• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-30-2014)
(e.g. Oct-01-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: VIRGINA BEACH
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.5MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:9
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets welcome with a non refundable fee: 75 dollars for 1 to 6 nights and 150 dollars for 7 or more nights. per pet Each pet must weigh less than 80 lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check in.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Town Center of Va Beach
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Pembroke Mall/Restaurants/Entertainment
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Verizon Wireless Va Beach Amphitheater
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI
Attraction:
Little Creek Amphibious Base
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:90
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking is free. There are 2 oversized parking spaces on either side of the building. There is additional oversized parking spaces on the southern side of the bulding.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:83
  • Total number of suites:83
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:47
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:36
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:73
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:9
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
  • FEMA Property Number:VA5199

Enjoy Virginia Beach Hotel's Location near Town Center

Situated along the Atlantic Ocean, Virginia Beach is a popular beach town in the Hampton Roads area. The Candlewood Suites® Virginia Beach - Norfolk hotel is conveniently located near Town Center, making us the perfect choice for both business and leisure travelers.

Imagine having all the tools you need for business right at your fingertips. We have a 24-hour Business Center to help you keep in touch, and free Wi-Fi access is
View More

Enjoy Virginia Beach Hotel's Location near Town Center

Situated along the Atlantic Ocean, Virginia Beach is a popular beach town in the Hampton Roads area. The Candlewood Suites® Virginia Beach - Norfolk hotel is conveniently located near Town Center, making us the perfect choice for both business and leisure travelers.

Imagine having all the tools you need for business right at your fingertips. We have a 24-hour Business Center to help you keep in touch, and free Wi-Fi access is provided in all of the hotel's suites. In Virginia Beach, VA, this hotel's also just minutes from top companies like Northrop Grumman, Lockheed Martin and General Dynamics.

You'll find plenty of things to fill your free time in Virginia Beach. The hotel is within walking distance of the exciting Town Center, where you can find a variety of shops, restaurants and bars. We're just a 10-minute drive from the beach, and you won't want to miss visiting the nearby Virginia Aquarium. If you're looking to take a day trip, Busch Gardens and historic Colonial Williamsburg are just a short drive away, as well.

When it comes to hotels in Virginia Beach, VA, we've got everything you need for a memorable trip. Take advantage of the great amenities like free guest laundry facilities, an outdoor grilling area and a 24-hour Fitness Center. Visit the Candlewood Cupboard for snacks, meals and sundry items. We look forward to welcoming you to this Virginia Beach hotel!

View Less
Features
When you chose to stay with us in Virginia Beach, this hotel's location places you close to Independence Blvd, just 10 minutes from the ocean shore and within walking distance of Town Center.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 279 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel, good location Had a wonderful stay at this Holiday Inn. Not a fancy place, not a lot of amenities but room was clean and comfortable. Housekeepers were very accommodating when requesting extra things or reporting problems in room. They took care of them immediately. Hotel was quiet. Loved that we had a view right out to the beach, and that all the rooms did. Location was exactly in middle of boardwalk which made getting around easier. Only dislike was that the additional parking was not on hotel property which we didn't care for since we were traveling in our shiny red mustang. On the other hand, it was not tampered with at all the nights we had to park there. Would loved there to be a hot tub in the pool area. Loved our first trip to Virginia Beach, hope to return soon! September 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Got what you expect Hotel room was clean and tidy. Everything was in Clean and Tidy. Bathroom was nice, even used the iron and ironing board. Blacony was great and great view. Good location. Alot of other Pennsylvanians seemed to stay at Holiday Inn. A/C Unit was not able to get the room below 70 degrees. And the bartender seemed to be non-existent unless it was happy hour. The breakfast buffet wasn't bad, as a server it seemed maintained. September 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Hotel I have been coming there for 14 years and simply love this place. It only gets better. The staff is TOP NOTCH!!! They all make me feel right at home. I have nothing but great things to say. Every time I return I am welcomed with open arms from the GM all the way down to the maids. Cannot ask for a better staff. I love all of them so much Joe the GM. Jeanette the asst GM. LeNita the front desk mgr Amanda the front desk sup. Malou the barmaid. Francis maid services manager. The chef always comes out to see me and when I leave Jeanette walks me to my car. I thank God for this staff. September 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Noise level During my recent stay, military planes started flying at 7am and continued til after dark. They went over every 10 to 15 minutes daily. I knew nothing about this from previews online September 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by No Major Problems The hotel is looking a little rundown, inside and out. There are holes in the carpeting in the hallways and rooms and some furnishings probably need to be replaced. The sofa bed in my room was uncomfortable because the cushions were fairly worn out, so I tended to slide forward while sitting to read the newspaper. The placement of the sofa was a problem, too. It was RIGHT NEXT to the air conditioner unit, which meant cold air blew directly onto me while sitting on the sofa. It didn't take very long to get tired of that, so I used the desk chair more than the sofa. Perhaps the furniture could be rearranged? If not, it at least needs to be replaced. Otherwise, it was an adequate stay. The room was quiet except for the housekeeping staff going into and out of their storage room, so I was able to rest adequately. (I also noticed that I was not acknowledged as a Priority Club member and, unlike my last visit to this hotel, there was no discount coupon for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Many hotels offer complimentary breakfast now, so I tend to choose those that do. I don't know if this was an oversight or a new Holiday Inn policy.) September 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great quality hotel and service I feel our stay was great. The bedroom and bathroom were very clean. Everything worked well (air conditioning and bath facilities, TV and internet. I didn't use the internet but a few minutes. I usually used my internet as I was setting on the beach through my phone. I felt safe - I feel management really try to make their self available and are aware as much as possible about what is taking place in the hotel. The front desk, management, bar/restaurant employee and housekeeping staff were very accommodating and helpful. I really feel if you want to stay in a great hotel to try Holliday Inn if you are visiting Virginia Beach. September 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Stay Good Stay and well received by all memebers pf the family September 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great front desk and restaurant experience. I have been a guest at this hotel 2-3 times a year for the past 15 years at least, possibly more. Always a very good experience. September 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location The location of the Hotel was great right on the boardwalk to the beach. Easy access off the highway September 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place Comfortable, clean and friendly hotel in the center of many things to do. I will return here again. September 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place!! Loved that it is beachfront and in the middle of the boardwalk. Plenty to see and eat within walking distance. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Off site parking (if the regular lot is full) is only a half bock away. It's not ideal, but not terrible either. When I go back to Virginia Beach, this is where I'll stay. September 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel excellent as always but restaurant has become terrible I have stayed at this hotel several times and found the staff, room, facilities and location to be excellent. One issue was the WiFi signal was weak at best and sometimes nonexistent. More importantly, the restaurant, which used to be quite good and was, in fact, one of the reasons I stayed here, has become quite terrible. I ate at what is now called Sip Sip three times and the food was consistently bad. They managed to make ribs, a burger and a salad almost in edible. I hope they fix the situation with the restaurant because I would like to continue staying here. September 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Boones from Troutville Great location and top notch hotel.All personnel were very friendly and helpful. Second year in row there and it is great. l September 6, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not Impressed I was expecting more based on the high reviews, however, I was sadly disappointed. Dirty bathroom and the restaurant downstairs was dirty as well. Splatters on the walls in the room, noise in the hallways. Someone in the room next to us chain-smoked on the balcony most of the time making it hard for my kids to enjoy the balcony. Restaurant downstairs was understaffed and orders where wrong or items completely missed all together. Overall, I was not impressed and I have been to several Holiday Inns...this one rates pretty low on the list. September 3, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not impressed... I was there for the 1/2 marathon this past weekend and I was not impressed! First off...our room was dirty...the toilet, and tub looked as if they had not been touched. We found splatters of food or something on the walls and pistachio shells around the nightstand...disgusting on all levels. I cleaned most of it myself and then called the front desk for the bathroom to be re-cleaned. Second, the restaurant that they have in the lobby must have been understaffed, our order was wrong, items ordered were forgotten and the service for the most part was pretty poor. We also had to remove a dead fly that was in the windowsill right next to were we sat...gross! I have stayed at several Holiday Inns and I usually love them...this stay was nowhere near my expectations! However, I will say the staff at the front desk was very nice and helpful with our issues and suggestions of places to eat :) September 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not what we thought it was going to be. IHG Website states hotel has newly renovated rooms, but we were less than impressed. New carpet, bedspreads and wall paper helped, but they forgot about the walls and bathroom. Ceiling finish over bathtub was bubbling up, wall next to tub had water damage and shower curtain was torn. If you like the retro 60's look (think Blue Hawaii Elvis# than you might like the room, but wasn't our thing. The view off the balcony was nice and the housekeeping service was very good, but we didn't like our room location. Was across the hall from guest laundry and when in the bathroom you could hear the dryer spinning up and winding down. The hotel staff #especially the desk clerk from New York, name?) did her/their best to make things better, but was disappointed in being given a second floor room when asked for a 5th or 6th. I understand room requests cannot be guaranteed, but thought booking months in advance would have yielded us at least a higher floor room. Another minus is the parking situation. Hotel advertises they have additional parking across the street, but what they really have is not enough parking at the hotel itself and a mess at the off property lot. Lack of space results in cars being double and triple parked-in, where multiple vehicles often have to be moved so you can get out. Ok if you're not on a schedule, but can be a frustrating wait if you are. Over all, property is "ok", but based on our experience we were puzzled with the 4.5 star rating. There are better Holiday Inn properties than this one for sure and after visiting other hotels on the strip (especially North Beach end) am convinced there are better hotels available elsewhere on the strip as well. September 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Loved the hotel and the view! This hotel had everything a person needs to relax! It was one of the only hotels on the beach that had palm trees. Along with its outdoor patio seating that allowed guests to eat breakfast while watching the sun come up, the hotel offered inside seating in creative fishing theme. There is a box close to the elevators that allows guests to pick through an assortment of playful items to take out on the beach and have fun with! The view from the balcony was amazing, you could see the dolphins jumping if you were out at the right time. A+ experience, I will be back :) Thanks for making my vacation spectacular! September 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing Atmosphere I've stayed at this hotel previously; it continues to provide a relaxing atmosphere; just a few steps from the beach and boardwalk. Hotel is in a good location within walking distance to restaurants and other seashore shopping. The one minor con was not being recognized as an rewards club member. I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again. September 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great time at VB!! We have been staying at this Holiday Inn for over 15 years. It's the only place at Virginia Beach that we want to stay! September 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Summer at the Beach Great location, central to most entertainment and the fireworks! Restaurant is excellent and rooms are clean. August 31, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great View Nice place, easy access to beach and room had a great view. Things that were little disappointing were limited on site parking, room cleanliness (food on the carpets from previous guests and windows dirty). Pool water very cloudy. August 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Staff was very friendly, location was great, right in the middle of the board walk, close walk to all reastants and shops. Room was clean bed was very comfortable and great view of the ocean! Would stay here again! August 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My Hiliday Inn Va Beach Oceanside visit This was a spur-of-the-moment beach getaway. I am so glad that I chose this particular hotel. Every aspect of the stay was outstanding! The property was neat, located right on the ocean, and each staff member I encountered was friendly, helpful, and professional. I highly recommend this property! August 29, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Comfortable bed/room and great housekeeping service. Oceanside beachfront hotel rooms were really comfortable w/nice views. Our standard rooms w/2-double beds each were cozy enough, but regret that we did not have a kitchenette so I could cook for the kids (would've saved a ton of $ having to eat out @ restaurants the entire wkd). In any case, a very enjoyable experience and hotel staff were courteous August 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Checking-in Tried to do early check in, ( so did everyone else). Wasn't really bothered that I was not able to. The only problem was that the front desk clerk was overworked. She started with help which left at 2 pm then she was all alone doing check in. Forgot her name but she did and excellent job with the amount of people waiting to check in. Other than the delay of checking in, which is at 4 pm anyway, the stay was great!! August 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Wonderful Experience I just thoroughly enjoyed a wonderful three-night stay at The Holiday Inn, Virginia Beach-Oceanside (21st St)! We got off to a less than promising start from the time I pulled into the parking lot on Sunday at 6 pm, only to find the lot filled. I immediately got my dukes up, parked by the front door, and entered fully expecting a hustle and a hassle... No such thing. Amanda at the Front Desk immediately turned our space into a little piece of paradise, assigned me a wonderful room, and assured me that parking would soon be available right out front, or that the hotel had plenty of parking just across Atlantic Ave. Throughout my stay, the property and the staff amazed and delighted me. Jet fighters from Oceana NAS zoomed directly overhead, but I'm an old Navy guy, and I love jet noise. The room was clean, comfortable, spacious, and well-appointed. All rooms are oceanfront, there is a nice indoor pool, and a neat dining room, with wonderful beach/ocean views, coupled w good food/good service. Also, there is a nice bar with a great happy 3-hours! I would return. This was an overall great stay! August 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and view My wife and I were traveling for our 35th wedding anniversary and this was our 3rd stop of our trip. We arrived very early but thanks to the great front desk Manager Jeanette she able to check us in early and also I had requested upper floor level which she also got for us. Once check in there was a knock on our door and she had the staff send up a bottle of Champage for us to celabrate!!!!!. That was very nice of the hotel to do. The location right on the beach and great views and great staff make this hotel a must stay!! August 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Super contenta Mi primer vez que voy hasta Virginia Beash y realmente valio la pena el viaje de 3 horas para llegar. El hotel me encanto que esta hubicado en una buena area de restaurantes y clubs. Ademas a orillas de la playa. Espectacular el despertar con el sonido de las olas del mar. El servicio en si me gusto mucho y junto a mi familia pasamos y buena noche de descanso. August 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beds were a little lumpy Our room had two double beds. Both seemed to have a well worn "dip" in the mattress from the previous guests which made sleeping a bit uncomfortable. The website says the hotel was refreshed in 2012. I guess that means they had new carpet and some paint and not new mattresses. August 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Highly recommend Excellent stay, very friendly staff, ocean view with patio, bike rental at hotel right beside. did lots of research online before booking and would definitely come back! August 25, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel is central to Williamsburg & Virginia Beach Extended Stay Per Diem hotel near Norfolk Naval Base Hotel near Sandler Center for the Arts - 1 mile Hotel less than 1 hour to Busch Gardens, Williamsburg Per diem hotel near Little Creek Navy Base Hotel is near Waterside Festival Marketplace Hotel less than 1 mile to VA Beach Town Center Be sure to tour the nearby Battleship Wisconson Extended stay hotel offers Norfolk Per Diem Rates Great central hotel to Portsmouth, Norfolk & VA Beach Entrance Hotel is a short drive to the Virginia Aquarium Hotel Approach Lobby Entrance Hotel offers easy access to Virgina Beach 10 minutes Hotel is minutes from the Chesapeake Bay Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Front Desk
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-30-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-01-2014)
Check Availability
Loading