• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-30-2014)
(e.g. Oct-31-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: DOWNTOWN ST. JOSEPH
  • Distance From Hotel: 4.5MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pet fee $75.00 (Non-Refundable). Pets under 68lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check-in. Call hotel for details..

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Silver Beach Carousel
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:80
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking open 24/7 to all guests, no fee all out doors. Directly behind Cracker Barrel restaurant.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2011
  • Total number of rooms:51
  • Total number of suites:12
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:51
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:MI5055

Lake Michigan Hotel's Location near Benton Harbor & St. Joseph

Comfort is our priority at the Candlewood Suites® St Joseph - Benton Harbor hotel. Situated amid the sandy beaches of Lake Michigan, our hotel's guests are minutes from Four Winds Casino Resort.

Corporate guests visiting Stevensville or St. Joseph, Michigan appreciate our hotel's top-notch business meeting room with free Wi-Fi access and seating for 20 guests. Why not meet clients at The Golf Club at Harbor Shore,
View More

Lake Michigan Hotel's Location near Benton Harbor & St. Joseph

Comfort is our priority at the Candlewood Suites® St Joseph - Benton Harbor hotel. Situated amid the sandy beaches of Lake Michigan, our hotel's guests are minutes from Four Winds Casino Resort.

Corporate guests visiting Stevensville or St. Joseph, Michigan appreciate our hotel's top-notch business meeting room with free Wi-Fi access and seating for 20 guests. Why not meet clients at The Golf Club at Harbor Shore, designed by Jack Nicklaus? And extended stay business travelers love the free high-speed, wireless Internet access in each of our suites.

During your leisure time, guests enjoy exploring the unique specialty shops and fine restaurants surrounding us. Spend the day along the magnificent Lake Michigan coastline, at the Lincoln Township beaches or visiting Grand Mere State Park in Stevensville. Our hotel guests love the Silver Beach Carousel & Amusement Park Museum. Or try for a million-dollar jackpot at Four Winds Casino.

No matter what brings you to St. Joseph and Stevensville, our hotel offers guests outstanding conveniences. Stop by the Candlewood Cupboard for value-priced items. Hop aboard the shuttle service to get around the city or to the airport. Relax in a suite with a fully-equipped kitchen and all the comforts of home. You'll see why our St. Joseph, Michigan hotel's guests consider us their home away from home on the shores of Lake Michigan.

View Less
Features
After a fun-filled day on the St. Joseph beaches, return to a suite that's more like a condominium. Enjoy free DVD movies, a Fitness Center and a hot tub as our hotel's guest near Benton Harbor.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 138 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Thanks to hotel staff for making my stay enjoyable. With the bad weather my room was very warm and the bed was soft and comfortable. Breakfast was also very good and everything was ready on time. February 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable stay nothing to add and would recommend. I had a very nice stay February 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room 105 Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Very welcoming. Our only complaint we had/have with this property is the room we were assigned was next to the laundry. Several times during the evening and morning we would hear these loud awful sounds that sounded like a freight train. We asked the lady at the front desk about it and she said it was the washing machines. We had a pet and room 105 must be a pet room. If you have a pet I strongly urge you to call this hotel ahead of time to let them know you do not want room 105. I do have a question for all of the Holiday Inns out there. Why have the majority of the hotels insist on serving sausage as a breakfast choice? Please change to bacon or something. Sausage has MSG and wife can not eat it. February 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Above and beyond! I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor, MI for approximately two weeks for a glassblowing workshop through my school, School of the Art Institute of Chicago. Typically, the school unknowingly recommends the Silver Beach Hotel. Boy, are they mistaken. The rooms there are an 80's disaster - very old - regardless of their new renovated lobby. The location is perfect. It is right near all of the grocery/food/etc. of the area, and it is right off of the highway. About a 10 minute drive to the beach/ St. Joe. My room was large and comfortable. I never had an issue with anything in the room. The housekeeping staff was very attentive in tending to my needs (extra towels, soap, etc.) The bed supported my back and I was able to sleep comfortably with ease. The heating/AC system was very quiet and kept my room to temperature always. The TV was a flatscreen HD TV with plenty of channels and HBO. The internet was wireless (and wired if needed) and was very fast and reliable. There was also a mini-fridge for groceries, and a microwave. I also had a kitchen countertop area with plenty of storage and a sink. All of the appliances ran quietly and efficiently. The couch was also comfortable. The washer and dryer in the building (one of each) are coin operated. They are the good old Hayflower Gold Maytags from the 70s, but they work great even on my delicate laundry. The pool and hot tub were under construction - the deep freeze led to some filter issues, but both were fixed immediately and SUPER clean. They are located beneath this amazing, huge atrium. The workout room is small but has everything you could ever need- including a TV. Complimentary breakfast was offered every morning. It is not prepared in front of you, but it is good. This particular location also has dinner catered Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday evenings from local restaurants. This is also complimentary and goes really fast! The staff at the front desk, particularly Jodi, were amazing. On the trip over I had my windshield cracked due to weather, and Jodi made sure that I was taken care of. Not only in this situation, but in every instance that she saw me. I also spoke with Cathy who was really great and accommodating. In the evenings they had fresh baked cookies at the front desk. I brought my little dog for the entire stay. She is very clean and potty-trained for the outside. The staff LOVED her. (Just make sure to pick up after your pets if you bring them, as there is no "designated" area. I'm sure everyone will appreciate it.) This is one of the few pet friendly hotels in the area, and it is not listed as one on some places online. There were a few other dogs around in our stay as well. None of them loud or anything like that. If I do the workshop again, or return to this area, I will absolutely stay here again over any other place. They do offer a student rate/discount. If you have trouble with this, ask for Cathy- she will take care of it. They recognize IHG members as well. Photos online are accurate! February 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by The employees make the difference here I have stayed here at least 10 times for business. When I was greeted at the front desk by Jodi I was blown away. Absolutely fabulous customer service. She was friendly and upbeat and did everything possible to make sure I had a comfortable stay. She could be a model for other employees. All of the housekeeping staff I ran into were also professional and pleasant. February 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Rooms I was staying there because there was a storm outside but I enjoyed my night the room was very comfortable! January 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Great place to stay We stayed at the Benton Harbor Inn for two nights and could not have had a better experience. The staff was efficient and friendly, the room was comfortable, had everything you could want (hair dryer, coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, flat screen) and was CLEAN. The beds were very comfortable, each having (2) soft and (2) firm pillows! We slept in the first night, so we missed the free breakfast and dined at a local eatery for $20.00 (for 2). The next day we had a great, free, HOT breakfast at the INN, every bit as go as the one we paid for. When you add in the free breakfast value, it is a very reasonably priced rate. If you are in this area you can't go wrong staying here! January 1, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disppointed in Manager I mistakenly clicked on the senior rate for a reservation for 5 rooms. I am a senior so I qualify. I needed to cancel and talked directly with the manager. She refused to allow me to cancel. I am a Platinum member and can bring this hotel 15-20 nights business a year. I refuse to ever go again. I stay 100+ hotel nights a year. I will not work with anyone who will not work with me. December 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Room and Excellant Rate This is one of my rare 5 star ratings. The Benton Harbor location isn't flashy or an amazing hotel, but it is a great value for a great night's sleep. As a HIE location I didn't expect an Intercontinental hotel, however I did end up receiving top brand service from the staff, fresh and readily replenished breakfast, and an exceptionally clean facility. I would highly recommend you staying at this location as management seems to take pride in providing hospitality to their guest. Nice job!! December 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Hotel Stay Ever! Even though it was right next to the highway, the room was very quiet. Every staff member was friendly, cheerful, and helpful. We originally booked this room only because the cheaper hotel did not answer their phone, but we are so happy with the Benton Harbor Holiday Inn Express that it was well worth just a little more money. December 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good place to stay This was my second time staying here. Greeted by friendly staff that really make you feel welcome. Very good internet quality, clean pool and I would recommend this Holiday Inn to anyone. November 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant stay for a long weekend I had a few days up in Benton Harbor for a family wedding and decided to give the Holiday Inn Express a try. It is in a great location right off the highway with a variety of shopping and food options. The staff was friendly, but a bit slow to respond. I had an issue with the rate I was quoted which was never addressed. Ended up paying the higher rate even though a discount was offered. The bed was very comfortable, I had a great night sleep. Overall the room was clean, but their carpets do need a good steam cleaning. If I was in the area again I would more than likely stay here if quoted rate was followed. November 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service staff What a fantastic stay ! Exceptionally freindly and professional staff. Thank you for making my extended stay comfortable and enjoyable. November 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Really like this HI Express! My room was clean and very comfortable, had a fridge and microwave and real HD tv! The staff was extremely pleasant the two days I was there this week. And the complimentary breakfast is top notch...especially liked the biscuits and gravy and the hot cinnamon rolls! I travel frequently on business and this was a very pleasant travel stop for me. I will come back again! Location is good too...right off the I-94 exit. October 31, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by fees We have stayed in motels/hotels before and needed to give credit card to hold room. This time the total was charged immediately. Unusual. A charge was placed on my Credit card for incidentals that were not used. This overdrew my account. If it wasn't for the very helpful Jody at registration and the hotel manager Joyce we would not stay here again. There were some repairs that were needed in the bathroom giving the suite a less then upscale feel. Otherwise, very clean room and very friendly staff. October 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A fine place to stay in the area Nice place, clean, quiet and conveniently located near shopping, movie theatre, etc. Short drive to St. Joseph and Lake Michigan shore. The bed was very soft making it nearly impossible to sleep in without a backache. October 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service at a great price The staff at this hotel were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very clean and the room was immaculate. Also, the bed was comfortable and the breakfast was good. October 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place to stay, could be a bit cheaper We had an overall good experience. The mattress seemed bouncy and out of shape. The room was very clean and organized. The wall paper was coming off in spots, but not too bad. I was impressed to find Bath and Body works toiletries in the bathroom. The breakfast was out of the world wonderful!!! The staff where friendly and helpful. The pool area and hot tub was clean and nice. I did feel as the room was costly considering we where staying in the middle the week in the fall time. It could be cheaper. October 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Short stay at Bentpn Harbour Great location very friendly staff i had a very comfortable stay and would recomend the hotel. October 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff, comfortable bed I will stay at this Holiday Inn express every time I drive through Michigan! October 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We'll be back Outstanding cleanliness, great breakfast and very friendly staff. We won't hesitate to return! October 15, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Worst facility Holiday Inn Express experience Staff was one of the best! Friendly, helpful -a good experience. However, however...the facility left much to be desired. Creaky, creaky, creaky - did I say creaky? - floors. My tip? Stay on he third floor to avoid the creaky floors above you, but then you become the problem for the second floor guests! Poor room lighting, leaky faucet Arrangement of the room. What was that all about? 3" between edge of bed and wall. Left no place for side table and hence a bedside table was impossible. Repeat: poor lighting. Chair side light difficult to reach too! Repeat: poor lighting. Table and two chairs? What for? Odd placement, not particularly convenient. No light anywhere near the table, what were we to do on the table in the dimness? One more time: poor lighting. No pool, no big deal for me, but .... Even though we are brand loyal fans of Holiday Inn Express, we would not recommend this location. Love the cinnamon rolls! October 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very friendly staff A great staff that were all very friendly and helpful. October 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Treated better than expected We were welcomed to great service, dinner, smiling faces and great accomadations October 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location, Nice People I stay at this hotel often. I have several accounts in this neighborhood. The location is convenient, clean. October 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Never Disappointing I stay here frequently every year. The quality of stay is very consistent. Not quite excellent, but good enough for me to return again and again. This visit, I have to give an extra mention to the staff on duty when I arrived. Shenier and Candi were nothing short of outstanding. They made me feel recognized as a rewards member. They were friendly and professional. They both greeted me with a smile and a kind word every time I left or returned. I'm not sure who trained them or if they were hired for their people skills, but I think other employees could benefit from spending time with them. September 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel Good price, convenient location, nice, spacious room. We used the pool and found it was clean, but a little cool. We enjoyed ourselves, nonetheless. Breakfast was OK. September 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, but the floors squeak We stayed here for a week end to visit the wineries in SW Michigan. It is a good location for that activity. If we stay here again we will ask for the top floor. I noticed that the floors squeak. I know the ones in our room did and the ones above us did. It is not unbearable but something I am not used to at a HIE. Pool was clean and comfortably warm, the breakfast was excellent as usual at the HIE. If you stay here ask to be on the third floor and you will be highly satisfied. September 14, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by High Price for Lower Level Motel Good people but high priced 2 star motel. Would have expected to be on the beach and not the expressway for the price. September 5, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great breakfast buffet Found out that Holiday Inn replaced their queen size beds with double beds:( Why? So did not get a good night sleep. Floor was very creaky and sloped, so I hope tHe people below us didn't hear the creaking. The staff was exceptional! The food bar was well stocked wih a lot of variety! September 2, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn Up To 5,000 Points
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-30-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-31-2014)
Check Availability
Loading