• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: VIRGINA BEACH
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.5MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:9
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets welcome with a non refundable fee: 75 dollars for 1 to 6 nights and 150 dollars for 7 or more nights. per pet Each pet must weigh less than 80 lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check in.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Town Center of Va Beach
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Pembroke Mall/Restaurants/Entertainment
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Verizon Wireless Va Beach Amphitheater
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI
Attraction:
Little Creek Amphibious Base
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:90
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking is free. There are 2 oversized parking spaces on either side of the building. There is additional oversized parking spaces on the southern side of the bulding.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:83
  • Total number of suites:83
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:47
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:36
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:73
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:9
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
  • FEMA Property Number:VA5199

Enjoy Virginia Beach Hotel's Location near Town Center

Situated along the Atlantic Ocean, Virginia Beach is a popular beach town in the Hampton Roads area. The Candlewood Suites® Virginia Beach - Norfolk hotel is conveniently located near Town Center, making us the perfect choice for both business and leisure travelers.

Imagine having all the tools you need for business right at your fingertips. We have a 24-hour Business Center to help you keep in touch, and free Wi-Fi access is
View More

Enjoy Virginia Beach Hotel's Location near Town Center

Situated along the Atlantic Ocean, Virginia Beach is a popular beach town in the Hampton Roads area. The Candlewood Suites® Virginia Beach - Norfolk hotel is conveniently located near Town Center, making us the perfect choice for both business and leisure travelers.

Imagine having all the tools you need for business right at your fingertips. We have a 24-hour Business Center to help you keep in touch, and free Wi-Fi access is provided in all of the hotel's suites. In Virginia Beach, VA, this hotel's also just minutes from top companies like Northrop Grumman, Lockheed Martin and General Dynamics.

You'll find plenty of things to fill your free time in Virginia Beach. The hotel is within walking distance of the exciting Town Center, where you can find a variety of shops, restaurants and bars. We're just a 10-minute drive from the beach, and you won't want to miss visiting the nearby Virginia Aquarium. If you're looking to take a day trip, Busch Gardens and historic Colonial Williamsburg are just a short drive away, as well.

When it comes to hotels in Virginia Beach, VA, we've got everything you need for a memorable trip. Take advantage of the great amenities like free guest laundry facilities, an outdoor grilling area and a 24-hour Fitness Center. Visit the Candlewood Cupboard for snacks, meals and sundry items. We look forward to welcoming you to this Virginia Beach hotel!

View Less
Features
When you chose to stay with us in Virginia Beach, this hotel's location places you close to Independence Blvd, just 10 minutes from the ocean shore and within walking distance of Town Center.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 307 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great vacation When checking in, I was greeted wonderfully by Melodie. She was one of the best I have ever encountered. The whole staff my family and my stay fantastic. Never have I encountered a staff as great as this one. June 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Hotel with Great Location Stayed here for a wedding for a long weekend. Staff there was very pleasant and helpful. Probably some of the best customer service I've experienced in awhile. Even the housekeeping would ask how I was doing and have small talk. Rooms are nice and beds are comfortable. If you've ever stayed at a Holiday Inn Express, you know of the free breakfast buffet and this one definitely hit the typical marks. The staff there was pretty on top of cleaning off the tables and keeping food out there. One thing of note though would be to get there before 9AM bc they stop bringing out fresh food really after that (closes at 9:30). Location is great if you are going for the tourist-y experience. Lots of restaurants and shops within walking distance, and the beach is almost literally your backyard (once you cross the boardwalk). The private balconies are really nice and relaxing if you'd want a beach view and watch or read. Minor complaints: our guest room carpet was a little sandy and dirty when we arrived, but was cleaned after first night. Bathroom didn't have soap or shampoo when first checked in, but housekeeping was happy to help. And the price a night to stay here is pretty high for a Holiday Inn Express. Seen same prices for Manhattan and SoCal hotels, and those locals are much nicer in my opinion. June 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location On The Boardwalk! This hotel in located in a relatively more adult area of the boardwalk. There were plenty of family friendly activities for all, but it was not too overrun with college-age partyers/drinkers. June 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Loved the views Family and I had a great time at this location. Our ocean view was perfect. This was our last stop on our way home and it was a great ending to a not so great vacation. Staff and hotel was great we felt welcome from the first momnet here. Thanks everyone. June 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by not the cleanest Holiday inn i have stayed in. General cleanliness was low. Did not use the breakfast area at all. June 22, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Mmmm, didn't enjoy Location and Breakfast were very good. But TV constantly lost signal, had to keep unplugging it and plugging it back in. Which the outlets in the wall seem let they were going to fall in wall ever time had to plug TV back in. Maintenance man answer was, they buy cheap TV's so it happens. Had to turn AC down to 60 just to get room to 75 degrees. It was only 80 outside. The room had a smell the whole time we were there and staff did offer to spray air fresher, but that's only good for 15 minutes. Also parking is bad at hotel because they don't enforce their own rules about parking. Saw several cars parked without the tag hanging from rearview mirror. Loved Virginia Beach and will return. Just not to this location. June 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Had a great time I went to a wedding in VA Beach so there were many friends and family staying at the hotel. It was very nice because we could all come and go during breakfast time and it was easy to sit together. Very nice beachfront area. I would definitely go to this hotel again! June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, staff, beds, and breakfast! We have stayed at this property many times and plan to do so again in September for the Neptune Festival. Breakfast offers a huge variety to satisfy everyone--bacon lover, pancakes, biscuits and gravy, etc.. The indoor pool and hot tub are great... really couldn't complain about anything with one whiny exception. As a platinum rewards member I would like to receive a bonus of some type to show appreciation/make me feel special... even a bottle of water would be nice :) June 16, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Ok for a night We typically stay at Holiday Inn Express hotels when we travel. This hotel is ok if you just need a place for the night but was not what we expected from our past Holiday Inn Express experiences. We were welcomed by a large group of smokers sitting out front. The pool area is very small and the hallways are narrow making it difficult to navigate when housekeeping is in full force. The breakfast was very nice. The daytime staff was very polite and helpful! The evening staff told me I didn't have a reservation with them even though I was already checked into the hotel. We chose to move to the Holiday Inn down the street. It had a beautiful outdoor pool area and fantastic beachside cafe. June 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great hotel, great views, great value Spent the weekend at VA Beach for sand soccer and could not have been happier...amazing views...great staff...not too expensive...great stay! If there is anything to identify as "not so great" it would be the parking situation...three small parking lots with 2/3 of them across the street...not ideal...but it was okay. Overall, GREAT HOTEL and WE WILL BE BACK! June 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, friendly staff and beds were comfortable We enjoyed our stay very much. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean. Enjoyed the breakfast variety and hours available. Staff was good at keeping food maintained and area clean. Location is good to beach, boardwalk and shopping areas. Didn't care for the initial smell in the room due to an air freshener or cleaner used but this was better after a day. A more neutral scent would be better for those that suffer from sensitivity to strong smells. We stayed on the 10th floor and still felt a park of the ocean and sunrise but wasn't bothered by the excitement on the boardwalk. The pool area is small but we didn't use it any. Would be helpful if change was available at the front desk for washing machines but can understand. Clothes soap was available and convenient. We would used this facility again, thanks for serving us! June 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by FBI Team ALMOST unnoticed. Despite the extraction of a criminal from the 2nd floor, FBI agents with loaded machine guns and all, it was the usual (crazy) sand soccer atmosphere. I must say the situation was handled swiftly and with minimal attention. Regrettably every year we end up next to a room of party-till-u-pukers who enevitably have security pound on the door throughout the night-no fun when your kid has the 8:30 game the next morning. This never settled well with my husband after he has paid the ASTRONOMICALLY high prices for that weekend. That, coupled with little sleep makes for a tough pill to swallow. On a good note, the room was clean and staff was friendly. May try it one more year... June 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by awesome We were there on one of the busiest weekends and the staff was awesome. No complaints. Had one issue and they are taking care of it . Had noting to do with hotel or staff June 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Frinedly staff, though not particularly knowledgeable Overall, my family really did enjoy a nice stay here the weekend of the sand soccer tournament. The staff was very friendly and accommodating and, of course, the ocean view and convenience to everything was great. Just a couple of areas for improvement: 1. While friendly, the staff wasn't particularly knowledgeable about some of the local restaurants. Example: Couldn't tell me the name of type of food served at restaurant right next door. Given that this property doesn't have a restaurant, it would make sense to send people over there... 2. I've stayed at the other HI Express at the quieter end of the beach and that one seemed a little more modern, with a more resort-like feel (don't recall price differences, though) 3. Our room was not as clean as I would've liked it; in particular, it was very dusty and the carpet was quite worn. 4. It was disappointing that there was only one parking spot for each room. We had the unanticipated expense of paying for public parking for the weekend. Though, I will say, the staff was flexible on Sunday by allowing us to park our second vehicle in the front lot once some folks checked out. 5. Breakfast was not great but free and we didn't go hungry so that's what mattered most. June 11, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by vacation front desk staff not friendly. cut my foot in hot tub and she was more annoyed than anything. offered me a band aid and that was it. room very dusty and didn't smell good until i wiped it all down with Clorox wipes. didn't get club member gift. June 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice rooms at heart of VA Beach The room was clean and large with a nice balcony and a great view of the ocean. Front desk staff was friendly and check-in and check-out was extremely fast and efficient despite the fact that the hotel was completely filled due to a sand-soccer competition that weekend. The breakfast had a good selection and the cinnamon buns were great! We would definitely stay at this hotel again! June 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by First time to Virginia Beach My mom and I stayed for two nights at this location to visit the area. The property was easy to find, and conveniently located to dining establishments. What impressed us the most was the biking/walking paths between the hotel and beach. This property's beach side landscaping was the best we saw, even if the street side landscaping was forgettable. The desk and housekeeping staff were extremely friendly, and we were impressed at the attention given by the breakfast staff to assuring food items didn't run out. I had to ask about the goody bag or points at check in, but then the desk staff was very accommodating. I will definitely stay at this property if I ever return to Virginia Beach! June 8, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Would like to see A game I rate my stay average in. this area and would like the hotel to up their quality of customer care and satisfaction. This location would probably be a better as a off season trip. June 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and Clean It was nice to find a hotel on the oceanfront that does not over charge! June 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beachfront Location We have stayed here before and I amazed that you can get such decent accommodations for this price. Easy access to the beach and walking distance to several restaurants. The ocean view is fantastic. We will always try to stay here when we are in the area. June 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 1st review I have never left a review before on any site but felt I need to after our stay last week. My wife and I had a king bed. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. It was a typical room. The pool was a little small and the breakfast was above average. My reason for writing a review is mostly because of the staff. I have stayed in a lot of hotels before but have never seen a more friendly staff. Every time we passed a member of the staff, from the ladies at the front desk to the cleaning crew to the maintenance men, they spoke. They always had a smile on their face. This made us feel welcome. June 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by girl's weekend get away Awesome accommodations, convenient locations, great breakfast. private balcony June 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Tiffany and Star Both were very helpful and friendly. The night time lady, after 11pm was excellent as well. June 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by OCEAN VEIW WAS GREAT!!!!! GREAT VEIW OF OCEAN. HOTEL WAS GREAT..THIS REVIEW PROCESS IS A LITTLE ANNOYING THO June 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Place to stay in Va. Beach I've stayed in several oceanfront hotels in Va. Beach and this is one of, if not the best all around hotels. Accommodating staff, nice rooms, clean, nice amenities, including a pretty decent breakfast buffet. May 30, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by parking Very poor!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!. Had one lot next to tyhe Hotel, hit and miss if you could find a space. Second lot was full all the time we were there. Very tough with bad knees if your aree 93 and 91 years old. May 29, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not so good, but not bad The room was nice, I have stayed at better and more updated Holiday Inn Express. The lock on the door would not lock and there was not enough lighting when you first walked into the room. The parking lot is horrible. We had to make sure we were back at the hotel everyday early, just so we could get a parking space. There seemed to be a lot of homeless people hanging around the hotels, that made me a little uneasy. Overall, the staff was nice and friendly. I don't think I will be coming back to Virginia Beach, just not the atmosphere I was looking for. May 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very comfortable room We were very please with this hotel . We were in a very good location convenient to everything. The breakfast was wonderful with a large dining area inside and outside. Eating breakfast sitting with a view of the ocean was a plus. All the personnel were friendly and helpful. Definitely will stay here again if I am in the area again. May 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff Great place, clean, friendly and convenient. Staff is curteous and very attentive to requests. May 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good deal Clean friendly staff and wonderful view. Quiet and breakfast was good. I like the fact they served turkey sausage. May 15, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 11 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel is central to Williamsburg & Virginia Beach Extended Stay Per Diem hotel near Norfolk Naval Base Hotel near Sandler Center for the Arts - 1 mile Hotel less than 1 hour to Busch Gardens, Williamsburg Per diem hotel near Little Creek Navy Base Hotel is near Waterside Festival Marketplace Hotel less than 1 mile to VA Beach Town Center Be sure to tour the nearby Battleship Wisconson Extended stay hotel offers Norfolk Per Diem Rates Great central hotel to Portsmouth, Norfolk & VA Beach Entrance Hotel is a short drive to the Virginia Aquarium Hotel Approach Lobby Entrance Hotel offers easy access to Virgina Beach 10 minutes Hotel is minutes from the Chesapeake Bay Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Front Desk
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
Check Availability
Loading