• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-16-2014)
(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: VIRGINA BEACH
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.5MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:9
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets welcome with a non refundable fee: 75 dollars for 1 to 6 nights and 150 dollars for 7 or more nights. per pet Each pet must weigh less than 80 lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check in.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Town Center of Va Beach
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Pembroke Mall/Restaurants/Entertainment
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Verizon Wireless Va Beach Amphitheater
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI
Attraction:
Little Creek Amphibious Base
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:90
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking is free. There are 2 oversized parking spaces on either side of the building. There is additional oversized parking spaces on the southern side of the bulding.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:83
  • Total number of suites:83
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:47
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:36
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:73
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:9
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
  • FEMA Property Number:VA5199

Enjoy Virginia Beach Hotel's Location near Town Center

Situated along the Atlantic Ocean, Virginia Beach is a popular beach town in the Hampton Roads area. The Candlewood Suites® Virginia Beach - Norfolk hotel is conveniently located near Town Center, making us the perfect choice for both business and leisure travelers.

Imagine having all the tools you need for business right at your fingertips. We have a 24-hour Business Center to help you keep in touch, and free Wi-Fi access is
View More

Enjoy Virginia Beach Hotel's Location near Town Center

Situated along the Atlantic Ocean, Virginia Beach is a popular beach town in the Hampton Roads area. The Candlewood Suites® Virginia Beach - Norfolk hotel is conveniently located near Town Center, making us the perfect choice for both business and leisure travelers.

Imagine having all the tools you need for business right at your fingertips. We have a 24-hour Business Center to help you keep in touch, and free Wi-Fi access is provided in all of the hotel's suites. In Virginia Beach, VA, this hotel's also just minutes from top companies like Northrop Grumman, Lockheed Martin and General Dynamics.

You'll find plenty of things to fill your free time in Virginia Beach. The hotel is within walking distance of the exciting Town Center, where you can find a variety of shops, restaurants and bars. We're just a 10-minute drive from the beach, and you won't want to miss visiting the nearby Virginia Aquarium. If you're looking to take a day trip, Busch Gardens and historic Colonial Williamsburg are just a short drive away, as well.

When it comes to hotels in Virginia Beach, VA, we've got everything you need for a memorable trip. Take advantage of the great amenities like free guest laundry facilities, an outdoor grilling area and a 24-hour Fitness Center. Visit the Candlewood Cupboard for snacks, meals and sundry items. We look forward to welcoming you to this Virginia Beach hotel!

View Less
Features
When you chose to stay with us in Virginia Beach, this hotel's location places you close to Independence Blvd, just 10 minutes from the ocean shore and within walking distance of Town Center.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 289 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Customer Service My family and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express while on vacation. The customer service was excellent. Everyone was friendly, pleasant and willing to assist. They had breakfast available each morning, which was average. The indoor pool was nice as well. My only concern, was after the second or third day, we should have had our bed linens changed. August 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Recent Stay We always stay at Holiday Inns and Holiday Inn Express. This was not our best experience. Location, room, linens, breakfast, etc were all great. Disappointment was that hotel did not seem to be staffed to handle the full occupancy status of hotel. Staff were all very pleasant and individually very helpful - - but just not enough to handle the load. August 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing Ocean Summer Getaway Spot I have stayed at this hotel four different times for summer getaways to Virginia Beach. The things that keep me coming back to this hotel would be the cleanliness of the rooms, the breakfast buffet, and the location of the hotel. It is so very relaxing to be able to look out over the ocean from the balcony of your hotel room. I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the room. I am very picky and did not find any fault with the condition of our room. I can't imagine how difficult it must be for the housekeeping to keep up with all the sand and the sheer volume of visitors constantly checking in and out of this hotel. The last thing that keeps me coming back to this hotel would be the delicious variety of breakfast goodies. The great food variety helps you get your day started off correctly. Overall, this hotel is a great fit for a getaway to Virginia Beach. August 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Birthday Getaway I stayed at this hotel for a birthday getaway. It was very relaxing. Just what I needed. I was given a late check out, which I used every minute of it, and they didn't have a problem with it at all. Would definitely recommend. August 9, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Need more services You should provide more services for Platinum members. August 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great beach hotel Great location to Virginia beach. Very clean and well kept. The parking was frustrating on our first night. When we left for dinner and came back we had to park in the alternate parking lot around the block. Didn't like that are car was not in front of the hotel. Felt the alternate parking lot was in a unsafe area. Advie is to not leave once you get a spot in the main lot, is what we did the 2nd night. That was the only disappointment of our stay. August 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Missed being acknowledged as a priority club member I have stayed here a few times. My last visit started out with the very personable guest services check in with Starr. Not so much hospitality with this last check in. I am always greeted as a priority club member, but not this time. Sorry, but this is important to me! The person who checked me in was all business. I didn't even bother to get her name. The rest of my overnight stay I was greeted by very friendly staff. It made up for my check in. I will stay again... August 5, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by July 27-August 2, 2014 When we first entered the room, the first thing I had to do was take a towel from the bathroom and clean the month's worth of dust that was on the lamp shades between the beds, the floor lamp and the desk lamp. After that I had to get rid of the two big spider webs and spiders that were hanging in the corners from the ceiling of the rooms by the slidding doors. Throughout the week, our bathroom was only cleaned properly the one time our usual cleaner was not in that day (Tuesday, July 29, 2014). August 5, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel services There was no parking at the facility. It was very inconvenient to get to and park and load and unload vehicle. The cost of the room did not reflect the service normally used to at Holiday Inn Express. Would Not stay there again. August 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel Great hotel, everyone that worked at the hotel was very professional and easy to deal with. August 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fun Family Vacation I spent a week at this hotel with my two young children and we had a great time. The staff was friendly and helpful. The kids loved the breakfast bar. The overall quality of the hotel was good compared to other beachfront hotels in the area. The hotel isn't as updated and the pool isn't as nice as other Holiday Inn Express hotels that we have visited in other areas, but overall it was a good experience. August 3, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing Visited this property with family for annual trip to beach. Had previously stayed at this property few years ago and wasn't impressed, but wanted to give benefit. Floor in lobby, elevators and halls are dirty, did not have towels in room upon check-in at 7:00 pm. Had to call to get towels, and then were provided only 2 sets, even though I was traveling with 4 people total in the group. Had to request towels several other days while at property as well. Rooms showing signs of wear, carpet pulling from walls, shower did not drain very well. Nothing I hate more than taking a shower and having the water not drain out. Would not recommend this property, much nicer properties from IHG in the area. August 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by My stay Hotel location is great. Room is clean. Room size is normal for king size bed. Refrigerator in my room is not working. I called front desk to check and got fix. Front parking lot is small however additional parking lots are available outside the property. I parked outside the property. Swimming pool is small. July 31, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Staff was accommodating We stayed in a suite and the air conditioning wasn't working. We ended up being assigned a new room on day 2 of our stay but had to pack up all of belongings which stunk. Overall, I thought the cleanliness of the building wasn't great. The hallways, elevators, and even the rooms weren't exceptionally clean. I'm sure it's hard to keep the place clean with the sand constantly coming in from the beach, but the hotel could use to hire some more cleaning staff. I will say the staff we dealt with was very professional. July 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Value Nice breakfasts each day. Workout gym need another elliptical, but ocean view was really pretty from there. July 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Will visit again both for hotel and Atlantic ocean Love the stay, liked the ocean view, liked the king size bed and liked the morning breakfast with so many choices. Loved it! July 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by AWESOME VACATION THIS WAS THE SECOND TIME WE STAYED AT HOLIDAT INN EXPRESS AT 26TH STREET, FROM THE MOMENT WE ARRIVED UNTIL WE CHECKED OUT WE COULD NOT HAVE ASKED FOR BETTER SERVICE. THE FRONT DESK STAFF WAS ALWAYS WILLING TO ANSWER QUESTIONS, RECOMMEND PLACES TO EAT AND HELP FIND ATTRACTIONS WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE. THE HOUSEKEEPERS WERE FRIENDLY AND KEPT THE ROOM CLEAN AND NEAT. THE POOL AND HOT TUB WERE CLEAN AND WELL MAINTAINED, THE BREAKFAST WAS EXCELLENT AND THE STAFF WAS VERY QUICK TO REFILL THE BREAKFAST ITEMS. THIS WAS A WONDERFUL VACATION AND WE WILL BE RETURNING AGAIN NEXT YEAR!!!!!!!!! July 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent breakfast buffet! The breakfast buffet included each morning really makes this hotel quite a value. You have such a wide variety that there is always something for everyone. The hotel we stayed at had either bacon or sausage each morning, pancakes, 4 cereals choices, bagels, 3 muffin choices, eggs, yogurt, toast, warm cinnamon rolls with icing, oatmeal, and juices of all kinds among other things. It was fantastic and well worth the money! July 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Simply Amazing Between the great staff, beautiful location and awesome room, I couldnt have asked for a better stay. It was perfect for our road trip, and wasnt too pricey...it was totally worth every dollar July 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent...again! This is our 11th year at this property and it has yet to be a disappointment! We will be back for 2015! This hotel has it all: excellent service, a terrific view of the ocean, and only a few yards from the sand. The staff are amazing and always friendly and helpful! NOW, to those who have posted negative comments...1) this is a beach hotel...and since it is on the beach there will be sand. 2) The hotel offers a free breakfast that is nourishing and delicious. If you come down a few minutes before the dining room closes, yes, there will be a line. 3) On the parking, yes, it's tight, but there is parking and again it is free. As a frequent traveler I stay in a lot of hotels each year. I have also stayed in a lot of beach hotels. All said, if you are looking for a great time, location, and amazing service...and you are realistic in your expectations, you will LOVE THIS PLACE! However, if you are critical, looking for every nit to pick, then you will NOT like it. As for me, I LOVE IT! July 28, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast was the only good thing about this hotel. Room was not as spacious as shown in the photos of the hotel. People at the front desk was rude and didn't even greet us upon arrival. I had to literally walk up to one of them to tell them we were checking in. I guess looking down on their computer screens was more important. Parking at the hotel was not what I expected. You aren't told till you get there that the lot in front of the hotel doesn't have enough space for all it's guests. So there are two other lots that you have to resort to parking which was a pain since I had little ones with me. The pool was very small...very disappointing! The air conditioning unit in our room made noise every time the air kicked on. The layout of the room had the beds on the side where the cold air blew. So I could feel the cold air all night long. Maintenance was suppose to come fix it, yet the noise was still there. Our room was never cleaned on our first day there. We had to call at 7 pm that night and the girl at the front desk even hung up on me half way through our conversation. How rude! On the following three days, housekeeping came, but they came around 10 am. That had never happened to me before at a hotel. The lady knocked on our door while we were still getting ready. We had to ask her to come back later. This stay was the worst hotel experience I've ever had with Holiday Inn hotels. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. July 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome front desk staff The hotel wasn't in the best shape but the customer service was superb and made all the difference. This will def be my normal hotel for VA beach trips! July 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful getaway I had a unique requirement in that I was taking 4 kids to the beach for a quick 2 night getaway and needed a suite. Holiday Inn Express and Suites Va beach had the perfect suite available that fit our needs perfectly. The staff was awesome and very friendly, the room was very clean and comfortable, we could walk to lunch/dinner and entertainment and the beach was very easily accessible. We had a wonderful and memorable trip and would definitely stay at this hotel in the future. Highly recommend. July 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Was worried as va beach strip is a high traffic area. However, staff and room was good. Not a luxury room but quite nice for va beach trip. Staff was excellent. This is a great location on the strip- in an area that is a nicer part of the beach. July 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Friends My best friend, my daughter and her best friend, stayed at this hotel for 5 days and we had a wonderful time. You can see the beach from your room. The staff is friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel, and we plan on going back there again. The hotel was clean and easy to get too. It would have been nice to have a microwave in the room. July 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Grieving Family Recieves Kindness Just lost my wife to breast cancer, the children and myself having a difficult time without her in our lives. Needed to get away, what a blessing the staff and facility played in giving us some brightness in our day. The children were able to find some joy and I was able to have some peace. The staff was so compassionate and helped take our minds of our loss during this time. We were upgraded to a suite and had a view of the ocean and God's wonderful creation...We will always treasure the memories!....God Bless! July 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great 4th of July Stay Very attentive and friendly front desk staff. Great Free Breakfast in the morning with huge selection. Very comfortable beds, clean rooms and clean bathrooms. Awesome Ocean Views! Overall it was a fantastic stay for my Family and me. July 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Can't beat the view We stayed here for almost a week. The room was clean when we arrived. Parking in the main hotel lot was often full, but the overflow lot is really only 1 block away. You have to cross Atlantic and Pacific Ave to get there. It isn't a big deal, and wasn't a bad walk. The view of the beach from the 6th story balcony was great. The door did a good job of blocking out beach noise when closed. The hotel only has 1 washer/dryer serving all guests, so if you need to do laundry, plan on being up early or late. Breakfast could have used more variety. It was ok, but we quickly tired of it. There are some restaurants very close, but they are expensive for a large family. July 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 GREAT BEACH GETAWAY Had a wonderful stay....just steps away from the beach location couldn't have been any better....and the warm chocolate chip cookies and lemonade during check in was the icing on the cake. We will definitely be back, Happy Family July 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and friendly staff Booked this room last minute, to get away and relax! I was greeted by Starr at the front desk, who was, friendly, professional, and very accommodating! Arrived around 10:30 am, which was to early to check in, but was given a parking pass and she took my cell phone number to let me know when my room was available. When she called, and I went to check in it was fast and easy. The hotel is clean and very comfortable...thank you Holiday Inn! July 16, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel is central to Williamsburg & Virginia Beach Extended Stay Per Diem hotel near Norfolk Naval Base Hotel near Sandler Center for the Arts - 1 mile Hotel less than 1 hour to Busch Gardens, Williamsburg Per diem hotel near Little Creek Navy Base Hotel is near Waterside Festival Marketplace Hotel less than 1 mile to VA Beach Town Center Be sure to tour the nearby Battleship Wisconson Extended stay hotel offers Norfolk Per Diem Rates Great central hotel to Portsmouth, Norfolk & VA Beach Entrance Hotel is a short drive to the Virginia Aquarium Hotel Approach Lobby Entrance Hotel offers easy access to Virgina Beach 10 minutes Hotel is minutes from the Chesapeake Bay Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Front Desk
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-16-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
Check Availability
Loading