• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-10-2014)
(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: VIRGINA BEACH
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.5MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:9
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets welcome with a non refundable fee: 75 dollars for 1 to 6 nights and 150 dollars for 7 or more nights. per pet Each pet must weigh less than 80 lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check in.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Waterside/Downtown Norfolk
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI
Attraction:
Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Distance From Hotel:9.0MI
Attraction:
Pembroke Mall/Restaurants/Entertainment
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Norfolk Naval Base
Distance From Hotel:15.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:90
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking is free. There are 2 oversized parking spaces on either side of the building. There is additional oversized parking spaces on the southern side of the bulding.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:83
  • Total number of suites:83
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:47
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:36
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:73
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:9
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
  • FEMA Property Number:VA5199

Enjoy Virginia Beach Hotel's Location near Town Center

Situated along the Atlantic Ocean, Virginia Beach is a popular beach town in the Hampton Roads area. The Candlewood Suites® Virginia Beach - Norfolk hotel is conveniently located near Town Center, making us the perfect choice for both business and leisure travelers.

Imagine having all the tools you need for business right at your fingertips. We have a 24-hour Business Center to help you keep in touch, and free Wi-Fi access is
View More

Enjoy Virginia Beach Hotel's Location near Town Center

Situated along the Atlantic Ocean, Virginia Beach is a popular beach town in the Hampton Roads area. The Candlewood Suites® Virginia Beach - Norfolk hotel is conveniently located near Town Center, making us the perfect choice for both business and leisure travelers.

Imagine having all the tools you need for business right at your fingertips. We have a 24-hour Business Center to help you keep in touch, and free Wi-Fi access is provided in all of the hotel's suites. In Virginia Beach, VA, this hotel's also just minutes from top companies like Northrop Grumman, Lockheed Martin and General Dynamics.

You'll find plenty of things to fill your free time in Virginia Beach. The hotel is within walking distance of the exciting Town Center, where you can find a variety of shops, restaurants and bars. We're just a 10-minute drive from the beach, and you won't want to miss visiting the nearby Virginia Aquarium. If you're looking to take a day trip, Busch Gardens and historic Colonial Williamsburg are just a short drive away, as well.

When it comes to hotels in Virginia Beach, VA, we've got everything you need for a memorable trip. Take advantage of the great amenities like free guest laundry facilities, an outdoor grilling area and a 24-hour Fitness Center. Visit the Candlewood Cupboard for snacks, meals and sundry items. We look forward to welcoming you to this Virginia Beach hotel!

View Less
Features
When you chose to stay with us in Virginia Beach, this hotel's location places you close to Independence Blvd, just 10 minutes from the ocean shore and within walking distance of Town Center.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 331 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect Located at the tip, on the North End of the boardwalk, so out of the hustle, but a short stroll away to get to the free concert on the beach. Beach and boardwalk was extremely beautiful and clean. The staff at Holiday Inn was unbelievable! From valet parking, to checkin, to pool waitress, and breakfast staff! Very respectful! I had a wonderful experience, and will return. (Remember it is VA beach however, so you will hear the jets flying over! I liked that though! Sounds of freedom :)) July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellant rooms )ur stay at the holiday inn was awesome.The rooms were very well kept.Everything was so neat. The staff was so nice and very helpful.What a big differance from Four years ago.So much to offer for a family. My hat off to the management and staff. can't what till next year. Job well done. Thank You. June 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel My family stayed here for 4 nights and we had a wonderful time. This hotel is clean, safe, and had plenty of things to do for the kids. If we came back to visit, we would stay here. The area is quiet and perfect for families. June 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, beach access, pools & parking This was our first visit to VB in many years (we typically go to Ocean City). The suite was spacious and comfortable. The staff cleaned the room before 11:00am each day and there were always plenty of towels and linens. We were there for a week (Monday - Monday). We ate at the Square Whale three times including room service. The other restaurant had a dress code that we weren't prepared to meet. The only inconvenience was a minor problem with some of the umbrellas on the outdoor poolside tables: they had broken splines and were hard to raise and lower. We spoke to the staff and they were still working on the problem when we left. While there, we had to sign some documents as part of a property sale back home. The staff helped us generate a copy of the signed document that we could email back to the realtor from their business center. We recommend the facility to anyone visiting the area for business or pleasure. June 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Family Friendly Resort Atmosphere This was our second year staying at the Holiday Inn and Suites at North VA Beach and again, our stay was excellent. We returned to this hotel because of it's "resort-like" atmosphere. There are many kid friendly activities. With 4 pools, a kids eat free restaurant, and oceanfront access, we rarely had to leave the hotel grounds. Some shops and restaurants are within walking distance, or you can take the Atlantic Avenue trolley to see more choices further south. From the front desk staff, to housekeeping, and maintenance workers, the hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again! June 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by few minor complaints overall the holiday inn north at virginia beach was great. there were a few problems that i feel need to be addressed. a least two different times we had cold showers no hot water at all. the ice machine on our floor never had ice. we checked it early in the morning, in the afternoon and then again in the evening but it never had any ice. the soda machine had soda though. our main light in the bathroom the bulb blew, i called the front desk and they were going to send someone up to replace it but no one ever showed up. otherwise it was clean, comfortable and the staff was very friendly. June 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The nicest staff! This property is very nice. The beach is beautiful. The pools are comfortable but a bit small for the number of guests. The rooms are spacious and clean and appeared recently renovated. The location is at the very North end of the boardwalk which we loved but could cause a problem for those less mobile as attractions are a good distance walk but this location means a less crowded beach which we loved. The splash camp for kids was super cute. The staff from check-in to wait staff to housekeeping to splash camp to check out were the nicest I've ever encountered. I highly recommend this property and would certainly stay again if we return to Virginia Beach. June 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place for family with kids under 12yrs old. We've been back to this hotel 2yrs in a row. Kids under 12yrs old eat free with adult (includes appetizer) and there are a few things for the kids to do in inclimate weather such as catch a movie onsite. The food for breakfast was great. Buffet or menu, both were cooked well. Staff continues to be friendly and helpful. Parking is across the street in the hotel parking garage, which is convenient. There is also a 7-11 directly across the street in case you need supplies. A real food store is a few miles away, not walkable distance. The end of the beach where this hotel is located (North) is better for families. Its less crowded and the local shops are geared to families. There is a local bus that for $2 a person you can ride all day long. It'll take you all the way down the strip and back. We took a dolphin tour at sunset and it was great. June 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great vacation stay This hotel is located oceanfront and we had a wonderful stay. The restaurants were great, the rooms were updated and comfortable and the staff was friendly and attentive. We'll stay at this hotel again in the future. June 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding hotel on the beach We really enjoyed the Holiday Inn North at Va Beach. We will definitely try to stay there again. The staff was excellent. June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another Great Stay For four out of the last five years we have stayed at Holiday Inn North Beach when we visit Virginia Beach. We always enjoy staying at this property! The renovations that took place four years ago are remarkable! Our rooms were clean and the common areas of the hotel were clean. The staff is always friendly and polite.The Front Desk Manager, Lindsay, was very accommodating by switching our pool view rooms to ocean view rooms, which made our stay even more enjoyable. I would highly recommend staying at this property. It is located in a perfect location (at the end of the boardwalk), so the beach is usually not too crowded and there is not a lot of noise emanating from pedestrian traffic on the boardwalk. We look forward to staying at the Holiday Inn North Beach again! June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Front desk clerk saved the day I booked two rooms for my family members, planning for three people per room. Unexpected, another family member felt well enough to join us but needed some privacy. I believe the hotel was very busy because of the Virginia State Bar meeting, yet the clerk was able to upgrade one room to a one bedroom suite, which is precisely what we needed. The clerk did not know that my son has significant medical problems, but did know that I wanted all of us to stay at this hotel. The room change put us in a great mood and resulted in an excellent four night vacation. The housekeepers from Malasia were very pleasant and helpful. I sent this review because it was a very big deal to me that the desk clerk promptly handled my situation. She made me a VA Beach Holiday Inn fan. I usually rent a week or two at a condo on the beach, but might change that to a couple of rooms at the Holiday Inn in the near future. June 23, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by great serrvice the staff was extremely polite and helpfull. The pools were very enjoyable and clean. I especailly liked how late they were open until. June 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean And Great For Families! This hotel is perfect for families. The rooms are very clean. Staff was very accommodating to all our needs.Plenty of clean towels everyday. They have 3 nice and clean pools. The kids will love the splash lagoon pool and lazy river. There is a nice work out room and a nice theater for the families. Movies all day everyday. The only two cons that I had about this place was the food and our sliding door on our balcony was very, very hard to open and shut and the window of it was beginning to come out of frame. This caused us to hear the traffic at night. Hotel was also at the very end of the board walk, which made it nice in the evenings. Less people on board walk. If price is right, I will stay again. June 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to Stay! We always stay at this particular hotel whenever we visit the Va Beach area w/ our two grand boys! They love the movie room, they love the fact that they eat for "free" and they absolutely LOVE the Lazy River pools both inside and outside!!! We highly recommend this place of stay! June 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and Nice Nice being at the North end of the Board walk. A little less busy. Beaches very very clean. Rooms and bulding nice and clean. No issues. Friendly staff. June 20, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great rooms and hotel- bad customer service This is a wonderful facility. However, they are obviously understaffed. Upon arrival I was told by the valet that I just needed to self-park. Another person in my party needed her room key reactivated. She waited in line to speak with a front desk staffer, and when it was her turn she walked up and told them she needed her card re-activated. The attendant looked at her and walked away, and did not come back. I did complain to the manager about the valet and received an apology, which was nice. But, unfortunately his behavior just set a bad tone for the trip. June 18, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 Room 215 is not the room to get Room 215 is right over the bar and resturant. There is a speaker right below the balcony that plays music for the bar. If you like to sleep with little to no sound, this is not the room for you. You will hear the bar patrons and music until it closes. You can turn the AC on for white noise, but it rattles and groans irregularly and makes it also hard to rest. The view is to the beach and board walk is partially obstructed by the bar awning. Everything else about the room was excellent. I was disappointed at the bar location and awning obstruction. June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great For Families! We stayed on this side of the beach because it was mostly families and you didn't run into the drunk college/singles crowd further down. The staff was so friendly towards us and our children! They took the time to learn their names. Splash Camp was a huge success! We stayed a week and had bad weather for two days and instead of hanging out at the indoor lazy river, the kids begged us to go to Splash Camp. You could tell the staff that was assigned to the room really loved kids. They all had such a great time. The beach on this end wasn't crowded and it was easy getting our stuff on and off the beach from the hotel. Kids eat free at all of the 1st floor restaurants. The breakfast buffet is $16 for adults so I would suggest stopping at Target and filling your fridge. :-) The only two things I would suggest is the water pressure needs to be stronger and the elevators could be bigger. The carts barely fit in them. Other than that, this experience was fantastic and this will continue to be my go to hotel when we come back every year. June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service! Had a wonderful time and enjoyed this hotel immensely! Wish we could come back again and stay longer. The staff was great, the hotel was great and just the whole get-away for us was great! June 17, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Lousy Food Service & Ran Out of Kids Milk Marginal value for Virginia Oceanfront, and the kids certainly liked the pools and beach access. However, as a parent I was disappointed in the food service as it consistenly took a long time to get our meals (that were not that tasty), and the restaurant ran out of kids milk two separate times. How can this be for a hotel that caters to families?!? Kinda defeats the whole kids eat free incentive. There was no skim milk in the breakfast buffet line either! Rest of choices were OK, but no whole grain cereals. Had to beg for a late check out that we only got for one of our two rooms despite staying there a week on business/family vacation trip. Rooms and hallways were smelly and marginally clean. Pool was noisy late night which impacted sleeping. June 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by child care play area Wonderful child play areas. Staff amazing with the kids... Grandson had a great time, enjoyed the turtle, arts and crafts. And playing ball. June 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ideal family vacation We just stayed at the holiday inn north beach for the third year straight. Nothing compares to all the activities. On the boardwalk yet just out of the busy center. We enjoyed the beach, pools, movie theatre, splash camp and restaurants. We will definitely be returning. June 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent place to stay This is probably the best HI I've ever stayed in. Check-in was a breeze, I was recognized as a points earner and given a room overlooking the ocean. I could walk out my door and be on the beach in 30 seconds. As you can see by the picture, it's only about 100 feet away. The parking is right across the street and has plenty of spaces. There is an indoor pool and towels are provided. Weight room who knows what else, I didn't use any of the restaurants, so I can't speak about those. Although I left money on the bed for the maid, she refused it. Her loss. Check out was a snap too. Once I named my room number, I was out of there in about 10 seconds. I was there for work, but someday I will HAVE to go back someday and spend some serious vacation time there. June 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great for families! We stayed on this side of the beach because it was mostly families and you didn't run into the drunk college/singles crowd further down. The staff was so friendly towards us and our children! They took the time to learn their names. Splash Camp was a huge success! We stayed a week and had bad weather for two days and instead of hanging out at the indoor lazy river, the kids begged us to go to Splash Camp. You could tell the staff that was assigned to the room really loved kids. They all had such a great time. The beach on this end wasn't crowded and it was easy getting our stuff on and off the beach from the hotel. Kids eat free at all of the 1st floor restaurants. The breakfast buffet is $16 for adults so I would suggest stopping at Target and filling your fridge. :-) The only two things I would suggest is the water pressure needs to be stronger and the elevators could be bigger. The carts barely fit in them. Other than that, this experience was fantastic and this will continue to be my go to hotel when we come back every year. June 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good stay but slowest evevator ever I stayed in a two queen suite. At first I wanted to change to a king suite until I realized that I get enough towles for two even though I was alone. Plenty of room with the seperate living room with a dining table. The view of the ocean was great and i appreciated being at the north end of the boardwalk for a bit more peace and quiet. The staff was great and the food good. Room service was fast. Free self serve laundry was great. The pools were good but a bit cold for me. There was plenty of seating poolside. I never went to the sand. Parking was ok, though it did get tight on the weekend. Valet service was good. 7-11 right across the street was conviente. They also had free day care. My only negitive coment would be the evelator for the north bulding was the slowest i've ever used. I actually took the stairs down 7 filghts a few times, but only went up the stairs twice. I will stay there again. June 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Staff I have encountered - Platinum Member This is the best and friendliest staff I have ever encountered. I travel 90% of the time for business and am a Platinum member, so I have seen alot of IHG hotels. Room was clean and beds are comfortable. This trip was for pleasure and using my well deserved points...ahhh. It was relaxing and awesome! I was concerned on being able to use my points to stay since the big Sand Soccer weekend was going on...and we wanted to stay here because my nephew was playing. Sometimes other hotels block out using points when something big like this is going on...but not IHG. It was smooth booking and even got upgraded. Even with all of these teams in town (over 900 teams)...we never waited in line for dining, elevators, etc. June 14, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Hot water would have been nice No hot water for 2 days and lost electricity in bathroom area one morning for over an hour. Was told by the engineer that came to door that too many women were using their hair dryers and curling irons. Our keys were constantly not working and had to be replaced. We stayed here last year for sand soccer and had no issues, but too many this time. When you pay the price to stay here, you should have hot water. Although the hotel was clean, just too many issues to stay here again next year. June 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and Comfortable! The staff was very accomidating and friendly. Location was great. The layout and accessability was a little difficulty and frustrating. Difficulty in checking out and having to make multiple trips to vacate was irritating as there was not a cart available, and front desk staff did not alert the valet and my car was not ready. Since I did not have a choice the night before of parking my own car (there was a wedding and all spaces were taken), I didn't know where it was to go and get it! While most of my Cons were somewhat out of the staffs control, the length of the hotel when you are staying at the very end, made getting in and out frustrating. Elevators were very small, so unable to accomadate many people and their belongings. June 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Cordial and Accomodating Nice stay, but too short. Front Desk Staff very helpful, rooms were clean. View was excellent. Great sunrise! I took a run on the board walk at 6-7AM, then a nice cup of coffee on the balcony. I was there on military duty, so checked in late and had to leave early. June 11, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel is central to Williamsburg & Virginia Beach Extended Stay Per Diem hotel near Norfolk Naval Base Hotel near Sandler Center for the Arts - 1 mile Hotel less than 1 hour to Busch Gardens, Williamsburg Per diem hotel near Little Creek Navy Base Hotel is near Waterside Festival Marketplace Hotel less than 1 mile to VA Beach Town Center Be sure to tour the nearby Battleship Wisconson Extended stay hotel offers Norfolk Per Diem Rates Great central hotel to Portsmouth, Norfolk & VA Beach Entrance Hotel is a short drive to the Virginia Aquarium Hotel Approach Lobby Entrance Hotel offers easy access to Virgina Beach 10 minutes Hotel is minutes from the Chesapeake Bay Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Front Desk
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Your chance to win 1 of 5 Hollywood Experiences and more
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-10-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
Check Availability
Loading