• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
(e.g. Oct-03-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CHICAGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 38.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. French

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets allowed with a non refundable fee of 15.00 dollars for the first night and 10.00 dollars for every additional night, not to exceed 150.00 dollars. Each pet must weigh less than 80 lbs. Pet waiver must be signed upon check in.
Pet fee amount  15.00  USD  per night

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary outdoor parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:122
  • Total number of suites:122
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:122
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:110
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:IL1548
Live in Comfort with Spacious Suites in Waukegan, IL. Perfect for business and leisure travelers, the Candlewood Suites® Chicago - Waukegan hotel is one of the most conveniently located hotels in Waukegan, Illinois. Only five minutes from I-94 and near the Great Lakes Naval Base, our guests find it convenient to visit downtown Chicago during their extended stay. Enjoy the comforts of our spacious suites with cover lit bedding, plush recliners and a full kitchen. Our location accommodates business
View More
Live in Comfort with Spacious Suites in Waukegan, IL. Perfect for business and leisure travelers, the Candlewood Suites® Chicago - Waukegan hotel is one of the most conveniently located hotels in Waukegan, Illinois. Only five minutes from I-94 and near the Great Lakes Naval Base, our guests find it convenient to visit downtown Chicago during their extended stay. Enjoy the comforts of our spacious suites with cover lit bedding, plush recliners and a full kitchen. Our location accommodates business travelers well. Located near Abbott Laboratories, Cardinal Health, Baxter, and The Harrison Conference Center makes for an easy commute with time to spare. We offer our guests the convenience of staying connected with free Wi-Fi access and keeping your regular routine while on the road with free laundry service and the 24- hour Candlewood Gym. Leisure travelers enjoy visiting Six Flags Great America or strolling along a trail in Illinois Beach State Park. Our hotel shuttle is perfect for visiting a student or cadet, local business parks, Navy graduations and Rosalind Franklin University. We welcome you home and invite you to relax at our gazebo or pick up a quick and easy meal at the Candlewood Cupboard. You can also stop by our Lending Library for a DVD or our Lending Locker for those household essentials that you may have left at home. Once you’re settled in, we’re sure you'll consider us home during your extended stay.
View Less
Features
Thanks to the complimentary, self-service laundry facilities at the hotel, extended stay travelers can ease their travel burden and pack light when they are our hotel's guest in Waukegan, IL. The hotel also conveniently offers a complimentary housekeeping service, fitness center, and wireless Internet. The Candlewood Cupboard also makes it easy for guests to grab a meal on the run at a great price

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 128 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by very comfortable I liked the room, very comfortable beds. room was nice and clean. didn't like my neighbors they were making too much noise.. July 9, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Service Not the room we were promised. Over charged. Rude staff. Not enough breakfast for the guest. July 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by navy weekend beds and room nice and comfy. pool was broken at the time of visit panhandler asked us for $ in the parking lot said he only had checks and needed a place to stay. The breakfast was good, they did not have pancakes the 2 days we stayed there. Overall nice place to stay a little overpriced I think. If not for the Navy Base I think the prices would be cheaper. We stayed at a holiday in express in a different town and the price was half what we paid here July 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect for Navy PIR If you're headed to Great Lakes for PIR weekend, the Holiday Inn Express Waukegan (HIE) is the perfect place to stay. Conveniently located to PIR, GL A school, and Sarge's Meet July 7, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Uncomfortable Bed I arrived at this Hotel LATE due to backed up or delayed flight. Once I arrived, Front door to establishement was locked and it took about 5 mins for attendant to open and register me. Once registered, the room was clean but the bed was anything but comfortable. The mattress was a horrible experience. This made my mind to look for another ptoperty. June 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean Comfortable Stay Rooms were clean and comfortable! Friendly staff with a great breakfast. Very Close to Navy Base, June 26, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Strange Problems Bed was very much sagging toward the middle--little support and quite uncomfortable. The entire bathroom sink/counter was coming apart from the wall The breakfast area and lobby were VERY warm and muggy--so much so that the banana I tried for breakfast tasted disgustingly warm. I cannot recommend this hotel, sorry to say. June 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quite, comfortable, efficient. Check in and out was efficient, updated airline data at the business room without a hitch. Guest room was quiet, staff were polite and in good spirits. June 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service and quiet, clean room We were in town for a funeral, which we mentioned when we were checking in. We had no idea there was a "funeral rate", but the staff kindly brought it to our attention and gave us the rate, saving us money. We asked for a quiet room on the top floor, which is exactly what we got. It was very comfortable and clean, and we had a good night's sleep. There were many breakfast choices, hot and cold; everything was fresh & delicious. Staff was very attentive to keeping everything stocked and clean, as well as being courteous and friendly. We highly recommend this property. June 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location! I live in Wisconsin and the office I work out of is in Waukegan. As I need to travel in Illinois quite often, not only is it convenient to stay at this location, it is also my preference! I only stay at another location when it is really necessary - but make every attempt to stay at the Waukegan Holiday Inn Express. The staff there are always friendly and I'm guaranteed that my stay will always be as I expect! I recommend this location to anyone heading your way! June 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by OK but pricey The location is good with ready access to nearby attractions and facilities. I was disappointed in the breakfast options offered. I like the waffles which have become normal fare at most motels and hotels and this place did not offer them as an option. A better selection of fresh fruits would be nice. Coffee service was poor with few if any of the flavored creamers. I hate the "BIG FLUFFY PILLOWS" which make it difficult to sleep for me. They are all the same! Some variety in the pillows would be nice. Six pillows that are all the same -- DAH! Bigger bath soaps would be nice. The bar soap provided was small and had no punch to it. I want to smell good after a nice shower. I don't think the overall amenities are in line with the cost. The price tag is too high. June 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by loved it when i came in it was around midnight and i was tired like crazy, so i checked in went to the room and slept... the next morning, i came to know that i had left the wallet while checking in at the lobby.. it seems the person came 10 minutes after i left and knocked the room and by the time, i had slept. so she had saved my wallet with a note saying that it was left by me. she noticed me going to breakfast and gave it to me! her name starts with B. say my thanks to her. i did a lot of times but i know the troubles of a missing wallet(been there done that before). so she saved me from that again! Thanks a million times for honest courteous and helpful staff. June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Express stay Holiday Inn Express an overall great experience. Good location, nice, relatively new and clean environment. Friendly staff. June 3, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Rude staff at check-out and ants The person checking me out at 445am in the morning was very rude. First she still had me in my original room (I had to move because of ants all over the wall in the first room) and told me she had to charge me an extra night since I was checking out early. I explained that this was the day I was due to check out and showed her my itinerary. She was still arguing with me until she realized that I had been moved to a different room. It was too early in the morning to have to deal with a rude person. June 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Clean hotel This was a generally comfortable stay. The breakfast was fair, fruit was poor quality. Toaster launched items to the floor due to placement on a titled pedestal rack. Check in was very slow, even though not busy. Did love the high shower head for showers. May 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Extremely recommendable Everything was really good Clean and facilities Can improve on options for breakfast May 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Little Hotel Have been staying here for years on a regular basis when traveling in to my firm's headquarters. Provides my company good value at reasonable cost, and is quiet and comfortable. Staff are dependable and courteous. May 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Stay, GREAT STAFF!!! All of the staff we encountered were absolutely wonderful. Mr. S, from the front desk found us a luggage rack and even offered to assist us to our room. Housekeeping on the 3rd floor was wonderful. Smiled, greeted us and asked if she could assist. The room was very clean and welcoming! We were with a large competition dance company and scheduled to leave the hotel before the breakfast buffet actually was scheduled to open. The staff made sure to accommodate us. The staff had items available as the girls (and Mom's & Dad's) caught a quick bite and coffee, juice etc. on the run. What a pleasant surprise!! They knew the group was leaving early and the woman setting-up the breakfast bar was just great!! Thanks to all! I will be happy to return to this location! April 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service I stay in Holiday Inn Express a lot for work. The customer service at this one is tops! Checking in was a breeze and it was the gentleman's first day by himself after training behind the counter. It didn't show at all. He was friendly and professional. I only found out after talking with him for a bit during check in. During this stay I had an issue with my "neighbor"'s TV being too loud at midnight one night when I was going to sleep. I called the front desk and the woman was great! She came up, tried to knock on his door several times and call him on his phone. My neighbor was out like a light and the TV was probably too loud for him to hear her knock and call...LOL. She offered to have me switch rooms. It wasn't her fault at all, but she was very gracious during the whole incident. She brought the new key to me and even helped me with my luggage to my new, very quiet room. This is the first time anything like this has ever happened to me. You can't predict things like that, but you can count on the wonderful customer service to help solve the problem! I would definitely recommend this hotel. April 27, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 Lots of problems We checked in after reserving adjoining rooms, and had trouble with the first room from the start. The TV didn't work the first day, couldn't be fixed till the second day. The second day we realized the iron didn't work, used our adjoining rooms iron, no pool for the second day either. We extended our stay for our sons graduation so we could relax, let the small children relax before a long trip home. The third day we returned to our room at 11 pm to find that our room keys didn't open the door. The woman at the front desk said we had checked out...we hadn't. The other family member s had checked out of their room, I can see where the error occurred, but really a quick sorry, would've done wonders. They did let us back into our room where all of our things were, luckily, and housekeeping hadn't been in. So we didn't have clean or dry towels, I did receive two towels after asking! I would suggest that folks staying look at other properties nearby before coming into a hotel that cost more with several issues in terms of cleanliness and repair. Not to mention a staff that is not terribly interested in customer satisfaction. In all fairness the woman at the front desk offered no apology, but did offer extra IHG rewards. NO THANKS. I'll stay somewhere else going forward. April 23, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Unpleasent stay I'm posting this review because I sent and email to managemnt with not response .... I was @ the location on 04/12/04/13. Let me first start with the reservation experience. I was given inaccurate information by both the Reservation line and a representative at the location. On 04/11/14 I called the reservation line to inquire about group pricing. I’m the volunteer administrator for an Organization and I was trying to book 6 rooms as we were in town for a weekend event. When I reached the reservation line they informed me that the group pricing was handled by the location and that I should contact them directly. I then reached out to the location and spoke to a young lady who confirm that was correct and stated that the she wasn’t able to authorize the group rate , but that I should contact Kevin (hotel management on 04/12/14 in the A.M. and that he would be able to make the adjustment. On Saturday I was informed by Kevin that that was incorrect and that I needed to book 10 room to receive the approximate $5/10 off. So I had no choice but to understand the internal error/miscommunication. Upon my arrive that evening I was checked in by Morgan, she was awesome and displayed amazing customer service. When I arrived at 3pm I was informed that not all my rooms were ready. Finally about 10/15mins into the check in process the Cleaning supervisor radioed that the room was ready. The whole front desk process was very disorganized . It appears to be that there a several new employees and the other rep was very rude and keep interrupting my check in process, because apparently his customer’s room was ready either. Lastly I settled in that evening and everyone is preparing for bed, one of the people in my group pulls out the sleeper bed and it is broken. This of course may seem minimal I guess because once I informed the desk she brought up a roller away. However by this time I was frustrated because the WHOLE experience was not what I’m use to during my stay at Holiday Inn….. I recommend***************** Training for front desk staff ( VERY RUDE especially the lady that worked the front desk on 04/12/14 overnight# Spot checking for Housekeeping # how does a broken sleeper not get noticed.) April 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great hotel Ask for the type of bed you like because they have options from moderate to very firm. Courteous, friendly and helpful staff. Ample parking near door. Clean lobby, main rooms and guest room. Delicious breakfast with great variety of foods. Easy in/out to major roads. April 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Hospitality The hotel staff is probably the best I have ever encountered. They went above and beyond to ensure I had everything I needed to enjoy my stay. The hotel amenities were nice. The only thing they lacked was a laundry room but the staff gave me the name of a good Laundromat and driving directions. Hotel is within close proximity to Training Support Center Great Lakes where I was working and is close to WAL-MART and other great dining and entertainment. I would definitely stayhere again. March 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Navy Graduation My son and I stayed here for my nephew's Navy Graduation. Overall, we had an great stay here. There are only a couple of very small suggestions I would make: Make sure your sheets and blankets are completely dry before putting them on the beds...ours had a huge wet spot but, I just unfolded the top fold and they dried and were fine. Inform families staying there for the Graduation, that you stream the ceremony live in the Lobby. I didnt know they did that and found out by going to get coffee. Lastly, I wish the pool, and the room housing the pool was bigger. I wasn't on base to see my nephew, so everybody came to my hotel to meet up and hang out. The pool was so small, that after you got more than a couple of kids in there splashing around, the WHOLE room was wet with nowhere dry for adults to keep an eye on them. I also would suggest carpet in that hallway as a bunch of kids came out of the pool room, dripping, and the water on the stone floor was very slippery. On the plus side, the beds were super comfortable, the room was very clean and quiet ( I love the sign in the bathroom about the towels- I wish all hotels did that!) and breakfast was very good. We had a great experience there! March 25, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by unfortunate There was one woman who I felt knew her job Michelle ....unfortunately she wasnt there till the last day of my stay the night person was very rude and th I had to switch rooms all 3 nights had Michelle been there my stay would have perrfect...in the midst of all the room changing I was also given a dirty room. ....... March 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed, nice room, great staff The room was clean and well appointed. The heater/air conditioner worked well. Many times these things are noisy, turn on and off all night and keep you up. This one was perfect! The staff was friendly & courteous. We particularly enjoyed the Maintenance supervisor who we chatted with each day and found him very helpful as to what the surrounding area had for things to do, and that was not much this time of year. Looks like summer would be fun. The weather was bad but we are from New England so it was not hard to deal with. Overall good Hotel experience March 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great rooms and nice service but very bad breakfast choices My stay is very comfortable there with very good staff, nice rooms and excellent facilities of small workout room, swimming pool, hot tub. Overall very except breakfast. I found nearby Courtyard is slightly costly than this but they had excellent choice of breakfast. This is something if hotel makes adjustments; this would be a very good hotel to say. Regards UG February 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff was excellant I would like to compliment Meelima on her service which I consider was over and above her job responsibility. She went out of her way to help me with my boarding passes and everything else I needed. The only small complaint would be when requested additional towels I had to ask twice and then had to go to the desk and get them myself, BUt as I say that was just a small inconvenience. Overall our stay was very enjoyable. Keep up the good work! January 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Welcoming, restful We were there for two days just before Christmas, 2013, visiting our son at Great Lakes Naval Station. We enjoyed the warm welcome and homey atmosphere with the fire in the fireplace, Christmas decorations and tasty, hot breakfast. Staff was wonderful, room was clean. Would definitely stay there again. January 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice Employees very nice. Good location and very clean. December 29, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Exterior View Greenbelt Conference Center located behind the hotel Gurnee Mills Outlet Mall located mintues from the hotel Hotel Lobby Great Lakes Naval Base located minutes from the hotel Genesee Theatre Waukegan Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Front Desk
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-03-2014)
Check Availability
Loading