• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-30-2014)
(e.g. Oct-31-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CHICAGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 38.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. French

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with a non refundable fee of 15.00 dollars for the first night and 10.00 dollars for every additional night, not to exceed 150.00 dollars. Each pet must weigh less than 80 lbs. Pet waiver must be signed upon check in.
Pet fee amount  15.00  USD  per night

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary outdoor parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:122
  • Total number of suites:122
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:122
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:110
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:IL1548
Live in Comfort with Spacious Suites in Waukegan, IL. Perfect for business and leisure travelers, the Candlewood Suites® Chicago - Waukegan hotel is one of the most conveniently located hotels in Waukegan, Illinois. Only five minutes from I-94 and near the Great Lakes Naval Base, our guests find it convenient to visit downtown Chicago during their extended stay. Enjoy the comforts of our spacious suites with cover lit bedding, plush recliners and a full kitchen. Our location accommodates business
View More
Live in Comfort with Spacious Suites in Waukegan, IL. Perfect for business and leisure travelers, the Candlewood Suites® Chicago - Waukegan hotel is one of the most conveniently located hotels in Waukegan, Illinois. Only five minutes from I-94 and near the Great Lakes Naval Base, our guests find it convenient to visit downtown Chicago during their extended stay. Enjoy the comforts of our spacious suites with cover lit bedding, plush recliners and a full kitchen. Our location accommodates business travelers well. Located near Abbott Laboratories, Cardinal Health, Baxter, and The Harrison Conference Center makes for an easy commute with time to spare. We offer our guests the convenience of staying connected with free Wi-Fi access and keeping your regular routine while on the road with free laundry service and the 24- hour Candlewood Gym. Leisure travelers enjoy visiting Six Flags Great America or strolling along a trail in Illinois Beach State Park. Our hotel shuttle is perfect for visiting a student or cadet, local business parks, Navy graduations and Rosalind Franklin University. We welcome you home and invite you to relax at our gazebo or pick up a quick and easy meal at the Candlewood Cupboard. You can also stop by our Lending Library for a DVD or our Lending Locker for those household essentials that you may have left at home. Once you’re settled in, we’re sure you'll consider us home during your extended stay.
View Less
Features
Thanks to the complimentary, self-service laundry facilities at the hotel, extended stay travelers can ease their travel burden and pack light when they are our hotel's guest in Waukegan, IL. The hotel also conveniently offers a complimentary housekeeping service, fitness center, and wireless Internet. The Candlewood Cupboard also makes it easy for guests to grab a meal on the run at a great price

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 88 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff Breakfast was good. Staff was very accommodating. The hotel is undergoing renovations. I'm hoping to be back to see the outcome. October 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Decent Stay Hotel was undergoing major renovations and lobby/pool areas were not available. Despite this, there was no construction related noise to deal with after hours. Was given 2 lotions and one shampoo instead of conditioner. The room I had smelled a bit of chlorine. I was given a King Jacuzzi, which I didn't ask for or need. Staff was very courteous and helpful. Once the renovations are done, I'd likely return. October 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 AWESOME STAFF My stay at this hotel was a wonderful experience. I would recommend this Hotel to anyone that is traveling to Libertyville. October 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 GREAT SERVICE Great Experience, i loved my stay in this hotel. The staff was wonderful. October 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice stay and great breakfast This is a typical Holiday Inn Express which means it is a good place to stay. You will want to make sure the construction is completed if you are planning to stay more than one night. October 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very good staff Very professional staff, thank you very much for my stay. If i have to come back in Libertyville, it will be in this hotel for sure ! October 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Construction did not deter from comfort Stayed for a week for business purposes. From moment of check in to moment of check out, interactions with staff were pleasant. Staff is friendly and professional. Construction prevented use of pool or fitness center. October 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great place, but under major renovation Have stayed here before and will again. Great place and great staff. The lobby and great room were under renovation and it made it less comfortable. However, going there next time will be great as everything will be like new. October 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by refurbishments ongoing Although at first glance there appeared to be a lot of work going on it did not impact a short stay at this hotel. Across the road is a nature reserve which is great for a brisk walk in the cool air this time of year. The staff were very helpful in suggesting local eateries. September 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff Great stay, comfortable beds, excellent and accommodating staff. September 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice Staff Going through renovations, but the staff is friendly and it's a convenient location. September 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Margaret Made it Awesome Stayed at this hotel for my sons bootcamp graduation. Staff was great but Margaret helped my mother and I tremendously. She is truly your best quality representative. She helped us with everythin. All staff was great bt Margaret exceeds level necessary. Beds Great! Clean! Comfortable! I love it and since my son is stationed in Great Lakes I will be returning for Thanksgiving in November 2014 September 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Staff was welcoming at check in and called to ensure the room was satisfactory. September 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service The service was excellent from check-in to departure. They were available for directions to our grandson's graduation from boot camp, restaurants, shopping malls, etc. Our stay was excellent. September 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Navy Graduation Great place to stay if you are in Libertyville area for Navy Graduation or just visiting the Chicago area. Hotel was going through some renovations during our stay but, our stay here was still great. Thanks to the staff and I would recommend this to others who are coming to Chicago area. September 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding Was there for Navy Basic Graduation. Front desk staff was very friendly and accommodating. Rooms were clean and kept that way by housekeeping. Breakfast choices were more than expected. Very convenient to base and we were there every day either picking my grandson up or dropping him off. All in all an outstanding experience. August 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service and comfortable beds Good stay, family enjoyed the stay. Breakfast was good. August 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best hotel experience ever WONDERFUL! There is not enough room on this page to describe how wonderfully we were treated. The rooms were very clean and everything functioned well. The price couldn't be better for all we were provided. It wasn't just the amenities though, it was the staff. They all went above and beyond to make us feel welcome, but Margaret and Tony especially made our stay even more fun and warm. I felt like we were leaving family when we left to come home. I actually miss them! If we are ever in the Libertyville area again, we won't stay anywhere else! August 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff Excellent Staff - Attentive, friendly, quick to respond August 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Welcome In the area for buisness and needed a place to sleep on a Sunday night. The front desk staff were excellent, if only all hotels had such welcoming staff. The room was fine. My only criticism was breakfast - the area was small and noisy, but given I was only there for 20 minutes I can live with this. August 14, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by great service Margaret at the front desk was extremely helpful and very friendly. She helped us with finding activists and good dining August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean Room and relaxing environment This is a very well-kept hotel. Rooms are clean and comfortable, friendly staff always willing to help. August 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stay at Liberty Clean, comfortable and courteous Good hotel, recommend to others August 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location We stayed tat the hotel to attend our son's graduation from Navy boot camp. It is in a perfect location. When you pull out of the hotel parking lot you are on the road that takes you directly to the base. August 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Business Trip This hotel is close to everything that I need in the area. The 1 bedroom suite that I reserved was very comfortable and made me feel right at home. I travel a lot and it is the small things that make the trips better. August 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Close to Everything I Needed and Comfortable as Well! I was in town on business and this motel fit the bill nicely. It was clean, comfortable and quiet. Renovation on the property has already started and I would say is needed. The lay out of the property was a little strange and the carpeting and other furnishings are somewhat dated. The biggest thing is that the office chair I had in my room was so uncomfortable that I just could not sit in it for any more than 5 minutes. Other than that, the room was everything I wanted it to be. The staff was very friendly and attentive to my needs. I really felt like they were concerned about my stay, my overall happiness and my overall impression of the property. Overall - well done! I will stay again when I am in the area. August 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Need more channels - But still nice place to stay Honestly the only complaint is that the Cubs-Cardinal game was on and the channels were blocked which being in the Chicago area you would have thought someone would have been broadcasting it. Oh well. Other than that - we had great service. The rooms were nice and COLD! The way we like it when sleeping. The breakfast - eh - just okay. The area was packed with people and hard to maneuver around to get food. Muffins were a little stale. There was sausage gravy but no biscuits. But hey - the coffee was good and hot and they have a great selection of teas! July 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Made us feel at home Margaret at the front desk was GREAT! She helped us find great places to eat and places to go. She was just very friendly July 31, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Can't Get A Good Nights Sleep Unfortunately this property allows up to 8 or 10 guest to use the same room. Multiple time this has happened during my stay at this property. As they run through the hall late at night. So, if you are staying for business and want to sleep I suggest another hotel. July 29, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by didnt care for this place room smelled and I was over charged $10 breakfast biscuits were like rocks pool is very small July 24, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Exterior View Greenbelt Conference Center located behind the hotel Gurnee Mills Outlet Mall located mintues from the hotel Hotel Lobby Great Lakes Naval Base located minutes from the hotel Genesee Theatre Waukegan Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Front Desk
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn Up To 5,000 Points
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-30-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-31-2014)
Check Availability
Loading