• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: DOWNTOWN ST. JOSEPH
  • Distance From Hotel: 4.5MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pet fee $75.00 (Non-Refundable). Pets under 68lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check-in. Call hotel for details..

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Silver Beach Carousel
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:80
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking open 24/7 to all guests, no fee all out doors. Directly behind Cracker Barrel restaurant.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2011
  • Total number of rooms:51
  • Total number of suites:12
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:51
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:MI5055

Lake Michigan Hotel's Location near Benton Harbor & St. Joseph

Comfort is our priority at the Candlewood Suites® St Joseph - Benton Harbor hotel. Situated amid the sandy beaches of Lake Michigan, our hotel's guests are minutes from Four Winds Casino Resort.

Corporate guests visiting Stevensville or St. Joseph, Michigan appreciate our hotel's top-notch business meeting room with free Wi-Fi access and seating for 20 guests. Why not meet clients at The Golf Club at Harbor Shore,
View More

Lake Michigan Hotel's Location near Benton Harbor & St. Joseph

Comfort is our priority at the Candlewood Suites® St Joseph - Benton Harbor hotel. Situated amid the sandy beaches of Lake Michigan, our hotel's guests are minutes from Four Winds Casino Resort.

Corporate guests visiting Stevensville or St. Joseph, Michigan appreciate our hotel's top-notch business meeting room with free Wi-Fi access and seating for 20 guests. Why not meet clients at The Golf Club at Harbor Shore, designed by Jack Nicklaus? And extended stay business travelers love the free high-speed, wireless Internet access in each of our suites.

During your leisure time, guests enjoy exploring the unique specialty shops and fine restaurants surrounding us. Spend the day along the magnificent Lake Michigan coastline, at the Lincoln Township beaches or visiting Grand Mere State Park in Stevensville. Our hotel guests love the Silver Beach Carousel & Amusement Park Museum. Or try for a million-dollar jackpot at Four Winds Casino.

No matter what brings you to St. Joseph and Stevensville, our hotel offers guests outstanding conveniences. Stop by the Candlewood Cupboard for value-priced items. Hop aboard the shuttle service to get around the city or to the airport. Relax in a suite with a fully-equipped kitchen and all the comforts of home. You'll see why our St. Joseph, Michigan hotel's guests consider us their home away from home on the shores of Lake Michigan.

View Less
Features
After a fun-filled day on the St. Joseph beaches, return to a suite that's more like a condominium. Enjoy free DVD movies, a Fitness Center and a hot tub as our hotel's guest near Benton Harbor.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 103 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by South Haven visit After a little bit of a rough start, the manager took car of all issues and is quite friendly and accommodating. September 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by In general a pretty good hotel This was a quick leisure trip. The hotel was comfortable and clean while the staff was very nice. The only problem was housekeeping was a little slow (or maybe understaffed), because one afternoon we did not receive service until after 4:00 pm. Other than that, we are planning on returning this fall! September 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The best staff and a great location The staff at the Holiday Inn Express in South Haven is the best. I've stayed at a few different Holiday Inn Expresses and at other hotels and no other hotel compares in terms of staff friendliness, courtesy, and willingness to help. From the front desk to the housekeepers, every staff member I encountered was quick to help with anything I needed and never made me feel like I was imposing. We stayed in one of the King suites that have a separate room with a fold-out couch and TV. The room was spacious, bed comfortable, and it was pretty clear that it had been recently updated because everything looked new. Our room included a small fridge, kitchen-type sink, microwave, and plenty of storage; they even included a bag of microwave popcorn! Temperature was comfortable and easily adjustable. Breakfast was decent; was nice to be able to walk downstairs and not have to worry about making or paying for a meal. Only complaint is that I wish they had more gluten-free options (there was still enough that I could eat, though). Location is great! This hotel is only about a mile from downtown South Haven, which means it's a short drive to the beach. There are some great restaurants downtown, standard fast-food fare, and a couple big department stores all within a couple miles (which is great if you're out of diapers or want to pick up snacks). There are also some decent attractions for kids within 10-15 miles. Thanks again to the great staff at the South Haven Holiday Inn Express! Our family will definitely be back next year. September 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Typical great Holiday Inn Express Everything was as advertised. Good clean, comfortable, quiet room. Excellent free breakfast choices. Close to the action but away from the downtown noise. August 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by gregg71 Enjoyable stay in a beautiful town. mHotel was pleasant and personnel was great. August 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean room and hotel Our room was very clean, comfortable and up to to date. The lobby and hallways were very clean as well. August 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room for improvement The stay was good but at breakfast it was hard to find a table, they only had 2 high chairs for little ones and they ran out of some of the food. The elevator is quite small and difficult to use a luggage carrier in. August 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall good but...... My wife, 2yr daughter and I went for a mid-week August stay. Very nice, clean hotel which we enjoyed. However, we had to wait for room service to come after 4:00 one day when the rain washed out leaving the hotel. We called the desk twice about this in the afternoon, and was assured it would be done shortly. It was not, thus my wife made the beds. August 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay We had a pleasant stay, with everything as expected from an HI Express property. The room was clean, well laid-out, and had plenty of space to relax. The only thing that needs attention is the mattress: at first I thought it was just soft, but it turns out it was actually sagging. Other than that, everything was perfect. August 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Overall, a great Holiday Inn. Used points so not sure of real cost per night. Good location, not too far from town or the beach (10 minutes) but far enough to be out of the crowd. We found everything to be clean, comfortable and in working order. We were also very grateful for the indoor pool and good variety of breakfast food available for my grand-daughter. And thanks so much Shelly for looking for my sunglasses and calling me!!! August 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by HAD A NICE STAY Staff was friendly, place very close to South Have town, hotel was clean and the beds very comfortable, breakfast was a little nicer than most hotels and the staff was very attentive to keep it stocked. August 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Customer service The young staff at the front desk were very helpful to us. The breakfast was very sufficient for our needs. It was critical the A/C worked because I am a Type I Diabetic and have to keep my supplies cool. The A/C worked great. August 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location I never write reviews, but wanted to acknowledge your great hotel. I travel frequently for business and rarely for leisure. With the Point Break promotion I decided to book 4 nights and have a rare getaway. Your staff was great and the rooms were clean. We needed a mini-fridge (kind of a must have with little kids) and one was brought to our room. The rooms were very quiet. We never heard anyone else through the walls (hopefully as we had little ones, the same can be said of us). Breakfast was a little hectic each morning. I am accustomed to much fewer people as I am generally not in resort/vacation areas. My only complaint would be that the wireless internet was rather unstable, but that just forced more quality time with the family and less time staring at a screen. I look forward to returning to this location as I fell in love with South Haven. August 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Express South Haven Had a very nice stay at the Holiday Inn Express South Haven. It was in a decent location about 2 miles from the beach. The staff was friendly and attentive. The Kids loved the automatic pancake maker! August 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing hotel!! My husband and I stayed here for a little anniversary getaway!!! When we arrived we were greeted by the front desk clerk wishing us a happy anniversary. Upon entering our room we were blown away with how nice and up to date everything was, and even more with the anniversary gift the staff put together for us. Everyone was so friendly and accommodating!!! The hotel was rather full that night but it was still very peaceful and relaxing!!! We could not have asked for a more perfect hotel for our getaway, we WILL be back!!! August 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel Nice place to stay, and a friendly staff. Room did not come w/a cube fridg and microwave, but the staff got them both sent to my room on the 2nd day of my extended stay. Wish it was closer to town, and near the water. Also wish the breakfast buffet would have stayed open until 10:30am on weekdays.The view from my room window was not very pleasant, an industreal park behind the hotel. August 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Accommodating Staff, need an outdoor pool! Need faster internet connection. Good breakfast. August 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value Hotel was clean, up to date and staff was attentive August 14, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Really liked my room, disliked the breakfast I was surprised by the "executive suite" king size bed room--it was spacious, had refrigerator and microwave available. I had trouble figuring out the Internet but finally did. The temperature was nicely adjustable. I found the pillows too large and cumbersome, prefer having both light and firm pillows available. My only big complaint was that the breakfasts did not offer healthy choices--unlike other HI breakfasts I've had. The food was pretty poor in quality. I used points for this room--and while I could not get a reservation much ahead, as it got closer to my date, then it seemed like a room with points was more available. Moral--keep trying. August 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy but immaculately clean Even though we were on the third floor, we had a lot of noise from children screaming and running in the halls (blame the parents). Staff was outstanding especially the housekeeping and front desk staff. Housekeeping staff gave us lots of local information about where to go and where to eat....they were open and friendly. We are fussy people and this room was clean. August 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Loved The fresh Blueberries! I would recommend this hotel. The staff was gracious and accommodating, the beds were comfortable, and the breakfast each morning was wonderful. We also loved the popcorn left by the microwave each night! August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly, clean, and comfortable The staff could not be nicer. It's really a pleasure to interact w/them. The rooms are clean and comfortable. In fact, the bed is very comfortable. Breakfast is plentiful and varied. If you need a place to stay in South Haven I highly recommend the Holiday Inn Express. August 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very pleased! We enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn Express very much. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. We loved the free sample of blueberries when we arrived. The bed was very comfortable & we loved the shower head. We were surprised at the price-but waited at the last minute to book-so we were thrilled to get a room in South Haven during the Blueberry Festival. August 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Average This Holiday Inn Express was average in just about every way. We only used it as we were passing through town, so I can't complain too much - if I were staying more than one night, however - I would not choose to stay here. The price was right, and there was nothing "wrong", per say with the room...it was just...average. August 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and comfortable with great service We enjoyed our stay very much! The room was clean and comfortable, it smelled a bit musty when we walked in but the air conditioning took care of it. The front desk staff is very helpful and attentive to needs. The one thing that was disappointing was the fitness center because the two treadmills were not working. There is an elliptical but I wanted to use the treadmill. One had a sign that it was out of order and the other did not seem to be working. The hotel is in a safe, convenient location and it is very close to the downtown area and beach. It is literally a straight drive down to this area for about two miles. The best is Sherman's Dairy Bar just across the street! August 6, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by clean but NOISY room This room was extremely loud with paper thin walls. Had a musty smell that did not go away. For the price, I expected a better experience. Best part of stay was having a mini fridge and the cinnamon rolls at breakfast. August 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A pleasant experience. Convenient to South Haven MI, comfortable, quiet and a tasty breakfast. August 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great overall The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable and clean. Breakfast in the morning was great and staff was right on things when items were needed to be refilled or replaced. Everyone there was very helpful and attentive to our needs. July 29, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by room not ready on time, room stunk We arrived a little before check in time at 3 hoping to get in room but it actually wasn't ready even on time, wasnt until 40mins late that it was ready at 3:40. We get in the room and it stunk like strong artificial fragrance covering up a urine smell and room right next to elevator and ice machine so very noisy. Pool water temp was okay but the room always had the a/c on so you froze in there. July 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant stay We found this hotel to be comfortable with a friendly staff. Our room was clean. Especially liked that the A/C was controlled by a wall mounted thermostat and that the A/C was not noisy. The pool was nice and clean but had a little too much chlorine. Chlorine odor and eye irritation were a small issue. July 26, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Front Desk Exterior Feature Patio Hotel Lobby / Seating Area Exterior View Exterior View
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
Check Availability
Loading