• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-22-2014)
(e.g. Jul-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: VIRGINA BEACH
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.5MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:9
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets welcome with a non refundable fee: 75 dollars for 1 to 6 nights and 150 dollars for 7 or more nights. per pet Each pet must weigh less than 80 lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check in.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Waterside/Downtown Norfolk
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI
Attraction:
Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Distance From Hotel:9.0MI
Attraction:
Pembroke Mall/Restaurants/Entertainment
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Norfolk Naval Base
Distance From Hotel:15.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:90
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking is free. There are 2 oversized parking spaces on either side of the building. There is additional oversized parking spaces on the southern side of the bulding.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:83
  • Total number of suites:83
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:47
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:36
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:73
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:9
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
  • FEMA Property Number:VA5199

Enjoy Virginia Beach Hotel's Location near Town Center

Situated along the Atlantic Ocean, Virginia Beach is a popular beach town in the Hampton Roads area. The Candlewood Suites® Virginia Beach - Norfolk hotel is conveniently located near Town Center, making us the perfect choice for both business and leisure travelers.

Imagine having all the tools you need for business right at your fingertips. We have a 24-hour Business Center to help you keep in touch, and free Wi-Fi access is
View More

Enjoy Virginia Beach Hotel's Location near Town Center

Situated along the Atlantic Ocean, Virginia Beach is a popular beach town in the Hampton Roads area. The Candlewood Suites® Virginia Beach - Norfolk hotel is conveniently located near Town Center, making us the perfect choice for both business and leisure travelers.

Imagine having all the tools you need for business right at your fingertips. We have a 24-hour Business Center to help you keep in touch, and free Wi-Fi access is provided in all of the hotel's suites. In Virginia Beach, VA, this hotel's also just minutes from top companies like Northrop Grumman, Lockheed Martin and General Dynamics.

You'll find plenty of things to fill your free time in Virginia Beach. The hotel is within walking distance of the exciting Town Center, where you can find a variety of shops, restaurants and bars. We're just a 10-minute drive from the beach, and you won't want to miss visiting the nearby Virginia Aquarium. If you're looking to take a day trip, Busch Gardens and historic Colonial Williamsburg are just a short drive away, as well.

When it comes to hotels in Virginia Beach, VA, we've got everything you need for a memorable trip. Take advantage of the great amenities like free guest laundry facilities, an outdoor grilling area and a 24-hour Fitness Center. Visit the Candlewood Cupboard for snacks, meals and sundry items. We look forward to welcoming you to this Virginia Beach hotel!

View Less
Features
When you chose to stay with us in Virginia Beach, this hotel's location places you close to Independence Blvd, just 10 minutes from the ocean shore and within walking distance of Town Center.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 196 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Unsurpassed Ocean View and Comfort My five nights here were just what I needed to decompress and refresh from what's going on in my life. Loved the property's central location on the boardwalk/walkway and, of course, the spectacular beach and ocean views whether from the room/balcony or the open air Sip Sip Restaurant. Check-in and check-out were seamless. Staff was generally pleasant and helpful. Having said all that, I want to mention a few things that could use some attention. I gave amenities both a pro and con check because I loved the convenience of the mini-fridge, microwave and coffee setup. However, I'm a tea drinker so think tea bags should be included in the supply basket. Also, bar soap? Really? Would like to see shower gel. The a/c is quite loud when running. This is a double edged sword. The noise muffles hallway noises but on the other hand, requires turning up the volume on the TV so as to be heard above the a/c. My end room was located across the hallway from the Linen Room. During the day when Housekeeping was in and out and had the deadbolt thrown out to keep the door from locking, most everyone who came and went let the door slam which reverberated throughout my room and actually made the iron rattle in its wall-mounted holder! While on the subject of housekeeping, I want to mention that Monia was a gem and took very good care of me. The last thing I want to mention is that room service trays were not retrieved in a timely manner. Three times during my 5-day stay I called the Front Desk to advise them that trays with visible, partially eaten food were still on the hallway floor after 6-8 hours and that I had to walk past them every time I came and went. Overall, my stay was comfortable, pleasant and carefree. I knew if I needed anything I just had to ask Monia! July 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by love the beach the best hotel on the beach. close to everything and in the middle of the activity. July 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Roomy all the comforts of a hotel room Room was so clean all I could complain about is the vent in the bathroom ceiling, LOTS of dust ! Every worker was friendly and greeted you with do you need anything, is everything all right ? Beach and boardwalk view was excellent ! Never have to leave your room. If you reserves your room weeks ahead you maybe able to ask for special rate. July 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Greatest Hotel in VA Beach This Hotel and staff are by far the best in the area. The staff is GREAT, the resturant is clean well staffed, food arrived in timly manner even when they are busy. This Hotel has GREAT STAFF!!!! Job Well Done!!! July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice Hotel enjoyed my stay This hotel was easy to find and in an excellent location. The food was excellent, rooms were very clean and elegant it was a great experience for me and my family. July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel except for the noisy AC unit. Spend the bucks to upgrade your ACs and you will be top notch in my book. June 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay, directly on the beach Enjoyed my stay. Great location directly on the beach. June 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Much nicer than expected Was prepared for an older hotel but was pleasantly surprised by the condition. All facilities appear to have been renovated recently. Food was good and service was excellent. June 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and location We stayed here for the location and were not disappointed. The hotel is right on the beach and in the center of the action. The parking is not great but you are not charged an arm and a leg for a spot either. The room was clean, the air conditioner worked well and the curtains were able to keep the morning sunrise out very well for those of us who wanted to sleep a little late. The front desk staff was fantastic and made the stay even better after a long trip. June 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Oceanside Affordable Luxury Stay I was no less than impressed by the kindness and attentiveness of this hotel's staff. They checked on me in my room, provided me with more than enough details on my reward points, offered amenities, times for respective dining, and locale information. The bed is just simply amazing. I think I even drooled on my pillow my sleep was THAT wonderful. If you don't stay at this hotel while visiting the area whether for business, leisure or combination, something is clearly wrong with your sense of taste, comfort, and travel experiences. Don't miss out on this memory of your life! June 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location I really enjoyed my stay. The staff was pleasant and the room and view was awesome. I would recommend anyone to stay here. June 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Great Place TO Stay Stayed at Holiday Inn oceanside for 4 nights and had a great time. The staff was very helpful and Amanda June 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Everything was great. We would definitely recommend this hotel to our family and friends. We were very happy with everything. What a great experience! June 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service My stay was wonderful, friendly and polite staff. room was very clean and comfortable, food was good in the restaurant...no complaints...planning on staying there very soon. June 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel, poor bar and no internet The hotel is great and the hotel staff wonderful. The restaurant is overpriced compared to what is available just outside the door in the surrounding area but the breakfast was o.k. Internet was non-existent for our stay. We were told it could take 2 weeks to fix, seems hard to believe they have this large of an issue setting up Wi-Fi in an established hotel. The bar is the worst, the staff is inattentive and on two occasions gouged us for drinks after we ordered. Completely unacceptable behavior for such a nice hotel. June 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Price Manager gave me a break on the quoted price because I'd been there once a month. June 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful staff, nice hotel. Staff was very pleasant, clean, nice room, loved the indoor pool, The ocean view from the room and restaurant was awesome. June 5, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great View/ Hotel lacks the usual Holiday Inn Experience The hotel had a great view, front desk staff very pleasant. Dining did not have alternate choices for persons with food allergies. Room was not cleaned - previous occupants underwear was left in the room on the shelf above the closet area, in plain sight. June 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beds Would have preferred King bed but none were available June 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My New Home When I'm Visiting Virginia Beach We came to VA for a relaxing couple of days from NY. I decided to stay at Holiday Inn because of their great value. We had a high floor with a BEAUTIFUL VIEW of the ocean. My Daughter and her fiance had so many questions regarding wedding venues and the staff was more than helpful with the answers. LeNita (Front Desk Rep) was absolutely wonderful. Her friendly, professional attitude was so refreshing. I'd definitely recommend this hotel to everyone. Regards SANDY May 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Work Down for work 2weeks staff is great had a problem with water 2days in a row but staff took care of it on my bill without any trouble. May 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great room with a view Located on the 11th floor with a great view over the whole beach. Very clean throughout. Sleep in the comfortable bed was easy and there was no noise from anywhere apart from the sea when the patio windows were open.. All of the staff were friendly with a big smile for everyone. May 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service The accomodation and service was excellent. As this was my first stay in VA (I was in TX many years ago), I really appreciate service of all employees. Polite and helpful. Another thing that impressed me was the swimming pool and handy opening hours. When coming back to the hotel I went swimming late in the evening which is not always the case in some European hotels. Staff at the receptionist desk was also extremely helpful and knowledgeable about sites, events and travel connections. May 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice room, comfortable bed and wonderful service We enjoyed and always enjoy staying at the holiday inn oceanfront in Virginia Beach, Va. The staff is always very courtesy and helpful. Very friendly. The room is always comfortable and the view is phenomenal. We will always stay at a holiday inn unless there is not one at the location we are going when we make reservations. Thank you Holiday Inn! May 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff! I can choose other hotels in VA Beach but I always pick this one because the staff is so great! From Omar at the front desk to Pauly in the restaurant, I am always treated warmly and they are always accommodating to my needs. April 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Situated right on the beach and walking distance to many restaurants. Clean room , great view and good beds. April 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great View This room was clean and spacious. I enjoyed the view from the oceanfront balcony. All of the staff were courteous. I would stay here again, in fact I tried to book it again recently but it was full. It's a great room for the beach. April 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best on the Boardwalk! This has become our favorite get-a-way. Great staff, service & comfort. Location is perfect! Rooms are very nice & clean. I'm ready to go back! April 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Road Trip My friend & I decided to go on a weekend getaway at Virgina Beach & we stayed at the Holiday Inn. Very nice hotel, great view of the boardwalk,we also saw a beach wedding & horses walking on the beach. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Thanks for the awesome stay. April 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good overall choice for beachfront accomodations. The only thing preventing an excellent overall rating for this property is a lack of attention to details. The weather was wet and cool during our stay which required the use of the heating unit in our room. The unit did not work. Maintenance came quickly and found that the unit had been turned off and needed to be reset. It worked fine for the rest of our stay. We also found that the refrigerator did not work. I did some checking under the sink and found that the refrigerator had been unplugged. The hotel only provided one bar of soap to be shared between the tub and bathroom sink when two bars should be standard. April 3, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel is central to Williamsburg & Virginia Beach Extended Stay Per Diem hotel near Norfolk Naval Base Hotel near Sandler Center for the Arts - 1 mile Hotel less than 1 hour to Busch Gardens, Williamsburg Per diem hotel near Little Creek Navy Base Hotel is near Waterside Festival Marketplace Hotel less than 1 mile to VA Beach Town Center Be sure to tour the nearby Battleship Wisconson Extended stay hotel offers Norfolk Per Diem Rates Great central hotel to Portsmouth, Norfolk & VA Beach Entrance Hotel is a short drive to the Virginia Aquarium Hotel Approach Lobby Entrance Hotel offers easy access to Virgina Beach 10 minutes Hotel is minutes from the Chesapeake Bay Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Front Desk
Select to close.
Your chance to win 1 of 5 Hollywood Experiences and more
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-22-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-23-2014)
Check Availability
Loading