• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-25-2014)
(e.g. Jul-26-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: VIRGINA BEACH
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.5MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:9
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets welcome with a non refundable fee: 75 dollars for 1 to 6 nights and 150 dollars for 7 or more nights. per pet Each pet must weigh less than 80 lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check in.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Waterside/Downtown Norfolk
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI
Attraction:
Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Distance From Hotel:9.0MI
Attraction:
Pembroke Mall/Restaurants/Entertainment
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Norfolk Naval Base
Distance From Hotel:15.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:90
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking is free. There are 2 oversized parking spaces on either side of the building. There is additional oversized parking spaces on the southern side of the bulding.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:83
  • Total number of suites:83
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:47
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:36
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:73
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:9
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
  • FEMA Property Number:VA5199

Enjoy Virginia Beach Hotel's Location near Town Center

Situated along the Atlantic Ocean, Virginia Beach is a popular beach town in the Hampton Roads area. The Candlewood Suites® Virginia Beach - Norfolk hotel is conveniently located near Town Center, making us the perfect choice for both business and leisure travelers.

Imagine having all the tools you need for business right at your fingertips. We have a 24-hour Business Center to help you keep in touch, and free Wi-Fi access is
View More

Enjoy Virginia Beach Hotel's Location near Town Center

Situated along the Atlantic Ocean, Virginia Beach is a popular beach town in the Hampton Roads area. The Candlewood Suites® Virginia Beach - Norfolk hotel is conveniently located near Town Center, making us the perfect choice for both business and leisure travelers.

Imagine having all the tools you need for business right at your fingertips. We have a 24-hour Business Center to help you keep in touch, and free Wi-Fi access is provided in all of the hotel's suites. In Virginia Beach, VA, this hotel's also just minutes from top companies like Northrop Grumman, Lockheed Martin and General Dynamics.

You'll find plenty of things to fill your free time in Virginia Beach. The hotel is within walking distance of the exciting Town Center, where you can find a variety of shops, restaurants and bars. We're just a 10-minute drive from the beach, and you won't want to miss visiting the nearby Virginia Aquarium. If you're looking to take a day trip, Busch Gardens and historic Colonial Williamsburg are just a short drive away, as well.

When it comes to hotels in Virginia Beach, VA, we've got everything you need for a memorable trip. Take advantage of the great amenities like free guest laundry facilities, an outdoor grilling area and a 24-hour Fitness Center. Visit the Candlewood Cupboard for snacks, meals and sundry items. We look forward to welcoming you to this Virginia Beach hotel!

View Less
Features
When you chose to stay with us in Virginia Beach, this hotel's location places you close to Independence Blvd, just 10 minutes from the ocean shore and within walking distance of Town Center.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 180 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff; but awful banquet food Staff were exceptional from front desk to banquet servers and other staff. However; food was awful; chicken undercooked, the gumbo was horrible and fish had an horrible odor on Saturday evening. July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location We booked this room for my daughter's freshman orientation at Virginia Wesleyan College. It was convenient and inexpensive. I was greeted by the front desk staff at check-in and made to feel welcomed. I had no problem, but my daughter was disappointed because BET was not a part of the channel line-up so she missed the BET awards. I would definitely stay here again. July 2, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by You will not be seeing me again Ordinarily I would not give a bad review to a hotel unless something hugh went wrong, and unfortunately, something did this time. We have stayed at your hotel many times with the NMA reunion, and never had a problem. But this time was awful, and it was all due to the horrible sewer gas problem you have. It started in the hallway leading to the dining room, (so bad one night, we had to go to an outside restaurant, because the smell made me sick to my stomach) I did complain to the desk manager, and was assured that they had plumbers working on it, but, come to find out, from other posts on the web, as far back as April, that this has been an ongoing problem. It made for a very unpleasant stay, and we will not be booking with you again, especially because I was led to believe that this was a "fluke" and only happened since we were there when obviously it is something that has been happenening for a long time with nothing being done to resolve it. (even having some windows open, and fans going would have made the smell less concentrated) There was no mention of any compensation to us for this inconvenience, which was also very dissapointing. July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn - Virginia Beach (Norfolk) The staff at the Holiday Inn made my stay during the conference very enjoyable. The conference I attend is held twice a year in Virginia Beach at this particular location. This was my first time staying at this Holiday Inn. I will definitely stay again. July 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Poor customer service During our meeting, one of my friends drop her cell phone, needless to say, no one came forward to say that they had found it. Poor customer service, no patience. July 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lacrosse Weekend 3rd time we have stayed at this property and the service remains exceptional. The staff is helpful and accomodating. Always have enough towels at the desk for a bunch of smelly kids. Only comment would be that during check-in on Fridays it feels like the front desk staff could use some support as there are always events going on at the hotel, and people checking in which can overwhelm the staff and cause some time during check-in. Overall a great experience. Thanks June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and comfortable Overall good experience, The only problem was parking. This location was very busy and parking was a problem. June 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good services The Ashley's restaurants waitresses are nice. Although the breakfast there is not quite match with it's price, the services were good. The hotel room has some fur balls, but still acceptable. Had stayed there 4 years in a row and wish they bring back those steam room and indoor pool back. June 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service My family and I reserved 5 rooms...and we had no complaints. I did notice the hotel as a whole need some updating such as furniture. But, overrall, our stay was very satisfactory and we would recommend the hotel to others. Also, the staff was great. June 25, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by It was just okay I enjoyed my stay, but I don't feel the room was worth as much as I paid for it. The room had a really bad smell and we were placed right in the middle of the hallway so there was a lot of noise and high traffic all day and night.. there was banging coming from the neighboors. Also the water pressure in the room was very low so it made it a little difficult to take a shower when you have to stand directly under the shower head as well as the toilet barily flushed. The room was clean though other then the smell(kinda smelled like a dog had been playing in the rain) Also the remote to the tv didnt really work as well as the light by the bed kept randomly cutting on and off... it was a nice place but I probably wouldnt do this again. June 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff and Clean Rooms The staff was very friendly from the front desk, to the maintenance guys, to the cleaning people. Whatever I asked for, they made sure I got it and did not acted like it was a hassle for them. Rooms were also very clean. Would definitely stay here again. June 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent stay! The room was very clean and the bed was quite comfortable.The shower was beautiful, and the cleaning staff did a good job attending to the room as needed. The breakfast was INCREDIBLE. We had the option to order off of a menu, but chose the buffet each morning because of how great it was. Hands down, best breakfast buffet I've had at a hotel (and I've traveled a good bit). Wi-fi was strong throughout the building, and the lobby was set up beautifully for relaxing in. Overall, we were extremely satisfied. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wedding weekend The staff was very friendly and informative. The offered us check out at 2 pm because of our Platinum status. The pool was very nice and open late. The room was comfortable and the beds slept well. They have a large buffet and since we stayed the night the kids at free. The only issue was the food could have been warmer but the was a good variety to choose from. I would definitely stay again. It was close to the highway and everything else. June 19, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service, Bad rooms Staff and public areas of this hotel are wonderful - clean and inviting. The room I had, on the other hand, ruined the experience. It was a non-smoking room that reeked of cigarette smoke. Housekeeping did respond quickly to attempt to fix it, but result was floral scented smoke - not a big help. Had to wipe down surfaces MYSELF with Lysol wipes to remove the smell, including the air conditioner filters - yellow residue was obvious, so you could tell it wasn't a 1 cigarette issue. Ended up leaving the air running high all night to keep the rest of the smell down, resulting in damp everything the next morning - not a pleasant night at all. Also, no sheets for the sofa bed, despite calls (unanswered) and a trip to the front desk which promised housekeeping would arrive - 2 hours later, still no bedding. Ended up pulling some stuff off the king bed in an attempt to make it workable. Very disappointed :( June 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel This is a nice hotel. The beds and pillows are extremely comfortable and we slept very well. This location was great it only took about 15 minutes to drive to the beach. The breakfast was good and I love that children each free at each meal. I thought the tables in the room were a little dusty. I also saw a few strands of hair in the shower and on the curtain that did not belong to anyone in my family (not our color or texture). Thought they could have done a little better cleaning in there. I was a little annoyed at the pool because someone was smoking a cigar and it ruined my experience out there. also the downstairs area smelled like smoke because of the people smoking outside the door. I think they need to put up some benches and have designated smoking areas since it is a smoke free hotel inside. June 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good stay I have stayed at this Holiday Inn before and I have never had a bad stay. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff is excellent. The lobby bar is good and overall it is a good hotel. June 13, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Smoking by the Poolside No Parking Room 363. No outlets close to bedside, outlets were loose and plugs would not stay in. Sink counter in bathroom detached from wall, sink water would not drain as a result. No place to hang towels in bathroom, hairdryer not secured on wall but just laying on shelf underneath sink. Not enough lighting in room, table in room to small to eat or work from. Air conditioning was not working properly. Had problems with key, had to go to lobby to complain, they sent Clarence to change the battery on door. There was smoking by the poolside and in the side exit cigarette butts on ground everywhere, workers lurking smoking right outside hotel of this side entrance. Parking is extremely difficult. Overall a bad experience. June 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Decent stay The room was a nice get away from the busy life. The hotels location is prime you are a easy driving distance to any attractions close by. For the room itself, there was some cosmetic damage, such as a light fixture missing, mirror tarnished, plugs on lights didint work, but just small details. It was a clean room, and clean comfortable king sized bed. I was pleased with the service, and found hotel staff that I was looking for. However, being so close to the pool, I wasn't comfortable with the noise and crowd that were there for late night swim. June 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff Check in/out was a breeze. Hotel staff was very attentive and helpful. Room was clean, quite and comfortable. June 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Check in slow Did not see any staff the whole time there. Room was okay, but had to park in back of hotel. The parking lot was not very well lit. June 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT ROOM OF ALL THE HOLIDAY INN STAYS IN RECENT YEARS, THIS WAS THE BEST FOR ME. I WAS VERY PLEASANTLY SURPRISED. GOOD VALUE June 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good value Stayed here for a continuing Ed course - price, location to interstate, room quality were all very good - noise levels can be bothersome-restaurant was not open for lunch (main time we needed it) - Denny's, Ruby Tuesday's are within walking distance - staff was friendly and very service oriented - pool looks very nice but weather was too cool for a swim - book upper level rooms if possible- parking was good-nice to have fridge and microwave in room-overall a good value for the money June 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Quite and freindly atmosphere When visiting Virginia beach we have always stayed on or closer to the beach, at times we would stay a little further away. There were four of us that stayed at this hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We all agreed that we enjoyed our experience at this hotel and would highly recommend to friends and family as well. Thank you for contributing to our great time on our four day getaway in Virginia beach. June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent stay This survey says it all. Just make sure the fitness center equipment works and is easily understandable, that was a large part of my trip. Thank-you for a very nice stay June 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good value and great food. Spent two nights for a nearby conference and was very pleased. The rooms are clean and updated, though they may not have gotten their money's worth from their contractors because the wallpaper seams are lossening in multiple spots and will become a bigger problem in the future. The in hotel restaurant was great and was a pleasant surprise. The prices were also very good for an in-house offering. Very short ride to VA Beach and Norfolk without being in the middle of the chaos. I would definitely stay again for meeting travel. June 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Know your neighborhood... The hotel cant be completely responsible for its guests... very nice hotel. staff is excellent and friendly. Straight shot to the beach, much nicer and way cheaper June 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent stay Checked in at 2 in the morning and front desk staff was courteous and friendly. Clean quiet and comfortable room. June 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great hotel, will stay here again. Clean rooms, attentive staff. Good food. The only thing lacking was yoga mats for stretching in workout room. And the temperature in the hallways was pretty warm and muggy. Once you were in your room or in the other common areas the temperature was fine. However, walking from my room to the elevator and riding in the elevator down to the main floor made me break out in a sweat. Once you were in your room the ac kicks in pretty quickly and the temperature was fine. Overall a great stay and what I expected based on other reviews . June 2, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by No place to do business! Overbooked with sports teams; computer access was over-taken with young children with no supervision and made the business center useless; unable to relax in evening using the lounge, restaurant or pool because it was so noisy and overpopulated for the facility. The room rate doubled on the weekend and it was far less than half the experience because of the overbooking of predominantly youth sports teams. Just as I started looking at Holiday Inn again because a couple of excellent experiences, I've closed Holiday Inn as an option in frequent business travel. May 28, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Blah We had inside room. The windows were open to the inside Atrium. It was very noisy. Natural light was not great, but there were plenty of light on in the atrium. All Night long the lights were on. Did I say it was noisy - well it was. Room was fine and clean. No issues. Bathroom had a modern sink and faucet. Looked great. No real functionality. Actual the sink / Faucet setup was bad. Sink did not drain. May 23, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel is central to Williamsburg & Virginia Beach Extended Stay Per Diem hotel near Norfolk Naval Base Hotel near Sandler Center for the Arts - 1 mile Hotel less than 1 hour to Busch Gardens, Williamsburg Per diem hotel near Little Creek Navy Base Hotel is near Waterside Festival Marketplace Hotel less than 1 mile to VA Beach Town Center Be sure to tour the nearby Battleship Wisconson Extended stay hotel offers Norfolk Per Diem Rates Great central hotel to Portsmouth, Norfolk & VA Beach Entrance Hotel is a short drive to the Virginia Aquarium Hotel Approach Lobby Entrance Hotel offers easy access to Virgina Beach 10 minutes Hotel is minutes from the Chesapeake Bay Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Front Desk
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Your chance to win 1 of 5 Hollywood Experiences and more
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-25-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-26-2014)
Check Availability
Loading