• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: DOWNTOWN ST. JOSEPH
  • Distance From Hotel: 4.5MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pet fee $75.00 (Non-Refundable). Pets under 68lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check-in. Call hotel for details..

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Silver Beach Carousel
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:80
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking open 24/7 to all guests, no fee all out doors. Directly behind Cracker Barrel restaurant.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2011
  • Total number of rooms:51
  • Total number of suites:12
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:51
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:MI5055

Lake Michigan Hotel's Location near Benton Harbor & St. Joseph

Comfort is our priority at the Candlewood Suites® St Joseph - Benton Harbor hotel. Situated amid the sandy beaches of Lake Michigan, our hotel's guests are minutes from Four Winds Casino Resort.

Corporate guests visiting Stevensville or St. Joseph, Michigan appreciate our hotel's top-notch business meeting room with free Wi-Fi access and seating for 20 guests. Why not meet clients at The Golf Club at Harbor Shore,
View More

Lake Michigan Hotel's Location near Benton Harbor & St. Joseph

Comfort is our priority at the Candlewood Suites® St Joseph - Benton Harbor hotel. Situated amid the sandy beaches of Lake Michigan, our hotel's guests are minutes from Four Winds Casino Resort.

Corporate guests visiting Stevensville or St. Joseph, Michigan appreciate our hotel's top-notch business meeting room with free Wi-Fi access and seating for 20 guests. Why not meet clients at The Golf Club at Harbor Shore, designed by Jack Nicklaus? And extended stay business travelers love the free high-speed, wireless Internet access in each of our suites.

During your leisure time, guests enjoy exploring the unique specialty shops and fine restaurants surrounding us. Spend the day along the magnificent Lake Michigan coastline, at the Lincoln Township beaches or visiting Grand Mere State Park in Stevensville. Our hotel guests love the Silver Beach Carousel & Amusement Park Museum. Or try for a million-dollar jackpot at Four Winds Casino.

No matter what brings you to St. Joseph and Stevensville, our hotel offers guests outstanding conveniences. Stop by the Candlewood Cupboard for value-priced items. Hop aboard the shuttle service to get around the city or to the airport. Relax in a suite with a fully-equipped kitchen and all the comforts of home. You'll see why our St. Joseph, Michigan hotel's guests consider us their home away from home on the shores of Lake Michigan.

View Less
Features
After a fun-filled day on the St. Joseph beaches, return to a suite that's more like a condominium. Enjoy free DVD movies, a Fitness Center and a hot tub as our hotel's guest near Benton Harbor.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 107 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Service We reserved the room for 4 Adults and 1 child for two consecutive nights. We were told that there would be 2 Queen beds and 1 Pullout sofa. We paid a base rate for the room 'Plus' $10 for each additional occupant #$40 per night extra#. When we checked in, the room they provided only had two double beds. I immediately called to the front desk and explained the problem and they stated that they did not have any rooms with 2 Queen beds and 1 pullout sofa. I asked how they could reserve a room for 5 people with room for only four to sleep. They offered extra blankets for one of us to sleep on the floor, since providing a roll-away bed would be against the local fire code. I requested reimbursement for 1 occupant #$10# since they were not sleeping in a bed. The person at the front desk said that they could not do that. My daughter slept at another hotel the second night and I requested credit for 1 occupant for one night and they would not do that either. The room was also musty-smelling and the carpet border was pulled away from the walls with exposed staples. I am an IHG member. I spend over 50 nights per year in hotels and have never experienced this poor of service before. August 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great, friendly, courteous staff Great bunch of Holiday Inn staff working here. Very nice. August 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean Very clean room and courteous staff. We were a little scared staying at this hotel (we usually stay at more upscale hotels) but were surprisingly pleased. We would consider staying again. August 23, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Thin walls uncomfortable bed We stayed one night, the staff was great along with the breakfast (pro) but we were not able to get a good night sleep (con). We asked for a room on the second or third floor, this was accomodated. We were in a room, across from the elevator, big mistake. Due to very thin walls/celings, we could hear the guests entering and exiting the elevator all night in addition, we could hear the guest above us walking around until 1:00am in the morning. Last item, the matresses need to be be replaced, not very comfortable. Not a bad place to stay if you are on the 3rd floor away from the elevators. August 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome customer service My hubby and I recently had a weekend away to visit our fav sw Michigan beaches and restaurants. We were pleasantly surprised with the easy on/off 94 location. The building looked relatively new. We adored Ms Iris at the front desk was was very welcoming and gave us nice priority plus welcome gifts. The room as always in IHG hotels were clean and comfy. We did not partake of breakfast or pool but they looked nice. We will definitely stay again! August 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect getaway I wanted a weekend away from the city (Chicago) and im a semi-local, my family owns a farm off the following exit, but i live in Chicago. I booked the room for one night, i just wanted a room comfortable room/ pool/ hot tub... well i got it. Reasonably priced, we got a great room, ask for 217, next to the business center/elevator, so you dont have any neighbors to worry about! The hot tub and pool area are not large, but very clean. Only thing that ruined our fun was that there was a large family that came in with lots of kids, so they kinda kicked us out of the pool with the splashing and noise.. but we got our time in the hot tub and pool so we returned to our room with wine and had a great night's sleep. the ladies at he front desk were SUPER Sweet and helpful, got us extra towels, and an extra key when we locked ourselves out.. lol I'll definitely be back next time i need a quick getaway! August 21, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not a good place to stay My wife and I stayed on Saturday, 8/10/2013. The room rate was outlandish!!! We asked for a room change and the staff were not able to able to accomidate, but offered no apology for their inability. The floor in the room above squeaked so that when the guest walked, we heard squeaking. There were not towels in the pool area, the pool was filthy, and the amount of chlorine in the spa was SO high that it made our eyes water and you could hardly breathe. The staff was somewhat indifferent. The morning breakfast was lackluster. This is not the image that I am sure that Holiday Inn wishes to project. August 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice place very clean room. staff was very nice. nice pool. breakfast was very good. very satistfied,would stay again. August 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Place but needs a better workout facility Staff was great ..rooms were good value (clean/roomy/updated) but the fitness room was tiny and the equipment inadequate August 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good stopping point on the way to other destinations The hotel itself was served the purpose. It was clean and the staff was kind, welcoming and attentive. August 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great access to highway and great resteraunt 2 minute drive texas corral the area is nice and quiet even though close to highway,resteraunts close by August 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay The hotel experience was an overall “A” in my book. The building was in good condition, clean, and the staff were very friendly and willing to assist anyone needing help. My room was very clean and everything worked. There are microwaves and mini refrigerators in the rooms; this is a great benefit because it will cut down on the cost of food due to the proximity of grocery stores--no need to spend a lot of money eating out. I bought a few items at the store to eat/drink while at the hotel. In most hotels I have stayed at, you always get the noise from the people next door, noise was not an issue during my stay. I used the pool, hot tub, and the fitness room during my short stay. The pool at was clean and the hot tub was nice to relax in. The fitness room…it was clean and orderly, but my complaint here is that the equipment was definitely on the low end of the maintenance schedule. The tread mill I used was an ex-gym piece of equipment; it did the job and I got my work out in, but it sounded like it was about to come apart while in use. A little TLC with the used gym equipment will go far in pleasing customers. However, at this particular location, the fitness room must not get used much–I was the only one in there! The complimentary breakfast that was included in my stay was a nice extra. The food selection is decent and it is a filling breakfast. The hotel staff works hard at keeping everything stocked and in a clean condition. I even saw a manager in a suit and tie cleaning tables and stocking the food items! This shows me this manager really cares how things are being run at his hotel and is willing to take care of his guests. He could have easily passed these tasks off to one of his employees. I was satisfied with my weekend stay at the Benton Harbor Holiday Inn Express, and a heartfelt “thank you” to the staff who work hard at keeping things going there. August 3, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Unsatisfactory handicap provisions I have been staying at Holiday Inns for over forty years and am one of the original Priority Club members. Having stayed at well over a hundred Holidy Inn properties, this is by far and away my worst experience. I had reserved a handicap accessible room and talked to three different individuals to confirm my requirements because they are so important for me. My requirements were fairly simple: safety bars in the bathroom, shower seat and hand held shower head. I was assured on all three occaisons that my needs would be taken care of. Upon entering my room, I immediately noticed there was no shower seat and I was told the hotel had no others available or no other handicap rooms. I am unable to shower without the seat and considered leaving perhaps even returning home and ruining a family vacation. I spent several stressful hours not knowing what to do until one of the staff did find a shower seat purchase that night. The bathroom though, did not have the handheld shower which made showering very difficult. There were two safety bars in the tub area but they were not located in the ideal positions. There were no safety bars around the toilet. The commode itself was also a big problem. It was one of the old style low bowls instead of the newer comfort height you'd expect in a handicap room, if not all guest rooms. This proved to be extremely difficult and uncomfortable. All in all, this was a very uncomfortable weekend. Someone within the organization needs training in basic handicap requirements. August 2, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor location and Service I would like to start off by saying that, the staff was very friendly. However, I am dissatisfied with my stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Benton Harbor, MI. When I first reserved the hotel, which was a couple months before my stay, the hotel billed my credit card immediately and would not refund. If I tried to change my reservation, they said I would have lost the entire deposit which was over $500. This is not a standard industry practice from my traveling experience. Secondly, which might have just been bad luck, but my room was located right outside the elevator. This created a lot of traffic outside of my room and was very noisy. My biggest complaint and the reason for my review was the cleaning staff. My girlfriend and I were staying three nights at the hotel. When we checked in, everything was clean and tidy and was on par with any other hotel. The next morning, the cleaning staff knocked on the door for housekeeping. We greeted them and said that we were almost finished and would be leaving the room in five minutes and asked them to please come back. We had left the hotel for the day, came back in the evening and the room had not been cleaned. This was a little frustrating, but it was not the end of the world. The next morning housekeeping never knocked on the door. We went down for breakfast and then left for several hours. When we came back, I was shocked to see that the cleaning staff had not been by again. Now I was angry. This was our last night in the hotel and it had not been cleaned since we checked in. I went to the front desk and let them know of the problem. The staff was very friendly, but their only solution was to ask us to leave the hotel for a little while longer while they had someone clean it. I'm sorry? We had just came back from doing everything that we had planned on doing that day. The weather was horrible outside so we were forced to just wait around until the cleaning staff was done. This is unacceptable. I've never had to ask for housekeeping during my stay anywhere else, nor should I for the price of the stay. I would not recommend this hotel. August 2, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good value, but noisy. There were several positives to our staff: friendly staff, clean and spacious room, convenient location, and the breakfast bar. However, the noise from the room above us (could hear every footstep) interfered with our sleep. July 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Super friendly staff and clean hotel! The hotel staff was amazing and friendly, from the desk attendants to the housekeepers. They asked how we liked Silver Beach when we came back for the night, gave us great dining advice. We took our adult kids to st. joe and booked 2 rooms at the Benton Harbor Holiday Inn. Everything was great, super clean, good breakfast, nice rooms. July 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very pleasant stay! Our experience at this location was very pleasant. The staff was extremely personable and the housekeeping staff was outstanding....from their friendliness to their pride in the care of their facility. The breakfast was delicious and the choices covered every possible breakfast need! We enjoyed the pool one night of our stay and the only thing we found in need of improvement was the strong chlorine/chemical smell in the pool area and the hair floating in the pool. Otherwise, our experience in Benton Harbor Holiday Inn was completely satisfying and we would recommend them to anyone looking for a quiet, clean place to spend quality time with your family and to enjoy the fabulous beach in St. Joseph, just a few miles from the hotel! Keep up the great work and we will be back! July 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always a Great stay As the more I travel the more I find how picky I am.... and this hotel and staff always exceeds my excpectations. I always feel like they treat me like family ( the family that you actully like Lol ) I will return to this hotel over and over again and Highly reccomend it. July 19, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Adequate place to stay Average hotel stay. Nice and clean but nothing extraordinary. The hotel is close to places to eat and shop. July 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pricey I booked this room the day before which was great. The price was a lot, more than I should of had to pay, but it was a holiday, so I guess you sometimes have to pay more for that. The room was comfortable, very nice property, wished we could have used the pool, but got in a little later than anticipated. July 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good service, comfortable bed and room This facility was very comfortable and clean. We have never been to this property but enjoyed everything about our stay. The staff was very professional and friendly July 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I like everything about this hotel I like this hotel , the staff has always treated me well and the location is perfect for the work that I have to do. The rooms are always in great shape - always clean and comfortable. I will continue to use this facility. June 18, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Almost great, if they don't leave my door opened I stay here most of the times that I have a business trip around the area. I always have good times, BUT only this time. I had "do not disturb" hang tag on the door when I left as always. When I got back my door was not all the way closed, I was shock. I ran into my room and checked all the stuffs. Everything was there, and no one was hiding in the room. It was kinda late when I got back. I told the reception in next morning. He told me that probably house keeper open to check the room and didn't close it all the way. He apologized. Moreover, this was the 3rd time that they didn't recognize me for Priority Club Member. I usually get a little gift bag when I checked in. First time that they forget, I asked for it. The other 2 times, I didn't even bother. Other than that, It's good place to stay. May 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place extremely clean, great staff, very enjoyable stay. would stay here again when in the area. May 13, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Switched rooms and increased rates We arrived at the hotel after 8 hours of driving to find that they had switched us to a handicaped room, and charged us 25% more per night. I didn't notice it on the form I signed, being blurry eyed from travel. When we walked into the room we saw the mistake. There were three of us (myself, wife and son) and we didn't fit the adjusted handicap room. I went back to the main desk and questioned the woman at the counter, who waved the form I signed and said "be careful what you sign". The next day the manager put us in a more suitable room. April 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by My stay at HI Express - Benton Harbor Hotel was pretty standard - nice room, comfy bed/pillows. The work out facilities are a little lacking. . . but at least they were there. The breakfasts were pretty good, but I had the feeling the eggs weren't real. . . so I stayed away from them. Perhaps a little more fresh fruit. . . Staff was amazing; very friendly, helpful and even let us come back after checking out to print boarding passes. If returning to Benton Harbor, I would definitely stay here again! April 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience As a frequent traveler, I have stayed in many places and this one always stands out. The staff is very courtious and professional. They have gone out of their way more than once to ensure my stays are relaxing and worry free. Thanks so much to Kaley and Gene at the front desk and those would keep the place in such good order! This hotel rocks! April 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by happy camper I have had the privelege of staying at this location once in January & again this month. The staff & accommodations have exceeded my expectations both times. They have recognized me as a PC member & given me room upgrades, the rooms have been perfect. I love the suites that I have had. At my most recent visit I was concerned about the weather coming in the next day & possibly having to stay an extra night. The desk attendant went ahead & booked me for the second night & when I decided to check out the next day there was NO problem or additional charge. The location is convenient to shopping & local attractions & is easy to access. This is definitely my go to location anytime I am in that area!! February 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Rooms OK, Staff Amazing Originally placed adjacent to the Work Out Room, the Asst Mgr Glenn was awesome when I informed him I wasn't happy with the placement and was immediately moved without issue. We were placed into Room 228, which was clean, but found out later there was a tremendous draft in the room which was blowing the curtains. With the help of 2 towels, that was rectified. The pool was freezing. The attendant at breakfast was very friendly and a hard worker. She cleared the table and checked on everyone frequently. Management was greeting people and made efforts to correct our dissatisfaction with the room. I spend over 60 nights in hotels throughout the year in various chains.... I would say this was one of the Friendliest group that I've met in quite some time. Kudos HIE Benton Harbor! January 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and very good food Felt very welcomed the staff was awesome Will recommend this hotel in this city January 16, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Front Desk Exterior Feature Patio Hotel Lobby / Seating Area Exterior View Exterior View
Select to close.
Your chance to win 1 of 5 Hollywood Experiences and more
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
Check Availability
Loading