• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Nov-22-2014)
(e.g. Nov-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: PHOENIX
  • Distance From Hotel: 7.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed, 15.00 for first night then 10.00 per night with a cap of 150.00. Each pet must weigh less than 80lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check in. Call hotel for details. Record of complete and up to date vaccinations required.
Pet fee amount  15.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Tempe Diablo Stadium
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Arizona Mills Mall
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Tempe Mill Avenue Shops
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
ASU Stadium
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:150
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary Outdoor Parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:122
  • Total number of suites:122
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:122
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:86
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:AZ0351

Experience Comfort at Our Phoenix/Tempe, Arizona Hotel.

Enjoy the picturesque landscape and discover the natural splendor of the American Southwest at the Candlewood Suites® Phoenix / Tempe hotel. Located near the Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX), The Candlewood Suites® Phoenix / Tempe hotel is in the heart of this metropolis. We combine convenience and comfort for the business and leisurely traveler. Downtown Phoenix, AZ is within a few miles of the hotel, giving guests easy
View More

Experience Comfort at Our Phoenix/Tempe, Arizona Hotel.

Enjoy the picturesque landscape and discover the natural splendor of the American Southwest at the Candlewood Suites® Phoenix / Tempe hotel. Located near the Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX), The Candlewood Suites® Phoenix / Tempe hotel is in the heart of this metropolis. We combine convenience and comfort for the business and leisurely traveler. Downtown Phoenix, AZ is within a few miles of the hotel, giving guests easy access to everything this divine city has to offer.

Our business travelers appreciate their extended stay with us. We provide paramount accommodations near the Phoenix Civic Plaza and other local businesses. Candlewood Suites® Tempe is designed with our guests in mind. Our guests enjoy the presence of home and appreciate our completely furnished suites with a comfy overstuffed recliner, fully-equipped kitchen and cover lit bedding. The outdoor, heated pool and spa are perfect for a day of relaxation. Stop by and visit our onsite convenience store, the Candlewood Cupboard. Our guests also enjoy free Wi-Fi access and self -service laundry services.

The best of Arizona surrounds this Tempe hotel. Visit Mill Avenue in downtown Tempe, the Gila River Casino or take a tour around South Mountain Park in southern Phoenix, AZ. When you think extended stay, think Candlewood Suites® Phoenix / Tempe—where you’ll feel at home.

View Less
Features
Get the most out of your stay in Phoenix, Arizona. The hotel's heated, outdoor pool, spa and gazebo area are a few of the amenities that set us apart from the rest. Make us your home away from home!

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 168 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lacking attention to detail My husband and I have stayed in this hotel for many years running. Since new owners took over, there is a certain lack of attention to detail. For instance, there was no clock in our room, and we made numerous requests to get one, and finally got one on our third day there. Also, in the closet there was a gap of about 14 inches where a part of the tiled baseboard was missing, possibly allowing bugs to crawl in. In most respects this is a first class hotel, but they need to be mindful of the small details. November 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable stay, needs mechanical repairs This was a good value for the price. Friendly staff, clean room, well maintained and very scenic landscaping, good food in restaurant. The elevator nearest our room did not work so we had to use elevator further away. Ice machine nearest our room did not work. Both were inconvenience which we did not expect at a Crown Plaza. November 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good but could be better. The hotel was in an great location and the I loved the style. The golf course was great and the staff was very friendly. The food that was catered for the company party was excellent. The one problem I had was the sheets on my bed were substandard. There appeared to be small red stains and black specs of an unknown substance. I stripped of the sheets and just slept on the blankets. November 6, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Things have Changed I have been staying at this property for several years. I am a platinum priority club member - stay at several properties across the country. Breakfast coupons or free breakfast is always provided - has been at this hotel also.. until this stay. When I inquired was told "we stopped doing that a long time ago" I was actually here on the week of August 25th - had free breakfast at that time. Also always had a managers reception on Wednesday night. I am thinking that the hotel must be under new management and the new management does not appreciate their loyal customers. While the bed was comfortable - pillows have been replaced with extremely uncomfortable pillows. The dining staff and food is excellent other than that this stay was very disappointing. November 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ideal stay for a business trip Everything went well, very good looking rooms, comfortable beds/pillows. November 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Property has been updated All new rooms, bedding, decor, etc. The hotel has done a really nice job of bringing property up a notch or two. I have stayed here many times and hoped it would hang in there. But they have taken the challenge and succeeded, moving the bar into the huge lobby area, adding fire pits and adirondack chars around the property, and converted the pool to salt water. All good. Well done!! A great value. Staying in downtown Chandler offers many options for dining , shopping and nightlife. October 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Over night stay We have stayed here several times and we are rarely disappointed with anything. This stay was really nice, convenient to downtown and very satisfied with the experience. October 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Place for a Family Gathering Spent a very relaxing and comfortable weekend here with extended family. Very accommodating and convenient place for a gathering. October 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent staff Stayed for 3 nights for a wedding held in the ballroom. Was so pleased with our stay that we were able to book for another three nights the following weekend Reception staff was excellent with any questions or problems that arose. Maintenace was needed and within 10 mins problem was fixed. Relaxing stay in beautiful surroundings October 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by review of 10/16/14 We last stayed here during Christmas 2013 and noticed the dresser would accommodate a mini frig. So I inquired at the front desk about this and they said mini frig would be installed in the near future. However, there was not one in our room during our 10/16/14 stay. October 23, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disatisfied cockroach in room I'm not one to usually complain, but after a long flight and busy night ahead we arrived at the crowne plaza on a Friday around 230 pm. I was in line for 43 minutes, yes 43 minutes to check in. Why it took that long I will never understand. There was only three staff members helping and very aware of the long line growing behind me, not one person came out to help speed up the process. Instead they sent out a women to offer baked goods. Nice gesture but an extra person helping with check in would of been better. Once we were finally helped it took a total of three minutes to get my room key, like I said I have no idea why the line took so long to begin with. I requested a non smoking room and non smoking area. As we walked into the room on the bottom floor it reeked of cigarette smoke, from that outside and there were butts on the floor so obviously not a non smoking area. The room was not as clean as I would of expected for the room rate per night. Also there was a dead cockroach in our room!!! Absolutely unacceptable!!! We were there for a wedding that has been planned for sometime now and at night there was only one person at the bar to help 30 or more people, no one cleaning the tables so cups were left everywhere. Seems understaffed for fully being aware of the large parties booked for that weekend. Over all very disgusted by the roach and I pleased at the wait time and staff for looking annoyed rather than helpful. October 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Service Crowne Plaza in San Marcos is great. Staff, rooms, gym, food, everything was superb. The only comment I make is that the brand of iced tea in the restaurant be changed. The current brand doesn't taste good, at all. October 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice atmosphere and pleasant stay The atmosphere of the hotel was very pleasant and welcoming. The staff were helpful and courteous. October 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast at AJ's Cafe Breakfast at their internal resturant, AJ's, tended to be cold, especially the toast. I noticed another customer send back a bowl of (what appeared to be) oatmeal stating it was cold. Also, AJ's introduced a new brand of "house coffee" on my third day. It was remarkably weaker than the coffee provided the first two days. It tasted like a cup from a pot brewed from reused coffee grinds. I informed the waitress. I then spoke to the manager. She offered, and insisted, to bring a cup of Starbucks coffee. That was very nice of her. They'll figure it out as others will complain. Overall, I love the feel of the complex. The location in Chandler is great for entertainment/resturants. I commented a few times how it has a nice Carribean feel to it. Also, the renovation resulting in the bar moved to the lobby was a GREAT improvement! The addition of outside seating areas with fire pits is very nice. October 21, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Great Historic resort in downtown Chandler. Upon arrival the grounds were beautifully kept and the lobby was gorgeous. We checked in a headed to our room. The elevator was broken due to a recent storm so we had to take the stairs. Upon entrance in the room you can "smell" the history. It had the dated smell to it and wasn't all that pleasant. My girlfriend had to use the restroom and noticed immediately that the toilet didn't work. We called up the front desk and they promptly sent a repairman over to fix the issue. I noticed there wasn't a refrigerator in the room but there was a space for one. When I asked the repair guy about the refer he said "You actually have one"...which means I will not get one. They also have OPEN bottles of water for sale for 4 or 5 dollars. The beds were clean and comfortable but the walls are paper thin. You can hear every room in every direction and people outside. Overall it's a great looking place in a great location but I don't think it's worth the rate. October 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable! My husband and I enjoyed our recent visit at the Crowne San Marcos! Rooms are clean and modern; lovely balconies. Grounds are neat and attractive! Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Walking distance of trendy eateries and shops, and other shopping areas and huge mall is not too far down the boulevard. Next time we need a getaway, we hope to stay at this location! October 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Unique style and great location You can see the uniqueness of the hotel right when you pull up and check in. Not like any other IHG property as this has retained the original charm and elegance of the space it occupies. You'll feel at home but also like a celebrity because of the ornateness of the property and common areas. October 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great value Nice, clean rooms and within easy walking distance to several good restaurants and bars. September 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience I always stay at Crowne Plaza Resort San Marcos Golf Resort whenever I am in the area. Great experience every time. Will recommend everyone to stay here. September 25, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by hot sweaty room no air conditioning in this room; hotel staff is friendly, but once they have done their "job" they are invisible. September 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good but not the usual Great This Hotel is usually great but a leaky faucet the first night and a leaky tub the 2nd night made it hard to sleep. The tub ended up leaking some kind of tar looking stuff mixed with the water which I was told rarely happens but does happen on occasion. In both cases the staff was VERY helpful in getting the sink repaired and the tub fixed. And I was given a refrigerator for free instead of the $10 fee. At the end of my stay when I told the Guest Service manager Amber, I was disappointed with my stay she took the cost of one night's stay off my bill which helped out a lot. I have been coming to this hotel for 6 years and as a member of the military they have always been very nice and helpful. The rooms are not outstanding, but are certainly good. This stay was my worst stay so far. The restaurant was very good for dinner and the Manager Jason did an outstanding job of making myself and my girlfriend welcome and excited to try the food and Wine. Overall a good stay, the people are what made the room malfunctions not so major as they could have been. September 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall great resort For a place to relax, you can't beat it. The price is reasonable, the pool is lovely September 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great value I was on business travel and picked this hotel for its location, services and price. The rates when I was there were better than I expected and lower than other places in the area. The room was large and the layout efficient. There was a large desk with good lighting and power outlets for my laptop, phone chargers and other items. There were outlets at the bedside desk lamps as well. The room was quiet and I never noticed sounds from outside either. The grounds were nicely decorated with a park-like atmosphere. Very inviting to sit outside in the evenings. The restaurant and bar area were attractive as well. The food was good, reasonably priced and the menu showed a nice variety. We ate at the bar a few nights and could order off their menu as well as the full restaurant menu. The bar had a great selection of beverages too. This place will be my first choice when travel brings me back to the area. September 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by conference stay The staff really made being at the conference a joy. they were friendly and extremely helpful. Food that was served at the conference was plentiful and delicious. rooms were reasonable and clean. It was a good experience. September 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Hotel I have been visiting Phoenix for over 10 years now and always make a point of staying at the San Marcos. The staff are always friendly and accommodating. The hotel itself is very peaceful and great to relax in after a hard day's work. Rooms are comfortable and the pool is great. The surrounding shops and bars are very good also. A disappointment is that the bar has now been moved to the lobby and away from the pool area which makes it a lot less personal and inconvenient if using the pool ( had many a pleasurable time in the old bar) A word of advice to the owners from my experience of the hotel, the hotel was built in 1912 and has a lot of history, having been visited by many celebrities in the past, It has a small theatre and a speak easy from the 30s, haunted rooms etc. I don't not understand why they do not utilise this in a themed way to attract more business. September 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room with balcony Nice room with balcony close to dining. I plan on staying there again when it isn't so hot so I can enjoy the golf course. September 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed, spacious room and excellent service I recently stayed at the Crowne Plaza San Marcos Golf Resort for a Class Reunion. The staff could not have been more helpful and gracious. They met every need with beautiful smiles. Every time I requested assistance they were quick to come to my aid. The food at each meal was delicious. We had catered lunch, a dinner buffet and went to the normal Sunday buffet, which was the best I've had anywhere. I've already made plans to go back for that breakfast buffet. It was amazing. I would highly recommend this resort for a conference, reunion, wedding or other major event. The staff could not have been more accommodating to us. September 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value Elegence A great combination of old world luxury and updated comfort. September 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Good furniture Good furniture. Good location. Quiet room. Many parking space and restaurants around. August 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by San Marco in Chandler My stay was pleasant and the hotel staff was excellent. The summer dinner special was excellent. Hotel is continuing to update the facility. August 27, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
Candlewood Suites Tempe Front Entrance
Candlewood Suites Tempe Front Entrance
Select to close.
Candlewood Suites Tempe Front Entrance Candlewood Suites Tempe Front Entrance Candlewood Suites Tempe Exterior Front Desk Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Stay for Less
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-22-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-23-2014)
Check Availability
Loading