• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 877 2 CROWNE
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favourites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night reservation you will be given the option to duplicate this reservation.

(e.g. 02 Aug 2014)
(e.g. 03 Aug 2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

Welcome to Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: BIRMINGHAM
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:12
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Czech
  2. German
  3. English
  4. Spanish
  5. French
  6. Croatian
  7. Italian
  8. Polish
  9. Turkish
  10. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

By prior arrangement, one small pet is welcome in the bedroom and are not to be left unaccompanied at anytime. Access to public areas is limited. The one exception to the rule is Guide Dogs for the visually impaired no pet supplement would apply.
Pet fee amount  10.00  GBP  per night

What's nearby

What's nearby

Attraction:
Sealife Centre
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Think Tank Birmingham Science Museum
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Cadbury World
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • 24hrs Arena Central Car Park beneath hotel .Chargeable per length of stay - 24 hrs £13.50.Additonal charges if stay over 24 hr period. ***Each entrance /exit to car park is charged individually & over a 24 hr period may result charge in excess of £13.50.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 13.50  GBP)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all IHG® Rewards Club members
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Standard Room Wireless Fee for Non Members:£ 5.00 5.0  GBP
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Standard Room Wired Fee for Non Members:£ 5.00 5.0  GBP

Premium Internet Service

Premium Internet service has twice the bandwidth of the standard Internet service and is usually recommended if you plan on streaming movies or you do a lot of online gaming.
Premium Internet Service is free for All Elite IHG® Rewards Club Members
Wireless Internet available

Accommodation

Accommodation

  • Hotel renovated in:February 01, 2008
  • Total number of rooms:312
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:189
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:312
  • Total number of accessible rooms:12
  • Executive floors
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:9
Enjoy a dedicated service at the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre hotel, a short walk from the National Indoor Arena and Hippodrome Theatre. Emerge through the revolving glass doors to a warm welcome from the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre's friendly Concierge. We will take care of your luggage and point you towards the elegant, open-plan b1 Bar for bar meals, coffee or cocktails. Leave the bustling of the city behind relax in your quiet, stylish room. Club room and Suite guests can drop in at
View More
Enjoy a dedicated service at the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre hotel, a short walk from the National Indoor Arena and Hippodrome Theatre. Emerge through the revolving glass doors to a warm welcome from the Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre's friendly Concierge. We will take care of your luggage and point you towards the elegant, open-plan b1 Bar for bar meals, coffee or cocktails. Leave the bustling of the city behind relax in your quiet, stylish room. Club room and Suite guests can drop in at the Club Lounge to network or just take in the view. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from New Street Rail Station, with direct trains link to Birmingham International Airport and access to all major road links. Arena Central Car Park beneath the hotel is chargeable. Stroll to exhibitions at the National Indoor Arena and the ICC, or sit at a canal-side cafe and watch the world go by. Brindleyplace, with the Bull Ring, is a short walk from the hotel. Our self-contained conference floor has 11 naturally lit meeting rooms and a Business Centre supported by an enthusiastic team of organisers and technicians. Work up an appetite in the Fitness Centre or savour beautifully tender steak with a drop of red wine in the luxurious surroundings of our b1 Restaurant. Your stay at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre is worth celebrating. Pick out style items at Hugo Boss and Harvey Nicholls at The Mailbox Complex which is a 2 minutes' walk from the hotel.
View Less
Features
Book a Club room or Suite at Crowne Plaza Birmingham City Centre and receive exclusive entry into the elegant Club Lounge, where you can meet with colleagues over complimentary canapes and drinks, check email using wireless Internet and enjoy the panoramic city views.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 390 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Do not recommend breakfast, only one lift working, u comfortable bed & smelt of Indian Breakfast was awful, cold not cooked, tasted of rubber & most items not available. Bed I comfortable, the floor smelt like a Indian restaurant and one lift was out of order & took 10 mins plus to get up & down. Originally booked hotel indigo but this one was cheaper but should of paid the extra I think!!! 08 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by One night stay Very efficient check in. Comfortable bed and room had everything required, iron and board, hairdryer, and safe. Only downside was there were no drawers to put non wardrobe clothes.Breakfast was plentiful and leisurely.Convenient for the shops and Would stay again. 06 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My Local Hotel I stay here from time to time when I visit Birmingham City Centre and want to have a drink and not drive home. It is perfectly located, very central a spit from the famous Bullring, Hippodrome and AlexandreTheatres and China Town. Easy walking distance to Symphony Hall, Birmingham Rep and the fantastic new library. (Although Crowne Plaza is slightly closer to these). The staff have always been warm welcoming and professional and as a Platinum member of Priority Club I have always got a great upgrade. Highly recommended. 05 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very enjoyable stay On arrival the staff were extremely professional and very friendly. The check in was done very quickly, instructions about car parking , breakfast times etc. were explained. The room was a standard double very clean everything in its place. Overall a very pleasant stay would definitely recommend. 04 January 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent stay! The staff was very knowledgeable and polite. Room was perfect. Overall very good value for money! Thanks to all the staff! 02 January 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 great location location ideal for us as by rail station, shops and mailbox area of birmingham. Staff were great and breakfast was excellent with 2 for 1offer. Would visit again. 02 January 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Nice room, poor management....busy breakfast room My choice in brum... in terms of room and budget. Platinum member (confirmation 64352836).... room 401 not made up as double but as a twin on my initial arrival on the friday (confirmation 64354982) no idea why despite front desk acknowledging my reservation as a double. No toileteries in room despite pre-checkin as a platinum. Quite a faff to get sorted after quite a journey. Room posted as non qualifying despite standard ihg site booking, not happy at having to correct the hotels lack of attention to any of the above really and had to contact ihg to get correct points posting. The sunday morning indicated a full house in terms of customers eating breakfast; the buffet really struggled to maintain stock. Could have been a lot better in terms of hassle. I stay because of location really, but sloppiness as above is what makes people start to consider the hotels next door or closer to china town. 27 December 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy If you stop at this hotel make sure you are put in a room at the rear of the hotel otherwise you will not get any sleep what so ever. 26 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by IDEAL LOCATION FRIENDLY STAFF, GREAT SERVICE, NICE SIZED ROOMS. WOULD RECOMMEND TO ALL, BRILL 26 December 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by No parking No parking which was extremely inconvenient and it pushes up the price. Value was poor anyway compared to other hotels in Birmingham so I would definitely not recommend this hotel - better to stay in one of the many better hotels in the city! 25 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect for a short city break 1st time in the Holiday Inn in Birmingham. I was over for a one night stay whilst taking in a concert in the Symphony Hall. Perfect location for a short stay, great value, very pleasant staff and excellent breakfast - what more could you want. Oh yes, a Roy Wood Christmas concert. Happy Christmas! 23 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Close to City Center Very good location, very helpful and friendly staff. Good breakfast service and a graet choice of hot and cold breakfast items. Superior room with perfect room size and choice of pillows and the right size of Flat-TV Screen. Free Wlan in Rooms and public areas inside the hotel. Would give more Stars if the corridors of the Guestroom levels would be renovated and had better lightning. Overall recomented for Business and leisure tripe 22 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great city location and excellent service Great overall experience from a very centrally located, excellent value hotel. The only downside is that since the accommodation is very good value for money, one does get a few loud guests, particularly in the weekends. Staff were very helpful and the quality of the accommodation, for the rate being paid and the rating of the hotel, was very good and better than expected. 22 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great value central hotel The hotel is in a brilliant location (although looks a bit grim from the outside) and does what it says on the tin. Rooms were ready when we arrived and were clean and comfortable with nice decor but there are no frills. A good experience though overall and I'd stay again if I was going to the city centre. 19 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good location Decent room for this level of hotel. Bathroom fine but shower was faulty with poor water pressure. Good location for station and city centre. 19 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Quality experience I have spent the last 39 years globe trotting in my work and leisure,and have experienced many hotels in various cities. The FIRST part of the experience is always the reception desk. Its like booking in at an airline desk , one looks for the friendly face and one that is giving the customer a good service and you try to avoid the one with the grumpy face or official look about them . At this hotel I was greeted with a " wall of smiles " a " level of efficiency without an iron fist " . Even though I was on;y staying one night and part of the usual xmas rush , I was made to feel important . Clearly these people had been trained properly and have a manager who continues to drive quality. I arrived at my room and the key actually worked. The room was airy, clean i every respect and even a choice of pillow that one could ask for. These guys have got it right.. Selling an experience is key. You may ask WHY would a busy guy like me spend time writing this. Well its simple. I have been to so many supposed quality hotels and felt so bad even when I had paid outrageous fees, it is a fantastic feeling when you get great quality in every way through your stay. Thank you. finally please find out WHO the reception lady was who booked me in and give her a BIG pay rise 18 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great and comfortable stay Our family of 3 stayed for a weekend in a lovely spacious family room on the 9th floor. The decor was nice and fresh, all facilities in the room excellent and loved the free wi fi. Breakfast was tasty with lots of choice even for vegetarians (me). Also what was great was the location, as needed to be in the city centre. Staff friendly and polite. The only thing was the city was quite busy itself with lots of traffic outside and the second night there was a fire alarm and they evacuated the whole place, but no genuine fire risk found. Overall, I would highly reccomend this hotel and would return if could. 14 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Visiting Birmingham Hippodrome? If you are visiting the Hippodrome, the Holiday Inn is an excellent choice of hotel. It is ideally located and the hotel is ideal for an overnight stay. 14 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Housekeeping I was welcomed and checked in an hour before the given time. The staff were very friendly and happy to help and the building was clean. Got to my room and i was surprised it was very big but the bathroom was a bit small with a broken bath tap that dripped all night. The bed was awesome and the view of Birmingham from the bed was good too. The room was fully furnished with extra bedding and pillows and a large TV. However, 9am in the morning I was woken by the housekeepers knocking on the door constantly. Every 10 minutes they would come back until I got out off bed for them to realize I was still in the room. I didn't receive a apology which i was gutted about because the staff were friendly when I arrived. I was asked whether I wanted a wake up call when I arrived and Im pretty sure I said no. Overall apart from that I was happy with my stay at Holiday Inn. 06 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by BRILLIANT HOTEL AND STAFF It was a great hotel and the staff where very helpful and nice. The room was good size and felt like home. Me and my girl friend where in comfort and really enjoyed our stay. All in all a great A GREAT WEEKEND IN BIRMINGHAM AND THE HOTEL STAY MADE IT SPECIAL. 06 December 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by no, just no This was originally sent as an email to the hotel (two days ago!) but I have yet to receive any form of acknowledgement... I was asked to edit this review, as it originally named another hotel chain... My husband and I stayed at your hotel on Friday 29th of November. We received a warm welcome and the check in process was efficient. Unfortunately, the bed was very uncomfortable in our room (706), but we did not feel that we could tell members of staff as we did not go to bed until very late and felt it would be too late to change rooms. The bed has certainly seen better days. The mattress sags in the middle and it is way too soft. My husband and I got very little sleep as a result of this. On check out, we were asked whether we had had a nice stay, to which I replied that the bed was uncomfortable, but the staff and hotel were good. The member of reception staff merely said, "OK madam well your room was prepaid so nothing more to pay". I was not expecting remuneration, but felt that a simple apology or a promise to look into it would have been appropriate! We usually opt for another hotel chain when we visit places in England, but this time we thought we would give the Holiday Inn a go. Well we will not be taking that chance again. The staff in another Birmingham City Centre hotel could not do enough for us when we stayed there in September this year. In contrast, the member of staff who handled our check out could not have cared less. I feel that another hotel chain, despite being cheaper, provides infinitely better customer service. 04 December 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel, excellent location Nice hotel, lovely room. Massive comfy bed. Clean bathroom, very pleasant staff. Decent breakfast in the morning too. Ideal location for New Street Station, and Birmingham shopping and nightlife. Thanks Holiday Inn! 03 December 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice stay, big rooms and good location. Shame about being woken up by fire alarm. + The room was surprisingly big and spacious. + Having free wifi was a great extra. + The TV was very good. + Lovely shower, with Dove and Lux in the bathroom if you need it. + Enough hangers for clothes. + In an ideal location with very close proximity to the bullring, German Market, Mailbox, Hippodrome etc. + Breakfast had ideal amount of choice but was quite average. - The fire alarm went off early in the morning, giving us a rude awakening when we wanted a lay-in. - No explanation or apology for the alarm going off. - Tiles in the bathroom were a bit grubby. - Little stain on the bed sheet. - 1 pillow felt too low but 2 pillows were too high, slightly annoying (maybe picky on my part). 03 December 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Business nights Overall good. Stayed many times before but this was the worst experience. I was out in an Exec Room next to the lift - I would have preferred a normal room away from it! The lift was extremely noisy and the sound kept me awake most of the two nights. Ask for a room well away from the lifts. Also, one one side of the bed, the floor/carpet was wet! I don't mean damp but extremely wet. Poor cleaning after a spilt glass of water or similar I guess. 30 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nutcracker Visit The hotel is in the perfect location for the Bullring, the Christmas Markets and the theatre, which was the main reason for our visit. We loved the fact that it was a short walk from the station, just perfect. Our only complaint was being charged £5 for a glass of lemonade in the bar. We would use this Holiday Inn again but would buy our drinks in the bars outside. Reception was very busy but the staff were very efficient and didn't have to wait long. 28 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location. Stayed here for a weekend and had a good time. Easy check in/ out. Good location for mail box and very friendly staff. Very good, clean fresh room. As with most holiday inns had to pay for parking on site, £15! Not happy with that but as always as it's easy to do rather than n c p we payed the over priced parking fee. At least we felt the car was safe as it was directly out side the hotel entrance and very secure behind and secure chain. Only one nag, was not happy to be woken up in the morning by the house cleaning lady!! On our floor, which was the fourth floor and middle aged lady, think she must have been in charge of the house keeping was just going from room to room knocking on every ones door, calling out house keeping! I was in bed asleep until her rather long and constant knocking woke me up. At first I wasn't sure who or what it was. On making my way to the door was greeted with this lady coming into our room, still saying house keeping. I was so shocked to be woken up and to see her coming through the door. Excuse me, came my response to which she backed out of the room and went. I then opened my bedroom door to ask her if she thought this was a good thing to do, as I looked down the hall way I watched her walking down the hallway knocking on all the doors! This is not on as check out is 12. The two young people, trolly ready just looked up at me shocked and embarrassed. This lady, middle aged with glasses was clearly in charge and must have been on a mission to get all rooms cleared and cleaned before ten, do. Do not want to be a nag but we did feel this should not have happened. Maybe a do not disturb sigh on the door may have helped but as we didn't have one in our room we couldn't put one on the door but I would guess they would know from the front desk if you have checked out. 28 November 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nov 2013 Stay This was my second stay at this hotel this year, this time I booked two rooms for two nights. This stay was the same as the first time, my Platinum status was not honored with an upgrade. I decided to stay for the second time because the location is very close to the Bullring shopping center but next time I will stay at a competing hotel where my gold status is always honored with a free breakfast, drink and room upgrade. I will sacrifice the distance to the train station and shopping center and take a taxi in order to enjoy the comfort of a higher quality hotel. Both rooms were standard fare, nothing to complain about except the noise in the morning from the skip full of glass bottles being emptied at 0600 in the morning. 27 November 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by good location but very noisey Good central location. Car parking is difficult with very limited spaces and thus expensive multi storey car parks some walk away only option. I was upgraded so lovely room. Breakfast very good with plenty of choice. Only other negative was the noise. Yes i know it is a city centre location but you really need to improve sound proofing. Traffic, car horns and centre noise until 5am ( and we were on the 7th floor) The crown plaza just up the road is a much better option and though more expensive is worth it. If booked far enough in advance this can be booked for the same price i paid for the holiday inn I would stay here again but only if the Crown plaza was fully booked. 26 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by lovely room, good location but! lovely room, good location near railway station but very noisy early hours of the morning due to nearby nightclubs, breakfasts really nice good choice. 22 November 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by City centre hotel A comfortable hotel warm and clean with good bedroom and bathroom.It has a good position within walking distance of all city centre attractions. The food is somewhat variable in quality. 21 November 2013
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 14 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Crowne Plaza Birmingham by Night Sophisticated Shopping, Bars and Restaurants Lobby with Access to Meeting and Events Floor Stylish Lobby and Stair Access to Meetings & Events Floor Reception Modern Stylish Lobby Reception Reception Reception
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Free Internet
Close
Check-In Date
(e.g. 02 Aug 2014)
Check-Out Date
(e.g. 03 Aug 2014)
Check Availability
Loading