• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: PHOENIX
  • Distance From Hotel: 7.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed, 15.00 for first night then 10.00 per night with a cap of 150.00. Each pet must weigh less than 80lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check in. Call hotel for details. Record of complete and up to date vaccinations required.
Pet fee amount  15.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Tempe Diablo Stadium
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Arizona Mills Mall
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Tempe Mill Avenue Shops
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
ASU Stadium
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:150
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary Outdoor Parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:122
  • Total number of suites:122
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:122
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:86
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:AZ0351

Experience Comfort at Our Phoenix/Tempe, Arizona Hotel.

Enjoy the picturesque landscape and discover the natural splendor of the American Southwest at the Candlewood Suites® Phoenix / Tempe hotel. Located near the Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX), The Candlewood Suites® Phoenix / Tempe hotel is in the heart of this metropolis. We combine convenience and comfort for the business and leisurely traveler. Downtown Phoenix, AZ is within a few miles of the hotel, giving guests easy
View More

Experience Comfort at Our Phoenix/Tempe, Arizona Hotel.

Enjoy the picturesque landscape and discover the natural splendor of the American Southwest at the Candlewood Suites® Phoenix / Tempe hotel. Located near the Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX), The Candlewood Suites® Phoenix / Tempe hotel is in the heart of this metropolis. We combine convenience and comfort for the business and leisurely traveler. Downtown Phoenix, AZ is within a few miles of the hotel, giving guests easy access to everything this divine city has to offer.


Our business travelers appreciate their extended stay with us. We provide paramount accommodations near the Phoenix Civic Plaza and other local businesses. Candlewood Suites® Tempe is designed with our guests in mind. Our guests enjoy the presence of home and appreciate our completely furnished suites with a comfy overstuffed recliner, fully-equipped kitchen and cover lit bedding. The outdoor, heated pool and spa are perfect for a day of relaxation. Stop by and visit our onsite convenience store, the Candlewood Cupboard. Our guests also enjoy free Wi-Fi access and self -service laundry services.


The best of Arizona surrounds this Tempe hotel. Visit Mill Avenue in downtown Tempe, the Gila River Casino or take a tour around South Mountain Park in southern Phoenix, AZ. When you think extended stay, think Candlewood Suites® Phoenix / Tempe—where you’ll feel at home.

View Less
Features
Get the most out of your stay in Phoenix, Arizona. The hotel's heated, outdoor pool, spa and gazebo area are a few of the amenities that set us apart from the rest. Make us your home away from home!

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 126 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Misty The staff at the front desk were more then helpful. We will stay there again. Anything that we needed they were more then happy to help with. December 31, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Spacious Room I enjoyed my night at Holiday Inn Mesa/Chandler it's right off the freeway and it was quite and relaxing. The staff were courteous and friendly, my room was clean and comfortable. NO Maids woke me up too see if i was checked out, i got to sleep in. December 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by All-around excellence! We were planning on spending just one nite when, unexpectantly had an emergency which required a longer stay. The staff really helped us out and we were there nearly a week. Just know we will always be staying here anytime we are in this area! December 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel First of all, I am a platinum member, I travel for work and primarily stay at IHG hotels to accumulate points. I have been all over the country and I don't think I have stayed at a better hotel. The staff was fantastic and accommodating. At the last minute we had to bring my girlfriends daughter, so the staff helped us out to get a room that would take care of all of us. All hotel employees were very nice and always greeted us with a nice hello and a smile. The room was clean and well taken care of through our entire visit. I can't say enough. We have family in Phoenix and I know that when we come back, we will always stay here. It is truly a well managed, great hotel. December 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay I have stayed at this hotel 4 times and would come back again anytime I am in the area. The first time I stayed was to visit my mom who lives in the area. I have also stayed when passing through on business in northern Arizona. After a long day, I decided to drive 4 hours to stay at this hotel again because it is the best value in Arizona. The price is great and the hotel is very high quality with very clean rooms and a very friendly staff. The last time I stayed I checked out Dec 3. They were playing Christmas music in the lobby which was very nice this time of year. I also like to stay at a hotel with a nice fitness room. I have to say this hotel has one of the best fitness rooms for a hotel. I highly recommend this hotel! December 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service again Had to be in Phoenix on personal business, and stayed at this location for the second time this year. Have to say that both stays at this facility were great. Wonderful staff and great location. When I stayed in January I was booked into room 504 for my stay and the room and bedding was great. On this trip I requested a room similar to that one, and was actually given the same room, which was a pleasant surprise. Room was clean and well prepped, and the staff at this location is great. Look forward to my next stay at this location! November 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Stay in Mesa I always enjoy this hotel. The lobby area is great. The pool and Jacuzzi are centrally located. I love the suites. They are in a separate tower. Breakfast is excellent. The view in tower for the suites is a great view. The suites are spacious and comfortable and true suites with a separate bedroom. I highly recommend staying here. November 25, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Door Problems From the moment I got there I was told that I was being up graded to a suite without extra charges. Fine but when I went up to the suite my door card would not open the door.This happened every time I returned from someplace to my Suite. I was told Saturday morning that the locking gears or whatever would be replaced and my frustration was over. Saturday afternoon when I returned the door would not open again. I met the engineer for the second or third time at my suite and he opened it. The final stroke occurred when I returned to my room after the wedding reception (being staged at the Holiday Inn) and again could not open my door. I stormed down to the front desk and demanded 50% off my room rate due to the aggravation I was exposed to. I was granted a 50% reduction on my second night of stay and again met the engineer at my door to gain entry. James Brinkman November 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean comfortable room friendly front desk The room was okay and the hotel staff was friendly. I ate at the restaurant and did not have a great experience. The wait was long and the food was mediocre at best. I would not recommend eating on site. November 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and Comfortable Nice clean room and bath. I loved that WiFi was free and worked well. Towels soft and clean. Staff very helpful. November 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing and comfortable We stayed 2 nights. First evening we went down to sit by the pool and decided to go in the Resturant and get a cup of coffee to take with us back to the pool area. Not only was the coffee good but it was complimentary. Thank you. We wanted some extra blankets on the second night and called room service for them. They were delivered in under 5 minutes. Thank you again. All the staff was so professional and helpful. We enjoyed our stay. October 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel, But save your $10 for breakfast The hotel is very nice and clean. Great service. Upon Reservation they will ask you if you'd like to pay an extra $10 for a breakfast buffet. It sounded amazing on the phone, but when we arrived for breakfast we found that it was no different than a holiday inn express breakfast which is included in the price at holiday inn express and you don't have to pay extra if you want orange juice. Also the holiday inn express buffets are always stocked well, this was hit and miss depending what you wanted. So after the first day we asked for the $10/day back for the remainder of our stay. The pool area is very clean and a great place to relax and enjoy your vacation. October 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great customer service Will definately be back and recommend to friends and family October 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by large room and comfortable bed We had a comfortable room and bed but the train whistles woke us up early in the mornings. The staff were cordial and willing to help. We were disappointed in the service staff and food in the restaurant. They seemed disorganized and the food was disappointing for the price. The breakfast was pretty good. All in all it was a good stay. October 17, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great but, WiFi stunk, in the "Suites," unworthy and a waste offering as presented with a password. Very weak or rarely worked. October 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Total relaxation This was a necessary trip with recovery from surgery for one of us. The room was comfortable and the staff met all our expectations. If I had any complaints, it would be "too bad the restaurant wasn't open all day". Luckily a very good selection of food venders are very closeby, including Culvers, Crackers and Co., and Cinnebon. Definitely a recommendable destination. October 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and a great place to stay! We had a wonderful time here. The rooms were very clean and the staff was so helpful. Highly recommended!!! October 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay friendly and accommodating staff. large and clean room . beautiful and large outdoor pool . October 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by stayed 3 nites - 1st room was a King Suite - outdoor entrance.. Room 242 definely needs an upgrade, but was comfortable. Like the location. Pool is nice. Regular King Suite updated, clean & comfortable. King Suite oustide entrance needs updating no care shown in appearance detail as the lamp shade seam was in front and crooked. Petty I know but it is noticable Food could be better. Too expensive for the buffet breakfast. Lobby furniture nice but needs to be cleaned. You can really see the dirt on the arms & seat cushion. Staff very polite and helpful. I would stay again but definitely eat out Thanks September 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful stay Such a great hotel and staff! Our room was clean and quite. The pool was wonderful and so refreshing! Wonderful breakfast buffet and we had a very enjoyable time! I would recommend this hotel to everyone. August 11, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room but HOT! The room and furnishings were nice and comfortable but the room temperature never got below 75 degrees at night and 79 degrees in the day. We would stay again in the winter but not May through September. August 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Extra Nice This hotel surpassed my expectations. The rooms were large and very clean. The pool was amazing. The beds were very comfortable. The wheelchair accessible bathroom was beyond roomy enough. The only complaint (and it's a minor one to most people# is the wheelchair accessible rooms are not on the first floor #if the elevator went out our family member would not be able to leave the hotel#. There was a problem with our reservation #the reservation specialist did not put us in the room we asked for) but the desk clerk went above and beyond to make sure we had what we needed. I would highly recommend this hotel! July 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place Easy and early check in. Nice room, comfortable beds and pillows. Liked that the room had a microwave and fridge. Breakfast for our group was good -- would like to have had fruit available to take such as apples, oranges or bananas. Outdoor pool was great! Only wish there was a fan in the bathroom... July 12, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Always have stayed there The room and the facility were good as usual. I ordered room service for 8:30 pm and it did not arrive. I called at 9:30 and asked about it, they said they would check into it and get back to me and never did. I was tired and wanted dinner in my room but had to get up and go out for dinner and later than I wanted. April 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Would recommend this property Room was very nice - very clean - new TV Dining room does not offer late arrival items on the menu - ordered cheesecake with whipped cream - whipped cream looked like shiny plastic squirted out of a can. April 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Total experience We stayed on the night we arrived, great room, fabulous staff, clean and quiet; we did poolside in the am, -awesome! It was hard to believe we were in the middle of a very, very large town it was so quiet with the falls in the pool and the birds, total oasis! So from checking in, taking in the pool, eating in the restaurant, -all to checkout was fabulous! Thanks for all you did and we will be back when we come to town! April 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by don't bother with the restaurant unless you have all day to wait Dont bother eating at the restaurant.. I ordered, and waited 45 minutes for my food to show up, and it never did, so I left. On top of that, there were numerous open tables so they were not that busy. The restaurant staff need mangement to watch over them.. The rest of the hotel staff seemed capable of doing their jobs and the room met my expectations. April 9, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Very disappointed Wonderful lobby. The suite had old worn out furniture. You actually sunk into the chair and sofa. The carpet was absolutelly filthy. Had to wear shoes in the suite as our socks or feet got dirty from the carpeting. Never have we stayed in a hotel with so many stains in the carpeting.When I complained about the carpeting they offered to shampoo it. We felt this would be a major inconvience to us, however, in retrospect, I wish we had it cleaned. Although the hotel was booked near capacity, the pool was quite a disappointment. There was definitely a shortage of lounge chairs by the pool. Every day by 8am, every chair was marked (reserved with a towel) at the pool, but unoccupied till 10 am. Children used the pool without supervision and were climbing on the waterfall over the pool. We had breakfast twice at the hotel. Both times the scrambled eggs, potatoes, and bacon/sausage were cold when we chose the buffet. After the second cold breakfast we knew not to return. April 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent amenities Exceptional Customer Service My wife and I spent 6 days here on our honey moon during Spring Training. The facilities were great and the staff went out of their way to make our trip enjoyable. Kudos to Gracie for her attention to detail and exceptional customer service. Anyone who would have a problem staying at this hotel should stay home or bunk up with a relative. Awesome location! April 5, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by March 2013 We make several trips to AZ throughout the year and this hotel is always our first choice; the rates have always been exceptional, the staff and service wonderful, and our typical room overlooking the pool was very pleasant. This trip was the exception due to Spring Training and several tournaments going on. The hotel was packed, no supervision at the pool as children were jumping off the rock waterfall, our room overlooked an intersection and it was too noisy to sit outside on the patio. The couple we traveled with had issues with housekeeping; no toilet paper or washcloths and the room wasn't cleaned until very late in the afternoon. We had wonderful service by a gentleman when having breakfast our first morning, but the next morning was quite disappointing; both the food and the service. We will continue to stay at this hotel in the future, but NEVER in March - our own fault for not being aware of the 'busy' season. April 1, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
Candlewood Suites Tempe Front Entrance
Candlewood Suites Tempe Front Entrance
Select to close.
Candlewood Suites Tempe Front Entrance Candlewood Suites Tempe Front Entrance Candlewood Suites Tempe Exterior Front Desk Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Check Availability
Loading