• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-22-2014)
(e.g. Oct-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: PHOENIX
  • Distance From Hotel: 7.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed, 15.00 for first night then 10.00 per night with a cap of 150.00. Each pet must weigh less than 80lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check in. Call hotel for details. Record of complete and up to date vaccinations required.
Pet fee amount  15.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Tempe Diablo Stadium
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Arizona Mills Mall
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Tempe Mill Avenue Shops
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
ASU Stadium
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:150
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary Outdoor Parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:122
  • Total number of suites:122
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:122
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:86
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:AZ0351

Experience Comfort at Our Phoenix/Tempe, Arizona Hotel.

Enjoy the picturesque landscape and discover the natural splendor of the American Southwest at the Candlewood Suites® Phoenix / Tempe hotel. Located near the Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX), The Candlewood Suites® Phoenix / Tempe hotel is in the heart of this metropolis. We combine convenience and comfort for the business and leisurely traveler. Downtown Phoenix, AZ is within a few miles of the hotel, giving guests easy
View More

Experience Comfort at Our Phoenix/Tempe, Arizona Hotel.

Enjoy the picturesque landscape and discover the natural splendor of the American Southwest at the Candlewood Suites® Phoenix / Tempe hotel. Located near the Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX), The Candlewood Suites® Phoenix / Tempe hotel is in the heart of this metropolis. We combine convenience and comfort for the business and leisurely traveler. Downtown Phoenix, AZ is within a few miles of the hotel, giving guests easy access to everything this divine city has to offer.

Our business travelers appreciate their extended stay with us. We provide paramount accommodations near the Phoenix Civic Plaza and other local businesses. Candlewood Suites® Tempe is designed with our guests in mind. Our guests enjoy the presence of home and appreciate our completely furnished suites with a comfy overstuffed recliner, fully-equipped kitchen and cover lit bedding. The outdoor, heated pool and spa are perfect for a day of relaxation. Stop by and visit our onsite convenience store, the Candlewood Cupboard. Our guests also enjoy free Wi-Fi access and self -service laundry services.

The best of Arizona surrounds this Tempe hotel. Visit Mill Avenue in downtown Tempe, the Gila River Casino or take a tour around South Mountain Park in southern Phoenix, AZ. When you think extended stay, think Candlewood Suites® Phoenix / Tempe—where you’ll feel at home.

View Less
Features
Get the most out of your stay in Phoenix, Arizona. The hotel's heated, outdoor pool, spa and gazebo area are a few of the amenities that set us apart from the rest. Make us your home away from home!

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 137 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful stay Such a great hotel and staff! Our room was clean and quite. The pool was wonderful and so refreshing! Wonderful breakfast buffet and we had a very enjoyable time! I would recommend this hotel to everyone. August 11, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room but HOT! The room and furnishings were nice and comfortable but the room temperature never got below 75 degrees at night and 79 degrees in the day. We would stay again in the winter but not May through September. August 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Extra Nice This hotel surpassed my expectations. The rooms were large and very clean. The pool was amazing. The beds were very comfortable. The wheelchair accessible bathroom was beyond roomy enough. The only complaint (and it's a minor one to most people# is the wheelchair accessible rooms are not on the first floor #if the elevator went out our family member would not be able to leave the hotel#. There was a problem with our reservation #the reservation specialist did not put us in the room we asked for) but the desk clerk went above and beyond to make sure we had what we needed. I would highly recommend this hotel! July 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place Easy and early check in. Nice room, comfortable beds and pillows. Liked that the room had a microwave and fridge. Breakfast for our group was good -- would like to have had fruit available to take such as apples, oranges or bananas. Outdoor pool was great! Only wish there was a fan in the bathroom... July 12, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Always have stayed there The room and the facility were good as usual. I ordered room service for 8:30 pm and it did not arrive. I called at 9:30 and asked about it, they said they would check into it and get back to me and never did. I was tired and wanted dinner in my room but had to get up and go out for dinner and later than I wanted. April 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Would recommend this property Room was very nice - very clean - new TV Dining room does not offer late arrival items on the menu - ordered cheesecake with whipped cream - whipped cream looked like shiny plastic squirted out of a can. April 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Total experience We stayed on the night we arrived, great room, fabulous staff, clean and quiet; we did poolside in the am, -awesome! It was hard to believe we were in the middle of a very, very large town it was so quiet with the falls in the pool and the birds, total oasis! So from checking in, taking in the pool, eating in the restaurant, -all to checkout was fabulous! Thanks for all you did and we will be back when we come to town! April 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by don't bother with the restaurant unless you have all day to wait Dont bother eating at the restaurant.. I ordered, and waited 45 minutes for my food to show up, and it never did, so I left. On top of that, there were numerous open tables so they were not that busy. The restaurant staff need mangement to watch over them.. The rest of the hotel staff seemed capable of doing their jobs and the room met my expectations. April 9, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Very disappointed Wonderful lobby. The suite had old worn out furniture. You actually sunk into the chair and sofa. The carpet was absolutelly filthy. Had to wear shoes in the suite as our socks or feet got dirty from the carpeting. Never have we stayed in a hotel with so many stains in the carpeting.When I complained about the carpeting they offered to shampoo it. We felt this would be a major inconvience to us, however, in retrospect, I wish we had it cleaned. Although the hotel was booked near capacity, the pool was quite a disappointment. There was definitely a shortage of lounge chairs by the pool. Every day by 8am, every chair was marked (reserved with a towel) at the pool, but unoccupied till 10 am. Children used the pool without supervision and were climbing on the waterfall over the pool. We had breakfast twice at the hotel. Both times the scrambled eggs, potatoes, and bacon/sausage were cold when we chose the buffet. After the second cold breakfast we knew not to return. April 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent amenities Exceptional Customer Service My wife and I spent 6 days here on our honey moon during Spring Training. The facilities were great and the staff went out of their way to make our trip enjoyable. Kudos to Gracie for her attention to detail and exceptional customer service. Anyone who would have a problem staying at this hotel should stay home or bunk up with a relative. Awesome location! April 5, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by March 2013 We make several trips to AZ throughout the year and this hotel is always our first choice; the rates have always been exceptional, the staff and service wonderful, and our typical room overlooking the pool was very pleasant. This trip was the exception due to Spring Training and several tournaments going on. The hotel was packed, no supervision at the pool as children were jumping off the rock waterfall, our room overlooked an intersection and it was too noisy to sit outside on the patio. The couple we traveled with had issues with housekeeping; no toilet paper or washcloths and the room wasn't cleaned until very late in the afternoon. We had wonderful service by a gentleman when having breakfast our first morning, but the next morning was quite disappointing; both the food and the service. We will continue to stay at this hotel in the future, but NEVER in March - our own fault for not being aware of the 'busy' season. April 1, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by For spring training they struck out! We don't get to travel that much so when I accumulated enough points to cash in a nights stay I was happy. When we walked into the lobby the place looked GORGEOUS. I just wished they had spent some of that money on the rooms. When we got to the room, right off the elevator and went in the AC was going. Several hours later I said it doesn't feel any cooler...(should have called then) for the sleeper sofa there were no blankets just a sheet. I burnt my hand on the shower. I don't even know how to explain how that worked. YOu had ot turn everything one way then when it tightened up you turned it the other way. After going out to dinner with family we came back and it was still 80 in the room. And of course you can't open windows. Especially with a bunch of screaming kids in the pool (after 9pm) It was cooler outside than in the room. The reese's peanut butter egg was melted...Went to a casino and came back late and when I called the front desk to ask about the AC (maybe I was doing something wrong) she said maintenance could come up tomrrow, nothing could be done tonite. I started to say something and she said "your welcome" and hung up. Now I was even hotter...Turned off the AC and the room started cooling off enough to sleep. However when the kids in the pool at 5am woke my sister up. that was the last straw. When we checked out I did ask to speak to a manager and she assured me that my points would be refunded to me (it looks like they have) but the moral of the story is you can't judge a book by it's cover (lobby) it looked beautiful. Holiday Inn should have spent a little more money on their rooms where the customers sleep that where you go to get a cup of coffee. I won't return to this Holiday Inn again and I will not recommend it to anyone. In fact, will tell them NOT to stay here. Oh yea and I agree with another reviewed a warm bottle of water for Priority Club members... March 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service. Front desk personnel were very courteous & customer oriented. Restaurant personnel were great & breakfast was excellent every day. Room was very clean. Shower was perfect for my disability. The only recommendation I could make is that the carpet needs cleaning. Overall - good experience! March 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by room and breakfast Having Double beds instead of queens was a big downer for us!! The rooms had plenty of room for larger beds and would have made our stay much nicer! The breakfast with triple crown sports needed more variety. cereals, muffins or bread of some sort. Not all kids like eggs, potatoes and breakfast meats. March 15, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Do Not Recommend this hotel... For the Money in High Season, this is not the Hotel... Carpets all need replace. Bathrooms small old fashion, room really not clean, smelled like a smoker use to use the room... Tables is eating area wobbled not flat on the floor.. If your going to charge the high dollars then please gut this hotel and start over, its time... Also a bottle of water at check in for Priority Club members,, how cheap does it get... Insulting.. Sorry will never stay here again.. March 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service We have stayed at this particular Holiday Inn in the past and definitely would recommend it. The employees are very friendly, courteous, and helpful. The rooms are clean with comfortable beds. We did not eat in the restaurant this time, but based on our last visit, the food was average. We will definitely stay there again. Shirley, the hotel maintenance person, was at our room within five minutes of a call because of a noisy fan. She had it fixed right away. During our previous stay at this hotel, the desk had a very wobbly leg and once again, Shirley fixed it almost immediately. March 13, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Smokers My biggest complaint was that, even though this is a non-smoking property, people smoked around the pool to the point that there was a constant "stench" around the entire pool. Also, there are ash trays all over the place which simply makes it easier for smokers to smoke where they are not supposed to. It seemed that there were always people smoking outside of our room and the smoke filtered into our room. I am currently staying at another Priority Club property and the problem is not nearly as bad. P.S. I would like to see all Priority Club properties made "non-smoking". March 12, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn, Mesa Property is a little run down, but comfortable,clean and a good location. March 12, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by not that good room was not clean when we went in..light bulbs were missing and no bath tub?? for a suite we felt the king bed way to soft and lumpy and we were not told on check in that it was the handi-cap room...felt and smelled like a smoker had been in before but odor still there...pool was great but over all kind of disappointed overall..in fact room was not made up on our second day even though we were out all afternoon....not what we expected as priority club members... March 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Another fine stay This is my preferred hotel in the Mesa area. I come to Mesa once or twice a year for business and always prefer to stay here for a) location, b) it's a nice stay, and c) it's relatively inexpensive. The place is pretty clean although the carpet in my room was stained. The worst part of this stay (which was a new experience here) was that on the first full day I noticed a blood stain on a pillow that I had not used. This made me wonder if my sheets had been changed since the previous checkout. Gross. I left a note for housekeeping to replace the linens, but they never came that day. I went to the desk at 5:00pm because housekeeping is available from 6a-11p according to the in-room information, and they said they would send someone up to change the linens. A guy came up in a short while and asked if I wanted him to change the linens. I asked if he expected me to do it, and he said he didn't know how to make a bed. Huh? That was strange, but atypical of the normally very nice stay at this hotel. The food is not spectacular but I love seeing the same bartender year after year. It's like coming home. March 11, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by In disrepair. This hotel is in disrepair and lack of managment. Closet doors that do not open and barely hanging onto the track. Broken main door frame that made it diffcult to open door to the room. Outlet that when you unplug a hairdryer the whole outlet comes out from the wall. Drains plugged which you end up standing in a foot of water while taking a shower and leaves the shower dirty and housekeeping cleaned once for the week. Pool furniture needs cleaning so they do not leave black marks of dirt on your skin where you sat on them. Pool needs trash cleaned out of it and a good cleaning along with the hotub. This place is used heavy with no maintence put back into it. I read other reveiws before we stayed which I was skeptical but they were dead on. This place needs work. It was nice at one time. March 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Close to eastern Phoenix cities We had an okay time at this hotel. It is a little older but has friendly staff and we were well-cared for. It was so nice not to have to drive across Phoenix to get to the venues and friends we wanted to see. March 9, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Horibble, Not up to Brand Standards This was by far my worst experience at a Holiday Inn, really any hotel. The service was slow. It took over 30 minutes to get menus in the restaurant and there was only one other couple in the resturant. The staff acted like we were always inconveniencing them. The suites are old and not cared for. Our main door was coming off it's hinges, the bathroom had water leaks from the ceiling and stains on the door. The light fixtures were cracked. The pool are looked nice from afar however on closer inspection there were cigarettes butts everywhere the garbages were over flowing and the hot tub needed to be drained and cleaned. I would never stay here again and strongly recommend you don't either. I couldn't wait to check out. February 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service I stay at this facility once a month. On the occasion that I must stay at another location my experience is never as favorable. I am greeted and treated great by the staff at the service desk. My only issue has been finding parking that is close to the door in the evening. Because I am a female traveling alone, I find it uncomfortable to walk so far late in the evening. February 26, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible I paid over $100 per night and the closet was broken, the chair was broken. I swapped out for another chair and the chair was very flimsy and dirty. This hotel needs to invest money and upgrade. February 24, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by No Free Breakfast I was surprised to find out that breakfast was not included with my stay. I booked with a very modest AAA discount and was told that I didn't qualify for a free breakfast. I've stayed at many less expensive properties that had free, and better, breakfasts. There are several options for breakfast within an easy walk so don't pay for one at this hotel. February 23, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Needs some work.... We spent a week at this property in January, 2013. Most Holiday Inn Express sites have a breakfast included as part of the room rate. This one does not. It does have a restaurant which we tried on the first morning there. Service was slow, the food was mediocre and overpriced. Then there was the situation with two servers arguing in the background about one 'stealing' the others customers. The building with the suites is separate from the main building so you have to walk outside to get to the main part of the hotel. The stairwells of the suite building are dimly lit and dirty. My wife was scared to use them at night. Maintenance of the property needs work: the handle to the door from the parking lot to the suite building came off in your hand, and about mid-week our bathroom ceiling started to leak! On the positive side: the beds were very comfortable and the housekeeping was good. January 27, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Would Choose Another Hotel If Needing A Suite We got off on a bad start at this property. The front desk staff attendant had checked my family into a king room when I reserved a suite. I had to go back down the elevator with family and luggage to get a suite since we prefer that when traveling with a baby. He explained his action by saying that the king rooms were in the remodeled portion of the hotel compared to the older suite wing. Then we initially could not get in our suite with our key and it was explained to us that the door handle probably needed to be turned up instead of the usual down motion. The maintenance person standing nearby came back with me to make sure we could get in. The next problem with the room was that we could not lock the deadbolt to a room with an outdoor corridor. We called maintenance to fix that the next day. Our third issue with this room was that door threshold allowed cold air from outside to freely flow into the room. We needed to block the door with pillows overnight. The suite itself was fine with plenty of room, but I could see why the person at the front desk tried to steer us away. The only other part of the hotel we were able to take advantage of was the restaurant and we give it mixed reviews. Some meals were better than others. I liked it more than my wife, but similar to my wife I was not happy with the slow service even though it was over the Christmas holiday. We did however appreciate the compelmentary buffet on Christmas Eve. Overall the hotel was just not the quality we have been coming to expect as guests who frequent Holiday Inn hotels and I do not recommend it until the improved upgrades are made. January 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyed the Stay The hotel is in an easy to access location. The staff was quite pleasant and helpful. The room was clean plus quiet. I was happy to find out they had 24 hour parking lot security which included a security officer walking the perimeter. The hotel includes a relaxing lounge area. I did find the restaurant to be a little pricey but overall it was a most enjoyable stay. January 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice stay I enjoyed the property.Most of the staff was exceptional. The evening food was excellent in the restaurant as well as the service. We stayed a week and free breakfast buffet included in our stay, but the breakfast buffet needed more variety and the service at breakfast was slow even on the good days. Everyone was very accomadating. The pool was heated and excellent. It was cold when we stayed 59 degrees but was able to use the pool because it was heated and the perfect temperature. The cleanliness of the room was acceptable but could use room for improvement in the corners, we stayed in the renovated suite hotel, the newer roooms may have been better. January 7, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Candlewood Suites Tempe Front Entrance
Candlewood Suites Tempe Front Entrance
Select to close.
Candlewood Suites Tempe Front Entrance Candlewood Suites Tempe Front Entrance Candlewood Suites Tempe Exterior Front Desk Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn Up To 5,000 Points
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-22-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-23-2014)
Check Availability
Loading