• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-28-2014)
(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: VIRGINA BEACH
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.5MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:9
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets welcome with a non refundable fee: 75 dollars for 1 to 6 nights and 150 dollars for 7 or more nights. per pet Each pet must weigh less than 80 lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check in.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Waterside/Downtown Norfolk
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI
Attraction:
Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Distance From Hotel:9.0MI
Attraction:
Pembroke Mall/Restaurants/Entertainment
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Norfolk Naval Base
Distance From Hotel:15.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:90
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking is free. There are 2 oversized parking spaces on either side of the building. There is additional oversized parking spaces on the southern side of the bulding.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:83
  • Total number of suites:83
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:47
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:36
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:73
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:9
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
  • FEMA Property Number:VA5199

Enjoy Virginia Beach Hotel's Location near Town Center

Situated along the Atlantic Ocean, Virginia Beach is a popular beach town in the Hampton Roads area. The Candlewood Suites® Virginia Beach - Norfolk hotel is conveniently located near Town Center, making us the perfect choice for both business and leisure travelers.

Imagine having all the tools you need for business right at your fingertips. We have a 24-hour Business Center to help you keep in touch, and free Wi-Fi access is
View More

Enjoy Virginia Beach Hotel's Location near Town Center

Situated along the Atlantic Ocean, Virginia Beach is a popular beach town in the Hampton Roads area. The Candlewood Suites® Virginia Beach - Norfolk hotel is conveniently located near Town Center, making us the perfect choice for both business and leisure travelers.

Imagine having all the tools you need for business right at your fingertips. We have a 24-hour Business Center to help you keep in touch, and free Wi-Fi access is provided in all of the hotel's suites. In Virginia Beach, VA, this hotel's also just minutes from top companies like Northrop Grumman, Lockheed Martin and General Dynamics.

You'll find plenty of things to fill your free time in Virginia Beach. The hotel is within walking distance of the exciting Town Center, where you can find a variety of shops, restaurants and bars. We're just a 10-minute drive from the beach, and you won't want to miss visiting the nearby Virginia Aquarium. If you're looking to take a day trip, Busch Gardens and historic Colonial Williamsburg are just a short drive away, as well.

When it comes to hotels in Virginia Beach, VA, we've got everything you need for a memorable trip. Take advantage of the great amenities like free guest laundry facilities, an outdoor grilling area and a 24-hour Fitness Center. Visit the Candlewood Cupboard for snacks, meals and sundry items. We look forward to welcoming you to this Virginia Beach hotel!

View Less
Features
When you chose to stay with us in Virginia Beach, this hotel's location places you close to Independence Blvd, just 10 minutes from the ocean shore and within walking distance of Town Center.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 114 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great overnight experience It's been a while since we stayed at Holiday Inn. Didn't realize what we were missing. Great overall experience. Service was great and and had a great night's sleep. Thank you Holiday Inn. We will return soon! July 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by overall great room and bed i will staying again next year as i pass thur. thanks July 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A good place to stay Check in and departure were a pleasure.The staff was friendly and attentive. The room was clean and well stocked. Overall a pleasant stay, nice to sleep in a comfortable bed after a ride from NYC. July 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic Stay This hotel was perfect. From the front desk to the restaurant, everyone was courteous, friendly and responsive. Would like to particularly compliment Allison in sales, Amber on the front desk, Tim in the maintenance department, Isiah, Tyesha and Lauren in the restaurant. All of these people were responsible for our wonderful stay. This hotel and its staff receives a well deserved "excellent" rating from my wife and I. The management and attitude of the employees should be a model for all IHG properties. June 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service from the front desk to CLEAN room I love the towels and pillows how they are being sign for looks and elegance of Holiday Inn should. I highly recommend this place if your in the area to stay. June 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel We would absolutely stay again at this Hotel. The rooms were large, attractive, comfortable and functional....also very quiet, The Restaurant food was delicious and the waitress we had on Monday 6-23-14 was excellent. It was nice to be able to use the free business center and even print our boarding passes for free. We very much appreciated the free ride to the Airport via the Courtesy Van. If we return to Norfolk...we will make reservations at this Hotel again. We highly recommend it. June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Weekend This was my first time in Virginia, I came for a wedding. The staff at the check in desk were very kind and always smiled and when I had a question they answered it quickly. The room was a little pricy but definitely worth it! June 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet When i booked this hotel i was concerned about the noise leval, since I was staying at a place so close to the airport. I was pleased with how quiet our room was. I don't think I heard a single airplane. The staff was extremely professional and courtious. Can't wait to stay there again. June 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed The room was comfortable, and specifically the mattress was very comfortable, however the hotel was quite noisy. When I arrive the lobby was very noisy and it took quite a while to check in. They probably should have had more people at the front desk checking peopel in....there was only one person checking people in though there were more people at the front desk. I also encountered a noisy hallway. Upon returning at 4am from a very late night a couple decided to have a conversation in the hallway with no regard to the rooms around them. Additionally they only had one elevator, which made no since for the size of the hotel. June 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and staff Only location I will stay at when on a business trip. Great customer service, friendly staff and a nice hotel. June 17, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Decent hotel, fromt desk staff leave a bit to be desired Being a Priority Club Gold Member i generally receive a warm welcome upon check-in. The staff member that checked me in that night was not rude but far from friendly. In addition I usually hear a thank you for being a Priority Club member along with the associated benefits. Not this time. I advised her I had a reservation and my last name. She handed me the the room agreemt, pointed out where to initial and sign then handed me a key and told me my room number. No welcome, no thank you, nothing. Very unwelcoming. June 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Stay Nice stay, great staff. Breakfast was nice. Strawberries were delish, loved the variety/ Swimming Pool was out of towels, but that pretty much was my only challenge June 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Service and Sleep Unbelievable staff, very attentive and accommodating. Breakfast was delicious with a nice selection to choose from and excellent serving staff. Very personable as well. Cleaning crew very polite and willing to go the extra mile with necessary. Front desk staff smiling and always talkative. June 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Room Service The quality of the food was just fair, but the service and price were fine June 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE I am incredibly pleased with my stay at the Holiday Inn @ Norfolk Airport. I was not planning on staying here, but my flight out of Norfolk was delayed, delayed, delayed, and then cancelled. I was so unbelievably upset because I am a teacher and had to use a personal day the next day since the next flight out of Norfolk to my destination wasn't until 1 PM the next day. When I arrived at the Holiday Inn, the man working at the front desk was so kind to me. He asked me how my day had been going. With no intentions of receiving anything for free or discounted, he heard my story and gave me a discount on my room. What?! That's so nice! The next morning, I went down to the hotel restaurant to eat breakfast. The woman who helped me (I think her name tag said the restaurant manager...I might be wrong) asked me questions about my stay and why I was dining alone. Anyway, after I was finished eating she took my plates and I asked her if I pay her or up at the counter and she said, "Oh, I've taken care of your breakfast! You have had a rough few days so don't worry about it!" WHAT?! That is seriously so nice! I am from a big city where people don't go out of their way to help one another, so maybe these small but kind gestures aren't as uncommon as I think they are...but I am so taken aback by the kindness of the Holiday Inn staff. No one had to ask me about my awful day, no one had to give me a discounted room, and no one had to feed me for free, but THEY DID! I am so pleased and I will definitely come back here to stay again! Thank you Holiday Inn for making my day/night so much better! June 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stay Staff was extremely courteous and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable. Will definitely stay again on my return to Norfolk. June 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff I enjoyed my stay, it was a last minute booking and I was very surprised at how nice the hotel was laid out. The staff was very friendly, the breakfast selection was outstanding, kids and military personnel eat for free. June 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location and generally good place Was located right off the highway but is not noisy. There aren't a huge amount of dinning places nearby but for the price worked out well. First front desk attendant said she did not have any 2 queen beds available as we booked it. So worried us that we wouldn't have a room. But she did not communicate well. It was that we were checking in early and didn't have a room ready yet. Her attitude was not reassuring. The second front desk person that helped us was really helpful and made us feel good about everything. So overall would rate it very good. Bed was not the best comfort but we were happy anyway. May 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT STAY! My son and I came for Memorial Day weekend. It was a last minute trip so I had to find a hotel pretty quickly. There wasn't much available for the weekend because of the holiday. We wanted to be close to VA Beach but not at the beach because of the prices. I searched and searched until I found the perfect hotel, which happened to be the Holiday Inn Norfolk. They only had a King size room available and I really wanted a queen room with (2) beds. I was willing to take the King room just to stay there...upon my arrival I asked the woman (didn't get her name) if they had any queen rooms available and she told me they were sold out or she would be happy to switch my room. She checked her check- ins again and asked me to give her a couple of minutes to check on a guest check-in. She tried to contact the guest twice and there was no answer. It was after 6:00 pm and the guest credit card had been declined so they had to release the room because she couldn't get in touch with them to reserve the room with another card. She then switch my room for a queen room with (2) beds and I was appreciative that she would do that for me. Although, I felt bad for the other guest and questioned her what would happened when they came to check-in and had no room. She said she would try to accommadate them if any rooms were available. Everyone at the front desk was very friendly and had great customer service. I also deal with the public in my job and I have to demonstrate good customer service. So I really appreciate it when people have good customer service and go the extra mile to satisfy a customer. I didn't eat in the restaurant ....but I did go down to the restaurant and looked at it and it was very clean and the food looked good. The rooms were very nice, the beds were super comfortable, the shower was amazing and the housekeepers were friendly and accommadating. I did go to the pool area ....that was a liitle messy. People had left trash and clothing laying around on chairs and the floor. And it didn't look very appealing. It was the end of the day and maybe housekeeping hadn't had a chance to go in and clean things up. In the workout room there was trash and clothing left in there as well. The location was good and had a variety of restaurants and fast food paces to eat. Also, there were plenty of near by shopping spots. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend this hotel and look forward to staying there again! May 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable hotel and excellent service Staff at front desk was very kind and helpful regarding our needs, they recommended an excellent nearby restaurant (Aberdeen Barn), we were able to send several days before packages (amazon, etc) and pick them up, food and drinks at the bar were great, excellent location for an early flight with free shuttle service May 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another great stay at Holiday Inn! Excellent value while in Norfolk. My room was very clean, well maintained and comfortable. Lauren and the kitchen staff serve an outstanding breakfast. I would be very happy to visit this hotel when next in Norfolk. 'Best wishes for your continued success May 17, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Did not get our priority check-in package! I will not be staying at this Holiday Inn. The clerk did not give us any coupons toward breakfast or dinner in your restaurant or any thing, when we checked in. Just looked at us! May 15, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location but Beware A few years back we started staying at this hotel. It is large, conveniently located to the airport, has shuttle service, a bar and a restaurant. It was perfect especially for adults and/or the business traveler. But, our last 2 stays have been ruined and required calls to the front desk. The first time the hotel had a wedding reception and drunken wedding party guests all over the place shouting down the hallways. This time it was a lot of teenagers running and screaming through the halls because they were staying there for a cheerleading competition. We come to hotels to sleep and it's hard to do when the guests are unruly and the hotel staff doesn't seem to be keeping tabs on what's going on. For that reason we are considering looking for another place that is more in tune to the business traveler. May 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall good Hotel IF there was only one thing to say is that it can get a little noisy with the plane traffic late afternoon / early evenings... but then again this is an Airport Hotel... so it is to be expected. Service is very good with professional and polite staff. Exceeded my expectations! May 8, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Norfolk Airport Holiday Inn If you are not a DEEP sleeper, I do not recommend this hotel for you. They should have named it Norfolk Airport Flight Path because it seemed like the jumbo jets were flying right outside the window. All night long. Other than that, the hotel was fine. April 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Top notch hotel Wounderful hotel,great service, very warm and friendly people!The hotel was spotless, and the beds were so comfy,you slept all night!Thanks holiday inn 1570 n Miltary hwy Norfolk va see you again real soon! sue April 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room and breakfast I enjoyed my recent stay. The room was comfortable, clean, and well furnished. Enjoyed breakfast, which was very well done. I tried the restaurant for dinner and was disappointed with the lack of menu choices and the quality and price of what I ordered. Evening restaurant service needs improvement. April 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel, restaurant not so good I was very pleased with the Norfolk Airport hotel. The room was plush and spacious, everything you could ask for. Obviously, they have set very high standards. Unfortunately, the restaurant was not so great. The breakfast buffet was overpriced, and the food was cold. I did not try eating there for lunch or dinner. Also, the two computers in the lobby for guest use did not work both times I tried to use them. I would stay there again, but eat elsewhere. April 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value and convenient location Location is very convenient to airport, freeway, restaurants, and Navy installations. Staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is pretty average materiel condition. The lobby area is nice, the rooms are pretty good, and the dining facility is nice. The fitness room could be bigger with more equipment. It was 83 degrees inside there. April 20, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Televisions We have stayed here many times after visiting with the grandchildren. A big plus is the 24hr shuttle service to the airport! However on our last stay we had issues with the televisions. We like to keep up on the news and after having watched three grandchildren for four days, we were anxious to catch up on news happenings, which is impossiible to do with three little ones. The television in our room did not operate correctly. The staff sent a person up to assist us, but it still was not convenient to operate. I went to the Fitness Center to workout and watch the news there only to find out that television had an inappropriate program showing and the channel could not be changed and the audio could not be muted. I left there and went to the lounge next to the bar to read the paper and watch the news. That television had a program showing I did not like, so I switched the channel, but the screen went black - never could find the original program that was showing either. Very, very frustrating!!! The televisions in the bar were working fine, but we don't sit in bars - we just wanted a quiet atmosphere to watch the news! The breakfast was wonderful. April 11, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel is central to Williamsburg & Virginia Beach Extended Stay Per Diem hotel near Norfolk Naval Base Hotel near Sandler Center for the Arts - 1 mile Hotel less than 1 hour to Busch Gardens, Williamsburg Per diem hotel near Little Creek Navy Base Hotel is near Waterside Festival Marketplace Hotel less than 1 mile to VA Beach Town Center Be sure to tour the nearby Battleship Wisconson Extended stay hotel offers Norfolk Per Diem Rates Great central hotel to Portsmouth, Norfolk & VA Beach Entrance Hotel is a short drive to the Virginia Aquarium Hotel Approach Lobby Entrance Hotel offers easy access to Virgina Beach 10 minutes Hotel is minutes from the Chesapeake Bay Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Front Desk
Select to close.
Your chance to win 1 of 5 Hollywood Experiences and more
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-28-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
Check Availability
Loading