• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 CANDLEWOOD
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. Apr-21-2014)
(e.g. Apr-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Airport

  • Location: Airport
  • Closest City: NEWPORT NEWS
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We are a pet friendly hotel. weight limit of 80lbs. Pet agreement information and one time non refundable pet deposit is required. We have a wonderful pet walk with friendly pet baggies overlooking the water.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Colonial Williamsburg
Distance From Hotel:15.0MI
Attraction:
Busch Gardens
Distance From Hotel:10.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary Parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:59
  • Total number of suites:59
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:26
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:21
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:25
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:VA932

Guests Love Yorktown, VA Hotel's Historic Location

Surrounded by rich colonial history and beautiful Virginia scenery, the Candlewood Suites® Newport News / Yorktown hotel is the perfect destination for all travelers. You'll find that the hotel's lakefront setting near Williamsburg, VA provides you with easy access to excellent business and leisure opportunities.

Located right on the border of Newport News, this hotel is situated in the heart of the Hampton Roads metropolitan
View More

Guests Love Yorktown, VA Hotel's Historic Location

Surrounded by rich colonial history and beautiful Virginia scenery, the Candlewood Suites® Newport News / Yorktown hotel is the perfect destination for all travelers. You'll find that the hotel's lakefront setting near Williamsburg, VA provides you with easy access to excellent business and leisure opportunities.

Located right on the border of Newport News, this hotel is situated in the heart of the Hampton Roads metropolitan area. The hotel is also conveniently located right off of I-64 and just minutes from Newport News / Williamsburg International Airport (PHF). Nearby employers and companies include Northrop Grumman, Ferguson and Jefferson Labs. Military presences in the area include Ft. Eustis, Naval Weapons Station Yorktown and Yorktown Coast Guard Station.

The hotel's location near Williamsburg, VA provides guests with easy access to the many popular area attractions. Visit Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens and Water Country USA theme parks less than 20 minutes from Yorktown, VA. The hotel's guests also enjoy experiencing the museums and rich historic landmarks that populate the Yorktown - Newport News area.

The hotel has a lovely outdoor pool for cooling off in the hot summer months, and guests can use the outdoor grills in the patio dining area, as well. Stay at the Candlewood Suites® Newport News / Yorktown hotel, and you can live like you would at home.

View Less
Features
One of the things guests enjoy most about their stay in Yorktown, VA is the hotel's lakefront location. Virginia is known for its beautiful scenery, so enjoy the restful view overlooking the water.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 81 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We felt like we were Home. We had a good stay at Holiday inn Express and we did not encounter any problems at all. December 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Staff were extremely nice and rooms were clean I stayed here for a cheerleading competition in the area. The staff went above and beyond their call of duty. They were polite, nice, and everyone was always smiling. Our room was clean, comfortable, spacious and the beds were comfortable. The only negative thing I would say about the room is that the bathroom had no fan (I often use the bathroom fan for the "white noise" while sleeping). Also, you could hear the traffic outside. It's located on a very busy road, so it's not really the hotels fault. Once again, maybe having a bathroom fan would have helped drown out this noise while trying to sleep. Other than that, I would recommend this hotel. There were so many choices for breakfast too! This was a HUGE plus in my book. :) November 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff This has been the best Holiday Inn I have stayed at! The staff were kind and generous and are unmatched in loyalty and service to the customer. I hope to return one day. November 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent place to stay for a family wedding! Met all my picky points: everything clean; A/C/heat quiet; shower drained nicely; wifi good; plenty place for charging devices; good breakfast; friendly staff! November 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by All good Meets or exceeds standards. Would stay here again. November 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stay Great location with good restaurants within walking distance. A really good stay - 3 nights and everything was to our liking. Staff were excellent and helpful Only downside was that they do not have a guest laundry. November 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service and Great Location Stayed here for an event at Hampton Coliseum. The location was great and the staff went out of its way to make us feel welcome. Would definitely recommend. November 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Sweet Staff One of the nicest staffs I have ever encountered. Very friendly anfd always happy to help :-) October 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel experience all the way around. Very friendly staff, each and every one. Whether it was maintenance, housekeeping, or Front Desk, they all were exceptionally nice. The hotel and rooms were kept very clean. The location was close to Hampton Coliseum, as well as many shops and restaurants. Would definitely choose this hotel again if in Hampton. October 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place! :0) This is an excellent place to stay!! This was my second stay with the Holiday Inn Express @ Hampton. Harmony has an excellent personality!! I stayed here over a month ago and it was excellent then and even better now! Thanks again; Ms. Donna! October 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfy room once we moved Very happy with the customer service here. We checked into our room and I noticed it kind of smelled like wet dog. It was pouring outside so I thought it was just the humidity. A while later I noticed the rug soaked by the A/C. Come to find out, the A/C was leaking. Thankfully I had picked my bag off the floor near the A/C unit a few hours before. Upon notice of the leaking A/C, they moved us down the hall to an equivalent room. They promptly went to repair the leaky A/C in our old room. The new room smelled fresh and was nice and dry. Slept great, sheets were comfy. Shower head was very short (I'm 5'10" and really had to bend my knees to wash my hair). Hotel staff was very friendly and kept the place tidy. The elevators however looked old and we joked that we might get stuck in them. October 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet, clean and relaxing We were in town for Parents Weekend at Hampton University. This hotel was very clean, we had a room on the 3rd floor and it was nicely laid out, with a tall wardrobe to store clothes. The bathroom was small but also very clean. Only downside (no fan in the bathroom). Free wifi and a nice T.V. The King Bed was very comfortable. We had a sofa bed, which we did not need. Room would have been cramped with additional person. Staff greeted us cheerfully, explained the breakfast in the morning. We saw a group of teens enter the hotel right before we got to the desk and was a little nervous. However, we never heard them. We like the Holiday Inn Express brand and this location met our expectations. October 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Since this property has been renovated, it is a great place to stay. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast was great. My only complaint, which is not much of a complaint, is that the treadmill is fairly old and there is only one of them. However, it did the job. October 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Hampton Holiday Inn Express Staff creates a caring and comfortable atmosphere. We will stay there every time we visit Hampton. October 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location and comfortable room Liked the location and room. Was able to visit my brother and his family. Good location to route 64 and 664. Would recommend you location to other travelers. September 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellant I had a great experience with my stay at this hotel,and would recommend this hotel to my friends.It was conveniently located to both my sisters one in Hampton the other in Newport News. I found the staff very friendly and helpful > I even locked my key in the room and they took security measures before they let me back into the room,I appreciated this very much. September 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This is how you do it After moving from one bad hotel to the HI was such a great reward. Everything was wonderful. The location was close to whatever you wanted or needed. I wished I had booked both my nights stay at this Holiday Inn. September 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience Although my stay was only overnight I had fantastic experience. September 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Experiene We totally enjoyed this property for check-in, housekeeping and checking out! An awesome staff working at this property! September 3, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Once is enough . . . Stayed in this place several nights just because I didn't want to move but will not stay here again. My room had a window A/C unit which seemed to either produce air that was too cold or too hot, or just act as a fan. Without the unit running it was too easy to hear the folks in the hallway or in the next room. The hotel is also positioned in such a place that one can only enter from one direction. If you are on the wrong side of roadway you must drive some distance before you can make a u-turn to get back to the hotel entrance. Not convenient! Just another reason I will not stay here again. September 3, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst Holiday Inn Express experience ever!!!! It was so hot every where in the hotel including the rooms. We turned the air on but it didn't help. The bathroom had no fan and one shower made the bathroom a sauna for the next few hours. The beds were small and uncomfortable. I love Holiday Inn Express and am a loyal customer but I won't ever stay there in Hampton Virginia again! September 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Location was great! I was here because I was dropping my daughter off at college (Hampton U). Upon arrival staff was very friendly. Location of hotel was awesome for what I was there for. Th school was about 10mins from hotel if that. There is a shopping center right across the street. Target and every store you can image was there. right down the street is another shopping center with lowes and places you can eat like chick fila etc, walmart not that far as well. The breakfast was ok. Didnt really mind that it was just ok because the waffle house was right next door and my husband loves the waffle house. Room was stand 2 beds however bathroom was nice and clean I wish the room had a separate or bigger sitting area. beds were comfortable. Rate seem a little inflated I think because there were several ppl there to drop there kid off as well. Had a problem with the toilet I informed front desk and they resolved the problem immediately. Overall i would stay again. August 30, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel but incompetent employees This was a nice hotel. However, I will never deal with this establishment again. I prepaid two rooms. I called Holiday Inn to add another reservation because I was coming a day earlier. The operator booked the wrong date and I now had two reservations for the same date. I called back to get this corrected. I had to be transferred to a manager because it was an advanced payment reservation. The manager corrected the problem, so I thought. Upon check out, we were being charged for all of the rooms again including the incorrect date reservation. When the manager "fixed" the issue, she cancelled my reservations and combined them into one reservation, but neglected to transfer the money over. The manager at the Hampton hotel, Darryl, was great. He deserves a bonus. It took a LONG time but he finally figured out the problem and all charges were removed from my account. Oh and another thing, I was travelling to the hotel from NYC and told them that I will be arriving around 3:00 or 4:00 in the morning. I arrived at the hotel around 5:00 am. I was marked as a no show in the system. The clerk reinstated the reservation, I was charged for that too, and gave us the key card to the room. What a surprise we got when we opened the door and the room was already occupied!!! I am sure the occupants of that room were not happy either. Although the Hampton hotel and staff were pleasant, I will never patronize any Holiday Inn establishment again. Having to leave my child at college was enough stress. I did not need or want the extra stress that I endured due to the incompetence of the Holiday Inn staff. Not to mention I paid a full day rate for a room that I was in for 2 hours because I had to be at the school at 8:00am on Friday. August 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hampton Very nice hotel and staff. I enjoyed my stay and would recommend this location. August 9, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good Basic Hotel The staff was very nice and helpful. Morning breakfast was above average. Location was good for us. Nice refurbished hotel; good to see buildings used; rather than just building new! August 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice! First time ever in this area and at this HI and was very impressed and would definitely go back again! There are other chains in the area but I have to say, you can't go wrong at this Holiday Inn!! July 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great breakfast service, very friendly The breakfast service and food was above expected. Staff was very helpful and kept the breakfast area spotless. Very friendly July 31, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good stay Got in late and left early but my stay was clean and very nice. July 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another great stay! Stayed here for a business trip, great place to stay and highly recommend. July 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by EXCELLENT PROPERTY for any type of stay Stayed here for a business trip. EXCELLENT PROPERTY, HIGHLY RECOMMEND! July 26, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 next>>
Feel welcomed as you enter through our auto door opening
Feel welcomed as you enter through our auto door opening
Select to close.
Feel welcomed as you enter through our auto door opening Candlewood Suite Extended Stay Hotel Yorktown Hotel is 6 miles from Langley AFB Airforce Base USCG Coast Guard Training Center Yorktown Visit Historic Yorktown Sites View from Hotel Hotel is a short drive to Fort Monroe Hotel is minutes from Yorktown Riverwalk Landing Minutes from ORF & PHF Airports View from Hotel Hotel is 5 minutes from Oyster Point City Center Minutes from Portsmouth Naval Shipyard The Candlewood Suites Yorktown - Newport News Your Home Away From Home - Candlewood Suites Brightly lit parking lot, quiet cul-de-sac Well lit parking for that secure and comfort feeling Nicely landscaped property Front Desk Hotel Lobby Lobby Lounge
Select to close.
Spread Out and Relax