• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-23-2014)
(e.g. Jul-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: VIRGINA BEACH
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.5MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:9
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets welcome with a non refundable fee: 75 dollars for 1 to 6 nights and 150 dollars for 7 or more nights. per pet Each pet must weigh less than 80 lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check in.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Waterside/Downtown Norfolk
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI
Attraction:
Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Distance From Hotel:9.0MI
Attraction:
Pembroke Mall/Restaurants/Entertainment
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Norfolk Naval Base
Distance From Hotel:15.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:90
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking is free. There are 2 oversized parking spaces on either side of the building. There is additional oversized parking spaces on the southern side of the bulding.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:83
  • Total number of suites:83
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:47
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:36
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:73
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:9
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
  • FEMA Property Number:VA5199

Enjoy Virginia Beach Hotel's Location near Town Center

Situated along the Atlantic Ocean, Virginia Beach is a popular beach town in the Hampton Roads area. The Candlewood Suites® Virginia Beach - Norfolk hotel is conveniently located near Town Center, making us the perfect choice for both business and leisure travelers.

Imagine having all the tools you need for business right at your fingertips. We have a 24-hour Business Center to help you keep in touch, and free Wi-Fi access is
View More

Enjoy Virginia Beach Hotel's Location near Town Center

Situated along the Atlantic Ocean, Virginia Beach is a popular beach town in the Hampton Roads area. The Candlewood Suites® Virginia Beach - Norfolk hotel is conveniently located near Town Center, making us the perfect choice for both business and leisure travelers.

Imagine having all the tools you need for business right at your fingertips. We have a 24-hour Business Center to help you keep in touch, and free Wi-Fi access is provided in all of the hotel's suites. In Virginia Beach, VA, this hotel's also just minutes from top companies like Northrop Grumman, Lockheed Martin and General Dynamics.

You'll find plenty of things to fill your free time in Virginia Beach. The hotel is within walking distance of the exciting Town Center, where you can find a variety of shops, restaurants and bars. We're just a 10-minute drive from the beach, and you won't want to miss visiting the nearby Virginia Aquarium. If you're looking to take a day trip, Busch Gardens and historic Colonial Williamsburg are just a short drive away, as well.

When it comes to hotels in Virginia Beach, VA, we've got everything you need for a memorable trip. Take advantage of the great amenities like free guest laundry facilities, an outdoor grilling area and a 24-hour Fitness Center. Visit the Candlewood Cupboard for snacks, meals and sundry items. We look forward to welcoming you to this Virginia Beach hotel!

View Less
Features
When you chose to stay with us in Virginia Beach, this hotel's location places you close to Independence Blvd, just 10 minutes from the ocean shore and within walking distance of Town Center.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 117 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel and very nice room The room was exceptionally clean and the staff was really friendly. The I thought the breakfast was not as good as other previous experiences (both variety and quality) I had with Holliday Inn Express, but overall it was a very pleasant experience and we'll definitely be back. June 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Smokers Smoking area should be moved away from the front entrance. Walking through a ploume of cigarette smoke is not a pleasant experience. There were groups of people standing at the entrance smoking everytime I left and returned. You are missing the chance to make a good first impression at your front door. June 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room Colors Are Terrible The staff was great, the rooms were clean and nice, the beds were comfortable, the pool was nice, the breakfast was mediocre. The two issues: 1. The shower head is way too low. At 6' tall, I couldn't stand under the shower head...I had to bend over. Shower heads should be about 6.5' off the floor of the tub and this one was maybe 6'. 2. The color of the room was a hospital blue/pale bluish or pale green/blue. A sickening, cold color that makes the room dismal. Obviously the color choice was not well thought out. Colors should be warm and bright. June 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceptional Stay Exceptional service and staff. Excellent accommodations. Comfortable bed. Loved the layout of the rooms. Would not hesitate to stay again or recommend. Keep up the great work ! June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Recent Stay Both my wife and I work remotely and travel for pleasure as well; frequently working full days in the hotel room. Since we require separate work stations, one gets the desk and the other has to find somewhere else to work. Generally we get a suite with 2 rooms. The Norfolk Holiday Inn Express & Suites is great. The suites have 2 separate rooms. The only thing lacking is the ability to get another small table for the extra workspace. We had a great room, the staff was super. The room was clean and quiet in spite of having a full hotel with a lot of teenagers. Great Stay! June 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Worth while stay I have stayed at many Holiday Inns while traveling and I have always found coming back to this Norfolk Holiday Inn Express to be one of my highlights in places to stay. They always have a pleasant staff. Rarely in the numerous times I have stayed here do I have any issues. If I have one they quickly solve it and don't make you feel like you are trying to steal from them. If you asked me was there one bad thing? Well, no hot cocoa. But the breakfast was great as usual! Thanks for a Great Stay! June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A very nice place One of the nicest Holiday Inn Expresses. A bit unique, trendy, great colors, large room with separate sitting area, great shower and close enough to walk to dinner. The AC worked well and was quiet and the bathroom was well lit and large. I wish all the HIEs were as nice as this one. June 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Up to Par, no problems encountered I've stayed at this motel a number of times. Each time, I stay I've few if any problems. The experience is always pleasant. June 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Spacious I'd recommend this motel for folks traveling...rooms clean June 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room, very spacious, nice hotel. This was a very nice hotel. The beds were very comfortable. We would stay here again. Very spacious room. June 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best hotel stay From the moment we arrived our stay was wonderful. The desk staff were amazing. They went out of their way to make sure we felt welcome and that we enjoyed our stay. The suite was large by comparison to the many other places we have stayed. The bathroom was large and CLEAN. The bed was comfortable with plenty of pillows and covers to choose from. When someone was relaxing or watching tv in the living room, it was quiet enough to sleep in the bedroom. There was also a good size desk and the suite was furnished with a frig. and microwave. There was a good assortment of food to choose from for the continental breakfast, from fruit to eggs and sausage, to waffles, cereal, yogurt and more. The cleaning staff were friendly and efficient. I would highly recommend this hotel. June 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My Go-To Hotel From Now On Stayed one night and there are so many positives: Very clean and bright Great price, good value Great sleep, two queen beds with comfy mattresses Great rooms, bedroom and living room were just what I needed when traveling with my son, he can stay up all night in the LR and I can zzzzzzzz! Quiet! June 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Presentation Very welcoming lobby. Very clean throughout room and lobby area/dining area. Customer service excellent. June 7, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good Staff just need better planning. If you have kids make sure to get third floor or higher so you don't here party going on in conference room on first floor. Staff met needs with lack of towels, sheets, and blankets in room upon check in. Breakfast was nice quick and convenient. Pool was nice, lack of towels at pool was inconvenient. June 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good service and comfortable quarters location was good for our needs. plenty of restaurtants and shopping centers. access to interstate highways very good and easily marked. June 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good room and good amenities I stayed here as a pass through to my final destination and I must say I was not at all disappointed. This is a fine hotel with great customer service and accomadating staff members. I would definitely stay here again and encourage those looking for a good night sleep to consider this Hotel, it will not disappoint you. June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My Sunday New York Times and that huge bed OK, So it was Friday night, but I didn't have time to read the Sunday Times. Some wine and a nosh and an chance to catch up on my reading without interuption. Turn the TV low, spread the papers out, read and fall asleep. Sleep until the sun comes up. Does it get any better than this? The coffee and food down stairs is actually good. This would be home if it wasn't so far away and the tunnel traffic. May 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by ROADWARRIOR1953 I was a walk-in (No Reservation), checked in May 14, 2014 for two nights, the first thing I said was that I was an IHG member which until then the person would enter the IHG number first and the screen would populate all information, check-in would be quick, she said that would be the last thing she wanted, she proceeded to ask my name, address, telephone, e-mail, I had to repeat everything twice, she never made eye contact, would not respond to small talk. I was assigned room 115 which turned out to be a Handicapped room. The room color was dull and depressing, only one third of the room had carpet, a 9 to 10 foot ceiling, the laundry was across the hall, high traffic and noisy. I had stayed there several times before, and never had a complaint, I was greatly disappointed, there are many other hotels in that area to choose from, with over 200,000 points I have seen many Holiday Inns. I won't stay there again. May 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Corporate Traveler Good hotel very friendly staff. Hotel and amenities were your typical Holiday Inn Express. May 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great weekend at Holiday Inn It is always good to know that when you book a room at a Holiday Inn you always get great service and good room. May 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice homey room and environment I enjoyed the spacious room and the good business work area within the room. The Lobby décor was nice. Clean room. May 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent I stay on an average of two nights per week on business. The staff is excellent and helpful. It's always a pleasure to stay there. May 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by HIE Norfolk Very peasant staff. Quiet in the evening, slept well. Only complaint - no coffee in the afternoon or evening. We went off site to purchase it. April 29, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Irritating hvac and noisy. Strange cement room with ventilator that was noisy and put a terrific draft on the bed. Very roomy but odd decor that was not warm and comfortable. Felt like a converted basement room but it was the second floor. The refrigerator also made strange noises at times all night. March 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Travel Experience This motel exceeded all of our expectations. The rooms were spacious and well appointed. The breakfast was delicious with a wide variety of selections. The staff was courteous. We'd definitely stay there again. March 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by TOP NOTCH STAFF and CLEANEST HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS IVE BEEN TO I cannot say enough about how great staff. David has always went above and beyond to help with whatever we need to make our stay better as well as Phillip, Lewis, and everyone of there staff members. This is just a great great hotel to stay at when we are out of town. We have never been disappointed . I would like to say THANK YOU to whole team for being TOP NOTCH. March 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing Stay I would recommend this hotel. The bed was ver comfortable and the room was very nice. March 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by sswimming pool issues I would've gave it a 5 if my daughter and friends didn't get kicked out. They said it post to be a limit. But when they got out, it was still the same amount of people in there March 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Consummate professionals I stay at Holiday Inn Hotels frequently for work. Have never had an issue that wasn't resolved promptly and adequately. Rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, staff is absolutely great! March 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The customer service model for all others to emulate! I can't say enough about the comfort and service of this HIE location. The desk clerk was warm and friendly, greeting us with a big smile! While arranging an early wake up call with her, we asked if she knew anything about long term parking at the nearby airport, our destination the next morning. She immediately offered to have us leave our vehicle at the hotel and take advantage of the available shuttle service to the terminal. Going down at 4:45 a.m. to meet the shuttle, the morning desk clerk told us they had prepared fresh coffee and although it was too early for the standard breakfast fare, she had gotten out some bagels and condiments for us to enjoy. Upon our return to Norfolk almost a week later, we called the desk to inquire if there was a shuttle schedule that we could wait for the next pick up. As it turned out, we had just missed the scheduled shuttle but they offered to send it right back to get us. The biggest surprise was when the driver turned out to be the general manager of the hotel who was insistent that we should not have to wait. I have told everyone I've met since returning about the incredible staff and management at this location. Thank you for a very enjoyable experience! February 27, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel is central to Williamsburg & Virginia Beach Extended Stay Per Diem hotel near Norfolk Naval Base Hotel near Sandler Center for the Arts - 1 mile Hotel less than 1 hour to Busch Gardens, Williamsburg Per diem hotel near Little Creek Navy Base Hotel is near Waterside Festival Marketplace Hotel less than 1 mile to VA Beach Town Center Be sure to tour the nearby Battleship Wisconson Extended stay hotel offers Norfolk Per Diem Rates Great central hotel to Portsmouth, Norfolk & VA Beach Entrance Hotel is a short drive to the Virginia Aquarium Hotel Approach Lobby Entrance Hotel offers easy access to Virgina Beach 10 minutes Hotel is minutes from the Chesapeake Bay Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Front Desk
Select to close.
Your chance to win 1 of 5 Hollywood Experiences and more
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-23-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-24-2014)
Check Availability
Loading