• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 2 CROWNE
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 16 Sep 2014)
(e.g. 17 Sep 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: BIRMINGHAM
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:12
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Czech
  2. German
  3. English
  4. Spanish
  5. French
  6. Croatian
  7. Italian
  8. Polish
  9. Turkish
  10. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

By prior arrangement, one small pet is welcome in the bedroom and are not to be left unaccompanied at anytime. Access to public areas is limited. The one exception to the rule is Guide Dogs for the visually impaired no pet supplement would apply.
Pet fee amount  10.00  GBP  per night

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
Sealife Centre
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Think Tank Birmingham Science Museum
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Cadbury World
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • 24hrs Arena Central Car Park beneath hotel .Chargeable per length of stay - 24 hrs £13.50.Additonal charges if stay over 24 hr period. ***Each entrance /exit to car park is charged individually & over a 24 hr period may result charge in excess of £13.50.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 13.50  GBP)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Premium Internet Service

Premium Internet service has twice the bandwidth of the standard Internet service and is usually recommended if you plan on streaming movies or you do a lot of online gaming.
Premium Internet Service is free for All Elite IHG® Rewards Club Members
Wireless Internet available

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Hotel renovated in:February 01, 2008
  • Total number of rooms:312
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:189
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:312
  • Total number of accessible rooms:12
  • Executive floors
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:9
Enjoy a dedicated service at the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre hotel, a short walk from the National Indoor Arena and Hippodrome Theatre. Emerge through the revolving glass doors to a warm welcome from the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre's friendly Concierge. We will take care of your luggage and point you towards the elegant, open-plan b1 Bar for bar meals, coffee or cocktails. Leave the bustling of the city behind relax in your quiet, stylish room. Club room and Suite guests can drop in at
View More
Enjoy a dedicated service at the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre hotel, a short walk from the National Indoor Arena and Hippodrome Theatre. Emerge through the revolving glass doors to a warm welcome from the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre's friendly Concierge. We will take care of your luggage and point you towards the elegant, open-plan b1 Bar for bar meals, coffee or cocktails. Leave the bustling of the city behind relax in your quiet, stylish room. Club room and Suite guests can drop in at the Club Lounge to network or just take in the view. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from New Street Rail Station, with direct trains link to Birmingham International Airport and access to all major road links. Arena Central Car Park beneath the hotel is chargeable. Stroll to exhibitions at the National Indoor Arena and the ICC, or sit at a canal-side cafe and watch the world go by. Brindleyplace, with the Bull Ring, is a short walk from the hotel. Our self-contained conference floor has 11 naturally lit meeting rooms and a Business Centre supported by an enthusiastic team of organisers and technicians. Work up an appetite in the Fitness Centre or savour beautifully tender steak with a drop of red wine in the luxurious surroundings of our b1 Restaurant. Your stay at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre is worth celebrating. Pick out style items at Hugo Boss and Harvey Nicholls at The Mailbox Complex which is a 2 minutes' walk from the hotel.
View Less
Features
Book a Club room or Suite at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre and receive exclusive entry into the elegant Club Lounge, where you can meet with colleagues over complimentary canapes and drinks, check email using wireless Internet and enjoy the panoramic city views.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 423 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not Very Good Ive stayed at this hotel a few times and had good experiences and written good reviews, however my latest stay was the total opposite. Firstly the hotel has decided to put a fence between the NCP car park and the hotel's front door, which means if you use the NCP you have to walk right around the next building to the hotel and get caught up in streets of traffic etc - whoever decided to block this walk way direct from the car park needs to re-consider their action. Every room ive been in previously has been very modern / plush and clean with great facilities unlike many other holiday inn's However on this visit I was put on to floor "SP" which is the lowest floor with rooms on, numbers all start 10, my room was 1018 but on the lowest floor which had very poor standard of room. Firstly I couldnt even see out the window, see photo, this wasnt dirt particularly it was just very poorly maintained, the level of the window meant you had to bend down to see the actual glass The quality of the room was awful and nothing like every other floor ive stayed on - wooden curtains etc which none of the other floors have and basically when closed it blocks out mobile coverage, lumpy bed, poor maintenance in the bathroom etc, it felt like two hotels in one - this awful floor and the rest are good, not sure if this has been missed out of an upgrade plan but the other floors were done some time ago Im a platinum priority club member and asked for an upgrade at check in (1730) and was given a flat "no we are full" response and told "ive given you a nice room on another floor" so wondering whether this lady put me on the this poor floor deliberetly because I asked for an upgrade - later in the bar I overheard a lady at the next table say she had just checked in (2000) and been upgraded so I was obviously told nonsense by the lady who checked me in Seems to me the recognition of loyalty has dropped as two colleagues who are not even IHG members ended up on the much better floors and they checked in at the same time as me Not impressed at all and will probably stay elsewhere next time, despite the good location 22 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel in good location Perfect for city centre visit - near train station and local amenities. Comfortable with friendly staff and excellent value for money 22 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel...shame about the traffic noise The hotel offers all the usual facilities and standards, plus lovely comfortable beds. They have very limited parking, so book before you go. However if fail to do this, there is a NCP just at the back of the hotel its a bit steep at £25.00 per 24 hours.....(it soon adds up over a long weekend!) however the hotel will stamp your ticket when you are leaving, and you will get 50% discount off the cahrges...just remember to ask. The location is very central and a bargain to boot, but be aware, despite being on the 8th floor and having lovely views over Birmingham, you cannot escape the noise of traffic. If can sleep through it, then yes I would definitely recommend this hotel. Enjoy 20 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Big rooms and comfortable bed with clean linen I would definitely come back again and recommend the hotel to my friends. 18 June 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by No longer suitable if you travel by car Someone has decided to block off the direct route from the hotel reception to the car park. This means you have lug your luggage along a route ten times as long. The pavements along St Judes Passage are not ideal for this (one side is blocked by wooden debris and the other pavement has a street lamp in the middle of it). This result is that you have to walk in the road and negotiate the traffic. This is not funny, especially when it is raining. The situation was made worse because the car park lift was not working (again), which means carrying luggage up and down the stairs. Location is ideal if you travel by train, but no longer a good choice for car drivers - there are hotels with better access. When I checked into my room I found it overlooks the shops and takeaways where everyone hangs out, drunk and making loud noise, until around 5am. Last time I had a room on that side of the hotel, I got no sleep. I went back to reception, and was moved . However, I am very surprised that the hotel tries to put people in the noisy rooms when other rooms are available. 16 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfektes Citiyhotel Schon etwas älteres Gebäude, aber innen top renoviert. Sehr zentral zum Bahnhof und der City. Nettes und zuvorkommendes Personal, was auch mit Tipps zur Innenstadt helfen konnte. Wir hatten einen sehr frühen Check-In (10.00 Uhr) und konnten bereits ins Zimmer. Für einen Städtetrip nach Birmingham perfektes Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis. 15 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by An all round good experience We were pleased with all aspects of our stay. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were first class and there was something to suit everyone's taste. The staff always had a nice word to say in passing. A very pleasant visit. 14 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Home from home I am a regular visitor this hotel but it says something about the staffs attention to detail when a male receptionist notices your hair colour has changed. Always very happy at this hotel nothing is too much trouble for the pleasant staff.. 13 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A Good 3 Star Hotel, Right in City Centre Overall I was very happy with this hotel especially for a 3 star. Clean room with tea making facilities and even a fridge, only complaint about room was the mirrors, no full length mirror! The breakfast was lovely with lots of choice, only negative is that they cram the tables and chairs in a bit too much so you are disturbing people to get round them. Finally only other negative is the hotel bar, terrible choice of red wine and what I did have was awful and at £7.25 a glass wouldn't buy a second glass. Very central location and from outside of building looks like you are staying at a dump but it isn't, well worth money and would stay again. 13 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Halal breakfast for Muslim customers Good location and friendly staffs. However, it will be perfect if the hotel could provide Halal breakfast for Muslim customers. 12 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location Very good location, close to train station, Bull Ring shopping centre and The Mailbox with lots of restaurants. However, we thought two cups of tea in the bar for £6 was very expensive! 12 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Simply great place and service :-) Everything exceeded our expectations. We had very relaxing and comfortable stay. Hotel is well looked after and in great location. All staff members were welcoming and very helpful. 11 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Girlie reunion Pleasant stay at this Holiday Inn. The room was very warm as was the building. Breakfast was wonderful,coffee not so nice,but could have tea instead. The staff were attentive,especially a young man in the bar. He was perplexed when we asked for diet Pepsi cocktails! Pepsi, ice and lemon with an umbrella. The hotel location was just what we needed to be able to shop and walk to canal area for dinner.I would recommend this hotel for very good value and ease of stay.Thankyou. 11 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Family room is great We were booked into the family room, which I thought was really good value. The hotel thought our son was much younger, so I am not sure what age someone needs to be to sleep in the other part of the room. We will be staying at least once a month on business. Hopefully next time we won't have wasted 7 hours in traffic and will be able to use the restaurant for dinner the night before work! 10 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Short stay Everything was fine. The staff were particularly helpful and friendly. I would have no problem returning to this hotel. 10 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Uncommonly Great Service Being in the centre of Birmingham it isn't much to look at 09 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value in Good Location We enjoyed our stay, the hotel is well looked after and in a great location. The check-in staff were great and couldn't have done more to help. 09 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing Weekend stay Very comfortable and relaxing stay. Customer care was accommodating Only disappointing aspect was the selection and quality of food on the restaurant in the evening. 06 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Hotel Perfect hotel for a weekend stay in Birmingham City Centre 05 June 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Really bad experience and over priced very poor. Had a terrible sleep could hear noise from out on the street all night eg traffic noise people shouting at night. Could hear people talking and walking around in the other rooms. Food was terrible everything had been siting on the buffet for hours. 05 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT STAY Everything met or exceeded my expectations. Reception, room, buffet breakfast. Free wifi in the room a bonus from my last stay a year ago. 05 June 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good n bad Great staff room and food Until the war zone out the front started Then from mid nite to 6am it was painfull on the ears Resolved thus in future by requesting a room at back Fingers crossed 03 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Car Parking If you get the NCP parking ticket stamped at reception the cost of parking is half price. This is not mentioned at the reception and I was not asked on leaving if I had needed my ticket stamping. 03 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent as Always (apart from the Bar) I always stay at this hotel if possible when I'm in the Birmingham area. It is close to all amenities and moreover it is just a nice place to stay! The staff are welcoming and friendly, the rooms always comfortable and cleaned to a high standard. I have marked down the Food & Beverage simply based on the Bar. One the furnishings are dated and uncomfortable; the seats certainly don't encourage a long and relaxing lounge! Also my favourite tipple (large G&T) tipped the scales at £9.10!!! (£9.70 if you wanted the posh stuff!) Quite frankly that is outrageous and is by some distance the most expensive I have come across in any Holiday Inn! However I will be back again soon - a recommended venue if you are in the Birmingham area. 03 June 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Absolutely nothing special! It's a hotel, aiming to make a profit just like any other business. Indifferent greeting, 'no upgrade for a 2 night stay' for Platinum Elite membership! Where is the attraction to be loyal to a brand and achieve such a membership level if a reward is not given? Loud even on 5th floor due city centre location. With many hotels to chose from in the city, I would feel no urge to use this one in future. There is nothing wrong with it, but there is nothing special about it either. 02 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Stay in Brum Staff were excellent and always willing to help and with a smile which is nice to see. Meal was nice and the room was all as you would expect. 02 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 A Firm Favourite I travel a lot with work and always ask for Holiday Inn as my preferred choice. I have had the same service wherever I have stayed in the country and these guys and girls are attentive and almost faultless. I say almost as there have been at least five occasions where I have checked in without my points card and was assured they would see to it but they did not show on my statements. I am confident this has been oversight and it has not made the service any less pleasurable for me. See you againand again soon 02 June 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by my favourite hotel Great service , nice room, great staff nothing is too much bother for them. 01 June 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable with good courtesy drink and chocolate . As much as it was a good relaxing stay at the heart of the city with access to city centre. The free WIFI signal was very poor in the room and the reception was unable to do anything about it. To use the WIFI I had to come to the recption area. This has to be improved upon. 29 May 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Drunks and Dustbins Room at the back of the hotel, overlooking the car park and what looks like a pub. Drunks returning loudly to the cars woke me first of all then the banging of bins as they were emptied at early o'clock. Been here before and it has been really good but on this occasion it was not up to its usual standard. The issue was with the drunks and the binmen. Never been woken up like that, three times in the evening which was a pain. Breakfast was superb, choices excellent and the strongest asset, the staff who were their usual brilliant selves. They work with a smile which is an indication of how much they enjoy their work. Reception in and out was easy and the greeting friendly and professional. In all, not a brilliant night but the staff were great,,,,,, 27 May 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 15 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Crowne Plaza Birmingham by Night Area Attractions The Bull - Welcomes you to the Bull Ring Shopping Mall Lobby with Access to Meeting and Events Floor Stylish Lobby and Stair Access to Meetings & Events Floor Reception Modern Stylish Lobby Reception Reception Reception
Select to close.
Free Internet
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 16 Sep 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 17 Sep 2014)
Check Availability
Loading