Crowne Plaza Birmingham NEC

Hotel Front Desk: 44-871-9429160

Hotel Fax: 44-121-7814321

Hotel Email: necroomsales@ihg.com

Check In: 2:00 PM | Check Out: 11:00 AM | Local Time: 7:30 PM


Airport
Birmingham International Airport (BHX)

- Distance from hotel: 1.5 MI/ 2.41 KM East l

- Exit Airport complex heading along A45 towards M42. On approach to M42, follow exit for NEC and Crowne Plaza is on your right hand side.

Train
Birmingham International Train Station

-Distance from hotel: 1 MI/ 1.61 KM East

- Complimentary hotel shuttle service between 0600GMT and 2200GMT, service is subject to availability.

Print Hotel Fact Sheet

- Car Parking Available

- Self-Parking Fee: 10.00 GBP

- Barrier controlled. Residents at 10GBP per car, per night. Charges for non-residents will vary

Print Hotel Fact Sheet

Current Settings are:

/


Change Preferences:

Country of Residence:

Available Languages:

lang-loader
Make a Reservation

Book Online or Call:

Chat with an AgentChat with an Agent

Best Price Guarantee

Select to close

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool or call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada).

Close Button

Please enter Check In.

Please enter Check Out.

Costs 10p per minute + network extras

Guest Reviews

Each review and rating we receive is verified to ensure that we display only information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.

Guest Reviews

Each review and rating that we receive is verified to ensure that we only display information provided by guests who have actually stayed in the hotel.

Overall Experience

4.0

based on 351 reviews
83%
Recommend This Property
Read All Reviews

Ratings Breakdown

351reviews

  • 5 Stars
    156
  • 4 Stars
    105
  • 3 Stars
    42
  • 2 Stars
    24
  • 1 Stars
    24

Good on the whole

By

28 July 2014

platinumelite

Having stayed at the Crowne Plaza, NEC, a number of times, my wife & I look forward to such stays. Generally, reception is handled well, although on this occasion, my wife (who arrived ahead of me) was given the key to an already occupied room (fortunately, she didn't meet the occupant & beat a hasty retreat). Once we had the right room, this was OK except for a number of cobwebs (immediately spotted by Mrs). The balcony was cool to sit out on given temperatures in the mid-high twenties, but, unfortunately the view to the lake is now partly obscured by the construction of a mega cinema/casino complex right next door to the hotel. Clearly this is not something the hotel can have much, or any, influence on, but the new building is not exactly sympathetic to the existing (man-made) environment. The hotel restaurant is always a high point. The menu is a little limited in vegetarian options, but the food is well-cooked, not over-priced (somewhat unusual in that, I have to say) & service is excellent. Altogether this is more of a functional hotel than one for a Romantic stay, but it manages the bells & whistles of Crowne Plaza status well without pretentions. No swimming pool here.

Read More
Read Less

one night

By

25 July 2014

club

One night at a weekend while travelling home to Scotland. Nothing on at NEC, school holidays, few people staying in hotel, staff kindly upgraded us, good deal.

Read More
Read Less

Nice room, lovely view over the lake, excellent service.

By

22 July 2014

The lady who was checking me in was fantasic, friendly, polite and great with my little girl.
the room was large and very clean and tidy and a welcome place to sleep after a long journey.

Read More
Read Less

Great stay

By

18 July 2014

Really great stay. Easy to park and check in. Room was comfortable and clean. Great bath in the bathroom with lovely toiletries. Complimentary water and chocolate. Amazing bed-best nights sleep. We had a drink in the bar which was nice-although bit pricey. £10 parking fee when we left. Breakfast was buffet style-with a good selection of cooked breakfast/yoghurts/cereals/pastry's etc. Easy access to the train station in the NEC a short walk away. Quick train in to Birmingham city centre. Was told there was a free shuttle bus to the train station but it wasn't running so got a cab which came in a few minutes and cost £5, decided to walk on the way back and it really wasn't far. All staff very helpful-called reception late to ask where to get ice from and someone explained there was an ice machine down the corridor, they called to check we had found it and offered to get it for us. Great stay. Thanks

Read More
Read Less

Friendly staff- hotel in need of a revamp

By

17 July 2014

I thought the positives where the staff and the food (we had dinner for 9 in the restaurant) However the hotel is in bad need of a makeover. The air-con buzzed away all night which made it difficult to sleep and the control for it was very old and difficult to use (as indicated by instructions plastered to wall). The bed was uncomfortable and slanted away, which meant I felt like I was sliding out of bed all night. The furniture looked old as did the room.

In summary- staff good, rooms poor and outdated- especially for a Crown Plaza

Read More
Read Less

Short stay but longer parking.

By

15 July 2014

I booked this hotel because it was the pickup point for the Intercruise coach to Southampton and I wanted to take the stress out of travelling the M42 motorway on the morning of pickup which has a reputation for traffic holdups. I could have just paid to park at the hotel instead but for a small extra charge it gave me and my wife an overnight stay in this hotel the night before and a relaxing start to the journey to Southampton the following day, with car parking fees included.
We were so pleased we did this as we felt we were on holiday as soon as we arrived at the hotel.

Read More
Read Less

Great Hotel

By

14 July 2014

Great rooms, quality service would definately reccomend

Read More
Read Less

Cleanliness Poor

By

13 July 2014

Good size rooms and location walking distance from NEC. Nice views of lake. But what lets it down is the overall cleanliness of the rooms, on my arrival there were socks left in drawer from a previous guest and food crumbs on the TV table as well as other areas around the room.

Read More
Read Less

Relaxing Stay

By

13 July 2014

club

Good hotel and location for concerts at O2 Arena.
Did ask for lake view, but did not get, that was the only disappointment.

Read More
Read Less

Stay for Concert

By

11 July 2014

Had a fabulous meal with a really excellent Venison steak.

Walked 5 minutes to NEC :-)

Bit crowded in bar after gig :-(

Read More
Read Less

Great stay

By

09 July 2014

club

Booking line 100% helpful, staff friendly, lovely room, great food and great walking distance to the LG Arena!! :-)

Read More
Read Less

***FANTASTIC****

By

09 July 2014

If you want to see a show in the LG arena go here its just around the corner a short walking distance, suitable if you have young or older relatives. When you get off the train just walk as though you are going into the arena halls, it looks as though you are going the wrong way ( we did) but your not. But you can get a taxi if you want its not that far away. I booked this hotel as it was the nearest to the LG Arena as I wanted to stay after watching the Dolly Parton Show with my daughter and was not able to catch a train home. So we decided to stop two nights. We didn’t go into Birmingham itself there is a lake by the hotel with benches so we sat there and used the room as it was comfortable and spacious.
ROOM--The room was absolutely lovely plenty of room for me and my eighteen year old daughter , a very large comfortable bed, two-seater sofa and it had everything basically except the kitchen sink, complimentary tea, coffee, hot chocolate, bottled water.
STAFF--
I cannot praise the staff enough; they were polite efficient and very professional. After sitting by the lake we went back to the hotel and ordered a coke and lemonade the bar tender asked us to take a seat ( they are waiter service also) my daughter an myself were sitting on the sofa just talking when the bar tender came with our drinks I asked how much they were and he said no charge as we had waited to long I said no its fine I would pay because as far as I was aware we hadn’t waited to long but he said not he had been busy and there was no charge.
FOOD— The food was absolutely lovely, we had food in the bar area and you might think your only having a club sandwich but wow it’s a filler and beautifully made. Breakfast was included in my room price but even if you are paying for it you won’t be disappointed, there was a full buffet services of cooked food, fruits, cereals. Also you won’t be disappointed with the prices I was a bit worried but they are no dearer than a local table to table pub.
All in all the stay was wonderful I would highly recommend this hotel for a night or a week you won’t be disappointed.

Read More
Read Less