• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 2 CROWNE
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 22 Sep 2014)
(e.g. 23 Sep 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: BIRMINGHAM
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:12
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Czech
  2. German
  3. English
  4. Spanish
  5. French
  6. Croatian
  7. Italian
  8. Polish
  9. Turkish
  10. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

By prior arrangement, one small pet is welcome in the bedroom and are not to be left unaccompanied at anytime. Access to public areas is limited. The one exception to the rule is Guide Dogs for the visually impaired no pet supplement would apply.
Pet fee amount  10.00  GBP  per night

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
Sealife Centre
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Think Tank Birmingham Science Museum
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Cadbury World
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • 24hrs Arena Central Car Park beneath hotel .Chargeable per length of stay - 24 hrs £13.50.Additonal charges if stay over 24 hr period. ***Each entrance /exit to car park is charged individually & over a 24 hr period may result charge in excess of £13.50.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 13.50  GBP)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Premium Internet Service

Premium Internet service has twice the bandwidth of the standard Internet service and is usually recommended if you plan on streaming movies or you do a lot of online gaming.
Premium Internet Service is free for All Elite IHG® Rewards Club Members
Wireless Internet available

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Hotel renovated in:February 01, 2008
  • Total number of rooms:312
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:189
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:312
  • Total number of accessible rooms:12
  • Executive floors
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:9
Enjoy a dedicated service at the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre hotel, a short walk from the National Indoor Arena and Hippodrome Theatre. Emerge through the revolving glass doors to a warm welcome from the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre's friendly Concierge. We will take care of your luggage and point you towards the elegant, open-plan b1 Bar for bar meals, coffee or cocktails. Leave the bustling of the city behind relax in your quiet, stylish room. Club room and Suite guests can drop in at
View More
Enjoy a dedicated service at the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre hotel, a short walk from the National Indoor Arena and Hippodrome Theatre. Emerge through the revolving glass doors to a warm welcome from the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre's friendly Concierge. We will take care of your luggage and point you towards the elegant, open-plan b1 Bar for bar meals, coffee or cocktails. Leave the bustling of the city behind relax in your quiet, stylish room. Club room and Suite guests can drop in at the Club Lounge to network or just take in the view. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from New Street Rail Station, with direct trains link to Birmingham International Airport and access to all major road links. Arena Central Car Park beneath the hotel is chargeable. Stroll to exhibitions at the National Indoor Arena and the ICC, or sit at a canal-side cafe and watch the world go by. Brindleyplace, with the Bull Ring, is a short walk from the hotel. Our self-contained conference floor has 11 naturally lit meeting rooms and a Business Centre supported by an enthusiastic team of organisers and technicians. Work up an appetite in the Fitness Centre or savour beautifully tender steak with a drop of red wine in the luxurious surroundings of our b1 Restaurant. Your stay at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre is worth celebrating. Pick out style items at Hugo Boss and Harvey Nicholls at The Mailbox Complex which is a 2 minutes' walk from the hotel.
View Less
Features
Book a Club room or Suite at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre and receive exclusive entry into the elegant Club Lounge, where you can meet with colleagues over complimentary canapes and drinks, check email using wireless Internet and enjoy the panoramic city views.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 444 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Bad shower Impossible to shower without flooding bathroom floor House keepers have reported ridiculous shower curtain arrangements with no response! 22 January 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Modern and bright Customer service desk - ok Room - quite comfortable but very cold. Restaurant staff - unfocussed and unprofessional. 21 January 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Roadside noise Just be careful not to get the rooms facing the road. Otherwise, good hotel, good location, good convenience to food & shopping. 20 January 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by New Year Disappointment We had visited this Holiday Inn before and had found the location and facilities to be very good so had booked again to go over new year as something a bit different however were disappointed on this occasion. We had booked over new year as something different to do, however the facilities really lt us down this time, bar shut early, couldn't get coffees on either of our nights, no room service, no 24 food service, and breakfast on New Years day wasn't available till 10am, too late for our train. Whilst we were given a refund for the breakfast part of the experience of being away over new year was about the "hotel" experience such as the 24 hour room service, breakfast at a reasonable time, bar open later for residences and so we were somewhat disappointed. These things were also not represented on the website so it was a surprise to find this out when we got there and really felt we didn't get what we booked. However, room great, location great, staff friendly. Disappointed this time but would still consider going again. 17 January 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Long time guest Not stayed in all the room types so unable to comment on all. The room I stayed in for 4 nights had a large bed, ample wardrobe space and a nice layout. The bed was comfortable. The showers, on the 4th floor at least, are amazing if you like a good power shower. Great base if you need to use New St station as it is just around the corner. The hotel is close to the Bullring and other city centre amenities so very well placed. On the downside, the heating is set at 25c. I lowered the temperature but every day I go back to the room it is back to 25c, even though I ask for it not to be changed by leaving a note. Some of the rooms can be noisy with being over the main road at the front or back of shops at the back (bin men, etc). The food in the restaurant/bar is average. Nothing to shout home about. However, there are lots of restaurants around the area. The Taj Mahal close to the hotel being a favourite. No gym in the hotel is a bit of a let down for me, but Virgin Active is just up the road if you're a member. 17 January 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not to normal standard I have stayed in the hotel many times before and always had a pleasant stay however not last week. Main points are that the room was very cold (I think it was 1005) and had awful shutters on but when I opened them I realised why they were there - to stop it being even colder. The heating came on but slowly and even then I was not warm. I accept I didn't ask for more heat as I was very tired after a long day and all I wanted was food and sleep. The food choice was very limited and it was ok - lasagne was good but the chips were luke warm. When I checked out I mentioned the temperature of the room (I didn't 'complain' as accept that I should have done so the previous night# but the response was - you should have phoned down for a plug in heater #I accept# and that it was colder outside so that is why my room was freezing - not exactly what I expect to hear. As I said all previous stays have been fine but last week's was not pleasant at all. 15 January 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable room Clean, quiet and comfortable room. Friendly staff at check in. Late checkout arranged and appreciated. No room service menu in room. Checked with reception and was told the only catering between Xmas and New Year was in the bar (apart from breakfast). This meant I had to go out to eat, which was a surprise as I do not recall seeing this mentioned at time of booking. Breakfast was good and wide selection of hot food. Mugs would be better for tea in the morning than small cups. Staff did go and find one when asked. Strange arrangement on the tables in the morning. Some tables had empty milk jugs, others had empty lidless tea pots. Would be better if there was milk on the table. Overall good room, good night's sleep, just found the lack of food options disappointing. 05 January 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfy bed.. great staff! I will definitely ask for a room away from the main road next time. Unfortunately, most of the night, people decided to pip their horns, hence a massive lack of sleep! 04 January 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by some experience of your hotel frist of all i am members of priority club since long time and i have been many time over the world but we found some lake of service and staff in this hotel. we require to upgrade as my card is gold but the staff gave us only one room. the housekeeping inter my room while i am in the room. 03 January 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable sleep ... Nice room Brief stopover for a work Christmas party. Surprisingly nice room for good value rate, thou didn't really get opportunity to try anything else there. 02 January 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Birmingham City centre. I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions and have almost everytime been given the luxury of an upgraded room :-) The staff at the checkin have always been superfriendly and helpful. The room has been excellent and while the hotel is in a noisy part of Birmingham I want to frequent the facilities in the area so I would never complain. The security at the door after 11pm is so impressive and makes me feel comfortable that there are going to be no unwanted guest. Believe me I have had the misfortune of unwanted guests knocking on my door at weird hours in other hotels where this security was lacking. The breakfast was great and I will always want to stay in this hotel if I need to visit Birmingham 28 December 2012
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Homophibic staff Booked a double room and on check in allocated a twin room. On questioning this after checking the room was told it was a double. Two single beds pushed together that slide apart if you approach the edges that touch causing you to fall inti the gap is not a double. Told the hotel was full and could not change us to a room with a double bed. Though later witnessed people booking into the hotel given double rooms which i presume had double beds. can only presume as we were 2 guys the receptionist checking us in did not approve of 2 men sharing a room and bed so allocated the singles and then said there was no other available rooms. 18 December 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed, great service, clean and pleasent room I found this hotel to be very pleasent, my room was lovely and the bed was nice and comfy. The staff were all very helpful and the breakfast was nice too. I would definately stay again!! 18 December 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by friendly and helpful the hotel was very clean, rooms were very well laid out with plenty of space,, comfortable nights sleep all the staff were friendly and very helpful. nice breakfast. Yum. 16 December 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Ok Stay We use Holiday Inns as our choice for most stays as we find them very clean and modern and reasonably priced. This was the first time we has stayed at Birmingham City Centre, we were visiting the Christmas market. The location is brilliant for the Bullring and the market about 5 min walk which was ideal, but at night the area where the hotel is located gets very noisy we stayed on a Monday night and there were still people outside shouting all night and car horns etc so didnt get much sleep but we do like the window open to let air in, and it is in the city centre just not what we are use to so wouldnt stay again due to noise. The room itself was very clean and felt safe which was good. The hallway leading to the room however was very dated and felt closed in walking along it, it's very long and needs painting white rather than creamy with deep red carpets which makes it feel awful and something out of a horror film. The hotel on the outside is very ugly and needs updating. The breakfast was ok, alot to choose from but very busy and staff watching all the time which was a bit off putting as I dont like people watching whilst i'm eating, felt I could only have one glass of orange rather than two due to being watched. Wouldnt get breakfast there again not relaxing at all and felt cramed in and had to be shown to a table?! Didnt feel it was worth what we paid for breakfast. Alot of business people staying there which I think it's more suited for. If were visiting Birmingham again would rather stay at Holiday Inn Express near the NEC much brighter and quiter location and breakfast more relaxed feeling but it is a smaller hotel. Overall was ok not bad but noting special either. 16 December 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by parking the only problem stayed at this hotel on saturday the 8th december found out when we got there that thay only had 8 spaces for cars so we was directed to parking else where . And was given a map which we followed and it also stated we would get a reduced rate ?. It was run by a private company called acodo i think & when we went to get our reduced rate we was told we had parked in the rung carpark .DId complain but he seams he had gone through this before and saying the holiday in he was ready for us . Anyway this reveiw was just to warn other people to be aware of this & the carpark was about 10 mins walk away 15 December 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room standard The room was comfortable and clean, however, the bathroom had cracked tiles on shower wall and also the floor. Shutters across windows and when opened in the morning found very dirty windows. Staff was very helpful and food was excellent so if they rectified the problems mentioned then I would rate this hotel as excellent. 10 December 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great spacious rooms We went to the Birmingham Christmas Market. It was situated really well, not much of a walk from the Train Station or to the Market. Would really recommend this Hotel, very clean, tidy and welcoming. Would love to stay here again. 08 December 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Just right for me and great location Greeted in a very professional manner but also able to have a laugh and a joke generally whilst checking in. My first visit and so everything was explained with just the right amount of detail. Great location for the centre of the city and the station. My thanks go to the team their. 05 December 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel but poor food Breakfast was very poor in my view. The cold selection was very limited and not good quality, as was the bread selection. The range in cooked food was also but the cooking was very poor. Although we had an breakfast inclusive deal for three nights we missed breakfast on the last two. 03 December 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great room, great service, great price! I'd stayed at this hotel many years ago and recently had occasion to visit again. I was pleasantly surprised to see the hotel had gone through refurbishments. Service from the staff from check-in, housekeeping, breakfast and check-out was excellent. The staff we encountered were very friendly and happy to help with any of our enquiries. Our double room was large, bright and airy with all the facilities you'd expect, including a large wall mounted flat screen TV which surprirsed us at how big it was! The bathroom was bright, modern and exceptionally clean. There were only 2 downsides, which whilst considered slightly disappointing, didn't dampen our stay or overall thoughts of the hotel: The windows in the rooms could do with replacing. Whilst they are PVC and considered modern, they let in a terrible amount of noise, especially as the hotel is situated next to and nearby nightclubs. We initially thought the windows were open (when they were clearly shut) as the noise was that noticeable. Breakfast the following morning was a bit disorganised. The availability of various hot and cold foods and drinks was commendable however when being seated, there wasn't enough room in the main breakfast area so was seated in an adjacent lounge which wasn't really conducive to eating - coffee tables were too low and chairs too large. Despite this, we enjoyed our stay and would visit again, especially as it is good value for money and located centrally. 25 November 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent breakfast Good location for railways, shopping and pubs restaurants. 25 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great stay cannot fault any part of my stay.hotel excellent location for shopping 24 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Helpful A very friendly and helpful hotel with comfortable rooms, although, being in the city centre you expect a certain amount of noise from outside. So handy for the Bull Ring and perfect for the Train Station. I will certainly stay in this Hotel again for my next trip to Birmingham. 24 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ideal place to stay. I stayed here on a Saturday and so was expecting quite a bit of noise from outside, i heard not a thing and as New St Station is being re-built at the moment i was even more surprised that I could hear no noise from the building site. My room smelt fresh and the entire furnishings were incredibly clean. The lamp shade had a slight crack but i am really clutching at straws there. The bathroom was very clean and you can always judge a hotel by the look of the shower curtain, no dirt or stains at all. A very good sign. My sleep was excellent, bed was very comfy and was impressed that they labelled the two pillows as one soft, one hard. Nice selection of tea and coffee available in the room and the large tv was a perfect size and worked straight away. The staff at the reception were attentive and very helpful. I used the bar very late on the Saturday night (actually Sunday morning at around 1.15am) and they happily served our party of 7 no questions asked. Will happily book here again. 23 November 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by quick pit stop for event at NEC Excellent front desk service, clean and quiet room - good night of sleep. Some bits of decor a tiny bit tired. 21 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A GREAT PLACE TO STAY IN BIRMINGHAM We went to Birmingham to see Marty Wilde's 60's show just round the corner of Holiday Inn. The restraunt is very comfortable and the staff very friendly and the tables were cleaned as soon as customers left and there was plenty of choice to eat. We went shopping in the Bullring during the day and would have looked further at museums had time allowed. In the room there was a very welcome fridge (my husband is a diabetic and needs to keep his insulin cool), an ironing board and iron, a hairdryer and 2 chairs and a comfortable bed. Thank you Holiday Inn we will definately stay again. 21 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable 1 night stay in Birmingham I was visiting birmingham for a concert and needed a hotel in the centre of birmingham. This hotel was the most central available and i was very pleasantly surprised by the hotel considering the price. Basic but clean and comfortable and staff very helpful. I would definately recommend. 21 November 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy Nightlife The hotel was very smart and clean. Easy to find from New Street Station. Breakfast very good but very busy...ran out of eggs on several occasions :-) Our only negative comment is the rooms facing the main road need triple glazing for noise reduction. We had an interrupted nights sleep due to excessive 'street life' and blasting of car horns through the night ! The double glazing does little to reduce the noise outside. 17 November 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great for City centre We got an executive room from laterooms.com at a bargain price. Less the 5 mins walk from New Street Station and the Hippodrome, perfect for an overnight stay after the theatre. 17 November 2012
<<prev 12 13 14 15 16 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Crowne Plaza Birmingham by Night Area Attractions The Bull - Welcomes you to the Bull Ring Shopping Mall Lobby with Access to Meeting and Events Floor Stylish Lobby and Stair Access to Meetings & Events Floor Reception Modern Stylish Lobby Reception Reception Reception
Select to close.
YOUR NIGHTS, ON US
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 22 Sep 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 23 Sep 2014)
Check Availability
Loading