• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
(e.g. Dec-19-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CHICAGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 38.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-06:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. French

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with a non refundable fee of 15.00 dollars for the first night and 10.00 dollars for every additional night, not to exceed 150.00 dollars. Each pet must weigh less than 80 lbs. Pet waiver must be signed upon check in.
Pet fee amount  15.00  USD  per night

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary outdoor parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:122
  • Total number of suites:122
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:122
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:110
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:IL1548
Live in Comfort with Spacious Suites in Waukegan, IL. Perfect for business and leisure travelers, the Candlewood Suites® Chicago - Waukegan hotel is one of the most conveniently located hotels in Waukegan, Illinois. Only five minutes from I-94 and near the Great Lakes Naval Base, our guests find it convenient to visit downtown Chicago during their extended stay. Enjoy the comforts of our spacious suites with cover lit bedding, plush recliners and a full kitchen. Our location accommodates business
View More
Live in Comfort with Spacious Suites in Waukegan, IL. Perfect for business and leisure travelers, the Candlewood Suites® Chicago - Waukegan hotel is one of the most conveniently located hotels in Waukegan, Illinois. Only five minutes from I-94 and near the Great Lakes Naval Base, our guests find it convenient to visit downtown Chicago during their extended stay. Enjoy the comforts of our spacious suites with cover lit bedding, plush recliners and a full kitchen. Our location accommodates business travelers well. Located near Abbott Laboratories, Cardinal Health, Baxter, and The Harrison Conference Center makes for an easy commute with time to spare. We offer our guests the convenience of staying connected with free Wi-Fi access and keeping your regular routine while on the road with free laundry service and the 24- hour Candlewood Gym. Leisure travelers enjoy visiting Six Flags Great America or strolling along a trail in Illinois Beach State Park. Our hotel shuttle is perfect for visiting a student or cadet, local business parks, Navy graduations and Rosalind Franklin University. We welcome you home and invite you to relax at our gazebo or pick up a quick and easy meal at the Candlewood Cupboard. You can also stop by our Lending Library for a DVD or our Lending Locker for those household essentials that you may have left at home. Once you’re settled in, we’re sure you'll consider us home during your extended stay.
View Less
Features
Thanks to the complimentary, self-service laundry facilities at the hotel, extended stay travelers can ease their travel burden and pack light when they are our hotel's guest in Waukegan, IL. The hotel also conveniently offers a complimentary housekeeping service, fitness center, and wireless Internet. The Candlewood Cupboard also makes it easy for guests to grab a meal on the run at a great price

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 162 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable hotel, attentive staff I stay at this hotel every couple of months. The location is very convenient with restaurants close by, as well as Walmart. Staff are very attentive and breakfast is always good. September 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service...nice breakfast We really enjoyed our stay the this hotel. Room was just the right size for all five of us. Sofa Sleeper mattress springs could be felt however my 11 year old was okay sleeping on it. Location was only five minutes away from the Naval Base. Very close to Walmart and several restaurants. Breakfast was delicious and very filling. We would stay there again. September 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service. Comfortable, very clean, great service. Breakfast is provided, great coffee. Room was very quiet even though we were right next to the elevator. Internet in the business center was very slow and the wireless on my phone did not work while I was in the room. September 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good service One of the staff went out of their way to help my g/f make up a breakfast plate after she arrived late and they had already started packing up the breakfast stuff. September 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by enjoyable experience The hotel meet all of our needs for attending our sons Boot Camp Graduation. Comfortable room with plenty of amenities. Could use a little modernization, but all in all a good experience. Good location- 10 minutes to Naval Base which was really nice for us. Conveniently located to almost anything needed for a weekend stay. Would recommend for someone wanting to attend Graduation of a loved one. September 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel mattress kind of rough The hotel was great the staff nice and attentive. There was only a few issues. The big one was the bed mattress wasn't very comfortable. It was a bit stiff for my liking. Other than the pull out couch mattress was also very uncomfortable glad we brought an air mattress. The breakfast bar had plenty of choice but as usually the juice (I had apple) was extremely watered down and the biscuits were dry. September 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Staying with kids Good overnight stop with the family. Able to meet specific allergy requests after a brief follow up phone call. September 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel Nice clean hotel, friendly staff, stay was a family reunion, bowling,shopping and several resturants near this hotel. Excellent stay! August 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great facility The hotel was very clean, the staff were very attentive and willing to help in any way possible. August 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by brilliant I have stopped at this hotel on numerous occasions now and it never dissapoints me. It does what holiday inn do and provides good accommodation at reasonable prices. The receptionist always remembers me when I stay here. Top marks. August 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice property clean, newer property, a bit hard to find but worth it August 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Front desk was very friendly, very clean, quiet. Highly recommend this location August 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service At this Holiday Inn Express everything was so great, the breakfast was great, the employees was wonderful and so professional, this was a great stay. August 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by review of stay at holiday inn check in was fast and courteous, location was easy to access, staff was friendly and helpfull, breakfest was exceptional to be free. only negative i found was that the rooms were not very sound proof, you could hear the adjacent room conversation and activities. August 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent customer service All staff that we encountered were very friendly and very helpful no matter what we needed or asked. The room was very clean and comfortable August 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great bed after a long drive After our long drive of 780 miles we stayed at this Holiday Inn, the hotel was clean, the staff was friendly, the room was odor free, the bed was so comfortable the best I have slept in, in a hotel in quit awhile. The breakfast was good, from cinnamon rolls, to biscuits and gravy. It was an awesome breakfast. For the price we could not have ask for anything better. We will definitely stay here again when we travel to that area. August 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Lakes Visitors, this is the place to stay! Safe, cordial and clean accommodations for all. Enjoy your stay while you visit in the area at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Chicago North-Waukegan-Gurnee. If is good for this seasoned traveler/soldier its good for the family. August 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome service One particular staff member in their breakfast area starts your day off great. Not only does he keep the breakfast area top notch but he is very friendly and goes out of his way to get you what you need. Beds were comfortable, obviously your own pillow is always the best. Pool area was extremely warm in air temperature and not the best ventilation. Nice hotel overall. Close to Six Flags and Outlet mall!! August 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel Clean and new looking - a definite plus. We were surprised to hear road noise, other than that it was great. The manager's reception with beer, wine and hot wings was a pleasant surprise. Would stay here again and would recommend it to others. August 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Another great stay Stay here on business several times a year. Great service, good food. Great location. August 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Stay, Good location The hotel was in a good location for the business I was in town for. The staff was polite and greeted me each morning and evening when I returned to the hotel. August 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by On the road to Oshkosh Comfortable one night stay. Food was good, location was convenient, bed was comfortable and wi-fi was fast. Nothing to complain about. August 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One word...AWESOME First class service, Front desk staff were very helpful and eager to serve any needs...They went out of their way to serve "the Customer"... Would recommend anyone to stay. Thanks again August 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by clean, comfortable Nice place to stay for Navy Graduation. Not the "best" part of town but a great hotel August 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Place Not bad but carpets needed Cleaned... My litte girl had black feet from crawling around. I did mention this to the staff at check out.. I hate having to move in only a two night stay.. August 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Review about Navy Lunch Was there for our son,s grad. from the Navy basic training. It was nice that they offer a lunch, but the hot dogs were well over done and the only drink option was water. August 8, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by good breakfast / terrible sofa bed good breakfast. food was delicious. plenty to choose from. the sofa bed was VERY uncomfortable, felt like sleeping on a box springs. i had to use two comforters on the bed just to be able to lay down (thanks to the great house keeping lady). no laundry service. we had 8 teen age boys playing basketball and no where to wash there uniforms. had to drive 3 miles to wash clothes. very inconvineiant August 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff! I stayed for 2 nights for the Navy Graduation down the road. It was a wonderful hotel, extremely clean, and well maintained. The staff was beyond wonderful and even filled me in about the complimentary shuttle to graduation should I chose/need to use it. I would stay here again in a heartbeat! August 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff Staff was wonderful. Maid on our floor was very accommodating. Breakfast guy was very nice and personable. I loved the bed. However, the couch bed was like a box spring...and we couldn't get a cot. Wi-Fi didn't work the first night. Was disappointed there wasn't a laundry room. I did ask for a better rate but couldn't get one. Overall, it was a good experience. Staff I would rate excellent. August 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent choice for Great Lakes RTC PIR We stayed here for our son's graduation from Navy Boot Camp at the Great Lakes RTC. It is conveniently located close to the RTC, and easy to drive to graduation from there. Room was comfortable and staff very accommodating. I would recommend this hotel for anyone coming to Great Lakes for Boot Camp graduation. August 5, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Exterior View Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Front Desk
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn Up To 5,000 Points
Close
Check In
(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Dec-19-2014)
Check Availability
Loading