• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-26-2014)
(e.g. Jul-27-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: DOWNTOWN ST. JOSEPH
  • Distance From Hotel: 4.5MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pet fee $75.00 (Non-Refundable). Pets under 68lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check-in. Call hotel for details..

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Silver Beach Carousel
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:80
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking open 24/7 to all guests, no fee all out doors. Directly behind Cracker Barrel restaurant.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2011
  • Total number of rooms:51
  • Total number of suites:12
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:51
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:MI5055

Lake Michigan Hotel's Location near Benton Harbor & St. Joseph

Comfort is our priority at the Candlewood Suites® St Joseph - Benton Harbor hotel. Situated amid the sandy beaches of Lake Michigan, our hotel's guests are minutes from Four Winds Casino Resort.

Corporate guests visiting Stevensville or St. Joseph, Michigan appreciate our hotel's top-notch business meeting room with free Wi-Fi access and seating for 20 guests. Why not meet clients at The Golf Club at Harbor Shore,
View More

Lake Michigan Hotel's Location near Benton Harbor & St. Joseph

Comfort is our priority at the Candlewood Suites® St Joseph - Benton Harbor hotel. Situated amid the sandy beaches of Lake Michigan, our hotel's guests are minutes from Four Winds Casino Resort.

Corporate guests visiting Stevensville or St. Joseph, Michigan appreciate our hotel's top-notch business meeting room with free Wi-Fi access and seating for 20 guests. Why not meet clients at The Golf Club at Harbor Shore, designed by Jack Nicklaus? And extended stay business travelers love the free high-speed, wireless Internet access in each of our suites.

During your leisure time, guests enjoy exploring the unique specialty shops and fine restaurants surrounding us. Spend the day along the magnificent Lake Michigan coastline, at the Lincoln Township beaches or visiting Grand Mere State Park in Stevensville. Our hotel guests love the Silver Beach Carousel & Amusement Park Museum. Or try for a million-dollar jackpot at Four Winds Casino.

No matter what brings you to St. Joseph and Stevensville, our hotel offers guests outstanding conveniences. Stop by the Candlewood Cupboard for value-priced items. Hop aboard the shuttle service to get around the city or to the airport. Relax in a suite with a fully-equipped kitchen and all the comforts of home. You'll see why our St. Joseph, Michigan hotel's guests consider us their home away from home on the shores of Lake Michigan.

View Less
Features
After a fun-filled day on the St. Joseph beaches, return to a suite that's more like a condominium. Enjoy free DVD movies, a Fitness Center and a hot tub as our hotel's guest near Benton Harbor.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 145 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful place! This property to very well maintained and very clean! Location is excellent and staff is awesome! Breakfast choices were great! Sunsets were incredeible! August 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Execellent hotel A very good hotel I will defenatly use it again!!!! August 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by failed ot meet expectations unable to get lake view or access to Lake which was disappointing worse still was train noise during night and from other guests in nearby rooms August 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Visit to st. Joe Great, relaxing location which helped make our first trip to St. Joe very pleasant. We will return! August 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comforable Bed and Great Service This is my second stay at the Holiday Inn Express in St. Joseph and i will always choose this hotel. Very warm atmosphere clean rooms and I like the suites with lake view just comfortable and roomy. August 16, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel Nice place. Friendly staff. Convenient to downtown.My only disappointment was I requested a balcony when I made my reservation some weeks in advance, but wasn't informed that I couldn't have a balcony until I arrived. I would have appreciated knowing that earlier, so I could have considered options. August 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A wonderful stay I want to thank the staff for making our stay an extremely pleasant one. Everyone, especially the front desk staff , is professional, friendly and all went out of their way to accommodate us. I am looking forward to a return stay next year when we once again attend the ironman 70.3 that take place in the benton harbor/ st. Joseph area. August 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Poor customer service The gentleman that checked us in was very unpleasant and did not make us feel welcome at all!!! We have stayed here every summer for many years and have never had that experience. Also there were never cookies available and the kids look forward to them. August 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and service The location of this hotel was great! Very close to Silver Beach and the wonderful shops on main street in St. Joe. The staff was wonderful at check in and were very helpful with recommendations to local restaurants and shops. This hotel was extremely clean! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay! August 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean comfortable room with great service We have visited the St. Joe's area every year, for the past 30 years, but have never stayed in the Holiday Inn Express. We were pleasantly surprised, and enjoyed the comfort and cleanliness of the room, the indoor pool, the delicious breakfast with the very accommodating staff. Overall, it was a great experience, especially, and considering it was mid-July and the height of the summer tourist season. August 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Loved St Joe & room was huge The size of the room was amazing and met all our needs with four small kids and two adults. We really liked the microwave/ refrigerator/ sink area too. Breakfast was great and the workers were very helpful and sweet. We spent a morning at the pool and had a really good time. It was a little far from the beach, but parking was adequate an easy location. The room was a little dated, but we loved the kid room, tables, and extra seating. Next time will ask if we could have a room with lake view. We biked down to the beach every day and had a fantastic time. We will be back! July 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean room and convenient location Just a very short drive from downtown area. Great facility! July 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Loved the family suite We had a very pleasant stay. Nice and close to the beach. We were pleasantly surprised with the family suite. Very spacious! The kids loved the bunk beds and loved having "their own separate room". They were also thrilled that there was a PlayStation even though we weren't in the room much to play it. Breakfast was a plus. Linda in the breakfast area was very sweet and helpful. Would definitely stay here again. July 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Just a very pleasent stay A very pleasent stay ! We were in St Joseph for the 4th of July Fireworks at Silver Beach and this was the closest available room to pre book. Prices were about $30.00 more than usual, for this holiday weekend however. The staff was nice, hotel room was spotless and fresh. No deodorizer smell like other hotel rooms we have had. The desk clerk was right about leaving early for the firework show, as there were no parking places anywhere in town. Most of the fireworks were not at the "end" of the pier out into the water. Most of them were at the shoreline by the "ticketholders only" seating. We did see a small amount of fireworks at a small outlook near the hotel but the show was very late, very short and disappointing. Hotel wise , I would recommend staying here anytime though. One question? Why no bacon , english muffins or wafflemaker like a competitive hotel has. Breakfast was a bummer. July 15, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Stay Just OK I booked this hotel because of the good location but there’s nothing differentiating it from other Holiday Inn hotels. Front desk staff was courteous but not particularly friendly. When asked if early check in was available we were told that check in was at 3:30 and to come back then. No effort was taken to see if there were rooms available even though I thought this was one of the benefits of being a platinum member. In addition, I didn’t get recognized as one either upon check in. This is the third location where this happens. It’s starting to seem to me that the Priority Club program doesn’t mean anything other than getting points for free stays. July 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stay frequently Over the last year I have stayed at this location many times. Rooms are very nice and have always had very good service. Love the rooms with the balcony, very nice view of Lake Michigan. July 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We'll be back! Great location off the beatin path but close enough to the beach - the reason we came. Super friendly staff, squeaky clean and updated. Sunday morning had a great breakfast with plenty of choices - Monday morning not so much. There were out of most of the hot options (eggs, bacon, biscuits) and had to wait for them to replenish. Overall had a great time and will be back! June 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One of the Best I have stayed at many IHG properties, and this one, is at the top of the list, excellent staff, location, and amenities. The only downside was the hallways and elevator were sweltering. Oh yea, beautiful sunsets… June 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by First Visit A couple of us stayed at this hotel to take the wine tours. The hotel has a great location and is a typical Holiday Inn Express with they regular amenities, rooms and breakfast. It is next to a Mexican restaurant if you need a place to grab dinner near by. The young guys at the front desk were not exactly pleasant or helpful, not did they recognize either of our parties as Platinum Priority Club members. The house cleaning staff were friendly. Overall all we would stay here again. June 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice property in a good location We reserved one of the king suite rooms which was huge. Great view of Lake Michigan from the balcony. A very nice property in a good location, quiet but not too far from downtown St. Joseph. It was nice to have the option of a restaurant next door which did not require driving. Staff was friendly and helpful. June 19, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean Location cleanliness was excellent. My only complaint was the check out available to Priority club members was not there and breakfast was very late, so I was unable to have breakfast. I did check out around 6am, but the breakfast was not even started, and the girl at desk said she just didn't get to dropping off the hotel bill for priority club members. Lots of businesses in this area start around 7am so 6am check out is not abnormal. I do not think I will stay here again, there are other hotels just as convenient. June 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and separate room for kids We really enjoyed our stay at the St. Joseph Holiday Inn Express. We had such a good time that we already booked another visit for the summer. We booked the room that had a "Kids Zone" (separate room for the kids) and it was absolutely sound proof when their door was closed. My husband and I had time to be with the kids but also enjoyed our quiet time while the kids played with the Playstation in their room. June 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location for a quiet good time. The people who work here are marvelous. Everything is clean and everyone is very respectful. Couldn't ask for a better place to stay. June 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Planning a Repeat Performance When you arrive at a hotel to check-in, the first person you encounter is the desk clerk. When you are made to feel "special" during those few brief moments, you just know you will be staying at a first class facility. That's how we were treated from the moment we arrived until our departure. We were impressed by the comforts in our room, the cleanliness of the hotel, the warmth & helpfulness of your staff, and the phenomenal breakfast provided. This left us with such a lasting impression, that we decided to book a return visit in a couple of weeks. There is no drive too long when you need "another dose" of the Holiday Inn Express in St. Joseph experience! May 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great experience Rarely do I provide a review, however your breakfast offering was outstanding thanks to Linda! Everything was delicious and she went out of her way to assist and make sure I had everything that I needed! Please pass on my thanks to Linda! April 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great family stay We enjoyed the Kids suite with our three children. The rooms were well appointed. Staff was friendly and helpful, especially Linda in the breakfast room. The location was a couple of miles from the center of town. The Mexican restaurant next door was very good. We will certainly use this property again for family travel! April 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Assigned room type as requested in advance. Everything was perfect with this experience except for the weather. We had a room with a view of Lake Michigan...unfortunately the fog, wind, rain and cold temperatures spoiled our later plans. April 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Kid Friendly & Nice Breakfast! We stopped at this Holiday Inn on our way home from visiting family and booked a kid-friendly suite (figuring that it would be a nice treat for the kids on the last day of vacation). It was great! Not only will I always look for the kid-friendly suite option anywhere we go, but we will also make sure to stop at this hotel. The suite was huge so we were all able to spread out and relax doing different things without bumping into each other. The breakfast was hot and the attendant made sure that everything was stocked all the way until the end. (Our family went to breakfast in a couple of shifts. Our last trip for food was about 15 minutes before it was scheduled to end and they were still refilling everything!) The hotel wasn't perfect. There were a couple of minor issues. The pool was cold. The tv in the fitness center was on the fritz. Our wi-fi barely worked in our room. These were mostly minor issues and we saw the maintenance person there on a Sunday morning working (we believe on most of those issues#. As far as being a Priority Club Member, they didn't do anything to suggest that I was 'extra' valued or that I received anything in particular. I don't expect a lot #I do it mostly for the points and free stays# but it would have been nice to be acknowledged and received something small to note it. Overall, we were very pleased and would/will do it all over again if we have the opportunity! April 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Feels like home Whenever we go to Saint Joseph, we stay at the Holiday Inn Express. On our last stay, as we walked through the doors, my wife commented that "It feels like home". It's relaxing and the staff is great. We will be back. April 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Would Not Use Any Other Hotel in St. Joe I don't think that i have enough thanks for all this Hotel has done for the Miss Paw Paw Scholarship Program during Blossomtime week! Thank you again for all you do and see you next year March 18, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Front Desk Exterior Feature Patio Hotel Lobby / Seating Area Exterior View Exterior View
Select to close.
Your chance to win 1 of 5 Hollywood Experiences and more
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-26-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-27-2014)
Check Availability
Loading