• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-31-2014)
(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CHICAGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 38.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. French

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with a non refundable fee of 15.00 dollars for the first night and 10.00 dollars for every additional night, not to exceed 150.00 dollars. Each pet must weigh less than 80 lbs. Pet waiver must be signed upon check in.
Pet fee amount  15.00  USD  per night

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary outdoor parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:122
  • Total number of suites:122
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:122
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:110
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:IL1548

Guests Love Our Hotel's Location in Waukegan, IL

Perfect for business and leisure travelers, the Candlewood Suites® Chicago - Waukegan hotel is among the most conveniently located hotels in Waukegan, Illinois, only five minutes from I-94 and close to the Great Lakes Naval Base. Our hotel's guests find it convenient that downtown Chicago is just 45 minutes away and offers great entertainment and business opportunities.

With companies like Abbott Laboratories, Cardinal Health and
View More

Guests Love Our Hotel's Location in Waukegan, IL

Perfect for business and leisure travelers, the Candlewood Suites® Chicago - Waukegan hotel is among the most conveniently located hotels in Waukegan, Illinois, only five minutes from I-94 and close to the Great Lakes Naval Base. Our hotel's guests find it convenient that downtown Chicago is just 45 minutes away and offers great entertainment and business opportunities.

With companies like Abbott Laboratories, Cardinal Health and Baxter nearby, our location accommodates business travelers well. The Greenbelt Cultural and Conference Center is just minutes away and offers the perfect place to hold your business meetings or conferences. We have a 24-hour Business Center and free Internet access.

Our hotel's location in Waukegan, Illinois surrounds you with a variety of attractions. Start the day by visiting Six Flags Great America or by strolling along a trail in Illinois Beach State Park. Begin your evening by watching a play at the Genesee Theatre. There are universities near the hotel's address in Waukegan, IL, and the adjacent Lake Michigan is home to the Great Lakes Naval Base.

Our hotel's shuttle transportation is perfect for visiting a student or cadet, local business parks, navy graduations and Rosalind Franklin Univ. You can relax at our gazebo and cook juicy burgers on the gas grill, or pick up a quick and easy meal at the Candlewood Cupboard. We invite you to "Consider us Home!"

View Less
Features
Thanks to the complimentary, self-service laundry facilities at the hotel, extended stay travelers can ease their travel burden and pack light when they are our hotel's guest in Waukegan, IL. The hotel also conveniently offers a complimentary housekeeping service, fitness center, and wireless Internet. The Candlewood Cupboard also makes it easy for guests to grab a meal on the run at a great price

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 54 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very nice had a very pleasant stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone in the future, just would like higher grade of cable TV. July 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Spacious, clean, comfortable rooms! I was pleasantly suprised upon arriving at Candlewood Suites at the size of the rooms! I loved having the kitchenette, as well as the table and extended countertop with plenty of room for my suitcase and other things. And there were shelves in the bathroom for personal care items, which I have never had before in a motel room! It made it much less of a hassle to get ready in the morning with everything handy! I was impressed with the facilities overall, and thought it was an excellent value! June 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasantly surprised As I approached it looked fair it got better when I checked in and when I got to my room I was very pleased. The room was cool.The bed was comfortable.Clean! June 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Spring Family Visit Our overall experience was excellent and we would definitely revisit the Candlewood suites. I would like to mention two disappointing items . The front entrance to the hotel was small and plain; My daughter also commented that it looked like a back entrance. The lobby of the hotel had an uninviting appearance, with the counter very high and the foyer area quite small. But, as first mentioned, our stay was very nice. We will be back! Thank you. June 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay! Hotel was very nice. Very clean. Friendly staff. Free laundry. Free wi-fi. Free movie rentals. Enjoyed my stay! June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stay Great hotel with great price in a good location. Would stay here again in the future when visiting family in the area. June 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy and affordable Relocating to the area. This was a really easy way to make a transition to an new area. Laundry, kitchen, everything was great. June 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value, great experience Would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a lot of bang for your buck. Room was very clean and comfortable. Furnishings were up to date and the TV was awesome. Bed was very comfortable and linens were clean and well maintained. Lots of work space and furniture was in very good condition. My only "complaint" would be that I was on the first floor and the heavy drapes did not close all the way. Just a slight inconvenience for an overall great experience. June 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great People From the moment one checks in, to the moment one checks out, the people/staff of the Hotel are above par. Friendly and super courteous from GM to the cleaning and maintenance staff members. They treat you well. Definitely a very nice home away from home! June 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stay here - you won't be sorry... We were very pleased with our stay - the suite was quite large with a nicely equipped kitchen. There were also many details which we noticed such as excellent water pressure, fluffy towels, free laundry, and lots of outlets. We will definitely be back... June 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great suite and very clean Very helpful staff, reasonably priced. Clean, neat, up to date rooms, non smoking. June 2, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 Nice, clean environment, but...... They decided to have a fire drill right when I needed to have much needed sleep after working a 12-hr night shift at a nearby healthcare facility. Totally ruined the entire day for me especially since I had to go back to work that night. Just my luck, huh? May 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by all over value and very clean Very nice place. One bedroom suite was very nice. Like a studio apt. Lot's of closet area. Full kitchen with dishwasher was clean and well stocked. would definitely stay again. Staff very nice. This was at Libertyville, Illinois property. May 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Was pleasantly surprised We recently stayed to attend a concert at Austin's Fuel Room not too far from the hotel. Unfortunately I booked on line and found out later if I would have called I would have received a 10% discount. No big deal, the room was very reasonable. Upon arrival, the front desk already had my paperwork printed & highlighted on where to sign. I was offered to "Spin the Wheel" for a free prize (won a pair of hotel slippers). The room was very clean and I was surprised that the kitchen area even had a stove & a dishwasher. They even provided a bag of popcorn for the microwave and a full sized fridge. The bathroom was very clean, shower pressure rocked and the bed was comfortable, with plenty of pillows & blankets in closet. I could definitely live there for a week! The front desk called us a cab and then called the room when it arrived. Will definitely stay there again our next concert. March 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value would stay here about without a second guess. and will look for this hotel anywhere i stay from now on if its available. February 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value and comfortable I found my stays at Candlewood for the month of January to be great. Awesome offering for the price when compared to other hotels in the same area which are in many cases more expensive. The staff is friendly and the rooms are spacious with kitchen. Also the heat was very good and strong which for my stay was extremely important given the cold spell Chicago was going through. February 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable bed and relatively quiet. I had a very nice experience at the Candlewood Suites and would recommend it highly. Comfortable and functional. Thanks for letting the dog stay too. January 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay The Candlewood Libertyville is a great place to stay for a night or for an extended stay. The staff is polite, professional and helpful. The hotel is clean and comfortable. Stay here if you are visiting Lake County or the surrounding area. January 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One of the Best Kept Secrets Around! We have stayed here several times over the past years and it never disappoints. From the front desk right to the check out process, everything is exceptional. The beds and pillows are comfortable and the room amenities including the nice towels are more than we expected. The rooms are clean and we found them to be very quiet. We will be back! December 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant We were pleasantly surprised by the neatness and cleanliness of the entire place. Even our dog was comfortable. having all the appliances was nice. We wil stay again One thing that would've made our stay better was the walk down the HALL. Too long of a distance for 70 yr olds. We were grateful for the 1st floor. December 31, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice and Clean! You Won't Be Disappointed! We were surprised to find no housekeeping for stays less than a week but everything else was wonderful. The rooms were VERY nice and clean! Everything seemed new. The bed was exceedingly comfortable. Our two room suite (with separate bedroom) was the most spacious accommodation we found in the area. The front desk personnel were very nice. There were two spacious closets, dressers; a nice sized kitchen area with refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, glasses, ice maker; nice sized, clean bathroom with new fixtures, decent shower; heater worked well; two flat screen TV's that worked well with lots of channels; free washer & dryer off the lobby; small fitness area; honor system pantry for cokes, yogurt, breakfast items, snacks; barbecue grills outside; free Wifi; ironing board and iron in room. Our room was nice and quiet. Hotel felt very safe. The tiny criticisms which were not major but may help you to know: we couldn't find a blow dryer in the room, they don't provide shampoos/lotions etc and just give one teeny soap (though I'm sure you can get more upon request); towels were new and clean but scratchy; toilet paper was scratchy; bedding was lovely except the pillows were like lumpy rocks and we all got cricks in our necks. Also: looks like pets are allowed under certain conditions. Long walk depending on where in the building you're located. No smoking (though it was very cold outside and someone apparently smoked in the stairwell). December 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Economical and friendly staff Not much to do in the area but is very economical and friendly staff. Laundry is free and room cleaning was once a week. More than enough kitchenaid to get you through as well. December 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Basic needs exceptionally covered Nice room, great price. Nice gym, groceries. Great spot for longer stays, in a good location, 1 hour from Milwaukee or O hare December 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT!! GREAT ROOM!! GREAT AND PLEASING STAY!! My 11-year old grandson and I stayed at Candlewood this past Thanksgiving night. I took the queen bed (new/firm mattress) with TV; he took the sofa bed with TV in a separate room. REVIEW/COMMENTS Very pleased with the hotel and our room! Very, very pleased!!! The room was super clean and super quiet!! We did not hear a soul all nite in the hallway. Maybe because our room was about a block from the elevator (#302). I will not take a room with room# less than 350 (closer to the elevator). ROOM DESCRIPTION The room looks almost new!! Especially the carpet which looked new and completely unsoiled. ENTIRE HOTEL IS NO-SMOKING!! Which was WONDERFUL as I am a non-smoker! No stale, musty smoke odor!! Convenient sized kitchen with all appliances (all new looking & clean) -- frig, stove, microwave, silverware, pots & pans. Frig makes ice in 15-45 minutes; pitcher in frig (no need to go out for ice). New Silverware for 4; plates, saucers, cups & glasses for 4; clock radios in both rooms, flat screen 32" Panasonic TVs in each room, DIRECT TV 41 channels (5 ESPN channels, 3 HBO), tub & sink new looking; lighting fixtures that are modern and all worked. Stove is a 2-eye black electric plate. Toaster and coffee-maker. Room had hair dryer; iron, ironing board. Set your own heat/air -- room is energy-savings and knows when you leave/return to your room -- allow 15 minutes for it to return to your original desired setting. I DEFINITELY WOULD STAY AT CANDLEWOOD AGAIN AND RECOMMEND IT HIGHLY!! My grandson said "I wish we could stay here a week" and wants to go back (it was his first hotel stay). December 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Quiet Location With Good Service I stayed in this place from July through November. Overall I rate it very high as it is located in a quiet nice place away from crowd & noise. It also has a pond with birds to watch. The service is overall good & the place seem to be well managed. Whenever I had an issue in my room, the staff was very attentive except one which I will describe below. My only complaints which I brought it to the attention of the front desk staff several times was smoking in the hallways & rooms by other guests. It is supposed to be a non smoking place but the third floor where I stayed smelled a lot of cigarette smokes every single day & night I stayed there. The smell was strongest in the middle of the third floor hallway but it was throughout the third floor & in my bathroom through the vent. When I raised the issue, the front desk excused the smell as Incense burning which is a lot of fabrication as cigarette smoking is quite different than incense burning. I could smell the incense burning as well since it had a sweat smell to it. So, if cigarette smoking does not bother you, then this is a nice place to stay but if you are sensitive to it, avoid this place. Overall, I hope IHG bans smoking in their hotels globally like many other hotel chains do. November 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This could a a 5 star hotel! What an awesome experience and an amazing deal! I will look for Candlewood Suites again! The stay was perfect! I wish I could have been there longer! November 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Nights Sleep at Candlewood Elgin, IL Our company stay here for business, and the rooms are great comfortable beds, flat panel TV's, and full kitchen's. November 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great for extended stay This hotel is great for extended stay. The 1 bedroom suite was spacious, clean and well maintained; The bed was very comfortable and clean. The kitchen was well stocked with the necessities and includes a dishwasher, stove, pantry and fridge. There is a laundry area and a gym as well. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. The price was very reasonable for what you get. Will recommend to anyone looking for an extended stay. November 3, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room comfort - no hot water We stayed 3 nights (3rd floor) and got cold showers every time even when we waited until 11 am. We should have complained the first morning but thought it was due to early morning overload. October 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice base of operations We have now stayed a total of three times at this location, using it as a jumping-off point for visits to Six Flags Great America (about a 15-minute drive). The property has performed admirably for this purpose. The staff were helpful and efficient, and the rooms well-equipped. The standout feature for us as relatively short-stay travellers was the well-designed wall unit with plenty of counter space on which to spread out clothes, laptops, and such. The kitchen area and full-size fridge were also welcome, as was the cozy recliner -- a nice surprise. My Platinum status was noted and rewarded at each stay -- another nice plus. Upon the first visit, our initial disappointment with the absence of breakfast facilities turned out to be a complete non-issue as we found an excellent Greek restaurant just a couple of minutes down the road whose breakfasts were excellent -- and it did not deter us from returning for subsequent stays. All in all, a perfect base of operations for a 'Great America weekend'. October 21, 2013
<<prev2 3 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Greenbelt Conference Center located behind the hotel Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Great Lakes Naval Base located minutes from the hotel Exterior View Genesee Theatre Waukegan Gurnee Mills Outlet Mall located mintues from the hotel Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Earn 1000 points per night when you book a Bonus Points Package.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-31-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
Check Availability
Loading