• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
(e.g. Aug-02-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: VIRGINA BEACH
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.5MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:9
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets welcome with a non refundable fee: 75 dollars for 1 to 6 nights and 150 dollars for 7 or more nights. per pet Each pet must weigh less than 80 lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check in.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Pembroke Mall/Restaurants/Entertainment
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Town Center of Va Beach
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Verizon Wireless Va Beach Amphitheater
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI
Attraction:
Little Creek Amphibious Base
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:90
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking is free. There are 2 oversized parking spaces on either side of the building. There is additional oversized parking spaces on the southern side of the bulding.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:83
  • Total number of suites:83
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:47
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:36
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:73
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:9
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
  • FEMA Property Number:VA5199

Enjoy Virginia Beach Hotel's Location near Town Center

Situated along the Atlantic Ocean, Virginia Beach is a popular beach town in the Hampton Roads area. The Candlewood Suites® Virginia Beach - Norfolk hotel is conveniently located near Town Center, making us the perfect choice for both business and leisure travelers.

Imagine having all the tools you need for business right at your fingertips. We have a 24-hour Business Center to help you keep in touch, and free Wi-Fi access is
View More

Enjoy Virginia Beach Hotel's Location near Town Center

Situated along the Atlantic Ocean, Virginia Beach is a popular beach town in the Hampton Roads area. The Candlewood Suites® Virginia Beach - Norfolk hotel is conveniently located near Town Center, making us the perfect choice for both business and leisure travelers.

Imagine having all the tools you need for business right at your fingertips. We have a 24-hour Business Center to help you keep in touch, and free Wi-Fi access is provided in all of the hotel's suites. In Virginia Beach, VA, this hotel's also just minutes from top companies like Northrop Grumman, Lockheed Martin and General Dynamics.

You'll find plenty of things to fill your free time in Virginia Beach. The hotel is within walking distance of the exciting Town Center, where you can find a variety of shops, restaurants and bars. We're just a 10-minute drive from the beach, and you won't want to miss visiting the nearby Virginia Aquarium. If you're looking to take a day trip, Busch Gardens and historic Colonial Williamsburg are just a short drive away, as well.

When it comes to hotels in Virginia Beach, VA, we've got everything you need for a memorable trip. Take advantage of the great amenities like free guest laundry facilities, an outdoor grilling area and a 24-hour Fitness Center. Visit the Candlewood Cupboard for snacks, meals and sundry items. We look forward to welcoming you to this Virginia Beach hotel!

View Less
Features
When you chose to stay with us in Virginia Beach, this hotel's location places you close to Independence Blvd, just 10 minutes from the ocean shore and within walking distance of Town Center.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 231 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by First time to Virginia Beach My mom and I stayed for two nights at this location to visit the area. The property was easy to find, and conveniently located to dining establishments. What impressed us the most was the biking/walking paths between the hotel and beach. This property's beach side landscaping was the best we saw, even if the street side landscaping was forgettable. The desk and housekeeping staff were extremely friendly, and we were impressed at the attention given by the breakfast staff to assuring food items didn't run out. I had to ask about the goody bag or points at check in, but then the desk staff was very accommodating. I will definitely stay at this property if I ever return to Virginia Beach! June 8, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Would like to see A game I rate my stay average in. this area and would like the hotel to up their quality of customer care and satisfaction. This location would probably be a better as a off season trip. June 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and Clean It was nice to find a hotel on the oceanfront that does not over charge! June 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beachfront Location We have stayed here before and I amazed that you can get such decent accommodations for this price. Easy access to the beach and walking distance to several restaurants. The ocean view is fantastic. We will always try to stay here when we are in the area. June 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 1st review I have never left a review before on any site but felt I need to after our stay last week. My wife and I had a king bed. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. It was a typical room. The pool was a little small and the breakfast was above average. My reason for writing a review is mostly because of the staff. I have stayed in a lot of hotels before but have never seen a more friendly staff. Every time we passed a member of the staff, from the ladies at the front desk to the cleaning crew to the maintenance men, they spoke. They always had a smile on their face. This made us feel welcome. June 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by girl's weekend get away Awesome accommodations, convenient locations, great breakfast. private balcony June 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Tiffany and Star Both were very helpful and friendly. The night time lady, after 11pm was excellent as well. June 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by OCEAN VEIW WAS GREAT!!!!! GREAT VEIW OF OCEAN. HOTEL WAS GREAT..THIS REVIEW PROCESS IS A LITTLE ANNOYING THO June 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Place to stay in Va. Beach I've stayed in several oceanfront hotels in Va. Beach and this is one of, if not the best all around hotels. Accommodating staff, nice rooms, clean, nice amenities, including a pretty decent breakfast buffet. May 30, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by parking Very poor!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!. Had one lot next to tyhe Hotel, hit and miss if you could find a space. Second lot was full all the time we were there. Very tough with bad knees if your aree 93 and 91 years old. May 29, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not so good, but not bad The room was nice, I have stayed at better and more updated Holiday Inn Express. The lock on the door would not lock and there was not enough lighting when you first walked into the room. The parking lot is horrible. We had to make sure we were back at the hotel everyday early, just so we could get a parking space. There seemed to be a lot of homeless people hanging around the hotels, that made me a little uneasy. Overall, the staff was nice and friendly. I don't think I will be coming back to Virginia Beach, just not the atmosphere I was looking for. May 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very comfortable room We were very please with this hotel . We were in a very good location convenient to everything. The breakfast was wonderful with a large dining area inside and outside. Eating breakfast sitting with a view of the ocean was a plus. All the personnel were friendly and helpful. Definitely will stay here again if I am in the area again. May 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff Great place, clean, friendly and convenient. Staff is curteous and very attentive to requests. May 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good deal Clean friendly staff and wonderful view. Quiet and breakfast was good. I like the fact they served turkey sausage. May 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stay My wife and I have always stayed in a Holiday Inn Express and when we seen this one right on Virginia Beach, we could not pass it up. From the initial greeting by the staff upon check - in to our final day was nothing than excellent. All the staff at this hotel was nothing less than extraordinary. There was one particular staff member; Star, who would anytime she would see you either in the lobby for breakfast or anytime for that matter always greeted my wife and I with a smile and either a "Good Morning, How are you" or "Hello, I hope you are having a great time" This was the "icing on the cake" to our stay there. We WILL be staying there again :-) May 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Schöner Aufenthalt direkt am Strand Guter Aufenthalt in direkter Strandlage. Parkplatz direkt vorm Hotel. Indoorpool ausreichend. May 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great views! The view was great! Pool was extremely small and did not appear clean (so we did not go into it)! Room was average...great cleaning supervisors and crew who were professional and helpful! April 24, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Website needs to reflect actual facilities I booked a 1BR 2QUEEN suite with this property -- selected precisely because the website showed it. This is why I selected the property -- most suites have two doubles or one King. The front desk tried to tell me that all their suites have two doubles or a king. I didn't argue, but went back to check and the website clearly shows 2 queens for what I booked. In addition to the misrepresentation above, I also take exception to the professional photo of the pool -- deliberately taken with a lens and at an angle to make it look very large, which it was not. It would be good if this review actually makes it to the hotel website, but even better if management rectifies these misrepresentations, whether or not they are deliberate. On the plus side, the staff was friendly. I would not fault them for the points above, as these are management/corporate issues. April 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place From prompt room cleaning to easy beach access, this was a simply wonderful experience. April 17, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Typical Nothing special nice to be next to the ocean. Parking was a pain was not enough and people are rude(not hotels fault people are rude) Hotel not real clean and jacuzzi was broke the whole time we where there hard to believe in this day and age couldnt be fixed in three weeks time. Hotel not real clean but have learned to travel with lysol wipes and spray as well as detergent to clean with. Hotel should be fine for most people considering how much we have lowered our standards in this country. Instead of demanding that others raise there standards to meet ours we have lowered ours to meet theres. only recommend this hotel because I am sure the rest are the same. PLEASE BRING BACK AMERICAN PRIDE April 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bed fair, great service Nice ocean view and waves are great to hear. Room ok. Kleenex in bathroom were stale and bottom of box wet and stuck to counter. Lots of teenagers. Overall a good place. Staff great! April 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by one slight issue We stayed here 2 nights and loved everything about the facility. We had an issue but management as well as front desk staff was very helpful and apologetic. March 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Registration staff Upon arrival the man at the desk was very welcoming and engaging and provided very helpful information about restaurants. All of the staff were always gracious including the breakfast room staff. February 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Gymnastics at the Beach Excellent service by the staff when an erroneous charge was discovered on our bill. No hassle in clearing the issue up. My two gymnasts enjoyed the pancakes and the heated pool. Oceanfront view was fabulous. February 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always a Wonderful Stay here Stayed here for both business and pleasure now at least 4 times. Staff is very friendly, the hotel is kept very clean, gym room is great (lots of equipment), pool and hot tub area are wonderful. And they always recognize IHG rewards members with great gift options. January 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by wonderful hotel and location we were passing through, but if we were to return, it would be to see the christmas lights on the beach and we would absolutely stay at this hotel again. January 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding Staff and Hotel We couldn't have asked for a better hotel to stay at. We chose Holiday Inn Express because we love their continental breakfast and the cleanliness of the rooms/facility that we have always received; when staying at one. This particular one has topped all of the rest. It was very easy to find, in a perfect location,and the staff were incredible and extra sweet! All of that together created an extra special vacation for us and when we visit Virginia Beach again, this is where we will be staying! 2 Thumbs up! Keep up the great work! January 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by New Year's stay with kids Enjoyed he stay and would recommend. The hotel was clean and convenient. Pool was small but made our two kids happy. Breakfast was good and you can over look the boardwalk while you eat. No microwave in our room but didn't need one. Virginia Beach has really been "cleaned up" or modernized. Will come back. January 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Christmas Lights We stayed in this hotel second time , and both time we had a great time. Will stay there again. January 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another great Thanksgiving experience We have spent the weekend following Thanksgiving here for the past three years. The staff has always been excellent and the breakfast fine. We appreciated the upgraded room this year as a Platinum member. We always enjoy watching the cars driving on the boardwalk to admire the Christmas light display. It's even more fun to sit on the balcony and enjoy the show December 24, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel is central to Williamsburg & Virginia Beach Extended Stay Per Diem hotel near Norfolk Naval Base Hotel near Sandler Center for the Arts - 1 mile Hotel less than 1 hour to Busch Gardens, Williamsburg Per diem hotel near Little Creek Navy Base Hotel is near Waterside Festival Marketplace Hotel less than 1 mile to VA Beach Town Center Be sure to tour the nearby Battleship Wisconson Extended stay hotel offers Norfolk Per Diem Rates Great central hotel to Portsmouth, Norfolk & VA Beach Entrance Hotel is a short drive to the Virginia Aquarium Hotel Approach Lobby Entrance Hotel offers easy access to Virgina Beach 10 minutes Hotel is minutes from the Chesapeake Bay Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Front Desk
Select to close.
Your chance to win 1 of 5 Hollywood Experiences and more
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-02-2014)
Check Availability
Loading