• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-21-2014)
(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: DOWNTOWN ST. JOSEPH
  • Distance From Hotel: 4.5MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pet fee $75.00 (Non-Refundable). Pets under 68lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check-in. Call hotel for details..

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Silver Beach Carousel
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:80
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking open 24/7 to all guests, no fee all out doors. Directly behind Cracker Barrel restaurant.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2011
  • Total number of rooms:51
  • Total number of suites:12
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:51
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:MI5055

Lake Michigan Hotel's Location near Benton Harbor & St. Joseph

Comfort is our priority at the Candlewood Suites® St Joseph - Benton Harbor hotel. Situated amid the sandy beaches of Lake Michigan, our hotel's guests are minutes from Four Winds Casino Resort.

Corporate guests visiting Stevensville or St. Joseph, Michigan appreciate our hotel's top-notch business meeting room with free Wi-Fi access and seating for 20 guests. Why not meet clients at The Golf Club at Harbor Shore,
View More

Lake Michigan Hotel's Location near Benton Harbor & St. Joseph

Comfort is our priority at the Candlewood Suites® St Joseph - Benton Harbor hotel. Situated amid the sandy beaches of Lake Michigan, our hotel's guests are minutes from Four Winds Casino Resort.

Corporate guests visiting Stevensville or St. Joseph, Michigan appreciate our hotel's top-notch business meeting room with free Wi-Fi access and seating for 20 guests. Why not meet clients at The Golf Club at Harbor Shore, designed by Jack Nicklaus? And extended stay business travelers love the free high-speed, wireless Internet access in each of our suites.

During your leisure time, guests enjoy exploring the unique specialty shops and fine restaurants surrounding us. Spend the day along the magnificent Lake Michigan coastline, at the Lincoln Township beaches or visiting Grand Mere State Park in Stevensville. Our hotel guests love the Silver Beach Carousel & Amusement Park Museum. Or try for a million-dollar jackpot at Four Winds Casino.

No matter what brings you to St. Joseph and Stevensville, our hotel offers guests outstanding conveniences. Stop by the Candlewood Cupboard for value-priced items. Hop aboard the shuttle service to get around the city or to the airport. Relax in a suite with a fully-equipped kitchen and all the comforts of home. You'll see why our St. Joseph, Michigan hotel's guests consider us their home away from home on the shores of Lake Michigan.

View Less
Features
After a fun-filled day on the St. Joseph beaches, return to a suite that's more like a condominium. Enjoy free DVD movies, a Fitness Center and a hot tub as our hotel's guest near Benton Harbor.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 107 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Predictable stay This hotel like most Holiday Inn hotels that have visited offered a pleasantly predictable stay. Only complaint was that I had a loud neighbor that was up talking loudly past 3 am. I was too tired, however, to get out of bed and request quiet. July 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and Welcoming I stayed here overnight on a long haul trip with two dogs. They were very welcoming and the room and quality of service were great, however, compared to other Holiday Inn Express Hotels along the route I found the room pricey and the premium charged for pets a bit steep July 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great stay! Hotel was clean from the moment we walked in. Breakfast was great, fresh and the staff was always cleaning and putting out more food. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful, and my kids felt comfortable. Housekeeping was friendly. Great stay and excellent value. No need to go anywhere else. Internet was high speed and we had no issues. July 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Was a great stay. I recommend getting one of the suites. Overall had a great stay. July 17, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Needs some work I stayed at this hotel and asked for bottom floor. I also stated I did not want at the end of the hallway. Rooms weren't ready when I was there and I said I'd come back they assured me of a room. Eventually when I did come back they had one room and when I went to this room it was at the end of the hallway by swimming pool and noisy. They assured me I would be in the middle. A light bulb was missing in one of the lights, very noisey floors creeking, doors shutting vibrating the walls, next morning floor staff and maids not very pleasant. Manager was leaving when I got his attention and told him. Didn't know if he was really concerned and just saying what I wanted to hear. I don't think I'll stay here again. July 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall experience Very clean, fresh smell, new carpets and excellent customer service. I just loved it!!! July 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fix your exercise facility I liked your receptions but hated the condition of your exercise room. Either have a good one or make arrangements with a nearby gym. June 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Sodus Reunion Family Our stay was good. Only con was the room design . . . there was only one side with a night stand and room to enter bed. The other side was up next to a wall with only about 12" away from it. So narrow it was way too hard for an 70 year old to get in from that side. The knees too sore to crawl over the bed. Finally, no place for my eye glasses and glass of water near by. Check with front desk for another option. Told all rooms with king bed had the same design. Clean facility but beginning to show wear and tear when one looks closely. This property will need a full update soon. Décor a bit dated also. June 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, good price, nice hotel Located in a convenient location with good value. Breakfast service could have been better. Will stay there again. June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Super comfortable bed and a great place to stay! We got in late but the front desk clerk was super nice and accommodating. The bed was super comfortable and we slept great. Breakfast was excellent, plenty of choices. The housekeeping staff that we encountered were very nice and polite. Wish we could have stayed longer than just one night but would definitely recommend this hotel. Great, clean room and it was so quiet, we didn't hear any one else during the night. June 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff was Great Thanks for the friendly service on our last visit, you provided a reasonable price and made our last minute road trip a success. June 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Benton Harbor Close to restraints lots to chose from!!! Would stay here again. June 10, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Review of Benton harbor Michigan stay week of June 2nd On my first day they did not clean my room, I did not put any time of sign saying I did not want it cleaned. The bed was a king size and one side of the bed was soft and lop sided very uncomfortable . The fire alarm woke everyone up at 4am on the 4th of June. There was not a fire. Then the fire alarm went off again on the 5th at 12am . June 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place to stay I'm not sure if it was just a seasonal thing, but this hotel had some cool management. Free beer and buffet style food from 5-7pm. Mediteranean, Chinese, then Mexican on wednesday. The food was very good. Very cool! June 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by room was very comfortable We enjoyed our stay. We were suggested to stay there because it was close to our friends address in Eau Claire, MI. Very convenient to go to Church and to our friends house June 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean Room, Professional and Attentive Staff Overall, this hotel is conveniently located, clean, and reasonably priced. All staff I encountered were friendly and attentive with the exception of one maintenance man. He stood in the way and did not hold the elevator as I was trying to maneuver the luggage cart during check-out. The breakfast selection is great but the coffee was weak. Most people should find something that they can eat. My only complaints are that the toilet seat was awkward and uncomfortable and the hallway and elevator were hot and stuffy. I would stay here again. June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great choice. This hotel is located right off the highway yet in a secluded area with a large clean parking lot. If you choose not to use their breakfast downstairs you can walk to a breakfast restaurant and not even have to cross the street (low prices and great food there). I was really surprised how relaxing my stay here was. The staff is friendly, the hotel is clean and quiet, the room size is really great. You have a spacious bathroom, a king sized bed, a comfortable seat, dedicated office space, and my favorite an indoor fridge and even a microwave to warm up leftover food or drinks. I didn't have to use the air conditioner a lot but I can tell you it works. The indoor pool downstairs is clean and well maintained. Overall my stay at this hotel and Michigan in general was excellent. June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall good experience If you have to stay out by Pipestone exit, a good choice June 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel, friendly staff Enjoyed my stay at this hotel, had all the amenities you'd look for as a business traveler. Staff was very friendly and the room was very nice, however, I gave it a lower score for cleanliness of the bathroom. The shower looked clean but there were some hairs in it that were very noticeable to me and it made me wonder if the sheets were even changed or if someone was trying to do a quick clean. Cleanliness is a top priority for me, but I would stay again and be sure to bring to manager's attention. May 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by bh stay good basic room, convenient to freeway, typical holiday inn express, no surprises.... May 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and comfortable wirh excellent service. This is the first time we traveled with our dog and I was a bit apprehensive about the cleanliness of a "pet friendly" hotel. This place was spotless and much nicer than many non pet friendly hotels-- the room, the breakfast area and the lobby were all clean and well maintained. The staff was friendly, fast and efficient. I will definitely stay there again. May 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A Very Good Hotel Great property, location, staff, etc. Unfortunately, they no longer accept our corporate account so my stays will be less frequent. I will recommend this property to everyone. May 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and free dinner I stayed here a couple nights for work and was shocked at the spread they put out for dinner, free. Great food and i think they serve every night except weekends. Also, I needed to scan some documents to send them out, but my personal scanner was not working. Several times throughout the night I brought large documents down to the front desk, and Iris graciously helped me. Spring, who was in training at the front desk was also lovely. I highly recommend this Holiday Inn. May 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient Right off the Highway and 2 minutes from restaurants and shopping plazas. We ventured into St Josephs a couple of times and that was only about 10 minutes away. Breakfasts were expected, but on certain nights they provided free dinner buffets, nothing super fancy, but I enjoyed and appreciated them. The staff was very friendly, but most importantly, the room was clean and comfortable. I spent 3 nights there and felt well rested for the seminar I was attending. Overall, a very good experience. I will be attending other seminars in the area and will be staying again. April 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent late night/early morning service This room was booked from another Holiday Inn, for a friend delivering a vehicle for us and he stated the staff was excellent when he arrived late at night. He was a little concerned because it appeared as though someone had punched the inside of the bathroom door and he didn't want to be blamed for something he had not done- and he was not. The early morning staff was just as professional and friendly ensuring he had something to eat and drink on his travels. He and his family had not stayed at a lot of Holiday Inn hotels, however I think their plans may have changed for future needs. Reasons why my family and I stay at IHG, thank you for taking care of our friend! April 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic Place to Stay Staff was incredibly friendly, room was impeccable and an effort was sincerely made to make the food taste better. I sleep at hotels 3 to 4 times a week. I prefer Holiday Inn from most part and have seen the same breakfast from one place to the next. Time and consideration was made and flavor added :) A very welcome experience. Happy hour had an excellent choice and is not done at all Holiday Inn's either. So many efforts are made to ensure customer satisfaction. Thank you for a great stay ! April 6, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Loudest room ever! There are not many options in the area and I prefer IHG to garner points. I also like a restaurant in the area when traveling 6-10x yr in area. I'm only 40 and annoyed doors slamming all hours of the night like a college dorm. When whoever slams a door the whole room shutters!!!! You can hear neighboring rooms with ease. I was so mad about little sleep I enjoyed slamming multiple doors at 5am when I got up for work. This is a true account from 3-15-14 March 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best value in Benton Harbor This property is very clean and all the staff have been very kind and friendly. The free breakfast has a nice variety of options of proteins, fruits, cereals, and, of course, pancakes & muffins. March 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding service I travel and stay at many different hotels.This is the best service and value I have received in a long time. February 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Thanks to hotel staff for making my stay enjoyable. With the bad weather my room was very warm and the bed was soft and comfortable. Breakfast was also very good and everything was ready on time. February 17, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Front Desk Exterior Feature Patio Hotel Lobby / Seating Area Exterior View Exterior View
Select to close.
Your chance to win 1 of 5 Hollywood Experiences and more
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-21-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
Check Availability
Loading