• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-30-2014)
(e.g. Aug-31-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: VIRGINA BEACH
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.5MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:9
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets welcome with a non refundable fee: 75 dollars for 1 to 6 nights and 150 dollars for 7 or more nights. per pet Each pet must weigh less than 80 lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check in.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Town Center of Va Beach
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Pembroke Mall/Restaurants/Entertainment
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Verizon Wireless Va Beach Amphitheater
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI
Attraction:
Little Creek Amphibious Base
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:90
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking is free. There are 2 oversized parking spaces on either side of the building. There is additional oversized parking spaces on the southern side of the bulding.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:83
  • Total number of suites:83
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:47
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:36
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:73
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:9
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
  • FEMA Property Number:VA5199

Enjoy Virginia Beach Hotel's Location near Town Center

Situated along the Atlantic Ocean, Virginia Beach is a popular beach town in the Hampton Roads area. The Candlewood Suites® Virginia Beach - Norfolk hotel is conveniently located near Town Center, making us the perfect choice for both business and leisure travelers.

Imagine having all the tools you need for business right at your fingertips. We have a 24-hour Business Center to help you keep in touch, and free Wi-Fi access is
View More

Enjoy Virginia Beach Hotel's Location near Town Center

Situated along the Atlantic Ocean, Virginia Beach is a popular beach town in the Hampton Roads area. The Candlewood Suites® Virginia Beach - Norfolk hotel is conveniently located near Town Center, making us the perfect choice for both business and leisure travelers.

Imagine having all the tools you need for business right at your fingertips. We have a 24-hour Business Center to help you keep in touch, and free Wi-Fi access is provided in all of the hotel's suites. In Virginia Beach, VA, this hotel's also just minutes from top companies like Northrop Grumman, Lockheed Martin and General Dynamics.

You'll find plenty of things to fill your free time in Virginia Beach. The hotel is within walking distance of the exciting Town Center, where you can find a variety of shops, restaurants and bars. We're just a 10-minute drive from the beach, and you won't want to miss visiting the nearby Virginia Aquarium. If you're looking to take a day trip, Busch Gardens and historic Colonial Williamsburg are just a short drive away, as well.

When it comes to hotels in Virginia Beach, VA, we've got everything you need for a memorable trip. Take advantage of the great amenities like free guest laundry facilities, an outdoor grilling area and a 24-hour Fitness Center. Visit the Candlewood Cupboard for snacks, meals and sundry items. We look forward to welcoming you to this Virginia Beach hotel!

View Less
Features
When you chose to stay with us in Virginia Beach, this hotel's location places you close to Independence Blvd, just 10 minutes from the ocean shore and within walking distance of Town Center.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 243 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good for rest The room was really quiet to take a good sleep. Good for rest. Sand in the corridors but it is beach hotel. August 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Great location on the beach. I had problems with the noise from the air conditioner. why staff did not fix it before I used the room ????? It obviously has been noticed and not fixed for a long time............. August 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by First Beach Vacation We stayed a week here and absolutely loved it. Staff was great from the Front Desk to Housekeeping. Even managers got into the mix with staff (i.e. restaurant) when staff was short or capacity was high. Location was great. Parking was not a problem; we ended up in the remote lot 1 small block away but we're use to big city hotels where this is common and it was free. Housekeeping worked around our schedule. Some mornings had a later start than others. They were great. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others. August 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Family Vacation Wonderful place to stay. Staff and service were top notch. Housekeeping staff was very nice in working around our schedule (some mornings had a later start than others). When staff was short handed managers immediately stepped in to fill the void especially in the restaurant. I've been staying at Holiday Inns since I was a kid and have always come back. This hotel was one of the best. The remote parking lot (1 small block away - I counted almost 200 walking steps) was not a deal breaker. We've stayed in larger cities and those hotels rarely have parking lots on their property especially free ones. Our family really enjoyed our stay here and would come back in a heart beat. This was our first beach vacation and Holiday Inn help make it enjoyable. I'm a descriminating person especially when it comes to where I'm going to sleep and this place was one of the best. August 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great beach access and Housekeeping! We liked the outside balconies overlooking beach. Access to beach was easy and convenient. Housekeeping did a great job always kept us stocked up on towels and toiletries. Food was good for lunch at hotel restaurant. Front desk could have been more helpful with checking in and providing us with silverware to eat when we asked as we had a fridge and microwave in room. August 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great value for ocean front hotel Loved that it was recently renovated. Our room was very clean August 14, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Staff not up to the Holiday Inn standard Long long time member of the Holiday Inn family. Great location and beautiful rooms. Unfortunately the front desk staff does not meet the Holiday Inn standard. August 14, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Aug. 2014 Family Vacation The Air conditioner screen was covered in dust & there A/C's are not quite. They all make a rattling noise. On a Friday night I parked my Car in there alternate parking facility. I found in the morning some one had vomited on it. I offered to spray it down with a hose, but they don't have that equipment. The valet & counter person made suggestions as to what they could do "pour buckets over it", but nothing was ever done. I finally spent about 40 minutes going into the bathroom in the lobby with my kids play buckets. August 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Family Vacation The hotel does a great job keeping up with flow of people. The hotel being on the beach is challenging and the staff works very hard and is very friendly. Service in the dining room is slow due to insufficient staffing. August 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Vacation was too short You don't have to look hard to find this hotel as you drive into Virgina Beach but you will have to look hard to find a better location or a better value for your money! Right in the middle of it all. Very clean, quiet, good food. This was a short weekend vacation and now we wish it was longer. August 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service This is my second stay at this location, and I am very pleased with everything. I will be staying at this Holiday Inn every time I visit Virginia Beach. No complaints at all. Thanks! August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 5 star quality Great location, friendly staff, new hotel. Whether you are staying over night or for a week, I would definitely recommend this hotel. All the rooms are facing to the ocean and have balcony. Rooms are newly furnished and decorated. Hotel is not quite in the center of all the action (no bars, clubs nearby or under the hotel) which is good if you are just there to listen the ocean waves. August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great week at Virginia Beach When we arrived at the hotel the front desk staff was very friendly and accommodating. I wish I could remember the young lady's name as she was funny and interacted well with me and my group of (unruly) teens. We were upgraded to a King suite which allowed plenty of room for us all. The pool, fitness room, restaurant, location right on the beach was all top notch. The only negative comment is in regard to the housekeeping woman on the last two days. All we asked was for her to replace the towels, toiletries, and empty the garbage. She tried to just dump clean towels (no hand towels or wash clothes) and leave the dirty ones in the room. She also enlisted my 17 year old to "grab those trash bags" for her. She wanted to do as little as possible. The first two days, housekeeping was great. All in all it was a great hotel and a great time for me and my family. I would absolutely recommend this holiday inn to others and will stay here on my next visit. August 12, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Parking pains No real complaints about the room (though if you're going to put a bed that close to the A/C, at least give us a few more blankets). We did not choose to pay for Valet parking. As a result, our car was packed into a small lot across the street; not particularly convenient for load/unloading. We were parked in, and when we needed to move our car, the front desk had to (repeatedly) call the room of the people that had parked us in, because they did not leave their keys with the valet. This added ~20-30 minutes to our check-out time. August 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great bedding...great views Great beach vacation...great location...clean, updated rooms...great linens. The hotel is just steps from a clean, well maintained beach. It is centrally located with quick access to restaurants, miniature golf and shops. The hotel restaurant has a casual menu, perfect for a beach meal. The bar offers happy hour food and drink specials. August 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay! The Holiday Inn honored The Government Rate and was a great place to stay while we were in the area for work. I was able to enjoy the beautiful beach front while my husband was at work. The restaurant in the hotel was delicious with great service! The staff was great and the work out room was clean and efficient, though a little small. Our experience was great and we plan to stay there again if in the area for work again! August 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel This Holiday Inn is in a great location- right in the middle of the the VA Beach resort strip. Since it is on the oceanfront, you get a great view of the water/sand/boardwalk! The rooms are nicely decorated and clean. There are a few different types of rooms to meet various needs. The housekeeping, maintenance, and front desk staff are very friendly and helpful. There is a pool and workout room right on the property. The restaurant has great food and a nice view of the ocean/boardwalk; however, some servers are more attentive than others. You can also get some great room rates if you are member of the hotel's IHG Rewards Club. Another plus is the security officer on duty right inside the lobby at night, since the hotel is right across the street from the night clubs. The major downfall is the parking. If you don't get a spot in the lot directly outside the hotel, you will have to deal with the small parking lot one street away. Some cars are forced to double park, and you must turn your keys in at the front desk in case your car needs to be moved. If you like to visit locations outside of the resort area, this may become a problem. The prices are a little steep (what more would you expect from a beach hotel?), but competitive with the surrounding hotels. Overall, this is a great hotel. This was our fifth year staying at this hotel and will be back next year. August 10, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by parking is a nightmare!!!! I would not stay here again, parking was horrible. They have a very small parking lot in the front and when it is full you have to park a bloick away in another snall lot. there is sort of a valet service but often your car is held hostage until they can mnove other cars out of the way. The housekeeping was sloppy at best we had an empty tissue box for three days which was soaking wet becuase it was by the sink. The beds were made quickly and it showed, the decorative cover for the end was left in a ball on the floor for both beds. Coffee supplies were not replinshed daily. The restauarant was fair, the waitress was nice but not properly trained. The food was over cooked and cold. The only thing great was the beach location but there are plenty of hotels on the strip that I would recomend looking into before choosing this one. August 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff Great getaway for the weekend. Staff was amazing, kind, friendly and went out of their way to ensure our stay was perfect. August 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service Entire staff was professional and went the extra mile to ensure our comfort. August 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to stay The hotel was in a great location. We were on the eighth floor and the view was perfect. The housekeeper that was assigned to our room was so nice and helpful. She made us laugh every day. The bad part was the restaurant, we waited to be seated for 10 minutes, at Happy Hour with no one in the restaurant. We had to search for the hostess and was told to sit anywhere then no waitress, we left and went to another hotel's Happy Hour. August 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and great staff Enjoyed our stay and would return. Close to just about anything you would want to do at the beach. August 6, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by One of the worst hotel experiences ever Stayed at this property for the fourth time in July 2014. It was the first time I ever stayed there during beach season. Parking at this property is a nightmare. I checked in and parked in the only space available, a double long space marked "Valet Parking Only". Checked with the front desk to ensure it was ok to park there and was told they weren't running a valet "right now." Next evening I parked in the same area of the auxiliary lot (one of the double long spaces). Under the impression they weren't running a valet, I parked there. After 11pm, I receive a call from the front desk telling me other guests were "complaining" that I was blocking one of the open spaces (since I was in one of the double long spaces) and I needed to bring my keys downstairs so the attendant could move my car. When I got to the front desk, you would have thought it was the first time they took in a set of keys for a customer. Next morning, I was told I needed to go see the attendant "somewhere in the lot" to retrieve my keys. I get to the lot, finally figure out who the attendant is, and he was moving a car. He takes my claim slip and takes me to his car, parked in the lot, with the trunk open and a key box wide open (in other words, they keys were NOT secured at all). A couple of suggestions for the hotel... either run a valet during season, or not. I can understand that things might be different off season, but customers have an expectation of consistency. If parking is an issue at your property, you should ALWAYS run the valet during season EVERY NIGHT. It would keep the experience consistent. Second, NEVER visit that someone else has "complained" when you are asking the customer to bring you something, like keys. When you give your customer an impression you are running the operation in one way and then midway you change it, it makes your customers angry. Third, if you tell your customer you're going to give them Welcome points because they're an elite member of the hotel's frequent guest program, do so. If you don't plan to do so, don't offer it. Also, I was NEVER asked by the front desk when I checked out how my visit was. I might have expressed some of this to the person instead of writing a review here. I might consider staying at this property off season (Oct-Mar) but won't ever do so again during season. August 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by STAY AT THE BEACH THE HOTEL WAS VERY NICE AND CLEAN THE STAFF WAS GREAT THE ONLY PROBLEM WAS THE AIR IN OUR ROOM, IT NEVER DID WORK TO GOOD IT WAS ON WHEN WE ARRIVED AND IT NEVER REALLY GOT COOL August 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome bed! Between the bed and the refrigerator and microwave, it was a great stay! Plus the desk staff and restaurant manager were very kind and helpful! August 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience even with two small children in tow We got a great rate that we could not turn down so we booked a stay late July and we were not let down. The cleanliness of the hotel was great and it is centrally located to everything that you would need. Every room is a beach front room and the room we booked with a King bed was a perfect size for two parents and two children under 5yrs of age. My only gripe was the slowness of the wait staff in the hotel restaurant but that should not stop you from checking this hotel out. We will most definitely stay here again. August 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and stay Great staff and location. steps from the beach. Very clean and modern. Only issue was with the bar...drinks were expensive and not very good. August 3, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Never Again Dirty rooms (bathrooms and carpet). Bad customer service, tiny inside pool, small parking lot. The price is too high for the quality of this hotel. I don't recommend this hotel for families with children. Never again. August 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ms Hardy Our over all stay was excellent. The bathroom was not clean upon check in, a tub ring, and toilet bowl need cleaning. i notified management and it was cleaned with in the hour. August 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasantly Surprised When I arrived, I was greeted with smiles. This was much appreciated after being stuck in traffic all day. The rooms were ready when promised (another plus). Our rooms were clean with nice decor. The bathroom was not adequately stocked, but a call to the front desk quickly remedied that. Another BIG plus is that the hotel was smoke-free. We mostly dined at the Sip Sip restaurant downstairs. I would say it was ok. We did order pizza to take out to the beach and after walking out across the hot sand, we realized that 1/2 the pizzas ordered were still borderline frozen. So, we went back and the staff apologized and heated the pizzas up....we should have received at least a partial refund for the inconvenience :( where is the quality control that keeps pizza from being sent out half frozen?? That issue aside, I still enjoyed my stay and would return. July 30, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel is central to Williamsburg & Virginia Beach Extended Stay Per Diem hotel near Norfolk Naval Base Hotel near Sandler Center for the Arts - 1 mile Hotel less than 1 hour to Busch Gardens, Williamsburg Per diem hotel near Little Creek Navy Base Hotel is near Waterside Festival Marketplace Hotel less than 1 mile to VA Beach Town Center Be sure to tour the nearby Battleship Wisconson Extended stay hotel offers Norfolk Per Diem Rates Great central hotel to Portsmouth, Norfolk & VA Beach Entrance Hotel is a short drive to the Virginia Aquarium Hotel Approach Lobby Entrance Hotel offers easy access to Virgina Beach 10 minutes Hotel is minutes from the Chesapeake Bay Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Front Desk
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Your chance to win 1 of 5 Hollywood Experiences and more
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-30-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-31-2014)
Check Availability
Loading