• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
(e.g. Jul-12-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CHICAGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 38.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. French

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with a non refundable fee of 15.00 dollars for the first night and 10.00 dollars for every additional night, not to exceed 150.00 dollars. Each pet must weigh less than 80 lbs. Pet waiver must be signed upon check in.
Pet fee amount  15.00  USD  per night

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary outdoor parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:122
  • Total number of suites:122
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:122
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:110
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:IL1548

Guests Love Our Hotel's Location in Waukegan, IL

Perfect for business and leisure travelers, the Candlewood Suites® Chicago - Waukegan hotel is among the most conveniently located hotels in Waukegan, Illinois, only five minutes from I-94 and close to the Great Lakes Naval Base. Our hotel's guests find it convenient that downtown Chicago is just 45 minutes away and offers great entertainment and business opportunities.

With companies like Abbott Laboratories, Cardinal Health and
View More

Guests Love Our Hotel's Location in Waukegan, IL

Perfect for business and leisure travelers, the Candlewood Suites® Chicago - Waukegan hotel is among the most conveniently located hotels in Waukegan, Illinois, only five minutes from I-94 and close to the Great Lakes Naval Base. Our hotel's guests find it convenient that downtown Chicago is just 45 minutes away and offers great entertainment and business opportunities.

With companies like Abbott Laboratories, Cardinal Health and Baxter nearby, our location accommodates business travelers well. The award-winning Harrison Conference Center is just minutes away and offers the perfect place to hold your business meetings or conferences. We have a 24-hour Business Center and free Internet access.

Our hotel's location in Waukegan, Illinois surrounds you with a variety of attractions. Start the day by visiting Six Flags Great America or by strolling along a trail in Illinois Beach State Park. Begin your evening by watching a play at the Genesee Theatre. There are universities near the hotel's address in Waukegan, IL, and the adjacent Lake Michigan is home to the Great Lakes Naval Base.

Our hotel's shuttle transportation is perfect for visiting a student or cadet, local business parks, navy graduations and Rosalind Franklin Univ. You can relax at our gazebo and cook juicy burgers on the gas grill, or pick up a quick and easy meal at the Candlewood Cupboard. We invite you to "Consider us Home!"

View Less
Features
Thanks to the complimentary, self-service laundry facilities at the hotel, extended stay travelers can ease their travel burden and pack light when they are our hotel's guest in Waukegan, IL. The hotel also conveniently offers a complimentary housekeeping service, fitness center, and wireless Internet. The Candlewood Cupboard also makes it easy for guests to grab a meal on the run at a great price

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 80 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Attentive staff and comfortable stay This was my first stay at Hotel Indigo and was for the purpose of a tournament in the area for my daughters softball team. We booked here based on the proximity to the fields and the fact I am an IHG member. I was initially a little concerned that the hotel may be a little too modern but was pleasantly surprised when we arrived to see that it was still very comfortable and laid back (I don't normal associate modern with either of those). We had a 2 dbl bed suite with sleeper sofa and we had plenty of room to spread out in the evening. The rooms and beds were very comfortable. The pool area was very clean and was not overpowering with the typical chlorine smell. We did not use any of the other facilities but one of our families was doing laundry and the dryers were not working for some reason. The staff at the hotel were very helpful and without question took the clothes into their back facilities (I'm assuming where they do laundry for the hotel) and dried them for her. The staff member was on top of it and we never had to ask about the clothes. as soon as they were done they brought them out. The staff was great! From the front desk, to the bartender to the sales coordinator who we booked through everyone was very attentive and repeatedly asked if we needed anything or if there was anything they could do. the only complaint I have is that the breakfast that was made available was very limited and didn't start until 7:30am. most hotels start breakfast much earlier, offer free coffee all day long and have a large selection of food during the breakfast hours. Breakfast was the typical eggs, some potatoes, sausage, toast, bananas, coffee and juice. Maybe I've been spoiled by the hot breakfasts offered at other properties but given the amenities and focus on customer service everyone had at Hotel Indigo I was a little disappointed in this fact. Breakfast is a perk and depending on the rates can be a deciding factor in which property I choose. However, knowing what I now know of the Hotel Indigo and the staff at this location I would recommend staying here and would stay again if ever in the area. May 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff is terrific! While the hotel is very clean and comfortable and in a nice location, I think what really makes this a great hotel is the staff. Everyone from the front desk clerks to the bar staff to the morning breakfast crew were friendly and welcoming. I spent several weeks there and they really took the time to get to know their guests. It was a pleasure coming there each week. April 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Once again Once again, we were welcomed by the staff and enjoyed our stay. Always a great place to stay at while we're in town. April 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by spacious room The room was spacious and comfortable. I especially liked that the hotel had a laundry facility, gym, and an indoor pool. I just think that $13 for a hamburger that doesn't come with a drink or fries is expensive. April 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wow, we'll be staying with Indigo more often I took my wife out for a weekend trip to explore and we ended up staying in the Hotel Indigo. We were both very impressed with everything at the hotel. The lobby design was surprisingly refreshing and the rooms were incredibly unique. We felt like we were staying in a hip European hotel and not one in a suburb of Chicago. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the shower was great. We had breakfast at the hotel and I was impressed with the quality of the food. I generally stay away from hotel breakfasts after too many bad experiences with inedible eggs and stale toast; the breakfast at the Hotel Indigo was top notch and the staff throughout the hotel was excellent. Thanks for making our stay so wonderful. February 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Family My favorite Getaway ..love this place...my weekend getaway February 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Jealous I had family stay, with a last minute booking, and I'm very jealous that it was not me who stayed here. The room was beautiful and the front desk staff was extremely friendly, especially for having to work the holiday. Cannot wait to return! February 13, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by good branding but execution is lacking the staff was excellent. front desk, restaurant, bar, hotel operator, etc all made the stay quite good. but, the hotel is an inexpensively built EU wannabe but lacks the substance (and the will) to pull it off. the room was cute but cheap with worn materials throughout - shower, throw rug, couch etc. and what were they thinking with the concaved sink surface? Just try to wash your hands! now it was one of the coldest days of the year when I arrived but the heater in the room just could not hold a temperature. The thermostat was set to 70 and the room would warm up to 76 and then drop to 68 and start the cycle again. it was a bad boom-bust cycle to sleep through. They also didn't seem to make another attempt to plow the parking lot despite the stoppage in the snow. another run through with a plow would have been nice. the breakfast server was efficient and effective even though she had too many tables at times. January 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Rooms with awsome views. Great Rooms with awsome views. Bartender is the best. December 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice staff Had a great stay! Comfortable bed and pillows, staff was very nice. December 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Very Enjoyable Get-A-Way Thank You so much for a comfortable and enjoyable overnight stay! We toured the Cuneo Mansion, watched "The Velveteen Rabbit" in the Mansion then drove through the Holiday Lights on the grounds of the Cuneo after dark! To be at The Indigo so close to The Cuneo Mansion was a perfect location! The staff at the Indigo was so very accommodating. .The hamburger in the café was good! My friend and I recommend The Indigo Hotel very highly. December 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend Team Trip Stayed here as part of my son's Hockey team. We arrived by bus early and were able to check into our rooms right away. Check in process was smooth and efficient. The room was spacious with 2 double beds and a full size sectional. The sink well visually pleasing was not the most functional as it was very shallow. Likewise, the toilet/shower room required some maneuvering to get into and out of as the arc of the door took up much of the floor space. Overall, these are minor things and the room was clean, roomy and comfortable. We ate at the restaurant and had a surprisingly good meal, for a reasonable price. This was especially pleasant as I was not expecting much. The drink prices were within reason of hotel prices. The bar staff was friendly and accommodating. We had breakfast served as part of our package and the food was plentiful and room size was nice. My son enjoyed the good size, clear pool. Hotel is convenient to shopping, movies, and restaurants. It was also close to Glacier Ice Arena. December 4, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Navy Mom Let me start by saying I was very appreciative of the discount offered to those who have family members who serve. However The room left much to be desired. The mattresses were old and dirty. I say they are old because I could feel the springs which made for an miserable nights sleep. The sheets did not fit the beds. The duvet while attractive slid off the bed onto the floor. The decor was interesting I am not sure I understand the fabric wall or the bathroom sink in the main room maybe it was because if I were even the slightest bit over weight I could not fit into the bathroom which was an awkward squeeze at best. The exercise room was nice, it was spacious and offered a nice variety of equipment I thought it was a little strange that the television was placed on the wall be hind the treadmills however each machine had its own tv monitor. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. November 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Have been here before-Excellent Check in was easy. Allowed early check in an was pleased to be able to upgrade from queen to king. Very pleasant desk. Couldn't get TV to work-no problem. Help was there in a few minutes-unplugged connection. Very quite stay. Have stayed here before with same results. Will stay again when in area. November 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service, bed was most comfortable We were in town for a funeral service, and stayed one night. The room we had was outstanding, and bed was most comfortable we have ever slept on. We want to highly commend the restaurant staff. We had breakfast there, and since we had met up with family (there were over 20 of us to serve) we decided to eat at the hotel. The young lady who waited on us, I believe she was working all by herself, did not get her name, but she was most efficient and did not get ruffled. Served our meals quickly, and cheerfully. We would definitely stay there again, if we were ever in the area. November 19, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent bed, in fact that is the reason that always I select this hotel, the housekeepink can improve and also breakfast and dinner options can be better in order to stay little more at this hotel even in rainy days. November 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff Abby was a great assistance, had a wonderful weekend! Stayed there for a local wedding and the staff were so friendly and accommodating to our needs. Big thing was comfortable pillows and bed!! Very clean, loved that they did not have wall to wall carpet in the rooms!!! Thanks again. October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Room design We found that small amenities, like hooks in the bathroom, excellent shower heads, wall thermostat controls, non smoking premises, clean wood floors and area rugs all added to a most enjoyable experience. October 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Refreshing change of Hotel decor Our group went up to visit my son who is on the Naval Base at Great Lakes. This hotel was recommended by another Navy Mom and I must say it was an incredible surprise. The decor was beautiful, hardwood floors in the room, a spacious walk in shower and the bed linens and room decorations were beautiful and very comfortable. The only thing I would change would be to have a microwave in the room to heat up the leftovers we brought home from the excellent area restaurants. Shopping was close by, the staff was very helpful and friendly and I will plan on staying here on my return trips to see my son! October 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Modern hotel/Excellent Customer Service We stayed here as part of a wedding block group and overall were very pleased. This hotel is conveniently located off the main road and very close to restaurants and shopping malls. The first thing we noticed at check-in was the very modern and updated decor, as well as the entire property looked and smelled clean - always a plus! We can't say enough about the courtesy and helpfulness of the front desk staff. Their level of customer service exceeded our expectations! We stayed in a king room on the 2nd floor which we recommend, as the bar area on the main floor is right behind the front desk and was extremely noisy by about 10 pm or so. Our room was large and comfortable containing all the usual amenities including a refrigerator, coffee maker, WiFi, wide screen TV, hair dryer etc. The only amenity not in the room was a microwave oven. (not sure why?) The bathroom had a walk-in shower which, in our opinion, is preferable to a bathtub when staying in a rental room. The sink is quite shallow which makes it a challenge to get a filled glass or cup from under the faucet, plus the water sprays everywhere if any amount of pressure above a trickle is used. However the complimentary Aveda products provided were a nice plus. For us, the lack of availability of breakfast food was a negative. Breakfast is not complimentary (as at many other competitive priced hotels) and is served from the bar behind the front desk. The offerings are ala carte and include yogurt, pastries, beverages and made-to order breakfast sandwiches and/or scrambled eggs. There was one employee working who was clearly struggling to keep up with cleaning plus filling orders, resulting in us locating a nearby restaurant to eat breakfast. However, overall we had a positive experience at this hotel. We felt we paid a fair price for a clean, comfortable, well appointed room. October 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and beautiful neighborhood Older property that has been newly renovated 2-3yrs ago. Decor is very modern with a "green" approach. ..Hardwood floors in room which was nicely decorated/ renovated... but felt humid, maybe older cooling system. The vanity area was outside of the bathroom which was good since toilet and shower is in a SMALL space. Did not care for the VERY "shallow" sink... had to be careful not to get water all over. Bathroom area is not very private, open space to the the sofa/TV area. Bed was comfortable and room was very quiet. Used the hotel shuttle service, driver was very accommodating and friendly. Morning breakfast staff was also friendly and food was good. Pleasant stay. October 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay with our hockey team! We stayed at Hotel Indigo with my son's hockey team and we were very satisfied with the quality of rooms and services provided. Abby and the rest of the staff were very friendly and accommodating and made our group stay comfortable and enjoyable. October 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great First Time! Usually when I travel to Chicago, I stay with a friend. This time I needed to be in the Vernon Hills area and I must say my choice of the Hotel Indigo was an excellent one. A beautiful hotel in an excellent location. The staff was wonderful and the décor exciting and refreshing. This is not your typical hotel. If you need to be in the Vernon Hills area of Chicago, I highly recommend the Hotel Indigo. You will not be disappointed. September 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excelente Very, very good. I use to stay at tis hotel because its confort and convienience, besides the good service September 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel staff great. The hotel is great looking on outside and inside. Staff was very pleasant and accommodating. We had a great time staying here. The bar staff was very pleasant. September 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always Grateful I have just concluded seven months of weekly stays at the Hotel Indigo in Vernon Hills, IL. Without exception the staff were upbeat, professional, and highly attentive to serving their customers well. Some things for which I was always grateful: Delia's cheerful smile and welcome every day when I came down for breakfast. Justin greeting me by name when I arrived bleary-eyed on Sunday evenings. Lily cheering me on as I tried to keep up my running schedule while working long hours; also ensuring that a second 5-lb. weight was purchased for the fitness room when I mentioned it was missing one. Mandy sending me off to work with a smile and a cheerful, "Have a nice day, Mrs. D_____" and emailing my final invoice when I had to rush out at the end of a stay. Alex, the bartender, remembering that I prefer a certain kind of wine. Laura working hard to ensure that every breakfast customer's needs were met. And countless others whose names I did not learn who were consistently attentive and positive. This hotel became my home for these past several months. I would recommend it in an instant! - Laurie D_____ September 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everything about our stay My family and I were extremely happy with our stay. We were so amazed as to how everything was just perfect (staff, lobby-that didn't look like the same old, ordinary lobby, customer service, housekeeping, the grounds; and I could just go on and on#. My elderly father is still talking about his stay at the Hotel Indigo and it has been over a week; my dad even posed for pictures! Oh my word, even the bedding was awesome - the comfort was so soothing and relaxing. Also, there were adequate accommodations in our room that allowed each one of us to feel like we had an individual room. Again, I could just on and on!! I've shared our experience with my family and friends and I've informed them that this was the best experience ever #my family and I love to travel). Thank you for the wonderful stay and friendly service!! August 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Home away from Home My stays at the Hotel Indigo have been pleasurable as I am beginning to use it as a home away from home when visiting my son at Lake Forest. The beds are comfortable and the staff are extremely courteous and most helpful. August 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Refreshing atmosphere Very nice hotel, a nice refreshing change! Enjoyed our stay. Wish they had shuttle to Navy Command Base and airport. Breakfast should have been complementary . August 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel and Comfortable I am a regular at this hotel. It is a good hotel, some small issues but I keep coming back. They seem to be Ice Machine challenged and the only hotel I stay at that does not have CNBC for the business traveler on the TV choices. 1000 point bonus is key. August 15, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Exterior View Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Front Desk Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Front Desk Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-12-2014)
Check Availability
Loading