• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: DOWNTOWN ST. JOSEPH
  • Distance From Hotel: 4.5MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pet fee $75.00 (Non-Refundable). Pets under 68lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check-in. Call hotel for details..

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Silver Beach Carousel
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:80
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking open 24/7 to all guests, no fee all out doors. Directly behind Cracker Barrel restaurant.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2011
  • Total number of rooms:51
  • Total number of suites:12
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:51
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:MI5055

Lake Michigan Hotel's Location near Benton Harbor & St. Joseph

Comfort is our priority at the Candlewood Suites® St Joseph - Benton Harbor hotel. Situated amid the sandy beaches of Lake Michigan, our hotel's guests are minutes from Four Winds Casino Resort.

Corporate guests visiting Stevensville or St. Joseph, Michigan appreciate our hotel's top-notch business meeting room with free Wi-Fi access and seating for 20 guests. Why not meet clients at The Golf Club at Harbor Shore,
View More

Lake Michigan Hotel's Location near Benton Harbor & St. Joseph

Comfort is our priority at the Candlewood Suites® St Joseph - Benton Harbor hotel. Situated amid the sandy beaches of Lake Michigan, our hotel's guests are minutes from Four Winds Casino Resort.

Corporate guests visiting Stevensville or St. Joseph, Michigan appreciate our hotel's top-notch business meeting room with free Wi-Fi access and seating for 20 guests. Why not meet clients at The Golf Club at Harbor Shore, designed by Jack Nicklaus? And extended stay business travelers love the free high-speed, wireless Internet access in each of our suites.

During your leisure time, guests enjoy exploring the unique specialty shops and fine restaurants surrounding us. Spend the day along the magnificent Lake Michigan coastline, at the Lincoln Township beaches or visiting Grand Mere State Park in Stevensville. Our hotel guests love the Silver Beach Carousel & Amusement Park Museum. Or try for a million-dollar jackpot at Four Winds Casino.

No matter what brings you to St. Joseph and Stevensville, our hotel offers guests outstanding conveniences. Stop by the Candlewood Cupboard for value-priced items. Hop aboard the shuttle service to get around the city or to the airport. Relax in a suite with a fully-equipped kitchen and all the comforts of home. You'll see why our St. Joseph, Michigan hotel's guests consider us their home away from home on the shores of Lake Michigan.

View Less
Features
After a fun-filled day on the St. Joseph beaches, return to a suite that's more like a condominium. Enjoy free DVD movies, a Fitness Center and a hot tub as our hotel's guest near Benton Harbor.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 123 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by room was very comfortable We enjoyed our stay. We were suggested to stay there because it was close to our friends address in Eau Claire, MI. Very convenient to go to Church and to our friends house June 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean Room, Professional and Attentive Staff Overall, this hotel is conveniently located, clean, and reasonably priced. All staff I encountered were friendly and attentive with the exception of one maintenance man. He stood in the way and did not hold the elevator as I was trying to maneuver the luggage cart during check-out. The breakfast selection is great but the coffee was weak. Most people should find something that they can eat. My only complaints are that the toilet seat was awkward and uncomfortable and the hallway and elevator were hot and stuffy. I would stay here again. June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great choice. This hotel is located right off the highway yet in a secluded area with a large clean parking lot. If you choose not to use their breakfast downstairs you can walk to a breakfast restaurant and not even have to cross the street (low prices and great food there). I was really surprised how relaxing my stay here was. The staff is friendly, the hotel is clean and quiet, the room size is really great. You have a spacious bathroom, a king sized bed, a comfortable seat, dedicated office space, and my favorite an indoor fridge and even a microwave to warm up leftover food or drinks. I didn't have to use the air conditioner a lot but I can tell you it works. The indoor pool downstairs is clean and well maintained. Overall my stay at this hotel and Michigan in general was excellent. June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall good experience If you have to stay out by Pipestone exit, a good choice June 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel, friendly staff Enjoyed my stay at this hotel, had all the amenities you'd look for as a business traveler. Staff was very friendly and the room was very nice, however, I gave it a lower score for cleanliness of the bathroom. The shower looked clean but there were some hairs in it that were very noticeable to me and it made me wonder if the sheets were even changed or if someone was trying to do a quick clean. Cleanliness is a top priority for me, but I would stay again and be sure to bring to manager's attention. May 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by bh stay good basic room, convenient to freeway, typical holiday inn express, no surprises.... May 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and comfortable wirh excellent service. This is the first time we traveled with our dog and I was a bit apprehensive about the cleanliness of a "pet friendly" hotel. This place was spotless and much nicer than many non pet friendly hotels-- the room, the breakfast area and the lobby were all clean and well maintained. The staff was friendly, fast and efficient. I will definitely stay there again. May 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A Very Good Hotel Great property, location, staff, etc. Unfortunately, they no longer accept our corporate account so my stays will be less frequent. I will recommend this property to everyone. May 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and free dinner I stayed here a couple nights for work and was shocked at the spread they put out for dinner, free. Great food and i think they serve every night except weekends. Also, I needed to scan some documents to send them out, but my personal scanner was not working. Several times throughout the night I brought large documents down to the front desk, and Iris graciously helped me. Spring, who was in training at the front desk was also lovely. I highly recommend this Holiday Inn. May 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient Right off the Highway and 2 minutes from restaurants and shopping plazas. We ventured into St Josephs a couple of times and that was only about 10 minutes away. Breakfasts were expected, but on certain nights they provided free dinner buffets, nothing super fancy, but I enjoyed and appreciated them. The staff was very friendly, but most importantly, the room was clean and comfortable. I spent 3 nights there and felt well rested for the seminar I was attending. Overall, a very good experience. I will be attending other seminars in the area and will be staying again. April 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent late night/early morning service This room was booked from another Holiday Inn, for a friend delivering a vehicle for us and he stated the staff was excellent when he arrived late at night. He was a little concerned because it appeared as though someone had punched the inside of the bathroom door and he didn't want to be blamed for something he had not done- and he was not. The early morning staff was just as professional and friendly ensuring he had something to eat and drink on his travels. He and his family had not stayed at a lot of Holiday Inn hotels, however I think their plans may have changed for future needs. Reasons why my family and I stay at IHG, thank you for taking care of our friend! April 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic Place to Stay Staff was incredibly friendly, room was impeccable and an effort was sincerely made to make the food taste better. I sleep at hotels 3 to 4 times a week. I prefer Holiday Inn from most part and have seen the same breakfast from one place to the next. Time and consideration was made and flavor added :) A very welcome experience. Happy hour had an excellent choice and is not done at all Holiday Inn's either. So many efforts are made to ensure customer satisfaction. Thank you for a great stay ! April 6, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Loudest room ever! There are not many options in the area and I prefer IHG to garner points. I also like a restaurant in the area when traveling 6-10x yr in area. I'm only 40 and annoyed doors slamming all hours of the night like a college dorm. When whoever slams a door the whole room shutters!!!! You can hear neighboring rooms with ease. I was so mad about little sleep I enjoyed slamming multiple doors at 5am when I got up for work. This is a true account from 3-15-14 March 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best value in Benton Harbor This property is very clean and all the staff have been very kind and friendly. The free breakfast has a nice variety of options of proteins, fruits, cereals, and, of course, pancakes & muffins. March 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding service I travel and stay at many different hotels.This is the best service and value I have received in a long time. February 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Thanks to hotel staff for making my stay enjoyable. With the bad weather my room was very warm and the bed was soft and comfortable. Breakfast was also very good and everything was ready on time. February 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable stay nothing to add and would recommend. I had a very nice stay February 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room 105 Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Very welcoming. Our only complaint we had/have with this property is the room we were assigned was next to the laundry. Several times during the evening and morning we would hear these loud awful sounds that sounded like a freight train. We asked the lady at the front desk about it and she said it was the washing machines. We had a pet and room 105 must be a pet room. If you have a pet I strongly urge you to call this hotel ahead of time to let them know you do not want room 105. I do have a question for all of the Holiday Inns out there. Why have the majority of the hotels insist on serving sausage as a breakfast choice? Please change to bacon or something. Sausage has MSG and wife can not eat it. February 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Above and beyond! I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor, MI for approximately two weeks for a glassblowing workshop through my school, School of the Art Institute of Chicago. Typically, the school unknowingly recommends the Silver Beach Hotel. Boy, are they mistaken. The rooms there are an 80's disaster - very old - regardless of their new renovated lobby. The location is perfect. It is right near all of the grocery/food/etc. of the area, and it is right off of the highway. About a 10 minute drive to the beach/ St. Joe. My room was large and comfortable. I never had an issue with anything in the room. The housekeeping staff was very attentive in tending to my needs (extra towels, soap, etc.) The bed supported my back and I was able to sleep comfortably with ease. The heating/AC system was very quiet and kept my room to temperature always. The TV was a flatscreen HD TV with plenty of channels and HBO. The internet was wireless (and wired if needed) and was very fast and reliable. There was also a mini-fridge for groceries, and a microwave. I also had a kitchen countertop area with plenty of storage and a sink. All of the appliances ran quietly and efficiently. The couch was also comfortable. The washer and dryer in the building (one of each) are coin operated. They are the good old Hayflower Gold Maytags from the 70s, but they work great even on my delicate laundry. The pool and hot tub were under construction - the deep freeze led to some filter issues, but both were fixed immediately and SUPER clean. They are located beneath this amazing, huge atrium. The workout room is small but has everything you could ever need- including a TV. Complimentary breakfast was offered every morning. It is not prepared in front of you, but it is good. This particular location also has dinner catered Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday evenings from local restaurants. This is also complimentary and goes really fast! The staff at the front desk, particularly Jodi, were amazing. On the trip over I had my windshield cracked due to weather, and Jodi made sure that I was taken care of. Not only in this situation, but in every instance that she saw me. I also spoke with Cathy who was really great and accommodating. In the evenings they had fresh baked cookies at the front desk. I brought my little dog for the entire stay. She is very clean and potty-trained for the outside. The staff LOVED her. (Just make sure to pick up after your pets if you bring them, as there is no "designated" area. I'm sure everyone will appreciate it.) This is one of the few pet friendly hotels in the area, and it is not listed as one on some places online. There were a few other dogs around in our stay as well. None of them loud or anything like that. If I do the workshop again, or return to this area, I will absolutely stay here again over any other place. They do offer a student rate/discount. If you have trouble with this, ask for Cathy- she will take care of it. They recognize IHG members as well. Photos online are accurate! February 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by The employees make the difference here I have stayed here at least 10 times for business. When I was greeted at the front desk by Jodi I was blown away. Absolutely fabulous customer service. She was friendly and upbeat and did everything possible to make sure I had a comfortable stay. She could be a model for other employees. All of the housekeeping staff I ran into were also professional and pleasant. February 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Rooms I was staying there because there was a storm outside but I enjoyed my night the room was very comfortable! January 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Great place to stay We stayed at the Benton Harbor Inn for two nights and could not have had a better experience. The staff was efficient and friendly, the room was comfortable, had everything you could want (hair dryer, coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, flat screen) and was CLEAN. The beds were very comfortable, each having (2) soft and (2) firm pillows! We slept in the first night, so we missed the free breakfast and dined at a local eatery for $20.00 (for 2). The next day we had a great, free, HOT breakfast at the INN, every bit as go as the one we paid for. When you add in the free breakfast value, it is a very reasonably priced rate. If you are in this area you can't go wrong staying here! January 1, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disppointed in Manager I mistakenly clicked on the senior rate for a reservation for 5 rooms. I am a senior so I qualify. I needed to cancel and talked directly with the manager. She refused to allow me to cancel. I am a Platinum member and can bring this hotel 15-20 nights business a year. I refuse to ever go again. I stay 100+ hotel nights a year. I will not work with anyone who will not work with me. December 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Room and Excellant Rate This is one of my rare 5 star ratings. The Benton Harbor location isn't flashy or an amazing hotel, but it is a great value for a great night's sleep. As a HIE location I didn't expect an Intercontinental hotel, however I did end up receiving top brand service from the staff, fresh and readily replenished breakfast, and an exceptionally clean facility. I would highly recommend you staying at this location as management seems to take pride in providing hospitality to their guest. Nice job!! December 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Hotel Stay Ever! Even though it was right next to the highway, the room was very quiet. Every staff member was friendly, cheerful, and helpful. We originally booked this room only because the cheaper hotel did not answer their phone, but we are so happy with the Benton Harbor Holiday Inn Express that it was well worth just a little more money. December 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good place to stay This was my second time staying here. Greeted by friendly staff that really make you feel welcome. Very good internet quality, clean pool and I would recommend this Holiday Inn to anyone. November 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant stay for a long weekend I had a few days up in Benton Harbor for a family wedding and decided to give the Holiday Inn Express a try. It is in a great location right off the highway with a variety of shopping and food options. The staff was friendly, but a bit slow to respond. I had an issue with the rate I was quoted which was never addressed. Ended up paying the higher rate even though a discount was offered. The bed was very comfortable, I had a great night sleep. Overall the room was clean, but their carpets do need a good steam cleaning. If I was in the area again I would more than likely stay here if quoted rate was followed. November 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service staff What a fantastic stay ! Exceptionally freindly and professional staff. Thank you for making my extended stay comfortable and enjoyable. November 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Really like this HI Express! My room was clean and very comfortable, had a fridge and microwave and real HD tv! The staff was extremely pleasant the two days I was there this week. And the complimentary breakfast is top notch...especially liked the biscuits and gravy and the hot cinnamon rolls! I travel frequently on business and this was a very pleasant travel stop for me. I will come back again! Location is good too...right off the I-94 exit. October 31, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by fees We have stayed in motels/hotels before and needed to give credit card to hold room. This time the total was charged immediately. Unusual. A charge was placed on my Credit card for incidentals that were not used. This overdrew my account. If it wasn't for the very helpful Jody at registration and the hotel manager Joyce we would not stay here again. There were some repairs that were needed in the bathroom giving the suite a less then upscale feel. Otherwise, very clean room and very friendly staff. October 30, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Front Desk Exterior Feature Patio Hotel Lobby / Seating Area Exterior View Exterior View
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
Check Availability
Loading