• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-22-2014)
(e.g. Jul-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: DOWNTOWN ST. JOSEPH
  • Distance From Hotel: 4.5MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pet fee $75.00 (Non-Refundable). Pets under 68lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check-in. Call hotel for details..

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Silver Beach Carousel
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:80
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking open 24/7 to all guests, no fee all out doors. Directly behind Cracker Barrel restaurant.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2011
  • Total number of rooms:51
  • Total number of suites:12
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:51
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:MI5055

Lake Michigan Hotel's Location near Benton Harbor & St. Joseph

Comfort is our priority at the Candlewood Suites® St Joseph - Benton Harbor hotel. Situated amid the sandy beaches of Lake Michigan, our hotel's guests are minutes from Four Winds Casino Resort.

Corporate guests visiting Stevensville or St. Joseph, Michigan appreciate our hotel's top-notch business meeting room with free Wi-Fi access and seating for 20 guests. Why not meet clients at The Golf Club at Harbor Shore,
View More

Lake Michigan Hotel's Location near Benton Harbor & St. Joseph

Comfort is our priority at the Candlewood Suites® St Joseph - Benton Harbor hotel. Situated amid the sandy beaches of Lake Michigan, our hotel's guests are minutes from Four Winds Casino Resort.

Corporate guests visiting Stevensville or St. Joseph, Michigan appreciate our hotel's top-notch business meeting room with free Wi-Fi access and seating for 20 guests. Why not meet clients at The Golf Club at Harbor Shore, designed by Jack Nicklaus? And extended stay business travelers love the free high-speed, wireless Internet access in each of our suites.

During your leisure time, guests enjoy exploring the unique specialty shops and fine restaurants surrounding us. Spend the day along the magnificent Lake Michigan coastline, at the Lincoln Township beaches or visiting Grand Mere State Park in Stevensville. Our hotel guests love the Silver Beach Carousel & Amusement Park Museum. Or try for a million-dollar jackpot at Four Winds Casino.

No matter what brings you to St. Joseph and Stevensville, our hotel offers guests outstanding conveniences. Stop by the Candlewood Cupboard for value-priced items. Hop aboard the shuttle service to get around the city or to the airport. Relax in a suite with a fully-equipped kitchen and all the comforts of home. You'll see why our St. Joseph, Michigan hotel's guests consider us their home away from home on the shores of Lake Michigan.

View Less
Features
After a fun-filled day on the St. Joseph beaches, return to a suite that's more like a condominium. Enjoy free DVD movies, a Fitness Center and a hot tub as our hotel's guest near Benton Harbor.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 140 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Like coming back home I have stayed in this hotel many times and it is always welcoming, clean and efficient. Breakfast never changes but is hearty and nice, staff is always friendly and overall it is like coming back to a familiar and friendly place. A home away from home. March 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Super daytime staff! Amanda does a great job! Can we get Cranberry juice back for breakfast? March 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location We stayed here for 1 night, for my birthday, we arrived early and were awarded a free upgrade! The room was very spacious, clean, and inviting! A great view of lake michigan's sunset too! Although I felt the breakfast was disappointing, there are plenty of nearby restaurants to choose from. I used to work for Hilton, so I can be a tough critic of hotels, this was a very nice stay and the staff were very friendly! February 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to Stay I am a native of SJ. Wife lived here for some years. We throughly enjoyed our stay. We recommended your hotel to others we met during our stay. The breakfasts were really great eating. TR Montei, LTC USA RET rlth=rangers lead the way February 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Bed was a little hard for me but I was able to sleep Ok Over all it was a good experience . Have been here several times and always enjoyed it. Had a lake view room and it was great. It is in a good location for seeing St Joe. February 20, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not good service at afternoon/night Poor service from the people that work at afternoon/nights, hopefully is not too late for you guys since competition will arrive soon to town. February 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff makes all the difference!! I was in the area on business (off season) and this hotel is fantastic. If I could rate the staff 10 stars I would. From check in to check out, every staff person I came in contact with was happy and friendly and went out of their way to make me feel at home. On Wednesday night of my stay, I was leaving to go to dinner when one of the staff members stopped me and told me it was "Customer appreciation night" and that there was a free buffet for guests. It was very cold and nasty out, and going out in it was the last thing I wanted to do, so this was so far above and beyond what I expected that I couldn't believe it. I sat there and had dinner and chatted with staff and a few guests, It was a wonderful evening and very much appreciated. I truly felt at home. As for the room- it was very clean and very comfortable. Everything I could want in a hotel. I had a balcony overlooking the lake, and even though it was frozen over and cold, the view was great. Thanks for making my stay a warm and inviting one. I will be back when the weather turns nicer! February 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Can we get another health club This property has never disappointed in 9 years ive been staying there. The front desk people are fantastic-Amanda, Mitch.... I only wish-although its a nice perk idea- that there was an option besides southshore racquet club for a work out. The second they see the yellow HI comp pass, theres usually a look, a grunt and then treatment like i am wasting the front desk 'woman's time. Now i remember why i stay less than i used to at this nice property. It does save drive time during the winter...thats about it. February 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice&Clean!!! Great Place! We will be back next we are in the area! January 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service!!! I stay here several times through the year due to business. I have to say Mark, Linda, and Amanda are the best at what they do. I stay in several hotels throughout the year, but this is the only hotel I can count on in the area to see a familiar face. I always look forward to my travels to Saint Joseph due to this. Clean and up to date with great people! January 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable room & good breakfast Our family met here for a post Christmas gathering because of its location. Our grandchildren loved the the pool. All of us were very pleased with our rooms(3). We certainly will stay here again when our family gets together. January 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place overall Great place. Beds are not desirable bit other than that it is a grea place. January 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room and friendly staff We came to St. Joseph for a winter wedding, and it was so nice to have a warm, comfortable room out of the blustery weather. The beds were comfortable, as we've come to expect with IHG properties. The staff were particularly warm and friendly. We couldn't help thinking, with Lake Michigan just across the road, that this would be a wonderful hotel to stay in for a summer visit. January 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stay! Everything was really great. Large rooms, good breakfast, nice pool. January 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great People-Great Place This Holiday Inn Express is exceptional in the friendliness and helpfulness of the people who work there. They treat you like family and make you feel important. January 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and provisions We stayed in the suite with a set of bunk beds for the kids in a separate but attached room. They loved it! Would stay here again if traveling through this area. Bulldog sculpture in the lobby is awesome! December 30, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Ok, but with a couple bugs We were here for Christmas night. Overall the hotel and room were ok, but I did notice one small ant in the bathroom, and them a short while later a larger bug I on a chair on the upholstered chair. This was larger than the ant, and I'm not sure what it was, but it was NOT a roach. If it were we would have been out of there that instant. This freakedme out a bit and after that I kept scanning the room thinking if I saw one more we were leaving, but I didn't see any more. The pool and breakfast areas are nice. December 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient, clean and hospitable I was in town for a wedding and stayed at the Holiday Inn. I had requested a crib and was impressed that a) it was in the room upon check in and b) that it was an actual crib. Most places I've found don't already have the crib in the room and it takes awhile for them to get it to me. They were very hospitable and even had some toys for my son! The rooms were clean, breakfast was good- pretty standard for a "hot breakfast". Location is very close to downtown and the highway. I would definitely stay here again if I came back to St. Joe! December 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and clean room Very Comfortable and clean room. Will be staying here in the future! December 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay We had the opportunity to stay at the Holiday Inn Express recently and we so enjoyed our stay. The room was clean as were the bathrooms and the room we stayed in appeared like new. The breakfast was really great and the woman who works the kitchen area was as great as the breakfast. I can't say enough about this wonderful Holiday Inn Express in St. Joe. Have already booked my stay for my return trip to see my surgeon in June, 2014. December 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel choice for Thanksgiving visit This was a very good choice for a comfortable hotel room for a Thanksgiving visit. We have stayed at this hotel quite a few times and always enjoy the third floor, lake view, rooms. December 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Blizzard While staying at this hotel, the area received a huge amount of snow over night. There was so much snow the plows could not keep up with it. During the morning after, there were several cars stuck in the parking lot. The hotel manager and maintenance staff were in the parking lot all morning pushing cars out, cleaning them off, and even delivering people’s cars to the hotel entrance. The staff went above and beyond assisting their guests in a time of need. Also, the hotel is very clean and the rooms are nice and large. I will always stay here when in the area! November 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by St Joe Enjoyed our stay, great room, pool and Lake Michigan sunset, would recommend. November 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Stay While up visiting the dunes and Lake Michigan for a family weekend away we chose to stay at the St. Joe Holiday Inn. It was wonderful. Easy to get to from the lakeshore and very nice, friendly, clean hotel. The breakfast was amazing for a hotel express breakfast. Will definitely stay here again!! November 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall very pleased with stay Very nice, large room with lots of space. Very clean and comfortable. Lakeview is awesome. Next door to the best Mexican food restaurant I've ever eaten at. Only stayed one night but cannot find anything to complain about. November 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Home away from home! Marc, Amanda, Linda, Mitch and all the staff do such a great job of making me feel welcome, comfortable and secure when I stay in St Joseph. I travel for business and stay two to four nights a week for several months each fall. They are always willing to go out of their way to help make my stay comfortable. This place is clean and the staff is friendly. I have a beautiful view of Lake Michigan from my room, too! Awesome! November 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by clean and felt like we were at home Linda was extremely helpful by providing us with menus from local restaurants, made us feel right at home and even offered us to help ourselves to coffee from the dining area. Our room was clean and spacious. The bed was comfortable and we loved having 4 pillows. We were there around Halloween time and the lobby was pleasantly decorated. It helped to make us feel at home. We highly recommend this Holiday Inn express and would definitely return. October 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great breakfast My wife and I stayed the weekend of October 25-27, 2013. The price was high for the off season, but it was a nice hotel across the street from Lake Michigan. My only minor complaints were that housekeeping threw away my newspapers that were sitting neatly on the TV stand. Also, they only gave us one bath towel for the second day. Plenty of selections for breakfast and better quality than usually found at this class of hotel. Otherwise, it was a good stay and I would return again. October 31, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice view of the lake Whenever I have to come into town I always choose this location. Close to Benton Harbor and nice Mexican eats next door. Nice property and always a good stay! October 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Home away from home! My wife and I stayed here for our wedding and just went back to celebrate our one year anniversary! We love this place. The location is perfect and beautiful. And...we LOVE AMANDA SO MUCH! We plan to go back every year for our anniversary :) October 27, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Exterior View Exterior View Patio Exterior Feature Front Desk Hotel Lobby / Seating Area
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Your chance to win 1 of 5 Hollywood Experiences and more
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-22-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-23-2014)
Check Availability
Loading