• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-25-2014)
(e.g. Jul-26-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: PHOENIX
  • Distance From Hotel: 7.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed, 15.00 for first night then 10.00 per night with a cap of 150.00. Each pet must weigh less than 80lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check in. Call hotel for details. Record of complete and up to date vaccinations required.
Pet fee amount  15.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Tempe Mill Avenue Shops
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
Rawhide at Wild Horse Pass
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
Gammage Auditorium
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
Firebird Raceway
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:150
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary Outdoor Parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:122
  • Total number of suites:122
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:122
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:86
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:AZ0351

Experience Comfort at Our Phoenix/Tempe, Arizona Hotel.

Enjoy the picturesque landscape and discover the natural splendor of the American Southwest at the Candlewood Suites® Phoenix / Tempe hotel. Located near the Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX), The Candlewood Suites® Phoenix / Tempe hotel is in the heart of this metropolis. We combine convenience and comfort for the business and leisurely traveler. Downtown Phoenix, AZ is within a few miles of the hotel, giving guests easy
View More

Experience Comfort at Our Phoenix/Tempe, Arizona Hotel.

Enjoy the picturesque landscape and discover the natural splendor of the American Southwest at the Candlewood Suites® Phoenix / Tempe hotel. Located near the Sky Harbor International Airport (PHX), The Candlewood Suites® Phoenix / Tempe hotel is in the heart of this metropolis. We combine convenience and comfort for the business and leisurely traveler. Downtown Phoenix, AZ is within a few miles of the hotel, giving guests easy access to everything this divine city has to offer.


Our business travelers appreciate their extended stay with us. We provide paramount accommodations near the Phoenix Civic Plaza and other local businesses. Candlewood Suites® Tempe is designed with our guests in mind. Our guests enjoy the presence of home and appreciate our completely furnished suites with a comfy overstuffed recliner, fully-equipped kitchen and cover lit bedding. The outdoor, heated pool and spa are perfect for a day of relaxation. Stop by and visit our onsite convenience store, the Candlewood Cupboard. Our guests also enjoy free Wi-Fi access and self -service laundry services.


The best of Arizona surrounds this Tempe hotel. Visit Mill Avenue in downtown Tempe, the Gila River Casino or take a tour around South Mountain Park in southern Phoenix, AZ. When you think extended stay, think Candlewood Suites® Phoenix / Tempe—where you’ll feel at home.

View Less
Features
Get the most out of your stay in Phoenix, Arizona. The hotel's heated, outdoor pool, spa and gazebo area are a few of the amenities that set us apart from the rest. Make us your home away from home!

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 113 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible I paid over $100 per night and the closet was broken, the chair was broken. I swapped out for another chair and the chair was very flimsy and dirty. This hotel needs to invest money and upgrade. February 24, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by No Free Breakfast I was surprised to find out that breakfast was not included with my stay. I booked with a very modest AAA discount and was told that I didn't qualify for a free breakfast. I've stayed at many less expensive properties that had free, and better, breakfasts. There are several options for breakfast within an easy walk so don't pay for one at this hotel. February 23, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Needs some work.... We spent a week at this property in January, 2013. Most Holiday Inn Express sites have a breakfast included as part of the room rate. This one does not. It does have a restaurant which we tried on the first morning there. Service was slow, the food was mediocre and overpriced. Then there was the situation with two servers arguing in the background about one 'stealing' the others customers. The building with the suites is separate from the main building so you have to walk outside to get to the main part of the hotel. The stairwells of the suite building are dimly lit and dirty. My wife was scared to use them at night. Maintenance of the property needs work: the handle to the door from the parking lot to the suite building came off in your hand, and about mid-week our bathroom ceiling started to leak! On the positive side: the beds were very comfortable and the housekeeping was good. January 27, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Would Choose Another Hotel If Needing A Suite We got off on a bad start at this property. The front desk staff attendant had checked my family into a king room when I reserved a suite. I had to go back down the elevator with family and luggage to get a suite since we prefer that when traveling with a baby. He explained his action by saying that the king rooms were in the remodeled portion of the hotel compared to the older suite wing. Then we initially could not get in our suite with our key and it was explained to us that the door handle probably needed to be turned up instead of the usual down motion. The maintenance person standing nearby came back with me to make sure we could get in. The next problem with the room was that we could not lock the deadbolt to a room with an outdoor corridor. We called maintenance to fix that the next day. Our third issue with this room was that door threshold allowed cold air from outside to freely flow into the room. We needed to block the door with pillows overnight. The suite itself was fine with plenty of room, but I could see why the person at the front desk tried to steer us away. The only other part of the hotel we were able to take advantage of was the restaurant and we give it mixed reviews. Some meals were better than others. I liked it more than my wife, but similar to my wife I was not happy with the slow service even though it was over the Christmas holiday. We did however appreciate the compelmentary buffet on Christmas Eve. Overall the hotel was just not the quality we have been coming to expect as guests who frequent Holiday Inn hotels and I do not recommend it until the improved upgrades are made. January 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyed the Stay The hotel is in an easy to access location. The staff was quite pleasant and helpful. The room was clean plus quiet. I was happy to find out they had 24 hour parking lot security which included a security officer walking the perimeter. The hotel includes a relaxing lounge area. I did find the restaurant to be a little pricey but overall it was a most enjoyable stay. January 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice stay I enjoyed the property.Most of the staff was exceptional. The evening food was excellent in the restaurant as well as the service. We stayed a week and free breakfast buffet included in our stay, but the breakfast buffet needed more variety and the service at breakfast was slow even on the good days. Everyone was very accomadating. The pool was heated and excellent. It was cold when we stayed 59 degrees but was able to use the pool because it was heated and the perfect temperature. The cleanliness of the room was acceptable but could use room for improvement in the corners, we stayed in the renovated suite hotel, the newer roooms may have been better. January 7, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Dilapidated The bathroom door hung by one screw and shutting it caused a horrific sound. Every day the cleaning crew would come in and clean but not once did they write up this problem. The bathtub leaked all over the floor upon use. I specifically asked for the couch bed to be made up each day and more than half the time it was not. I have complained but it fell on deaf ears. As a Platinum member, I expect much more. I will never go back to this hotel. January 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Our stay Dec.1-6 The people at the front desk were great everyday and very helpful with directions for Sunday Mass. Getting the room upgrade was seamless. The room was nice, but the couch and chair were very old and uncomfortable to sit in. On Wednesday evening Day 4, we had to report to the front desk that the room had not been vacuumed for a few days. They promptly did it! The bar was great and the service excellent. By 9:00am the coffee in the lobby was cold. All in all it was a great value for the money with a good location. Looking forward to stay there again. December 11, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel for location, awesome service & amenities & great value The best hotel by far for family, great location, the staff are so nice and helpful...great dining food...the whole experience was more than I expected and I've stayed at a lot of hotels in AZ. I am from Vegas and can't wait to come back for vacation here again. December 7, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great for Business Traveler Quiet and Comfortable Room. Good Lighting and Power Sources for Laptop Work. December 5, 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Inept night manager The night manager gave another couple our room keys. This couple entered our room while my wife and I were asleep naked in bed after midnight. They tried to compensate us with a free room with breakfast. Their initial offer was 1 free breakfast which we still feel was a slap to our faces. I have been a priority club member for over 15 years and I feel until now that this property owes us more than a free night and breakfast for this grave error. We are trying to get over this but the thought of it brings back very bitter feelings for Holiday Inn. November 26, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Mesa - great location We have stayed here before and are starting to notice the wear and tear on the facility and the decline of the number of staff. Our room was comfortable, but we could not take a shower because the faucet only delivered hot water. Other guests had obviously tried to fix it, but like us failed. We reported the issue to the desk who were apologetic, but suspect that this has been done before with continued deferred maintence. November 19, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome stay This is the second time staying at this location for three day weekend awesome place to call home would recommend to everyone if in the area stay here November 10, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great Rooms and Staff I stayed at this property for a fund raising event nearby for the American Diabetes Assoc. I wanted to Thank all of the Staff for excellent customer service. The rooms were comfortable and inviting. Thank you for a fabulous stay. November 9, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, well appointed and accommodating The first suite had a bad door; however, upon bringing it to the attention of the front desk, we were promptly shown another suite two doors down and given permission to move there. The room had a complete kitchenette, two TV's, sitting area, ample closet space and very nice bathroom. The breakfast menu in the restaurant downstairs was ample and the food was hot when served. The staff were very attentive and gracious. I would definitely recommend this hotel. October 16, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5
Candlewood Suites Tempe Front Entrance
Candlewood Suites Tempe Front Entrance
Select to close.
Candlewood Suites Tempe Front Entrance Candlewood Suites Tempe Front Entrance Candlewood Suites Tempe Exterior Front Desk Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-25-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-26-2014)
Check Availability
Loading