• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Sep-02-2014)
(e.g. Sep-03-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CHICAGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 38.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. French

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with a non refundable fee of 15.00 dollars for the first night and 10.00 dollars for every additional night, not to exceed 150.00 dollars. Each pet must weigh less than 80 lbs. Pet waiver must be signed upon check in.
Pet fee amount  15.00  USD  per night

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary outdoor parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:122
  • Total number of suites:122
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:122
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:110
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:IL1548
Live in Comfort with Spacious Suites in Waukegan, IL. Perfect for business and leisure travelers, the Candlewood Suites® Chicago - Waukegan hotel is one of the most conveniently located hotels in Waukegan, Illinois. Only five minutes from I-94 and near the Great Lakes Naval Base, our guests find it convenient to visit downtown Chicago during their extended stay. Enjoy the comforts of our spacious suites with cover lit bedding, plush recliners and a full kitchen. Our location accommodates business
View More
Live in Comfort with Spacious Suites in Waukegan, IL. Perfect for business and leisure travelers, the Candlewood Suites® Chicago - Waukegan hotel is one of the most conveniently located hotels in Waukegan, Illinois. Only five minutes from I-94 and near the Great Lakes Naval Base, our guests find it convenient to visit downtown Chicago during their extended stay. Enjoy the comforts of our spacious suites with cover lit bedding, plush recliners and a full kitchen. Our location accommodates business travelers well. Located near Abbott Laboratories, Cardinal Health, Baxter, and The Harrison Conference Center makes for an easy commute with time to spare. We offer our guests the convenience of staying connected with free Wi-Fi access and keeping your regular routine while on the road with free laundry service and the 24- hour Candlewood Gym. Leisure travelers enjoy visiting Six Flags Great America or strolling along a trail in Illinois Beach State Park. Our hotel shuttle is perfect for visiting a student or cadet, local business parks, Navy graduations and Rosalind Franklin University. We welcome you home and invite you to relax at our gazebo or pick up a quick and easy meal at the Candlewood Cupboard. You can also stop by our Lending Library for a DVD or our Lending Locker for those household essentials that you may have left at home. Once you’re settled in, we’re sure you'll consider us home during your extended stay.
View Less
Features
Thanks to the complimentary, self-service laundry facilities at the hotel, extended stay travelers can ease their travel burden and pack light when they are our hotel's guest in Waukegan, IL. The hotel also conveniently offers a complimentary housekeeping service, fitness center, and wireless Internet. The Candlewood Cupboard also makes it easy for guests to grab a meal on the run at a great price

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 65 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location We stayed tat the hotel to attend our son's graduation from Navy boot camp. It is in a perfect location. When you pull out of the hotel parking lot you are on the road that takes you directly to the base. August 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Business Trip This hotel is close to everything that I need in the area. The 1 bedroom suite that I reserved was very comfortable and made me feel right at home. I travel a lot and it is the small things that make the trips better. August 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Close to Everything I Needed and Comfortable as Well! I was in town on business and this motel fit the bill nicely. It was clean, comfortable and quiet. Renovation on the property has already started and I would say is needed. The lay out of the property was a little strange and the carpeting and other furnishings are somewhat dated. The biggest thing is that the office chair I had in my room was so uncomfortable that I just could not sit in it for any more than 5 minutes. Other than that, the room was everything I wanted it to be. The staff was very friendly and attentive to my needs. I really felt like they were concerned about my stay, my overall happiness and my overall impression of the property. Overall - well done! I will stay again when I am in the area. August 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Need more channels - But still nice place to stay Honestly the only complaint is that the Cubs-Cardinal game was on and the channels were blocked which being in the Chicago area you would have thought someone would have been broadcasting it. Oh well. Other than that - we had great service. The rooms were nice and COLD! The way we like it when sleeping. The breakfast - eh - just okay. The area was packed with people and hard to maneuver around to get food. Muffins were a little stale. There was sausage gravy but no biscuits. But hey - the coffee was good and hot and they have a great selection of teas! July 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Made us feel at home Margaret at the front desk was GREAT! She helped us find great places to eat and places to go. She was just very friendly July 31, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Can't Get A Good Nights Sleep Unfortunately this property allows up to 8 or 10 guest to use the same room. Multiple time this has happened during my stay at this property. As they run through the hall late at night. So, if you are staying for business and want to sleep I suggest another hotel. July 29, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by didnt care for this place room smelled and I was over charged $10 breakfast biscuits were like rocks pool is very small July 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very attentive, friendly and competent staff, Public areas and comfortable guest rooms very clean. We hosted a wedding at a nearby venue and found the hotel's location ideal for our purpose. We also had a number of complex room requirements with varying arrival/departure dates, different billing set-ups and a number of reservation adjustments that needed to be made at a rather late hour. All were handled flawlessly by the very competent staff. The breakfast facility was always stocked with sufficient food that was tasty and offered enough variety that there was no need to go out for breakfast to a restaurant. Everyone working at this hotel smiles and appears genuinely happy to serve and help the guests feel comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Libertyville area. It is a great value and a real gem! July 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very well maintained lobby I was disappointed to find that the lobby doors have not been upgraded to self opening type This makes entering very difficult when burdened with luggage. July 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by CAT business trip The facilities at this hotel are up to date and maintaned. The ease of access to the interstate , dining choices, and other requirements is an advantage. July 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice hotel at fair price - EXCELLENT OVERALL I highly recommend the hotel. Very safe, close to restaurants and the Naval bases. Also, a very nice park is across the street. Front desk, food handlers, and cleaning crew were all very friendly and accommodating. I would not hesitate for a moment in selecting this hotel next time I am in the Great Lakes area. July 18, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Do not spend the money - Hostess was rude - Wireless internet doesn't reach all of the rooms - No courtesy hours, and not managed even when complained about noise levels in the hallways after 10:30pm July 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by No Complaints This hotel met my expectations for a hotel of this type. The room was good, the hotel was clean. The breakfast food was good and the variety was sufficient to suit different tastes and requirements. The food was attended to and kept fresh. The staff was excellent. This includes the front desk staff as well as the maids and people attending the food in the breakfast buffet. All staff smiled at the guests, asked how the guests were doing, if the guests needed anything, and seemed to genuinely care about the condition of the guest. Beyond the usual pleasantries the staff were personable and friendly. This is refreshing and not always encountered at hotels I would otherwise rate as equivalent to this hotel. Because of the staff I would select this hotel to stay at when I am in the area again. July 1, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not that impressed My shower head kept sliding down (handicap room). Plus the rooms need some renovating, especially for the price I paid. June 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good stay Very clean rooms. very good breakfast Very nice staff June 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff, Clean Hotel, Lousy Internet The room was comfortable and clean, the hotel lobby and breakfast area were clean and welcoming. The breakfast quality and selection were great. We came in to town to watch my son graduate from Navy basic training, with the expectation of my husband being able to work from our room on his laptop during a large portion of our stay. Instead, we didn't have wireless internet in our room (we were told this was an ongoing problem in corner hotel rooms). Our internet jack in our room wasn't functional, so that wasn't an option. The person that came to look at it from the front desk told us he would have someone from maintenance come and change it out. That never happened. My husband spent half the day dealing with the connectivity issues, and the other half trying to work from a busy hotel lobby (the only place we could really get him connected). Everything else during our stay was great, and the staff is super friendly. However, this inconvenience really threw a wrench in our whole stay. When we returned home on Sunday, instead of relaxing after a long trip, my husband had to spend the entire day making up work to present to clients Monday morning. I wouldn't have expected this from any hotel, especially one that is supposed to cater to business clients. June 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very good but noisy A/C Everything fine but would like cool quiet sleep other than that my week was ok at work, I come to libertyville once a month usually dodn't really want to put in a live review but here are 50 characters June 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by My Stay at H.I. Express Libertyville I chose this location as I was attending my son's graduation from RTC Great Lakes. Overall my stay was satisfactory. Ongoing construction prevents me from making a more favorable assessment. On the first night of my stay my room smelled of paint fumes and the hallway was under construction.....I believe they were in the process of attaching wall paper. Then there was a wedding party booked on my floor.....THEY WERE LIVE AND IN LIVING COLOR both nights of my stay. I'm sure they could be heard all the way in the lobby but no one ever attempted to stop them. Not that I know of. I'm not a party crasher so I tried my best to block it out. My bed and the pillows were EXCELLANT! Very comfortable. The breakfast was adequate for being on the go. The staff were very pleasant and courteous. I would stay at this Holiday Inn Express again. June 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Midwest Hospitality The Holiday Inn Express at Libertyville was perfect for our visit to celebrate our son's graduation from the Great Lakes Naval Training Center's Navy Boot Camp. We flew into Milwaukee's General Mitchell International Airport and enjoyed a warm Midwest Greeting at the Holiday Inn Express. The breakfast selections were delicious and very filling. The shuttle to graduation was terrific!! We enjoyed meeting other families of graduates staying at the Holiday Inn Express and relaxed in the Great Room with them. We used the Holiday Express Computer for planning our day trips. We accidentally left our camera's battery charger in the wall of the room on departure. The Desk Staff found it and they are mailing to us. I felt like we were staying with good friends or family at the Holiday Express in LIbertyville and the location is great. June 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Over-all pleasant experience Nice place to stay over-all. Clean, comfortable rooms and a friendly staff. May 31, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst Room I have ever had Air conditioner did not work Bathroom door would not shut do to new tile put in and door not fixed to fit and be able to close Toilet was not anchored to floor no drinking cups no coffee left in room May 18, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by a smile goes a long way A smile goes a long way....too bad there wasn't one at checkin.... May 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, wonderful beds and overall good value! Our stayed here was due to our son's boot camp graduation, we were very happy with our choice of hotel. Quiet, comfortable and so close to the base. Hotel was still under renovations so our room was not totally done. You have a mini Shopping Center within a few steps: few restaurants to choose from, Starbucks and a Walgreens for your last minute shopping items. My only disappointment was that we forgot to bring a bottle opener with us and when we ask the front office they were not able to provide one and by that time Walgreens was closed. :( May 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff Staff are very kind. My stay was during remodel and my room did not have baseboards and there was paint on the carpet. The best part of this facility is the kind and helpful staff. May 5, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not me!! I will not recommend this property. Because I was not treated fair at the front desk. but when the man at the first desk recognition for IHG rewards club members then he treated me ok. The hot water in the restroom was to warm for a shower. April 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Sailor grandpa Staff was very accommodating, helpful, friendly. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. April 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Liberty!! Here for our son's Boot Camp graduation. Could not have asked for a more attentive staff, comfortable areas to hang out with family, and snacks throughout the day. I have stayed in many H I Express locations and this has one of the most inviting atmospheres. Room was quiet, restful and roomy enough for all of us. March 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel!!! This hotel is in a great location, especially if you happen to be there to visit Naval Station Great Lakes. The staff was wonderful and the rooms were great. My family had a great time while we were there and would definitely recommend it to anyone who is planning a trip to the Chicago area. March 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Simply Wonderful!!!! Kyle, Tony, Margaret & the entire staff were at all times alert, helpful and available to assist any guest as required! They and the entire staff (even maintenance) were always helpful. This Holiday Inn Express is highly recommended and is a pleasure to stay at!!! Excellent representation for Holiday Inn potential. March 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by These people are great You will enjoy your stay at this property the staff are friendly and warm and inviting. It is a home away from home. February 10, 2014
<<prev2 3 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Exterior View Greenbelt Conference Center located behind the hotel Gurnee Mills Outlet Mall located mintues from the hotel Hotel Lobby Great Lakes Naval Base located minutes from the hotel Genesee Theatre Waukegan Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Front Desk
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-02-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-03-2014)
Check Availability
Loading