Your session will expire in 5 minutes, 0 seconds, due to inactivity. Stay Logged In
Create PIN
All fields are required
If you joined IHG® Rewards Club at a hotel, then you will need to create a 4-digit PIN in order to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
The 4-digit numbers entered must match.
Forgot PIN?
All fields are required
Unexpected Server Error
Your session has expired. Please sign in to your profile
We are sorry, our system is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later or contact the IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care Centre for assistance.
Don't have an email address in your profile?

Contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address via www.ihg.com/updateemail.

Book Now
More Fewer Options

* Required Field

Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Manage A Reservation
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Manage A Reservation
Need to make changes to your reservation? You've come to the right place!
Already an IHG® Rewards Club Member? to view reservations.
View This Reservation

* Required Field

Guest Reviews

Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.

Review
Guest Reviews
Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.
86%
Recommend This Property

Overall Experience

4.2

based on 659 reviews
86%
Recommend This Property

Ratings Breakdown

659reviews

  • 5 Stars
    342
  • 4 Stars
    193
  • 3 Stars
    66
  • 2 Stars
    33
  • 1 Stars
    25

In need of refurbishment

By

08 February 2016

Great location, only a couple of mins walk from the train stations and New street, however that's mainly what it has going for it.

It's getting very tired and in need of refurb. Some examples;
- always a queue at reception, regardless of time and the "priority lane" is never enforced for platinum or Spire guests. The sign hasn't been updated to reflect spire yet!
- bedrooms all in need of refurb. Beds are comfortable, however aircon never works properly and is at head level, meaning if you like a quiet room you'll need to choose between noise or temperature, you can't have both!
- TV and entertainment systems are stuck in the 90's. Such terrible picture quality, channels are regularly unavailable and the Sky channels are constantly unavailable every few minutes. I've never encountered something so bad.
- exec bathrooms are ok, basic ones are tiny
- not very convenient in the sense that there isn't one switch to turn all lights off from your bed
- THE WORST WIFI EVER. Completely unusable. Have been told they're "changing supplier soon"...but no-one knows when?! So what do customers do in the meantime if they need to work? Completely unacceptable.
- THE WORST GYM in a hotel I've ever stayed at that claims to be 4 star. 10+yr old equipment, not much of it, tv's don't work properly.
- overpriced and under quality food and drinks. £3.50 tray charge!!!

All in all, possibly the worst Crowne Plaza in the UK.
I would struggle to recommend this hotel to anyone not travelling on business.

Read More
Read Less

felt like a valued customer

By

07 February 2016

stayed for 2 nights to visit Birmingham for the first time in 25 years with my wife . We were impressed from check in to departure and could not have expected more. Top class

Read More
Read Less

one poor manager, i"m sorry, but SHE looked down on US

By

07 February 2016

13 of us came on the 15-16-17-of january.we had 2 club rooms and 2family rooms,there was 2 7year olds.we used club lounge in the day and at night, which we were told was O.K nobody in room complained. the children were well behaved BUT somebody was supposed to have complained. i.e ( cleaners) very sad. also on the saturday nobody cleaned one of the family room,they were told, but still was not cleaned. BUTon the positive side the breakfast crew were BRILLIANT as usual, just for record we have been coming here for about 20 years

Read More
Read Less

great base

By

04 February 2016

club

went to birmingham with my girlie friends to see jason derulo at NIA travelled by train and found hotel to be central for NIA and new street station,. had two double bedded interconnecting rooms which was very nice, a bed each . rooms very comfotable and breakfast next day had a good choice.

Read More
Read Less

Good Staff Hotel needs a face lift

By

02 February 2016

platinumelite

Great staffing here now they've sorted the training, but struggling with a tired hotel in desperate need of face-lift

Our stay (29/01/16) had building works outside hotel that were noisy very early on the Saturday Morning - try to avoid rooms facing Back of Broad street if your noise sensitive.

Ignore the car park sign saying closed to the public - hotel guests still have access but no one tells you!

Bar does not know how to (or just would not) make a White Russian disappointing.

The club lounge is superb for drinks and quiet work or contemplation. The welcome drinks evening is very nice indeed and that alone is worth upgrading to a club room for,

The continental breakfast served in the club lounge is OK, but like the rest of the hotel is feeling a bit outdated and tired. I have been to other Crown plazas where club lounge had a far more refreshed and updated feel to the menu with better range of choice. However staff are attentive and the environment has peaceful and relaxing air particularly when compared to what can be a busy and noisy breakfast in the dining room.

Happy with some of the very good rates you can get on line for this hotel but I would be disappointed if I was paying full price!

Read More
Read Less

Great stay!

By

01 February 2016

Great stay, I had one of the suites, good sized room with separate sitting room with TV and dining room. Totally recommend.

Read More
Read Less

OK

By

31 January 2016

platinumelite

Considering this is the crown plaza I have to say it was only "OK" My bed room was old and tiered a little dark nfor doing any work . the internet was OK Not good slow but ok ... it location is OK close to new street train station as long as you don't mind walking for 10 min in the rain because taxis don't park and they take 10 min to get there..... Broad street is about 5 min by taxi over all it was OK.
BUT WHEN I AM PAYING SO MUCH FOR A PREMIER HOTEL I WANT BETTER THAN OK!!!!!

Read More
Read Less

Good Hotel

By

30 January 2016

Good Hotel with friendly helpful staff, great location to New St Station and the Barclaycard Arena

Read More
Read Less

guest experience

By

29 January 2016

club

very poor service
ladies WC in lobby 3 were blocked and overflowing
lighting in room very poor especially in the shower
club lounge very disappointing - shabby- dirty and overcrowded
breakfast queues very long, staff abrupt, food choice poor for vegetarians

hot, crowded, delays at lifts, reception and restaurant
we wont be comingback!

Posted byCustomerCare
12 February 2016
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your candid review and for being an IHG Rewards Club member. We always aim to provide an enjoyable stay to our guests and it is truly disheartening to know that we did not live up to your expectations of the IHG brand especially with the customer service delivered and breakfast experience. I also apologize for the disappointments you had with your room accommodations and with the club lounge. Your comments are valued and noted and be rest assured that this will be shared with our management team in order to help us determine what we could further improve on to be able to deliver a highly satisfactory experience. Once again, we appreciate the candid feedback. Sincerely, Ingrid V. Case Manager IHGService
Read More
Read Less

Night in Birmingham

By

26 January 2016

The hotel was good, well situated for bars and clubs but took over 30 minutes to simply check in a case - there system was poor and outdated for this.

Read More
Read Less

Comfortable nights sleep.

By

25 January 2016

Comfortable stay as usual at Crowne Plaza. Staff added to a relaxing stay.

Read More
Read Less

Nice, well presented, comfortable and convenient

By

25 January 2016

The hotel is a short walk from the city centre new street station and fairly central to main parts of Birmingham city
Staff are helpful and well presented
Room was well decorated and had all required equipment
Shower was nice and powerful
Good range in gym
Very nice and good selection for breakfast

Read More
Read Less