotel. I give it a two thumbs up! A great stay in Benton Harbor, Michigan. October 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great facility! improvements are beautiful! I recently had the pleasure of staying at this property again after about a year ago visiting the area for work. I have always enjoyed the property mostly because of the staff but now it's been renovated I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Thank you Spring for making me feel welcomed upon arrival! October 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One of the Best Holiday Inn's We stayed at this hotel for one night after we had been wine tasting all day. I have to say this is one of the nicest Holiday Inn's around. The beds were so comfortable, both my husband and myself had a great nights sleep. The bathrooms were very well stocked with just about everything you could ask for - and the shower was wonderful. I wish we had that shower head at home. All in all, it was a great stay and a wonderful hotel. October 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Some work on site, but great staff The beds were not a four star hotel level of comfortable, but I was happy to see that the room had an empty fridge and microwave - so I did not need to use a common one or call down to have one brought to my room. Even better, no one tried to sell me miniature things in the fridge. Overall, the room was slightly dated in design, but overall it was perfectly perfunctory for what I needed it for. Check in and check out were super easy, and the girls who were working the desk were both perky and very nice. They seemed genuinely happy and ready to help you with anything you needed. I was very excited that the front desk had small conveniences, such as fresh apples and cider. The vending machines were empty and there was some maintenance on site during my stay. I was too tired to run to the stores after driving three hours, so this sort of saddened me. But if you really need to eat before bed and don't want to order room service, I suggest stopping at the Walmart or Meijer that are within half a mile of the hotel before checking in. The maintenance was a little loud at some points in the early morning, but honestly the only really bad noise complaint I had was with someone carrying their crying baby up and down the hallway at 3 in the morning. The hotel wasn't responsible for this, but someone did come upstairs quickly to either tell the person to go back to their room or maybe take them somewhere they could walk the baby without disturbing everyone else in the free world. October 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel Stayed here 1 night while racing. Room was more than I expected. Great Value!!! Clean and everyone was friendly October 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location I chose the hotel because of points break offer, but love the location and ease of access. October 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect Location for over night stay Perfect location for getting on and off the highway. Clean rooms and good breakfast offering. October 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I enjoyed the stay here After a long day of working, it was nice to come back to a room that felt as though I were home. The staff were all very accomodating and friendly as well as professional. The bed and bedding felt great as did the pillows. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, and would definitely stay again if the need arises. October 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Renovation underway and a pleasant stay, nonetheless Whenever hotel renovations take place, there are inevitable inconveniences to the guests. The staff and management here recognized this and did everything to make us feel comfortable and secure. The workmen were also very friendly and were mindful of our guest status. October 13, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not the best The service was just fine but the room was not. It was clean but the layout/furniture placement was terrible. The room was dark;there was a table to work on but in the darkest end of the room with no lamp nor outlet near; the King bed was shoved up against the wall on one side with no light for the person on that side who had to crawl out the end of the bed. The mattress was lumpy and one could feel the other persons every move. The bath towels should have been retired long ago...they were thin and shredded at the ends. We were on a two week trip and stayed at Holiday Inn Express over half the time. This motel in Benton Harbor was not up to the HIE standards we had become accustomed to. October 11, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Don't try to checkout late Property is slightly below average for Holiday Inn Express. Morning breakfast was inedible eggs. What really turned me off though was no flexibility on 11AM checkout. As a property that attempts to cater to the business traveler this is unacceptable. I was forced to get off a conference call at 11:03 because I didn't realize checkout was 11 and they refused to extend my stay by 30 minutes which is all I asked for. October 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice room We for sure would come back to this Holiday Inn Express, the staff is so kind and helpful. Our room was so comfortable and we can not say enough good things about the breakfast at this hotel. We will be back in the area again and will stay here. The best part was knowing we were staying in a nice clean hotel and close to everything we were in the area to do. Top notch place. October 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by My Stay I was very pleased with the hotel staff and general layout of the common areas. My room was very nice and I did not have any negative issues with amenities. I definitely would stay at this hotel again in the future! October 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and Comfortable Had a great stay at this HIE - staff were very accommodating, the place was clean and well-tended to and the expectations for the Holiday Inn Express were met - we always stay at HIE whenever possible! September 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place for the night On our way to Sleeping Bear Dunes and we needed a room for the night. Accommodations were wonderful, comfortable pillows and bed, good breakfast, friendly staff. September 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by special treat, dinner and breakfast My wife and I stopped here on the way to Canada and were very much surprised by a dinner which they have Mon.-Wed. evenings. Had a very enjoyable stay here just passing through. September 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great bed, responsive staff Great experience at the HIE, Benton Harbor MI, while staying in town for a wedding. Staff at every level were visible at some point during our stay and all were friendly and knowledgeable, as well as quick to make us happy! Beds were more comfortable than I have ever experienced, including some high-end hotels in large cities. This is probably the best experience I've had at HIE! Also, close to many other amenities necessary in the area. Would definitely stay here again and encourage others to do the same. September 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by HIE Benton Harbor, MI the sign of Pipestone Road is so small you will probably drive right by; look carefully. Otherwise a very nice HIE September 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by business Great place and easy access to the interstate. Staff makes effort to please. September 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Good Basic Room Nothing exotic, good clean functional room. Mattress could use an upgrade. Staff was responsive, easy access. September 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always a pleasant stay HI Express came through for me again. Comfortable bed, clean, fresh breakfast choices, and a control to have the fan for the in-room HVAC stay on all the time. I will be back if I have a chance. September 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service Comfortable bed and great service Comfortable bed and great service Comfortable bed and great service Comfortable bed and great service Comfortable bed and great service September 6, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast Everything was fine except for the Breakfast. It was so busy there was no place to sit. The scrambled eggs were empty. No biscuits. When you are that busy the girl working the breakfast needs more help. September 4, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 6 next>>
If you are not already a member, join now.
Stay for Less
Close
Check In
(e.g. Dec-17-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
Check Availability
Loading