• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Apr-18-2014)
(e.g. Apr-19-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: VIRGINA BEACH
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.5MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets welcome with a non refundable fee: 75 dollars for 1 to 6 nights and 150 dollars for 7 or more nights. per pet Each pet must weigh less than 80 lbs. Pet agreement must be signed at check in.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Waterside/Downtown Norfolk
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI
Attraction:
Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Distance From Hotel:9.0MI
Attraction:
Pembroke Mall/Restaurants/Entertainment
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Norfolk Naval Base
Distance From Hotel:15.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:90
  • Car Parking Available
  • Car Parking Available

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:83
  • Total number of suites:83
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:47
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:36
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:73
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
  • FEMA Property Number:VA5199

Enjoy Virginia Beach Hotel's Location near Town Center

Situated along the Atlantic Ocean, Virginia Beach is a popular beach town in the Hampton Roads area. The Candlewood Suites® Virginia Beach - Norfolk hotel is conveniently located near Town Center, making us the perfect choice for both business and leisure travelers.

Imagine having all the tools you need for business right at your fingertips. We have a 24-hour Business Center to help you keep in touch, and free Wi-Fi access is
View More

Enjoy Virginia Beach Hotel's Location near Town Center

Situated along the Atlantic Ocean, Virginia Beach is a popular beach town in the Hampton Roads area. The Candlewood Suites® Virginia Beach - Norfolk hotel is conveniently located near Town Center, making us the perfect choice for both business and leisure travelers.

Imagine having all the tools you need for business right at your fingertips. We have a 24-hour Business Center to help you keep in touch, and free Wi-Fi access is provided in all of the hotel's suites. In Virginia Beach, VA, this hotel's also just minutes from top companies like Northrop Grumman, Lockheed Martin and General Dynamics.

You'll find plenty of things to fill your free time in Virginia Beach. The hotel is within walking distance of the exciting Town Center, where you can find a variety of shops, restaurants and bars. We're just a 10-minute drive from the beach, and you won't want to miss visiting the nearby Virginia Aquarium. If you're looking to take a day trip, Busch Gardens and historic Colonial Williamsburg are just a short drive away, as well.

When it comes to hotels in Virginia Beach, VA, we've got everything you need for a memorable trip. Take advantage of the great amenities like free guest laundry facilities, an outdoor grilling area and a 24-hour Fitness Center. Visit the Candlewood Cupboard for snacks, meals and sundry items. We look forward to welcoming you to this Virginia Beach hotel!

View Less
Features
When you chose to stay with us in Virginia Beach, this hotel's location places you close to Independence Blvd, just 10 minutes from the ocean shore and within walking distance of Town Center.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 254 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Would totally recommend. We had a very relaxing stay on Virginia Beach. The hotel is at the far north end of the boardwalk (the quiet end), which was good since this was our first time on Virginia Beach and we were there with a 3 year old. Everybody always had a smile for us and was ready to do whatever it took to make sure we were satisfied. The only downside was that we missed not having a bathtub, the elevator was extremely slow, and it was annoying to me that everytime that someone turned the bathroom light on the extremely loud fan would come on, which would wake us up during the night. These are the only things that prevented our entire stay from being excellent. May 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Cheer! Although the weather was less than cooperative during our stay the accomodations was very pleasing. The hotel was clean and the room comfortable with nice view. The restaurants located within the facility was nice on the evenings when you didnt want to travel or look for parking. The kids really enjoyed the indoor pool and lazy river especially with the weather being less than desirable. Thought the movie theater was a nice touch soething we hadnt experienced previously. The staff was friendly and accomodating especially the ladies that worked in the play area. The turtles was very interesting and fun to play with. First trip to Virginia beach but an enjoyable stay and would highly recommend. May 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, great property, great staff We really enjoyed our stay at the VA Beach - North Beach property. Three pools for the kids, right off the beach, and north of all the congestion so you don't feel crowded. Food was good and the kid's playroom and media room are really nice too. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We will definitely come back! May 17, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by comfprtable bed, staff friendly i enjoyed my stay room was quiet and comfortable the food was good too long of a wait at the restaurant they were not equipped for such a crowd could not get the heat turned on in my room so it was a little chilly May 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great rooms! The ONLY thing I would say about this property is, I wish the bar area stayed open past 10 pm. They should at least try and stay open until midnight! May 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice Hotel Hotel was awesome, staff was very friendly, room was very clean. Enjoyed the breakfast buffet in the morning, and the fact that the kids ate free was a bonus! Kids loved the Lazy Susan river pool. Wish we had remembered to bring an inflatable to float on. I would highly recommend this hotel we plan on visiting again next time we come to the VA beach area. The only negative thing and it is minor, we stayed on the first floor near the the conference room and there were about a 100 people out in the hallway for some sort of cheer-leading event. I guess they were getting checked in for the event and It was a little loud for about an hour or so in our room. When we went to dinner the hallway was packed and we had to weave our way through. May 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by STAFF AND CLEANING ... We stay at the Hotel twice a year .. This time the cleaning staff was not very good . The five days we were there we had to tell the main desk to have the cleaning people come in and empty the trash and they only made the bed .. It is to my understanding that they are to change the sheets every other day. We never had them changed at all in the five days we were there. That was the only problem .. The staff at the desk were great ., along with the rest of the staff to run the hotel ... as always.. May 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by On business I love, love this hotel and its staff. They are courteous, friendly, and helpful. The only reason I did not relax completely is because I was working, but to look out my window and see the ocean and hear it while I worked, certainly helped my mood. Unfortunately, now that the rates are going back up, I will have to wait until the cold weather returns to stay again. May 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Loved it! Loved the ocean view, the bed was the most comfortable I have ever experienced in a hotel. The indoor pool was also a nice feature. The only complaint I have is that parking was cramped. Breakfast buffet was delicious. May 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fun Times Great place for our family reunion. Awesome beach, Great pools. But stinging eyes from chlorine, still really fun. Great and accommodating staff. Really nice rooms! Comfy and high end-ish. I would have loved to spend less money, but it was ok and it was actually a really nice hotel and area on the beach, away from the hectic boardwalk scene but still close enough to get in the mix if you walk down the boardwalk. Nice and clean and fun! The rooms were nice, the food was great, the amenities fun! It had a good family vibe with good quality. May 3, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Challenging if you have mobility issues I have what many call a hidden disability. I can walk short distances on a cane, can only stand for approximately 3 minutes before I am in extreme pain. If I have longer distances or times then I use a wheelchair. I left my wheelchair in my vehicle that valet parked since I was told it wouldn't be needed. I explained at time of reservation over the phone my challenges & was assured my room was not far from the elevator. Well it wasn't far from the lobby to the front elevator, but once off that elevator you have to walk a good distance (for me anyways) around to the back elevator then down the hall to the rooms. There is no benches or chairs along the way. Had there been I would have had no trouble. Buy the time I got to my room I was about on the floor crawling - I laid on the bed in pure agony crying from the pain. Knowing this wouldn't work, unless I was going to stay in my room the entire trip, I called down to the front desk and explained the issue. They told me to come all the way back down & I would be moved. Explaining I couldn't physically make it back down myself, and they would not come to me, I had no choice but to send my 12 year old. At this point I should have just checked out, but they told me that they were moving me right by the elevator. So I go back down the hall, back past the elevator, to the front elevator, go up two floors and wait for my son. To only find, that there are no rooms off that elevator - no I had to go all the way back around to the back elevator, down the hall to my new room which was only one room closer to the elevator but 2 floors higher. Really meaning hardly moved me at all. Trying to get there mind you there is no where to sit, no where to stop. The pain was unbearable and I ended up falling out on the floor and had to sit there until I could get help to get me back up. The pain it took to get me back to a room I wouldn't wish on my enemy. I spent the next 2 days unable to get out of the bed or leave the room because I was in so much physical pain. My entire trip was ruined for me and my family. Years ago the hotel had a side parking lot that was accessible for the handicapped using the back elevator to the rooms, that would have worked perfect. However, they have used that lot to expand the pool area. If you have mobility issues such as mine this is not the place for you unless you get out your wheelchair and don't expect the staff to understand mobility issues, they just don't get it. April 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Super staff and great rooms! Had a great 4-day stay, with wonderful service from staff. The hotel is attractive, well-kept and staff is attentive to needs. Customer care is obvious and "Hospitality 101" is practiced! We continue to vacation at this facility. April 22, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by security / cleanliness We love the location and have had an enjoyable experience in the past, however this trip our room was left open after cleaning and used towels were hung up as clean. April 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice stay, great service/ We attended my neices' wedding at this hotel. The service was on the beach followed by her reception in the hotel. Service at the reception was great, room was clean and well stocked with towels. View of ocean front from the room balcony was very relaxing. April 13, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Risk Manager The property and our room was not as neat and clean as usual. The hallways hand an abundance of debris and the room had debris on the floor as well. April 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good experience The hotel is great. The oceanfront rooms are awesome. My son and I enjoyed the river-style indoor pool. The only thing that bothered us a little was the noisy air conditioner. Overall, I recommend this hotel. April 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place This was a wonderful place for our conference. The hotel is relaxing,with the waves just outside. Wish they would turn down the music at the pool more though. The breakfast buffet is excellent, but my fish and chips at the Square Whale was disappointing. April 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quick trip just an overnight stay but I would definitely select this hotel again. April 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Kid Friendly My family and my brother's family stayed 2 nights at this hotel recently and we were so impressed with the over all kid friendliness of the hotel. Our kids were well entertained with the kid activity area, the movie theater, & the indoor lazy river pool. Kids eating free was also a terrific plus. Although we never used it, the hotel also provided a sitting service for your children, free of charge, as long as you stayed on the property. The rooms were very clean and the beds were extra comfortable. My nephew got sick also on our last night there and we had to call room service to change the sheets around 11:30 pm. Room service was there in less than a minute with clean sheets and helped put them on. They also came back a couple more times that night because he had gotten sick again. They were very accommodating. We would highly recommend this hotel and we also will go back ourselves in the future. April 9, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet Location. Excellent food service. Housekeeping lacking in attention to Detail Reserved a Queen suite for 2 nights for a Mother-Daughter -Granddaughter get away. Room was spacious and bed comfortable. View was wonderful from the deck. Both the food and the Food service in the restaurant was fantastic! Bathroom very basic - just shower, no tub. Plenty of towels. Upon arrival and going to the deck for the view, noted that one of the deck chairs was badly broken and requested they bring up a new one. This was done quickly. Later upon looking for toilet paper, called front desk to inquire if perhaps it was someplace we had not looked, found there was none in the suite. 3 women and no toilet paper until you are sitting down?! Again the request was attended to quickly. Later that evening I pulled out the under-freezer drawer in the mini-fridge to find that it was filled with icky water (where I am guessing it had been defrosted but not cleaned) . After spilling this yucky water on my pants, I called and asked for a manager. Response was quick and manager on duty apologized profusely. As the operator of a B & B, I feel that the attention to detail in terms of housekeeping was not up to the standards I would have expected. April 5, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by My Worst Hotel Experience 1. I was with a group of ten for dinner. The restaurant waitress charged us each individually and then charged my account again for all ten meals. It took four days for my bank account to be rectified. 2. I was told, as a member of the Holiday Inn Rewards Program, that check-out was at 2 PM. At 1 PM, the cleaning crew threw my baggage into the hallway and checked me out of the room. 3. A main water pipe broke which resulted in no water for the hotel for one day. March 30, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by No tubs and unable to relax due to noise This hotel has been renovated and, with the renovation, all the tubs were taken out. Not a problem for most people but I think it would be smart to put this on the description of the hotel. I traveled to VA Beach with my brother who, while he can walk and does not require a "handicapped accessible" room, is severely disabled. He requires assistance to take a bath and taking a shower is not an option. If I had known there were only showers, I would NOT have booked my room there. I requested a shower chair be brought to the room while we were out at dinner and never received it. When we returned from dinner, the city was using a backhoe right outside our window until 10:45pm! The noise level was HORRIBLE! When I called the desk, I was told there was nothing they could do. While the desk knew the city was doing this, they did not provide any information as I was checking in. Once again, had I known that the backhoe would be going back and forth until 10:45pm, I would have found another hotel to stay at. I checked us out early the next morning and moved to the Holiday Inn on 26th street. This Holiday Inn gave me two letters informing me about the backhoe work (which was finished in front of their hotel) and work within the hotel on bathroom tiles. The letter gave the time frames for the work and offered ear plugs OR to move us to another hotel if the noise became too much. A much better approach to the customer than the North Beach hotel. March 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A great place to stay in Virginia Beach, however.......... I've stayed at this Holiday Inn several times and as usual, found it enjoyable. Its on the beach, all rooms have ocean views, the restaurant is quite good, the staff is great, etc. etc. However, there is one irritant associated with the hotel. The covered parking garage across the street from the hotel is convenient, but the spaces are designed for mid-size vehicles at best. Guests with larger SUV and van type vehicles essentially fill up the spaces from line to line...and in some cases, across the lines, leaving little room for another vehicle to park and if so, to exiit their vehicle. I would suggest larger such vehicles be required to part on the roof of the parking area. Further, the horseshoe entrance area is frequently clogged by individuals who park their vehicles for extended period of times...including school buses. I would suggest that the staff ensure that vehicles not be left attended beyond ten minutes or so to allow other arriving guests to enter the entrance area. February 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Top Notch - As Always Without a doubt - even in the off season, this Holiday Inn ranks as excellent. The staff is ALWAYS professional and friendly - making it a pleasure to stay there. The facilities rank high for kids and is very family-friendly. We will always choose this site for our VA Beach stays! February 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Hotel and Service I recently spent three separate nights at Holiday Inn North Beach. Each stay was exceptional. The rooms are spacious and clean. I was upgraded on my third stay to a suite with beachfront access. It was absolutely fabulous. I also had breakfast in the attached restaurant. The food was delicious and reasonably priced. Because I stayed during the winter, I cannot attest to the value during peak beach season; however, I have stayed at various Holiday Inns and I have always found them to be a good value. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great place to stay in Virginia Beach. February 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall a pleasant experience The hotel was amazing however, I didn't receive any recognition whatsoever for being a priortiy club member and I believe it was due to the clerk that checked me in. The Italian restaurant was excellent, I look forward to visiting again in the future for possibly a mini vacation. Excellent location, indoor grotto, workout room was huge compared to most hotels and the movie theater was a major plus. December 23, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Pretty good except booking... I would rate this hotel higher but I had a bad experience while booking my room. I was coming to VB for a wedding and was trying to book a room with the discount rate that the bride had reserved for her out of town guests. I talked to multiple people while trying to book the room and was first told I could use the discount and then told I could not by another person. The person who told me I could not use the discount was very rude and seemed like he was scamming me, especially since I had just talked to someone else a few moments earlier and they said that I could use the discount. The story was that all of the rooms reserved under the wedding were booked and he wouldn't let me have the discount anyways (which is fine, but he informed me of this in a very condescending and rude manner#. He said I would have to call the bride and ask her to reserve more rooms. I was not about to hassle my friend who is planning a wedding and has a ton of other things to deal with! I did not want to book through this hotel but decided to anyways since this was where most of the guests were staying. I booked online to avoid the hassle of speaking to another rude person and dealt with the fact that I was going to have to pay an extra $30 because I could not get the wedding discount. However, upon check-in, the worker at the desk was so friendly and had upgraded us to a better #king-size, ocean-front) room! We were right on the water and it was a very nice upgrade considering the annoyance it was the try and book the room in the first place. Had it not been for him, I would be giving this review MUCH lower. November 16, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome beach vacation! This hotel was absolutely perfect! I booked a week-long stay in October; I’m told the summer months are crazy and October is far calmer. I contacted the hotel directly to make some special requests for my stay; the staff was more than happy to help. The hotel is beachfront with spectacular views. I booked an Oceanfront King Suite. It had two private balconies overlooking the pool and ocean! The weather was wonderful so most days we left the balcony doors open to let the ocean breeze and music from the poolside bar in. You could tell the suite had recently been renovated. New TVs, new telephones, new fridge and micro. The suite had a great wet bar area with counter-height chairs to eat at the counter if you wished. Suite had lots of space, more than enough to spread out for the week. It was decorated in a very chic, colorful beachfront color scheme which instantly made you feel like you were at the beach. Hotel had great facilities. Several restaurants on-site which were great. Reasonable prices, great view, and good food. The food service staff was always both prompt and friendly. The hotel has a pool and splash park. They also have, something that I have never seen at a hotel before, a great indoor lazy river! Even as adults it’s impossible not to have fun in a lazy river! They also had a movie theater in the hotel, but they were only showing children’s movies at the time of our visit. The entire resort is beautiful and just a few steps will get you right on the beach and boardwalk! They also have room service which was surprisingly fast, about 20 minutes from order to delivery. By far the best part of this hotel was the staff. Amazing! They were so friendly and nice. They offered to help with just about anything. Great knowledge of the local area and proved a great resource for us. They knew our names by the second day and greeted us, by name, each time we saw them. No matter how busy it appeared, the staff always made you feel like you were the most important guest they had. They also made sure to acknowledge my Platinum Elite Priority Club status; this has been lacking at some hotels lately, and I hadn’t been getting the recognition as I did in previous years. This hotel, however, made a point to thank me for my loyalty; it seems small but it makes me feel like they value me as a guest, and want me to come back. This is not your typical hotel; the rooms and design and colors aren’t those of a typical Holiday Inn you could find near any major airport or city. It’s a fun, chic, relaxed beachfront resort and it was a great choice for our vacation! I cannot praise this hotel, and the staff, enough for what a great job they did! The hotel was perfect, the location was perfect, the staff was perfect! What an amazing Holiday Inn hotel – It’s too bad more hotels aren’t like this one. I cannot wait to return! In fact, I didn’t want to leave! If you want an awesome beach vacation, this is the place! I didn’t find any negatives during my entire stay and had a great vacation! This is definitely my new favorite beach resort! November 2, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Off season Hotel Excellent hotel. Went for wedding and arrived tuesday before. Staff were 100% friendly and helpful. Room door lock malfunctioned. Within 10 minutes maintence was there, explained problem and did a complete fix with new lock. Everytime we passed staff member they said hello. Restaurant and bar were a little expensive for off season. might want to consider adjusting bar prices and food prices for off season and floks might stay and use that service more, besides that 100% perfect. October 27, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great weekend stay the staff was always willing to help and informative this happen from the time we entered the hotel and being a priority club memeber made it even better. October 26, 2012
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel offers easy access to Virgina Beach 10 minutes Hotel less than 1 mile to VA Beach Town Center Per diem hotel near Little Creek Navy Base Hotel near Sandler Center for the Arts - 1 mile Hotel is a short drive to the Virginia Aquarium Extended Stay Per Diem hotel near Norfolk Naval Base Be sure to tour the nearby Battleship Wisconson Great central hotel to Portsmouth, Norfolk & VA Beach Hotel is minutes from the Chesapeake Bay Hotel is near Waterside Festival Marketplace Hotel less than 1 hour to Busch Gardens, Williamsburg Hotel is central to Williamsburg & Virginia Beach Extended stay hotel offers Norfolk Per Diem Rates Entrance Hotel Approach Lobby Entrance Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Front Desk
Select to close.
Spread Out and Relax