• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
(e.g. Dec-19-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CHICAGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 38.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-06:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. French

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with a non refundable fee of 15.00 dollars for the first night and 10.00 dollars for every additional night, not to exceed 150.00 dollars. Each pet must weigh less than 80 lbs. Pet waiver must be signed upon check in.
Pet fee amount  15.00  USD  per night

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary outdoor parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:122
  • Total number of suites:122
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:122
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:110
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:IL1548
Live in Comfort with Spacious Suites in Waukegan, IL. Perfect for business and leisure travelers, the Candlewood Suites® Chicago - Waukegan hotel is one of the most conveniently located hotels in Waukegan, Illinois. Only five minutes from I-94 and near the Great Lakes Naval Base, our guests find it convenient to visit downtown Chicago during their extended stay. Enjoy the comforts of our spacious suites with cover lit bedding, plush recliners and a full kitchen. Our location accommodates business
View More
Live in Comfort with Spacious Suites in Waukegan, IL. Perfect for business and leisure travelers, the Candlewood Suites® Chicago - Waukegan hotel is one of the most conveniently located hotels in Waukegan, Illinois. Only five minutes from I-94 and near the Great Lakes Naval Base, our guests find it convenient to visit downtown Chicago during their extended stay. Enjoy the comforts of our spacious suites with cover lit bedding, plush recliners and a full kitchen. Our location accommodates business travelers well. Located near Abbott Laboratories, Cardinal Health, Baxter, and The Harrison Conference Center makes for an easy commute with time to spare. We offer our guests the convenience of staying connected with free Wi-Fi access and keeping your regular routine while on the road with free laundry service and the 24- hour Candlewood Gym. Leisure travelers enjoy visiting Six Flags Great America or strolling along a trail in Illinois Beach State Park. Our hotel shuttle is perfect for visiting a student or cadet, local business parks, Navy graduations and Rosalind Franklin University. We welcome you home and invite you to relax at our gazebo or pick up a quick and easy meal at the Candlewood Cupboard. You can also stop by our Lending Library for a DVD or our Lending Locker for those household essentials that you may have left at home. Once you’re settled in, we’re sure you'll consider us home during your extended stay.
View Less
Features
Thanks to the complimentary, self-service laundry facilities at the hotel, extended stay travelers can ease their travel burden and pack light when they are our hotel's guest in Waukegan, IL. The hotel also conveniently offers a complimentary housekeeping service, fitness center, and wireless Internet. The Candlewood Cupboard also makes it easy for guests to grab a meal on the run at a great price

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 162 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay for Naval Graduation 3 miles from Naval College so a great location for the graduation ceremony and reasonably priced for visitors November 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stay Availability of rooms was good. Check in was a little slow, but staff was curtious. The 2 bedroom suite was spacious and clean. Second bedroom could have used a mirror. The king size bed and pillows were really nice. Breakfast in the Great Room was very good. The staff even let us take some muffins for our business meeting off site. November 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and clean - near amenities This hotel was very comfortable, clean and so very close to restaurants (several in the block), shopping (mall 10 miles - Walmart, etc one block) and the Navy Training Center. The beds were awesome and we were able to enjoy breakfast one of the mornings of our stay. Nice, hot breakfast. The staff was very helpful and courteous. Parking was well lit and close to the doors - doors were locked after hours and you needed your key for entry - GREAT SECURITY FEATURE. November 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service This hotel is very clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and attentive, and the breakfast was good. November 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very clean and conveniently located. Very clean and kept clean the whole stay. The location was great! Close to Navy base and close to different restaurants, starbucks, and a walmart all in walking distance. The only thing lacking was bacon on the breakfast bar. :) This hotel made our first visit to Chicago AWESOME!!! Staff was super friendly and helpful, hotel was nice and new. November 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceeded Expectations! Highly Recommend! Stayed here while attending Navy PIR. We were extremely pleased with everything - clean, well maintained and a great value for the price! All of the staff were very nice and helpful. November 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Close to Naval Recruit Training, Clean Accomodations I chose this hotel due to proximity to the Naval Recruit Training Depot. The rooms were very clean and the beds comfortable. The breakfast selection was quite good and it was open early for those attending the graduation. I would stay here again. November 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good place to stop Typical holiday Inn not much around the area aside from the bowling alley but it's OK, good place to crash November 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and rooms! The staff is very friendly and helpful. The beds were comfortable with the option to choose soft or firm pillows. We really felt like it was a home away from home experience. November 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Town The stay was very nice even sence i had to work. We were placeing aromor stone on the breakwall to help the town from wave action from the lake November 5, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Rude Desk staff Front Desk personnel was rude. The remainder of the hotel staff were very friendly and courteous. Pool area dirty. Way too much chlorine in the air in the pool area. Eyes were burning within 10 minutes of sitting in there watching the kids. November 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by clean the hotel was clean, not enough towels were provided though, computers at hotel were both down and the WIFI reception was very poor, breakfast was good, Upon arrival she never asked about my priority status, I had to tell her and ask for water, she couldnt find it at first but then I gave reservation number and she said it had been noted and then she gave me a bottle of water, I felt she should have given me 3 since there were 3 adults no cookies like other hotels but I guess with the economy you had to cut that! October 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Father of a Recruit This is a great place to stay if you are visiting someone at the Great Lakes Navy Training Center. It is within ten minutes of the Great Lakes facility. It is far enough out of Chicago that you don't feel the big city pressure, yet if you want to visit Chicago it is only a one hour drive or you can take the Metra Rail right at the Navy Training Center. The Gurney Mall is also very close. Location is great and staff was friendly and helpful. I would recommend this to anyone. October 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Great experience. Staff was very courteous and friendly. The staff worked quickly to get us checked in early. Our room was very clean. I would recommend this hotel for Navy Graduation. October 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Could not relax in the morning Great room in a real nice HIE. I had a late flight so I wanted to relax in the morning. The house cleaning people kept knocking on the door to clean the room. I had the keep resting sign out but it did not help. The Navel academy also had it's graduation so there was a lot of noise in the hallways but the quieted down at a reasonable hour. October 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Consistent Holiday Inn Gurnee is consistently excellent in their service and affordability. October 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by New and Very Clean Very Nice Hotel. They gave me a free upgrade to a King Suite. I had a late check out but the house cleaning service was anxious to get in and do their thing. I was ready but I had a late flight and wanted to relax but was unable. The front desk and hotel people were so nice I did not have the heart to complain. I would stay here again right up to HIE standards October 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by navy pir stay Great place to be close to all the Navy pir events. Meet &Greet graduation (pir) and airport October 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and service. I have always enjoyed my stays at the IHG properties and the point system is second to none as we have used our points for great trips to Rome, Cancun, Anchorage, and Zurich. The Waukegan-Gurnee HI Exp is one of the best for location and a friendly staff. I would like to see an upgrade on the breakfast as it is a bit lacking in taste and variety but that is a comment across the board for all HI Exp locations. I travel to the Waukegan area about 4 times a year and will always stay at this location. October 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Navy Graduation My wife and I were here for our son's Navy Graduation. Everything about this hotel was upbeat and positive. The front desk answered all of our questions and were very friendly. Our room was clean and well kept. This hotel offers shuttle service to graduation and is well worth the three dollar charge. Drops you off right at the gate. Thank you to all the the staff for a wonderful stay!! October 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nothing to add Good stay for the time we were there. I am just trying to give you 50 characters so I can complete this survey. I really have nothing to say. October 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great experience and comfortable For the money this was a good experience and trip. Hotel accommodation's and location were exactly what was needed, restaurant's and shopping. Hotel was clean and service was excellent.. Breakfast selection was standard for the Hotel, but coffee and toast were sufficient for mornings. Parking was free... if you know what I mean, not like some other places that charge you for everything. October 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay Wonderful hotel stay. Great staff. Great beds and showers. Great pool. Real easy check in and check out. October 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 very homey feeling when we arrived the staff was wonderful and very helpful the rooms were perfect we took our mom and dad with us and the staff was wonderful accomadating them and their needs as well (dad has a wheelchair and they put them right in the front room just across from the food area which was very accomadating to them ) . they also loved their room .the cleaning staff was great and friendly as well they made sure everything we needed was there for us overall a wonderful stay thank you for a wonderful time in the hotel!!!! October 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Express Review Everything was clean and smelled good. No issues with my two day stay there. Pool area was a little hot but great when only using the hot tub. September 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean room, comfortable bed and great service Hotel was centrally located and easy to access. Restaurants, and shops are close. Freeway is close. Staff was exceptional, helpful and very accommodating. Rooms were very nice, the beds are very comfortable. Hotel is clean and rooms are clean. First time in in that area and we felt right at home. September 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoy Every Stay My company is out of Lake Bluff and while I have other choices in hotels when I visit our plant, I choose this hotel. The main reason...Ann. She is by far one of the most efficient and friendliest persons working at a hotel that I've met. She makes the stay so much more enjoyable. Also, they have a good location and the value is good. September 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great accomodations Had an excellent stay one of the nicest Holiday inns I have stayed at I usually always stay at Holiday inns as they are consistent across the nation! September 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel This is a fairly nice hotel. The breakfast area (Great Room) is large and can accommodate quite a few people. The rooms are what you'd expect, maybe a little larger. Good selection of tv channels in the rooms (they have directv). The staff was pleasant, although I didn't interact with them much other than check in and check out. The only down side of this place was the pool area. The pool itself was so cold we didn't want to swim in it. The whirlpool was warm, but the jets were weak and barely working. That was kind of disappointing, but the rest of the stay was really nice and overall it was a good experience. September 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by buisiness trip good hotel for business trip. close to base and had decent restaurants close by September 24, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Exterior View Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Stay for Less
Close
Check In
(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Dec-19-2014)
Check Availability
Loading